DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/24/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0071] refers to a non-existent “static memory 605”. FIG.6 refers to STATIC MEMORY 606, so please update to reflect the labeling on the drawing. Alternatively, update the drawing.
Appropriate correction is required.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: STATIC MEMORY 605. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “comprises laser generation system” should read “comprises a laser generation system”.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “wherein target surface” should be read “wherein the target surface”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 11 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “excess” in claims 4, 11 and 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “excess” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fidalgo (US 20030057194 A1)
Regarding claim#1, ‘7194 Fidalgo discloses a method, comprising: initializing, by at least one processing device (FIG 3, [0031] … all of the component systems (laser, optical, and positioning systems) are controlled via one or more computers 40. The computer is the interface that runs the component systems via software modules), a set of parameters ([0026] laser system can be programmed to follow a specific cutting path and trimming area.) of an elastomer removal system for removing at least a portion ([0017, A laser beam is directed along the shaped pattern in order to cut the article and trim "flashing" from the article… flashing", as used herein, it is meant any excess, fringe material along the surface of the article such as burrs, ridges, or other rough areas) of an elastomer material from a target surface, wherein the elastomer removal system comprises laser generation system (FIG 1, [0018]… The laser system can be part of an integrated system or it can be a stand alone system… ) comprising a carbon dioxide (CO2) laser (FIG 1, 16, [0023] …. a CO2 laser can be used in the process); and causing, by the at least one processing device (FIG 3, [0031] … all of the component systems (laser, optical, and positioning systems) are controlled via one or more computers 40. The computer is the interface that runs the component systems via software modules), the elastomer removal system to remove at least a portion ([0017, A laser beam is directed along the shaped pattern in order to cut the article and trim "flashing" from the article… flashing", as used herein, it is meant any excess, fringe material along the surface of the article such as burrs, ridges, or other rough areas) of the elastomer material ([0007], Suitable polymeric materials include, for example, materials made from a polymer selected from the group consisting of polycarbonates, polyolefins, acrylics, vinyls, polyesters, and elastomer) ) from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters.
Regarding claim#3, ‘7194 Fidalgo teaches all the limitations of claim #1. Fidalgo discloses wherein the elastomer removal system further comprises a laser scanning system (FIG 3 [0027] …shows a Gantry system, where the laser 20 and camera optics 22 are mounted on an overhead platform 24. The sheet material 6 remains stationary and the laser 20 and camera 22 optical systems move over the sheet material 6..);
, and wherein causing the elastomer removal system to remove at least a portion ([0017, A laser beam is directed along the shaped pattern in order to cut the article and trim "flashing" from the article… flashing", as used herein, it is meant any excess, fringe material along the surface of the article such as burrs, ridges, or other rough areas) of the elastomer material([0007], Suitable polymeric materials include, for example, materials made from a polymer selected from the group consisting of polycarbonates, polyolefins, acrylics, vinyls, polyesters, and elastomer) ) from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters ([0026] laser system can be programmed to follow a specific cutting path and trimming area.) further comprises causing the laser generation system (FIG 1, [0018]… The laser system can be part of an integrated system or it can be a stand alone system… ) to generate a laser beam in accordance with the set of parameters, and causing the laser scanning system (FIG 3 [0027] …shows a Gantry system, where the laser 20 and camera optics 22 are mounted on an overhead platform 24. The sheet material 6 remains stationary and the laser 20 and camera 22 optical systems move over the sheet material 6..); to use the laser beam to generate a beam spot incident on the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters.
