CTNF 18/644,801 CTNF 80488 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/20/2024 and 10/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Drawings 06-22 AIA The drawings are objected to because : Figure 4 is objected to because it doesn’t provide any information about blocks 42, 44 and 46. It is suggested to replace the figure indication what the blocks are “means for predicting”, “means for estimating”, “means for determining “ Figure 10 is objected to because it doesn’t provide any information about blocks 42, 44, 46 and 108. It is suggested to replace the figure indication what the blocks are “means for predicting”, “means for estimating”, “means for determining “, “means for determining reconfiguration” Figure 13 is objected to because it doesn’t provide any information . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification 06-16 AIA Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: Is not limited to a single paragraph. Uses the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” (see lines 1, 5 and 6) and “said,” (see lines 2, 5, 6, and 7) and comprising/comprise (see lines 1, 5 and 6) A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claims 47 does not belong to one of the four categories of: a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Regarding claim 47, claim 47 is rejected because it is claiming a data structure that is not claimed as “embodied in a non-transitory computer-readable storage media”, and data structures not claimed as embodied in a non-transitory computer-readable media are descriptive material per se and are not statutory because they are not capable of causing functional change in the computer. See, e.g., Warmerdam, 33 F.3d at 1361, 31 USPQ2d at 1760 (claim to a data structure per se held nonstatutory). Such claimed data structures do not define any structural and functional interrelationships between the data structure and other claimed aspects of the invention which permit the data structure's functionality to be realized. In contrast, a claimed computer-readable medium encoded with a data structure defines structural and functional interrelationships between the data structure and the computer software and hardware components which permit the data structure's functionality to be realized, and is thus statutory (see also “Subject Matter Eligibility of Computer Readable Media (26Jan2010)” 1351 OG 212 23 FEB 2010). Computer programs claimed as computer listings per se, i.e., the descriptions or expressions of the programs, are not physical "things." They are neither computer components nor statutory processes, as they are not "acts" being performed. Such claimed computer programs do not define any structural and functional interrelationships between the computer program and other claimed elements of a computer which permit the computer programs' functionality to be realized. In contrast, a claimed non-transitory computer-readable medium encoded with a computer program is a computer element which defines structural and functional interrelationships between the computer program and the rest of the computer which permit the computer program's functionality to be realized, and is thus statutory. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 28-34 and 39-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baghel (US 20200145799 A1) in view of Gulati (US 20220140926 A1) (see also Extended European Search Report received for corresponding European Patent Application No. 24171511.9, dated September 26, 2024, filed with the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) on 10/09/2024) . Regarding claims 28, 46 and 47, Baghel discloses a processor, memory comprising program instructions first node is configured to transfer data to a second node via a first sidelink, the first and second nodes are part of a mobile communications network (abstract figures 1-10 sidelink communications UE “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink”) PNG media_image1.png 788 600 media_image1.png Greyscale Baghel doesn’t disclose predict, for a first node at a first location, at least one second location of the first node; estimate a first radio parameter of the first sidelink at the second location; and determine, based on the estimated first radio parameter, if the first sidelink at the second location meets at least one selection criterion. Gulati discloses predict, for a first node at a first location, at least one second location of the first node (abstract figures 4, 5B and 7 paragraphs [0028], [0053]-[0054], [0062]-[0066] and [0080]-[0092] “A method, a computer-readable medium , and an apparatus are provided” …” link adaptation based on a prediction of a location or trajectory of a UE .” … “The apparatus adapts a transmission parameter for a second transmission based on a predicted location ” … “Aspects presented herein provide a predictive link adaption that may use a predicted location in performing link adaptation. The predicted location may include a prediction of a future location of a transmitting UE , e.g., such as UE 402, and/or a prediction of a future location of a receiving UE, e.g., such as UE 406. The predicted location may be based on a current location of the UE and a predicted change in location for the UE. The predicted location may use a current location of the UE and trajectory information for the UE”); estimate a first radio parameter of the first sidelink at the second location (abstract figures 4, 5B and 7 paragraphs [0028], [0053]-[0054], [0062]-[0066] and [0080]-[0092] “After determining a LOS condition, UE 502 may adapt a transmission parameter for a second transmission 520 following first transmission 503 based on a predicted location and/or trajectory of UE 502 and/or UE 504, as illustrated at 514”); and determine, based on the estimated first radio parameter, if the first sidelink at the second location meets at least one selection criterion (abstract figures 4, 5B and 7 paragraphs [0028], [0053]-[0054], [0062]-[0066] and [0080]-[0092] “As an example, the code rate may be adapted in a predictive manner based on predicted CQI feedback for a predicted change in path-loss between UE 502 and UE 504. The predicted path-loss and predicted CQI feedback may be based on a predicted location for UE 502 and/or UE 504.” ) PNG media_image2.png 402 593 media_image2.png Greyscale Baghel and Gulati are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Baghel the maintaining disclosed by Gulati. