DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In the reply filed on 02/12/2026, Applicants had elected Species 1, corresponding to Figure 7 without traverse and the election was acknowledged and made of record. In the response filed on 05/08/2026, Applicants stated the election is now with traverse. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Step 430 of figure 9 is a subsequent step to Step 410 of figure 7, and the ‘description of figure 7 can be found in paragraph 0105 of the present application’. This is not found persuasive because the Examiner is unable to find support in paragraph 0105 nor in any other section(s) in the specification that discloses the saving feature disclosed in Step 410 of Figure 7 is an obvious variant of the saving function performed in Step 428 which leads to the feature of “while using a second value for the parameter that is different than the first value, replay the extended reality session using the data saved for the extended reality environment.” In addition, although it is noted that paragraph 0105 discloses the function of ‘presenting replay on head mounted device’, the features as disclosed in figure 9 are not disclosed in paragraph 0105. Therefore, Species 1 (steps disclosed in figure 7) and Species 3 (steps disclosed in figure 9) present mutually exclusive characteristics and claims 21-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cansizoglu et al. (US PG PUB 2022/0207840 hereinafter referred as Cansizoglu).
Regarding claim 1, Cansizoglu discloses a method of operating an electronic device to display a mixed reality scene (see figure 1), comprising:
with at least one image sensor, capturing video frames (see paragraph 0179 input video captured by an optical sensor such as camera of the client device or by eye wear device);
rendering virtual content (see paragraph 0095-0096 retrieves virtual content for display);
displaying the mixed reality scene by generating display frames based on the captured video frames, the rendered virtual content, and at least one parameter (see abstract AR content item for rendering for display on an eyewear device; see figures 8 and 12 provide the composite AR content for rendering for display on an eyewear device, generate a composite AR content item comprising the second metadata, the third image data and the first image data; see paragraphs 0200-0202 and 0207); and
generating a recording of the mixed reality scene comprised of:
a first track including the captured video frames (see figures 7-8, 12, paragraph 0158 recording of image data);
a second track including the rendered virtual content (see paragraphs 0024, 0026 creation of interactive media; see paragraph 0055 real-time special effect and sound see also paragraph 0159); and
metadata including the at least one parameter (see paragraph 0160 metadata sent to capture module; see also figures 8 and 12).
Regarding claim 2, Cansizoglu discloses displaying the mixed reality scene by generating display frames based on the captured video frames, the rendered virtual content, and at least one parameter comprises:with an image signal processor, modifying the captured video frames using a first parameter of the at least one parameter (see paragraphs 0056-0057, 0059 and 0182).
Regarding claim 3, Cansizoglu discloses while displaying the mixed reality scene, playing audio data using a speaker, wherein the recording has a third track that includes the audio data played using the speaker (see paragraphs 0027, 0046, 0055 and also 0048).
Regarding claim 4, Cansizoglu discloses a sensor configured to obtain head tracking information, wherein the recording has a third track that includes the head tracking information (see paragraph 0147).
Regarding claim 5, Cansizoglu discloses a sensor configured to obtain gaze tracking information, wherein the recording has a third track that includes the gaze tracking information (see paragraphs 0031 and 0147).
Regarding claim 6, Cansizoglu discloses a sensor configured to obtain hand tracking information, wherein the recording has a third track that includes the hand tracking information (see paragraphs 0031, 0057 and 0102).
Regarding claim 7, Cansizoglu discloses displaying the mixed reality scene by generating display frames based on the captured video frames, the rendered virtual content, and at least one parameter comprises merging the captured video frames with the rendered virtual content to generate the display frames (see figures 8, 12 and paragraphs 0034, 0173-0175 and 0184).
Regarding claim 8, Cansizoglu discloses displaying the mixed reality scene by generating display frames based on the captured video frames, the rendered virtual content, and at least one parameter further comprises, before merging the captured video frames with the rendered virtual content to generate the display frames: adjusting the rendered virtual content using a first parameter of the at least one parameter (see paragraphs 0147-0148 and 0180).
Regarding claim 9, Cansizoglu discloses displaying the mixed reality scene by generating display frames based on the captured video frames, the rendered virtual content, and at least one parameter further comprises, before merging the captured video frames with the rendered virtual content to generate the display frames: adjusting the captured video frames using a first parameter of the at least one parameter (see paragraphs 0056-0060).
Regarding claim 10, Cansizoglu discloses displaying the mixed reality scene by generating display frames based on the captured video frames, the rendered virtual content, and at least one parameter further comprises, after merging the captured video frames with the rendered virtual content to generate the display frames: adjusting the display frames using a first parameter of the at least one parameter (see paragraphs 0064-0065, 0101, 0104-0105 and 0193).
Regarding claim 11, Cansizoglu discloses the metadata further comprises metadata associated with at least one image sensor (see paragraphs 0152 and 0203).
Regarding claim 12, Cansizoglu discloses at least one parameter comprises a color adaptation matrix (see paragraphs 0116, 0209-0210, and also 0156).
Regarding claim 13, Cansizoglu discloses the at least one parameter comprises a brightness adjustment parameter (see paragraphs 0020, 0116 and 0193).
Regarding claim 14, Cansizoglu discloses at least one parameter comprises a distortion parameter (see paragraphs 0060, 0104-0105 and 0193).
Conclusion
/HELEN SHIBRU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484