Regarding claim#4, ‘7194 Fidalgo teaches all the limitations of claim#1. Fidalgo discloses wherein causing the elastomer removal system to remove at least a portion ([0017, A laser beam is directed along the shaped pattern in order to cut the article and trim "flashing" from the article… flashing", as used herein, it is meant any excess, fringe material along the surface of the article such as burrs, ridges, or other rough areas) of the elastomer material ([0007], Suitable polymeric materials include, for example, materials made from a polymer selected from the group consisting of polycarbonates, polyolefins, acrylics, vinyls, polyesters, and elastomer) ) from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters ([0026] laser system can be programmed to follow a specific cutting path and trimming area.) comprises causing the elastomer removal system to remove excess ([0017, A laser beam is directed along the shaped pattern in order to cut the article and trim "flashing" from the article… flashing", as used herein, it is meant any excess, fringe material along the surface of the article such as burrs, ridges, or other rough areas) elastomer material from the target surface.
Regarding claim 7, Fidalgo teaches all the limitations of claim#1. Fidalgo discloses further comprising causing, by the at least one processing device, new elastomer material to be formed on the target surface (“FIG. 2. shows a top-view of the sheet material 6 containing shaped articles 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d that will be laser cut. In FIG. 2, the articles 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d are in the shape of O-rings” [0019]; this cutting results in new, previously unexposed elastomer to be exposed at the location where the articles 8a-8d are cut from the sheet material 6; this newly exposed elastomer is considered to be new elastomer formed on the target surface).
Regarding claim 8, Fidalgo discloses A system comprising: a memory,(FIG 3, [0031] … all of the component systems (laser, optical, and positioning systems) are controlled via one or more computers 40. The computer is the interface that runs the component systems via software modules. Memory is inherently part of the one or more computers); and at least one processing device (FIG 3, [0031] … all of the component systems (laser, optical, and positioning systems) are controlled via one or more computers 40. The computer is the interface that runs the component systems via software modules), processing device, operatively coupled to the memory, configured to:
initialize a set of parameters ([0026] laser system can be programmed to follow a specific cutting path and trimming area.) of an elastomer removal system for removing at least a portion([0017, A laser beam is directed along the shaped pattern in order to cut the article and trim "flashing" from the article… flashing", as used herein, it is meant any excess, fringe material along the surface of the article such as burrs, ridges, or other rough areas) of an elastomer material ([0007], Suitable polymeric materials include, for example, materials made from a polymer selected from the group consisting of polycarbonates, polyolefins, acrylics, vinyls, polyesters, and elastomer) )
from a target surface, wherein the elastomer removal system comprises laser generation system (FIG 1, [0018]… The laser system can be part of an integrated system or it can be a stand alone system… ) comprising a carbon dioxide (CO2) laser (FIG 1, 16, [0023] …. a CO2 laser can be used in the process); and cause the elastomer removal system to remove at least the portion ([0017, A laser beam is directed along the shaped pattern in order to cut the article and trim "flashing" from the article… flashing", as used herein, it is meant any excess, fringe material along the surface of the article such as burrs, ridges, or other rough areas) of the elastomer material from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters.
“The system of claim 9, wherein target surface is a surface of a gate structure of a slit valve associated with a processing chamber.” The claimed “target surface” is an article worked upon by the claimed elastomer removal system.
"[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963) MPEP 2115
The elastomer removal system of ‘7194 Fidalgo described in the rejection of claim 8, is capable of removing material from a surface of a gate structure of a slit valve associated with a processing chamber.