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to adapt a transmission parameter (Gulati abstract paragraph [0003]). See also KSR. In the KSR case, the Court stated that in certain circumstances what is obvious to try is also obvious , such as where "there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem, and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions , a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp . If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense ." Regarding hindsight, the Court found that "[r]igid preventive rules that deny fact finders recourse to common sense . . . are neither necessary under our case law nor consistent with it." The Court stated that " familiar items may have obvious uses beyond their primary purposes ," analogizing an obvious invention to the fitting together of pieces to a puzzle. The Court in this regard further stated that the person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, and not "an automaton ." Regarding claim 29, Baghel and Gulati disclose claim 28, Gulati also discloses determine a reconfiguration action if said first sidelink does not meet said selection criterion at said second location (paragraphs [0087]-[0091] “As illustrated at 716, the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE.”) Regarding claim 30, Baghel and Gulati disclose claim 29, Gulati also discloses reconfiguration action is determined based on said predicted second location (paragraphs [0087]-[0091] “The transmission parameter that is adjusted may correspond to a parameter for the link between the first UE and the second UE . For example, the transmission parameter may include at least one of a modulation, a code rate, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) density, a precoder, a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission periodicity and a feedback rate”) Regarding claim 31, Baghel and Gulati disclose claim 29, Gulati also discloses at least one of: changing a resource of said first sidelink; changing said selection criterion; establishing a second sidelink between said first node and a third node, wherein said second sidelink meets said at least one selection criterion; or transferring at least part of said data using a datalink between said first node and a base station (paragraphs [0087]-[0091] “The transmission parameter that is adjusted may correspond to a parameter for the link between the first UE and the second UE . For example, the transmission parameter may include at least one of a modulation, a code rate, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) density, a precoder, a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission periodicity and a feedback rate ”) Regarding claim 32, Baghel and Gulati disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses estimate a signal strength of said first sidelink at said second location (abstract paragraphs [0005]-[0006] “The first UE may transmit this first data packet at the initial configured power level and MCS and then adjust either or both of the transmission power and the MCS for a subsequent data packet transmission (e.g., for a second data packet), where the adjustment is made according to a configured step.”) Regarding claim 33, Baghel and Gulati disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses estimate congestion level of a resource (abstract paragraphs [0117] “In some examples, a receiving device 210 may not send a link adaptation feedback message in a feedback opportunity 220 as long as the signal quality measured by the device is above the configured threshold. However, a receiving device 210 may send a link adaptation feedback message as soon as one or more of the measured signal qualities goes below its threshold for a configured amount of time. In some cases, the configured threshold and time may depend on a CBR measured by the receiving device 210, which allows for traffic handling in case of congestion”) Regarding claim 34, Baghel and Gulati disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses channel busy ratio or channel occupancy ratio (abstract paragraphs [0005], [0066], [0209]-[0227] “or example, a transmitting device may begin transmissions to a receiving device with initial transmission parameters, which may be configured using a transmission priority and a channel busy ratio ” … “The first UE may transmit this first data packet at the initial configured power level and MCS and then adjust either or both of the transmission power and the MCS for a subsequent data packet transmission (e.g., for a second data packet), where the adjustment is made according to a configured step. In some examples, the initial configured transmission power level/MCS and the configured step may be a function of a channel busy ratio (CBR) and/or a quality of service (e.g., a priority) for the first data packet.”) Regarding claim 39, Baghel and Gulati disclose claim 28, Gulati also discloses predict, for said second node at a third location, at least one fourth location(s) of said second node (abstract figures 4, 5B and 7 paragraphs [0028], [0053]-[0054], [0062]-[0066] and [0080]-[0092] “A method, a computer-readable medium , and an apparatus are provided” …” link adaptation based on a prediction of a location or trajectory of a UE .” … “The apparatus adapts a transmission parameter for a second transmission based on a predicted location ” … “Aspects presented herein provide a predictive link