Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-15, 19, 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 incorrectly depends upon cancelled claim 5.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Harestad (US 11,454,086).
As concerns claim 24, Harestad discloses an adaptor flange (Harestad - 102), comprising:
a body defining a through opening (Harestad – Figure 5, at least), the body comprising:
a first portion (Harestad - 104) terminating at a first end of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) and defining a first inner diameter of the through opening, the first portion (Harestad - 104) comprising a valve removal (VR) plug profile adapted to receive a VR plug (Harestad – 200, 400) such that, together with VR plug, the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) serves, with the VR plug engaged with the VR plug profile, as a fluid barrier that allows at least one of (i) attaching a valve (Harestad – 751) to the first portion (Harestad - 104) of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102), or (ii) removing a valve (751) from the first portion (Harestad - 104) of the adaptor flange (Harestad - Column 4, Lines 12-26 and Figure 5 illustrate and disclose all conditions required for the addition and removal of valve 751 as well as subsequent valves);
a second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10) terminating at a second end of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) and defining a second inner diameter of the through opening smaller than the first inner diameter of the through opening (Harestad – Figures 3 and 4); and
a neck portion (Harestad - Figures 4-10) connecting the first portion (Harestad - 104) to the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10), wherein an inner diameter of the through opening transitions from the first inner diameter to the second inner diameter along a longitudinal length of the neck portion (Harestad - Figures 4-10),
wherein an outer dimension of the first portion (Harestad - 104) is greater than an outer dimension of the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10).
As concerns claim 25, Harestad discloses the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) of claim 24, wherein the first portion (Harestad - 104) is coupled with a gate valve (Harestad – 751) such that, with the VR plug detached from the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102), the body allows a fluid to be injected (Harestad - Column 4, Lines 12-26 disclose the expressed capability of fluid injection) through the gate valve and the body, into a wellhead coupled with the body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 13, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harestad (US 11,454,086) in view of Shirley et al (US 10,400,545) and further in view of Guedes et al (US 10,450,821.
As concerns claim 1, Harestad discloses a wellbore chemical injection assembly, comprising:
a wellhead component (Harestad - 300) comprising an inlet comprising a first valve removal (VR) plug profile (Harestad - Profile where 200 is inserted);
an adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) comprising a body defining a through opening, the body comprising:
a first portion (Harestad - 104) terminating at a first end of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) and defining a first inner diameter of the through opening, the first portion (Harestad - 104) comprising a second valve removal (VR) plug profile (Harestad - wherein plug 400 is placed within 102);
a second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10) terminating at a second end of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) and defining a second inner diameter of the through opening smaller than the first inner diameter of the through opening, the second end of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) configured to be coupled with the inlet of the wellhead component (Harestad - 300); and
a neck portion (Harestad - Figures 4-10) connecting the first portion (Harestad - 104) to the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10), wherein an inner diameter of the through opening transitions from the first inner diameter to the second inner diameter along a longitudinal length of the neck portion (Harestad - Figures 4-10),
wherein an outer dimension of the first portion (Harestad - 104) is greater than an outer dimension of the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10).
Harestad fails to specify wherein the plugs are check valves, or the use of bolts and holes along the flanges.
Harestad provides all structure, as shown in Figures 4-10, for adding or removing an adjacent valve. See Figure 5, in particular, which illustrates conditions identical to Applicant’s invention which enable the attachment or removal of valve 751. (Column 4, Lines 12-26)
Shirley et al (US 10,400,545)
Shirley teaches wherein a plug may also function as a check-valve, (Shirley - Figure 1, Element 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Harestad to include the plug valve of Shirley for the expected benefit of providing selective fluid control through the fluid passage without removing the plug, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Guedes et al (US 10,450,821), however, teaches wherein the first portion of the adaptor flange (24) defines a plurality of first holes (whereby bolts 47 are inserted) evenly spaced in a first circle, the second portion of the adaptor flange (24) defines a plurality of second holes (whereby bolts 36 are provided) evenly spaced in a second circle, and wherein a diameter of the first circle is greater than a diameter of the second circle. (Figure 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Harestad as taught by Guedes to include the spaced plurality of holes about the flanges for the expected benefit of providing adequate and evenly spaced sealing force, through the use of a bolted flange system as is commonly found in the art, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 2, the combination discloses the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) of claim 1, wherein the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) comprises a single, unitary structure.
As concerns claim 3, the combination discloses the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) of claim 1, wherein the outer dimension of the first portion (Harestad - 104) is a maximum distance between two opposite outer edges of the first portion (Harestad - 104), and the outer dimension of the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10) is a maximum distance between two opposite outer edges of the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10).