Accordingly, ‘7194 Fidalgo anticipates claim 9
Regarding claim#10, ‘7194 Fidalgo discloses wherein the elastomer removal system further comprises a laser scanning system (FIG 3 [0027] …shows a Gantry system, where the laser 20 and camera optics 22 are mounted on an overhead platform 24. The sheet material 6 remains stationary and the laser 20 and camera 22 optical systems move over the sheet material 6..), and wherein, to cause the elastomer removal system to remove , A laser beam is directed along the shaped pattern in order to cut the article and trim "flashing" from the article… flashing", as used herein, it is meant any excess, fringe material along the surface of the article such as burrs, ridges, or other rough areas) the elastomer material ([0007], Suitable polymeric materials include, for example, materials made from a polymer selected from the group consisting of polycarbonates, polyolefins, acrylics, vinyls, polyesters, and elastomer) from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters ([0026] laser system can be programmed to follow a specific cutting path and trimming area.) , the at least one processing device is to cause the laser generation system (FIG 1, [0018]… The laser system can be part of an integrated system or it can be a stand alone system… ) to generate a laser beam in accordance with the set of parameters, and to cause the laser scanning system (FIG 3 [0027] …shows a Gantry system, where the laser 20 and camera optics 22 are mounted on an overhead platform 24. The sheet material 6 remains stationary and the laser 20 and camera 22 optical systems move over the sheet material 6..);
to use the laser beam to generate a beam spot incident([0017, A laser beam is directed along the shaped pattern in order to cut the article and trim "flashing" from the article… flashing", as used herein, it is meant any excess, fringe material along the surface of the article such as burrs, ridges, or other rough areas) on the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters.
Regarding claim#11, ‘7194 Fidalgo teaches all the limitations of claim#8. Fidalgo discloses, wherein to cause the elastomer removal system to remove the elastomer ([0007], Suitable polymeric materials include, for example, materials made from a polymer selected from the group consisting of polycarbonates, polyolefins, acrylics, vinyls, polyesters, and elastomer) material from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters ([0026] laser system can be programmed to follow a specific cutting path and trimming area.), the at least one processing device (FIG 3, [0031] … all of the component systems (laser, optical, and positioning systems) are controlled via one or more computers 40. The computer is the interface that runs the component systems via software modules), is to cause the elastomer removal system to remove excess ([0017], A laser beam is directed along the shaped pattern in order to cut the article and trim "flashing" from the article… flashing", as used herein, it is meant any excess, fringe material along the surface of the article such as burrs, ridges, or other rough areas ) elastomer material from the target surface..”
Furthermore, the claimed “target surface” is an article worked upon by the claimed elastomer removal system. "Inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). MPEP 2115
Accordingly, ‘7194 Fidalgo anticipates claim 11.
”The system of claim 12, wherein the elastomer material corresponds to a sealing structure formed within a groove, and wherein, to cause the elastomer removal system to remove the elastomer material from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters, the at least one control system is to cause the elastomer removal system to remove a portion of the sealing structure from the groove.”
The claimed “target surface” where “sealing structure formed within a groove” is a material being worked upon by the claimed elastomer removal system.
"[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)
The elastomer removal system of ‘7194 Fidalgo described in the rejection of claim 8, is capable of removing a portion of the sealing structure from the groove, where the elastomer material corresponds to a sealing structure formed within a groove.
Accordingly, ‘7194 Fidalgo anticipates claim 12.
”The system of claim 13, wherein the elastomer material corresponds to a sealing structure formed within a groove, and wherein, to cause the elastomer removal system to remove the elastomer material from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters, the at least one control system is to cause the elastomer removal system to remove an entirety of the sealing structure from the groove.” The claimed “target surface” is an article worked upon by the claimed elastomer removal system.
"[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)
The elastomer removal system of ‘7194 Fidalgo described in the rejection of claim 8, is capable of removing an entirety of the sealing structure from the groove, where the elastomer material corresponds to a sealing structure formed within a groove.
Accordingly, ‘7194 Fidalgo anticipates claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Fidalgo teaches all the limitations of claim#8. Fidalgo discloses wherein the at least one processing device is further to cause new elastomer material to be formed on the target surface. (“FIG. 2. shows a top-view of the sheet material 6 containing shaped articles 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d that will be laser cut. In FIG. 2, the articles 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d are in the shape of O-rings” [0019]; this cutting results in new, previously unexposed elastomer to be exposed at the location where the articles 8a-8d are cut from the sheet material 6; this newly exposed elastomer is considered to be new elastomer formed on the target surface).