adaption that may use a predicted location in performing link adaptation. The predicted location may include a prediction of a future location of a transmitting UE , e.g., such as UE 402, and/or a prediction of a future location of a receiving UE, e.g., such as UE 406. The predicted location may be based on a current location of the UE and a predicted change in location for the UE. The predicted location may use a current location of the UE and trajectory information for the UE”) Regarding claim 40, Baghel and Gulati disclose claim 28, Gulati also discloses estimate said first radio parameter at said second location(s) based on measurements or indicators of said first radio parameter at a plurality of other locations (abstract figures 4, 5B and 7 paragraphs [0028], [0053]-[0054], [0062]-[0066] and [0080]-[0092] “After determining a LOS condition, UE 502 may adapt a transmission parameter for a second transmission 520 following first transmission 503 based on a predicted location and/or trajectory of UE 502 and/or UE 504, as illustrated at 514”) Regarding claim 41, Baghel and Gulati disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses relay said data from said first node to a fifth node or to said first node from a fifth node (abstract figures 1-10 sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.”) Regarding claim 42, Baghel and Gulati disclose claim 28, Gulati also discloses receive said second location(s) from a first entity (abstract figures 4, 5B and 7 paragraphs [0028], [0053]-[0054], [0062]-[0066] and [0080]-[0092] “Aspects presented herein provide a predictive link adaption that may use a predicted location in performing link adaptation. The predicted location may include a prediction of a future location of a transmitting UE , e.g., such as UE 402, and/or a prediction of a future location of a receiving UE, e.g., such as UE 406. The predicted location may be based on a current location of the UE and a predicted change in location for the UE. The predicted location may use a current location of the UE and trajectory information for the UE”) Regarding claim 43, Baghel and Gulati disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses triggered by an event or a third message from a second entity (abstract figures 1-10 paragraph [0006] sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.” … “In some cases, the second UE may be configured with a threshold of a signal quality (e.g., signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) or reference signal received power (RSRP)), where the second UE measures the signal quality for a received data packet transmission and compares the measurement to the threshold . If the measurement falls below the threshold and remains there for a configured amount of time, the second UE may transmit a feedback message to the first UE to indicate a need to increase the transmission power level and/or decrease the MCS of the previously received data packet. In some cases, the configured threshold and the configured amount of time may depend on the CBR and the quality of service for the first data packet transmission.”) Regarding claim 44, Baghel and Gulati disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses a first node (abstract figures 1-10 paragraph [0006] sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.”) Regarding claim 45, Baghel and Gulati disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses an apparatus (abstract figures 1-10 paragraph [0006] sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.”) 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baghel and Gulati as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Trevathan (US 20180255425 A1) . Regarding claim 35, Baghel and Gulati disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses receive a first message from a fourth node (abstract figures 1-10 paragraph [0006] sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.” … “In some cases, the second UE may be configured with a threshold of a signal quality (e.g., signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) or reference signal received power (RSRP)), where the second UE measures the signal quality for a received data packet transmission and compares the measurement to the threshold. If the measurement falls below the threshold and remains there for a configured amount of time, the second UE may transmit a feedback message to the first UE to indicate a need to increase the transmission power level and/or decrease the MCS of the previously received data packet. In some cases, the configured threshold and the configured amount of time may depend on the CBR and the quality of service for the first data packet transmission.”) Gulati also discloses receive a first message from a fourth node (paragraphs [0049] ,[0087]-[0091] “Transmitting UE 402 transmits a transmission 414, e.g., comprising a control channel and/or a corresponding data channel, that may be received by receiving UEs 404, 406, 408, 410. The UEs 402, 404, 406, 408, 410 may each be capable of operating as a transmitting UE in addition to operating as a receiving UE. Thus, UE 408 is illustrated as transmitting a transmission 420. The transmissions 414, 420 may be unicast, broadcast, or multicast to nearby UEs .” … “The transmission parameter that is adjusted may correspond to a parameter for the link between the first UE and the second UE . For example, the transmission parameter may include at least one of a modulation, a code rate, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) density, a precoder, a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission periodicity and a feedback rate. ”) Baghel and Gulati don’t specifically disclose a prediction zone. Trevathan discloses a prediction zone substantially (paragraphs [0022], [0037], [0048]-[0049], [0071] “ optimize the monitoring of geo-boundaries based on a trajectory of the mobile device, e.g., direction, movement and speed of the mobile