As concerns claim 4, the combination discloses the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) of claim 3, wherein each of the first portion (Harestad - 104) and the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10) has a circular shape, and wherein the outer dimension of the first portion (Harestad - 104) is an outer diameter of the first portion (Harestad - 104), and the outer dimension of the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10) is an outer diameter of the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10).
As concerns claim 6, the combination discloses the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) of claim 1, wherein the first holes are configured to receive first bolts that couple the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) to a gate valve configured to be fluidically coupled to a chemical reservoir.
As concerns claim 7, the combination discloses the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) of claim 5, wherein the wellhead component (Harestad - 300) is a tubing spool (wellheads and tubing spools are considered analogous in the art as the terms both refer to tubular subsea members; spools are a more generic term than wellhead) and the inlet is a tubing spool inlet, and the second holes are configured to receive second bolts that couple the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) to the tubing spool inlet, the tubing spool being part of a wellhead installed at a surface of a wellbore formed through a subterranean zone.
As concerns claim 8, the combination discloses the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) of claim 1, wherein the first VR plug profile and second VR plug profiles are configured to receive a respective VR plug. (Harestad – plug 400)
As concerns claim 13, the combination discloses the wellbore chemical injection assembly of claim 9, however fails to specify wherein the first portion (Harestad - 104) of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) defines a plurality of first holes evenly spaced in a first circle, the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10) of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) defines a plurality of second holes evenly spaced in a second circle, and wherein a diameter of the first circle is greater than a diameter of the second circle.
Guedes et al (US 10,450,821), however, teaches wherein the first portion of the adaptor flange (24) defines a plurality of first holes (whereby bolts 47 are inserted) evenly spaced in a first circle, the second portion of the adaptor flange (24) defines a plurality of second holes (whereby bolts 36 are provided) evenly spaced in a second circle, and wherein a diameter of the first circle is greater than a diameter of the second circle. (Figure 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Harestad in view of Shirley as taught by Guedes to include the spaced plurality of holes about the flanges for the expected benefit of providing adequate and evenly spaced sealing force, through the use of a bolted flange system as is commonly found in the art, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 21, the combination discloses the wellbore chemical injection assembly of claim 1, further comprising a gate valve coupled with the first portion (Harestad - 104) of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) such that, with the VR plug detached from the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102), the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) allows a fluid to be injected through the gate valve and the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102), into a wellhead coupled with the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102).
Claims 9-12, 14, 19, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harestad in view of Shirley.
As concerns claim 9, Harestad discloses a wellbore chemical injection assembly, comprising:
a wellhead component (Harestad - 300) comprising an inlet comprising a first valve removal (VR) plug profile (Harestad - Profile where 200 is inserted);
an adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) comprising a body defining a through opening, the body comprising:
a first portion (Harestad - 104) terminating at a first end of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) and defining a first inner diameter of the through opening, the first portion (Harestad - 104) comprising a second valve removal (VR) plug profile (Harestad - wherein plug 400 is placed within 102);
a second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10) terminating at a second end of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) and defining a second inner diameter of the through opening smaller than the first inner diameter of the through opening; and
a neck portion (Harestad - Figures 4-10) that connects the first portion (Harestad - 104) to the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10), wherein an inner diameter of the through opening transitions from the first inner diameter to the second inner diameter along a longitudinal length of the neck portion (Harestad - Figures 4-10), wherein an outer dimension of the first portion (Harestad - 104) is greater than an outer dimension of the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10);
a first plug (Harestad – 200, 400) configured to be installed in the first VR plug profile; and
a second plug (Harestad – 200, 400) configured to be installed in the second VR plug profile of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) and comprising an exterior plug profile that engages with the second VR plug profile of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102), wherein the second VR plug profile is based on an American Petroleum Institute (API) standard.
Harestad fails to specify wherein the plugs are check valves.
Harestad provides all structure, as shown in Figures 4-10, for adding or removing an adjacent valve. See Figure 5, in particular, which illustrates conditions identical to Applicant’s invention which enable the attachment or removal of valve 751. (Column 4, Lines 12-26)
Shirley et al (US 10,400,545)
Shirley teaches wherein a plug may also function as a check-valve, (Shirley - Figure 1, Element 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Harestad to include the plug valve of Shirley for the expected benefit of providing selective fluid control through the fluid passage without removing the plug, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 10, the combination discloses the wellbore chemical injection assembly of claim 9, wherein the outer dimension of the first portion (Harestad - 104) is a maximum distance between two opposite outer edges of the first portion (Harestad - 104), and the outer dimension of the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10) is a maximum distance between two opposite outer edges of the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10).