Regarding claim 15, Fidalgo discloses An elastomer removal system comprising: a laser generation system (FIG 1, [0018]… The laser system can be part of an integrated system or it can be a stand alone system… ) comprising a carbon dioxide (CO2) laser (FIG 1, 16, [0023] …. a CO2 laser can be used in the process); a laser scanning system (FIG 3 [0027] …shows a Gantry system, where the laser 20 and camera optics 22 are mounted on an overhead platform 24. The sheet material 6 remains stationary and the laser 20 and camera 22 optical systems move over the sheet material 6..); and at least one control system, the at least one control system (FIG 1, 14 [0018] a computer system 14 that controls the operation of the laser 1) comprising at least one processing device (FIG 3, [0031] … all of the component systems (laser, optical, and positioning systems) are controlled via one or more computers 40. The computer is the interface that runs the component systems via software modules), operatively coupled to a memory, configured to: initialize a set of parameters ([0026] laser system can be programmed to follow a specific cutting path and trimming area.) associated with the laser generation system [FIG1, 16) and the laser scanning system for removing at least a portion ([0017, A laser beam is directed along the shaped pattern in order to cut the article and trim "flashing" from the article… flashing", as used herein, it is meant any excess, fringe material along the surface of the article such as burrs, ridges, or other rough areas) of elastomer material ([0007], Suitable polymeric materials include, for example, materials made from a polymer selected from the group consisting of polycarbonates, polyolefins, acrylics, vinyls, polyesters, and elastomer) )
from a target surface; cause the laser generation system to generate a laser beam in accordance with the set of parameters and cause the laser scanning system (FIG 3 [0027] …shows a Gantry system, where the laser 20 and camera optics 22 are mounted on an overhead platform 24. The sheet material 6 remains stationary and the laser 20 and camera 22 optical systems move over the sheet material 6..); to use the laser beam to generate a beam spot to remove at least the portion ([0017, A laser beam is directed along the shaped pattern in order to cut the article and trim "flashing" from the article… flashing", as used herein, it is meant any excess, fringe material along the surface of the article such as burrs, ridges, or other rough areas ) of the elastomer material from ([0007], Suitable polymeric materials include, for example, materials made from a polymer selected from the group consisting of polycarbonates, polyolefins, acrylics, vinyls, polyesters, and elastomer) ) the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters.
”The elastomer removal system of claim 15, wherein target surface is a surface of a gate structure of a slit valve associated with a processing chamber.” The claimed “target surface” is an article worked upon by the claimed elastomer removal system.
"[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963) MPEP 2115
The elastomer removal system of ‘7194 Fidalgo described in the rejection of claim 15, is capable of removing material from a surface of a gate structure of a slit valve associated with a processing chamber.
Accordingly, ‘7194 Fidalgo anticipates claim 16.
Regarding claim#17, ‘7194 Fidalgo teaches all the limitations of claim#15. Fidalgo discloses “The elastomer removal system of claim 15, wherein to cause the elastomer removal system to remove the elastomer ([0007], Suitable polymeric materials include, for example, materials made from a polymer selected from the group consisting of polycarbonates, polyolefins, acrylics, vinyls, polyesters, and elastomer) material from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters ([0026] laser system can be programmed to follow a specific cutting path and trimming area.), the at least one processing device (FIG 3, [0031] … all of the component systems (laser, optical, and positioning systems) are controlled via one or more computers 40. The computer is the interface that runs the component systems via software modules), is to cause the elastomer removal system to remove excess ([0017, A laser beam is directed along the shaped pattern in order to cut the article and trim "flashing" from the article… flashing", as used herein, it is meant any excess, fringe material along the surface of the article such as burrs, ridges, or other rough areas ) elastomer material from the target surface..”
Furthermore, the claimed “target surface” is an article worked upon by the claimed elastomer removal system. "Inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). MPEP 2115
Accordingly, ‘7194 Fidalgo anticipates claim 17.