device. For example, by providing details of the mobile device, e.g., the current location, speed and direction of travel (e.g., trajectory) of the mobile device, it is possible to optimize a list of geo-boundaries within the path of the mobile device, e.g., within a prediction zone . More specifically, the prediction zone will focus on location points that should be monitored within the trajectory of the mobile device , e.g., within a path of the mobile device, while ignoring location points which are not projected to be within the trajectory of the mobile device” … “a predicted optimized zone (e.g., “ prediction zone ”) of coverage, i.e., optimized list of geo-boundaries, is generated, which may be within a predicted path of travel of the mobile device 110.”) Baghel, Gulati and Trevathan are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Baghel and Gulati the prediction zone disclosed by Trevathan. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to optimize the monitoring based on a trajectory of the mobile device (Trevathan abstract paragraph [0022]). See also KSR above. Regarding claim 36, Baghel, Gulati and Trevathan disclose claim 35, Baghel also discloses first message is sent in response to a second message (abstract figures 1-10 paragraph [0006] sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.” … “In some cases, the second UE may be configured with a threshold of a signal quality (e.g., signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) or reference signal received power (RSRP)), where the second UE measures the signal quality for a received data packet transmission and compares the measurement to the threshold. If the measurement falls below the threshold and remains there for a configured amount of time, the second UE may transmit a feedback message to the first UE to indicate a need to increase the transmission power level and/or decrease the MCS of the previously received data packet. In some cases, the configured threshold and the configured amount of time may depend on the CBR and the quality of service for the first data packet transmission.”) Regarding claim 37, Baghel, Gulati and Trevathan disclose claim 35, Baghel also discloses first message comprises a measurement of or indicators of said first radio parameter by said fourth node at said prediction zone (abstract figures 1-10 paragraph [0006] sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.” … “In some cases, the second UE may be configured with a threshold of a signal quality (e.g., signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) or reference signal received power (RSRP)), where the second UE measures the signal quality for a received data packet transmission and compares the measurement to the threshold . If the measurement falls below the threshold and remains there for a configured amount of time, the second UE may transmit a feedback message to the first UE to indicate a need to increase the transmission power level and/or decrease the MCS of the previously received data packet. In some cases, the configured threshold and the configured amount of time may depend on the CBR and the quality of service for the first data packet transmission.”) Regarding claim 38, Baghel, Gulati and Trevathan disclose claim 35, Baghel also discloses first message comprises sidelink control information (abstract figures 1-10 paragraph [0006] sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink .” … “In some cases, the second UE may be configured with a threshold of a signal quality (e.g., signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) or reference signal received power (RSRP)), where the second UE measures the signal quality for a received data packet transmission and compares the measurement to the threshold . If the measurement falls below the threshold and remains there for a configured amount of time, the second UE may transmit a feedback message to the first UE to indicate a need to increase the transmission power level and/or decrease the MCS of the previously received data packet. In some cases, the configured threshold and the configured amount of time may depend on the CBR and the quality of service for the first data packet transmission.”) 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 28-34 and 39-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baghel (US 20200145799 A1) in view of Mach (US 20210321233 A1) (see also Extended European Search Report received for corresponding European Patent Application No. 24171511.9, dated September 26, 2024, filed with the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) on 10/09/2024) . Regarding claims 28, 46 and 47, Baghel discloses a processor, memory comprising program instructions first node is configured to transfer data to a second node via a first sidelink, the first and second nodes are part of a mobile communications network (abstract figures 1-10 sidelink communications UE “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.”) Baghel doesn’t disclose predict, for a first node at a first location, at least one second location of the first node; estimate a first radio parameter of the first sidelink at the second location; and determine, based on the estimated first radio parameter, if the first sidelink at the second location meets at least one selection criterion. Mach discloses predict, for a first node at a first location, at least one second location of the first node (abstract figures 4, 9-10 paragraphs [0180]-[0183], [0209], [0223]-[0227] [0279]-[0281], [0308]-[0335] “For example, where the first UE is included in a first vehicle and the second UE is included in a second vehicle , the first UE may determine and transmit network information such as frequency, physical cell identifier, RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ (i.e. the first information) with corresponding locations thereof (i.e. the second information). Upon receiving the first information and the corresponding