As concerns claim 11, the combination discloses the wellbore chemical injection assembly of claim 10, wherein each of the first portion (Harestad - 104) and the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10) has a circular shape, and wherein the outer dimension of the first portion (Harestad - 104) is an outer diameter of the first portion (Harestad - 104), and the outer dimension of the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10) is an outer diameter of the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10).
As concerns claim 12, the combination discloses the wellbore chemical injection assembly of claim 9, wherein the check valve (Shirley – at least 10 and 20) is configured to be removably installed (Shirley – Figure 4) within the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102).
As concerns claim 14, Harestad discloses a system intended to perform a method, comprising:
providing an adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) comprising a body defining a through opening, the body comprising:
a first portion (Harestad - 104) terminating at a first end of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) and defining a first inner diameter of the through opening, the first portion (Harestad - 104) comprising a valve removal (VR) plug profile;
a second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10) terminating at a second end of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) and defining a second inner diameter of the through opening smaller than the first inner diameter of the through opening; and
a neck portion (Harestad - Figures 4-10) that connects the first portion (Harestad - 104) to the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10), wherein an inner diameter transitions from the first inner diameter to the second inner diameter along a longitudinal length of the neck portion (Harestad - Figures 4-10),
wherein an outer dimension of the first portion (Harestad - 104) is greater than an outer dimension of the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10);
coupling the first portion (Harestad - 104) of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) to a first gate valve configured to be fluidically coupled to a chemical reservoir;
coupling the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10) of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) to a tubing spool inlet of a wellhead installed at a surface of a wellbore formed through a subterranean zone;
inject (Harestad - Column 4, Lines 12-26 disclose the expressed capability of fluid injection)ing chemicals through the first gate valve and the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) into the tubing spool inlet;
installing a first plug (Harestad - 200) in the tubing spool inlet of the wellhead; and
installing a second plug (Harestad - 400) in the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102).
Harestad provides all structure, as shown in Figures 4-10, for adding or removing an adjacent valve. See Figure 5, in particular, which illustrates conditions identical to Applicant’s invention which enable the attachment or removal of valve 751.
Harestad fails to specify wherein the plugs are check valves.
Harestad provides all structure, as shown in Figures 4-10, for adding or removing an adjacent valve. See Figure 5, in particular, which illustrates conditions identical to Applicant’s invention which enable the attachment or removal of valve 751.
Shirley et al (US 10,400,545) teaches wherein a plug may also function as a check-valve, (Shirley - Figure 1, Element 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Harestad to include the plug valve of Shirley for the expected benefit of providing selective fluid control through the fluid passage without removing the plug, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 19, the combination discloses the method of claim 14, comprising:
removing the first check valve from the tubing spool inlet of the wellhead;
installing a first VR plug in the tubing spool inlet of the wellhead; and
performing an inflow test to assess effectiveness of isolation provided by the first VR plug.
(The combination of Harestad in view of Shirley provides all structure and intended functionality to perform the claimed steps of removing, installing and performing; See at least Harestad - Column 4, Lines 12-26).
As concerns claim 22, the combination discloses the wellbore chemical injection assembly of claim 9, wherein the check valve (Shirley – at least 10, 20) is configured to be installed in the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) such that, together with the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102), the check valve serves, with the check valve coupled with the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) profile, as a fluid barrier that allows removing a valve from the first portion (Harestad - 104) of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102).
As concerns claim 23, the combination discloses the wellbore chemical injection assembly of claim 22, further comprising a gate valve coupled with the first portion (Harestad - 104) of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) such that, with the check valve detached from the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102), the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) allows a fluid to be injected (Harestad - Column 4, Lines 12-26 disclose the expressed capability of fluid injection) through the gate valve and the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102), into a wellhead coupled with the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harestad in view of Shirley and further in view of Karakaya et al (US 11,913,300).
As concerns claim 15, the combination discloses the method of claim 14, however fails to specify wherein coupling the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10) of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) to the tubing spool inlet of the wellhead comprises:
coupling the second portion (Harestad - left hand side of the flange 102, see at least Figures 4-10) of the adaptor flange (Harestad - 102) to a second gate valve; and
coupling the second gate valve to the tubing spool inlet of the wellhead.
In particular, Harestad does not mention the addition of a second gate valve. However, Harestad also does not teach away from such a connection either.
The addition of valves in the subsea well environment is commonly referred to as redundancy and is notoriously well known in the art.
Karakaya et al (US 11,913,300) illustrates such a redundancy of valves being attached to a tree spool (See Figure 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Harestad in view of Shirley as further taught by Karakaya to include a second valve for the expected benefit of providing more fluid flow control in order to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 and 19 were previously objected-to as allowed over the prior art of record. This condition has been withdrawn upon further search and consideration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/AARON L LEMBO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3672