The elastomer removal system of claim 15, wherein the elastomer material corresponds to a sealing structure formed within a groove, and wherein, to cause the elastomer removal system to remove the elastomer material from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters, the at least one control system is to cause the elastomer removal system to remove a portion of the sealing structure from the groove.”
The claimed “target surface” where “sealing structure formed within a groove” is a material being worked upon by the claimed elastomer removal system.
"[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)
The elastomer removal system of ‘7194 Fidalgo described in the rejection of claim 15, is capable of removing a portion of the sealing structure from the groove, where the elastomer material corresponds to a sealing structure formed within a groove.
Accordingly, ‘7194 Fidalgo anticipates claim 18.
”The elastomer removal system of claim 19, wherein the elastomer material corresponds to a sealing structure formed within a groove, and wherein, to cause the elastomer removal system to remove the elastomer material from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters, the at least one control system is to cause the elastomer removal system to remove an entirety of the sealing structure from the groove.” The claimed “target surface” is an article worked upon by the claimed elastomer removal system.
"[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)
The elastomer removal system of ‘7194 Fidalgo described in the rejection of claim 15, is capable of removing an entirety of the sealing structure from the groove, where the elastomer material corresponds to a sealing structure formed within a groove.
Accordingly, ‘7194 Fidalgo anticipates claim 19.
Regarding claim #20, ‘7194 Fidalgo teaches all the limitations of claim#15. Fidalgo discloses wherein, the at least one control system is further cause new elastomer material to be formed on the target surface (“FIG. 2. shows a top-view of the sheet material 6 containing shaped articles 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d that will be laser cut. In FIG. 2, the articles 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d are in the shape of O-rings” [0019]; this cutting results in new, previously unexposed elastomer to be exposed at the location where the articles 8a-8d are cut from the sheet material 6; this newly exposed elastomer is considered to be new elastomer formed on the target surface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fidalgo (US20030057194A1) in view of Amir et al. (US 20170213705) and De Boer (EP 2902177).
Regarding claim 2, ‘7194 Fidalgo does not expressly disclose wherein the target surface is a surface of a gate structure of a slit valve associated with a processing chamber.
‘3705 Amir discloses a gate structure of a slit valve associated with a processing chamber (Fig. 1 shows "process chamber 102" with "slit valve gate 118" comprising a "gasket, such as o-ring 106"; "the gasket (e.g., o-ring 106) is disposed in or on the surface 123" [0016]).
‘2177 De Boer discloses removing a portion of a sealing structure from a groove (Fig. 4 shows wherein "filling material 12" has been deposited in a groove; "[0002]…the filler material is advantageously taken from the group comprising elastomers, epoxy resins and polyurethane lacquers"; "[0036] FIG. 5 illustrates the result obtained after removal of a part of the filling material"; "[0038] …ablation can be performed in a single step, by means of a laser beam").
Amir is directed to methods for cleaning slit valve gates of processing chambers [Abstract]. This is considered to be in the same field of endeavor as applicant's invention, since applicant's invention involves removing elastomer material from a target, and in particular, wherein the target can be elastomer material of a slit valve gate.
De Boer is directed to laser processing an elastomer, and therefore, is considered to be in the same field of endeavor as applicant's invention.
Given Amir's disclosure of a gate structure of a slit valve associated with a processing chamber and given De Boer's disclosure of removing a surface of an elastomer using laser processing, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the target surface is a surface of a gate structure of a slit valve associated with a processing chamber. This is a known technique of laser processing an elastomeric material, as taught by Fidalgo and De Boer, applied to a known gate structure of a slit valve, as taught by Amir, to predictably remove any undesired material from the gate structure of the slit valve.
Regarding claim 5, ‘7194 Fidalgo does not expressly disclose wherein the elastomer material corresponds to a sealing structure formed within a groove, and wherein causing the elastomer removal system to remove the elastomer material from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters comprises causing the elastomer removal system to remove a portion of the sealing structure from the groove.
‘3705 Amir discloses a sealing structure formed within a groove (Fig. 1 shows "process chamber 102" with "slit valve gate 118" comprising a "gasket, such as o-ring 106"; “[0016]... the gasket (e.g., o-ring 106) is disposed in or on the surface 123"; the gasket is a sealing structure disposed “in … the surface,” indicating the presence of a groove within the surface).
‘2177 De Boer discloses removing a portion of a sealing structure from a groove (Fig. 4 shows wherein "filling material 12" has been deposited in a groove; "[0002]…the filler material is advantageously taken from the group comprising elastomers, epoxy resins and polyurethane lacquers"; "[0036] FIG. 5 illustrates the result obtained after removal of a part of the filling material"; "[0038] …ablation can be performed in a single step, by means of a laser beam").
Amir is directed to methods for cleaning sealing structures formed in processing chambers. This is considered to be in the same field of endeavor as applicant's invention.
De Boer is directed to laser processing an elastomer, and therefore, is considered to be in the same field of endeavor as applicant's invention.
‘2177 De Boer disclosure of a sealing structure formed within a groove, and De Boer’s disclosure of removing a portion of an elastomer using laser processing, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the elastomer material corresponds to a sealing structure formed within a groove, and wherein causing the elastomer removal system to remove the elastomer material from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters comprises causing the elastomer removal system to remove a portion of the sealing structure from the groove. This is a known technique of laser processing an elastomeric material, as taught by Fidalgo and De Boer, applied to a known sealing structure, as taught by Amir, to predictably remove any undesired material from the gate structure of the slit valve.
Regarding claim 6, ‘7194 Fidalgo does not expressly disclose wherein the elastomer material corresponds to a sealing structure formed within a groove, and wherein causing the elastomer removal system to remove the elastomer material from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters comprises causing the elastomer removal system to remove an entirety of the sealing structure from the groove.
‘3705 Amir discloses a sealing structure formed within a groove (Fig. 1 shows "process chamber 102" with "slit valve gate 118" comprising a "[0016] gasket, such as o-ring 106"; "the gasket (e.g., o-ring 106) is disposed in or on the surface 123"; the gasket is a sealing structure disposed “in … the surface,” indicating the presence of a groove within the surface). ‘
‘2177 De Boer discloses removing filling material 12" has been deposited in a groove; "[0002]…the filler material is advantageously taken from the group comprising elastomers, epoxy resins and polyurethane lacquers"; "[0036] FIG. 5 illustrates the result obtained after removal of a part of the filling material"; "[0038] …ablation can be performed in a single step, by means of a laser beam").
Amir is directed to methods for cleaning sealing structures formed in processing chambers. This is considered to be in the same field of endeavor as applicant's invention.
De Boer is directed to laser processing an elastomer, and therefore, is considered to be in the same field of endeavor as applicant's invention.
Given Amir’s disclosure of a sealing structure formed within a groove, and De Boer’s disclosure of removing a portion of an elastomer using laser processing, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the elastomer material corresponds to a sealing structure formed within a groove, and wherein causing the elastomer removal system to remove the elastomer material from the target surface in accordance with the set of parameters comprises causing the elastomer removal system to remove a portion of the sealing structure from the groove. This is a known technique of laser processing an elastomeric material, as taught by Fidalgo and De Boer, applied to a known sealing structure, as taught by Amir, to predictably remove any undesired material from the gate structure of the slit valve. Regarding removal of an entirety of the sealing structure, this would have been obvious to try. A person of ordinary skill in the art, having the options of removing only a portion of a sealing structure, or removing an entirety of a sealing structure, would have had a reasonable expectation of success in removing the desired quantity of the sealing structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: CN-107261259-A [Kaneko]. Kaneko discloses the sealing pad is a procedure of forming a groove, wherein the groove extends in the circumferential direction, and then removed using a laser passing over the surface; however, does not cover the amount if any, a portion or the entirely.
/P.B.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761