second information, the second UE determines the first state of the network, for example at the corresponding location of the first UE, and may predict (i.e. calculate) similar first information therefrom for a future location of the second UE , such as proximal or at the locations included in the received second information. If the first state of the network, for example at the corresponding location of the first UE, is changed compared with a current state of the network, for example at a current location of the second UE, the second UE may initiate a first action, as described above, to mitigate for the change. For example, if the RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ at the corresponding location of the first UE is degraded compared with the RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ at the current location of the second UE, the second UE may reduce a bitrate usage thereof, as described previously” … “Calculating, by the second UE, a predicted state of the network corresponding to a predicted location of the second UE, using the set of states of the network. In this way, the second UE may determine the predicted state of the network, for example dynamically, for a path to be taken by the second UE”); estimate a first radio parameter of the first sidelink at the second location (abstract figures 4, 9-10 paragraphs [0180]-[0183], [0209], [0223]-[0227] [0279]-[0281], [0308]-[0335] “For example, where the first UE is included in a first vehicle and the second UE is included in a second vehicle , the first UE may determine and transmit network information such as frequency, physical cell identifier, RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ (i.e. the first information) with corresponding locations thereof (i.e. the second information). Upon receiving the first information and the corresponding second information, the second UE determines the first state of the network, for example at the corresponding location of the first UE, and may predict (i.e. calculate) similar first information therefrom for a future location of the second UE , such as proximal or at the locations included in the received second information. If the first state of the network, for example at the corresponding location of the first UE, is changed compared with a current state of the network, for example at a current location of the second UE, the second UE may initiate a first action, as described above, to mitigate for the change. For example, if the RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ at the corresponding location of the first UE is degraded compared with the RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ at the current location of the second UE, the second UE may reduce a bitrate usage thereof, as described previously” … “Calculating, by the second UE, a predicted state of the network corresponding to a predicted location of the second UE, using the set of states of the network. In this way, the second UE may determine the predicted state of the network, for example dynamically, for a path to be taken by the second UE”); and determine, based on the estimated first radio parameter, if the first sidelink at the second location meets at least one selection criterion (abstract figures 4, 9-10 paragraphs [0180]-[0183], [0209], [0223]-[0227] [0279]-[0281], [0308]-[0335] “For example, where the first UE is included in a first vehicle and the second UE is included in a second vehicle , the first UE may determine and transmit network information such as frequency, physical cell identifier, RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ (i.e. the first information) with corresponding locations thereof (i.e. the second information). Upon receiving the first information and the corresponding second information, the second UE determines the first state of the network, for example at the corresponding location of the first UE, and may predict (i.e. calculate) similar first information therefrom for a future location of the second UE , such as proximal or at the locations included in the received second information. If the first state of the network, for example at the corresponding location of the first UE, is changed compared with a current state of the network, for example at a current location of the second UE, the second UE may initiate a first action, as described above, to mitigate for the change. For example, if the RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ at the corresponding location of the first UE is degraded compared with the RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ at the current location of the second UE, the second UE may reduce a bitrate usage thereof, as described previously” … “Calculating, by the second UE, a predicted state of the network corresponding to a predicted location of the second UE, using the set of states of the network. In this way, the second UE may determine the predicted state of the network, for example dynamically, for a path to be taken by the second UE”) PNG media_image3.png 424 695 media_image3.png Greyscale PNG media_image4.png 428 704 media_image4.png Greyscale Baghel and Mach are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Baghel the maintaining disclosed by Mach. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to supporting higher data rates (Mach abstract paragraph [0003]). See also KSR above. Regarding claim 29, Baghel and Mach disclose claim 28, Mach also discloses determine a reconfiguration action if said first sidelink does not meet said selection criterion at said second location (abstract figures 4, 9-10 paragraphs [0180]-[0183], [0209], [0223]-[0227] [0279]-[0281], [0308]-[0335] “ If the first state of the network, for example at the corresponding location of the first UE, is changed compared with a current state of the network, for example at a current location of the second UE, the second UE may initiate a first action, as described above, to mitigate for the change. For example, if the RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ at the corresponding location of the first UE is degraded compared with the RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ at the current location of the second UE, the second UE may reduce a bitrate usage thereof, as described previously”) Regarding claim 30, Baghel and Mach disclose claim 29, Mach also discloses reconfiguration action is determined based on said predicted second location (abstract figures 4, 9-10 paragraphs [0180]-[0183], [0209], [0223]-[0227] [0279]-[0281], [0308]-[0335] “Upon receiving the first information and the corresponding second information, the second UE determines the first state of the network, for example at the corresponding location of the first UE, and may predict (i.e. calculate) similar first information therefrom for a future location of the second UE , such as proximal or at the locations included in the received second information.” … “Calculating, by the second UE, a predicted state of the network corresponding to a predicted location of the second UE, using the set of states of the network. In this way, the second UE may determine the predicted state of the network, for example dynamically, for a path to be taken by the second UE”) Regarding claim 31, Baghel and Mach disclose claim 29, Mach also discloses at least one of: changing a resource of said first sidelink; changing said selection criterion; establishing a second sidelink between said first node and a third node, wherein said second sidelink meets said at least one selection criterion; or transferring at least part of said data using a datalink between said first node and a base station (abstract figures 4, 9-10 paragraphs [0180]-[0183], [0209], [0223]-[0227] [0279]-[0281], [0308]-[0335] “For example, if the RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ at the corresponding location of the first UE is degraded compared with the RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ at the current location of the second UE, the second UE may reduce a bitrate usage thereof , as described previously”) Regarding claim 32, Baghel and Mach disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses estimate a signal strength of said first sidelink at said second location (abstract paragraphs [0005]-[0006] “The first UE may transmit this first data packet at the initial configured power level and MCS and then adjust either or both of the transmission power and the MCS for a subsequent data packet transmission (e.g., for a second data packet), where the adjustment is made according to a configured step.”) Regarding claim 33, Baghel and Mach disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses estimate congestion level of a resource (abstract paragraphs [0117] “In some examples, a receiving device 210 may not send a link adaptation feedback message in a feedback opportunity 220 as long as the signal quality measured by the device is above the configured threshold. However, a receiving device 210 may send a link adaptation feedback message as soon as one or more of the measured signal qualities goes below its threshold for a configured amount of time. In some cases, the configured threshold and time may depend on a CBR measured by the receiving device 210, which allows for traffic handling in case of congestion”) Regarding claim 34, Baghel and Mach disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses channel busy ratio or channel occupancy ratio (abstract paragraphs [0005], [0066], [0209]-[0227] “or example, a transmitting device may begin transmissions to a receiving device with initial transmission parameters, which may be configured using a transmission priority and a channel busy ratio ” … “The first UE may transmit this first data packet at the initial configured power level and MCS and then adjust either or both of the transmission power and the MCS for a subsequent data packet transmission (e.g., for a second data packet), where the adjustment is made according to a configured step. In some examples, the initial configured transmission power level/MCS and the configured step may be a function of a channel busy ratio (CBR) and/or a quality of service (e.g., a priority) for the first data packet.”) Regarding claim 39, Baghel and Mach disclose claim 28, Mach also discloses predict, for said second node at a third location, at least one fourth location(s) of said second node (abstract figures 4, 9-10 paragraphs [0180]-[0183], [0209], [0223]-[0227] [0279]-[0281], [0308]-[0335] “Upon receiving the first information and the corresponding second information, the second UE determines the first state of the network, for example at the corresponding location of the first UE, and may predict (i.e. calculate) similar first information therefrom for a future location of the second UE , such as proximal or at the locations included in the received second information.”) Regarding claim 40, Baghel and Mach disclose claim 28, Mach also discloses estimate said first radio parameter at said second location(s) based on measurements or indicators of said first radio parameter at a plurality of other locations (abstract figures 4, 9-10 paragraphs [0180]-[0183], [0209], [0223]-[0227] [0279]-[0281], [0308]-[0335] “For example, where the first UE is included in a first vehicle and the second UE is included in a second vehicle , the first UE may determine and transmit network information such as frequency, physical cell identifier, RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ (i.e. the first information) with corresponding locations thereof (i.e. the second information). Upon receiving the first information and the corresponding second information, the second UE determines the first state of the network, for example at the corresponding location of the first UE, and may predict (i.e. calculate) similar first information therefrom for a future location of the second UE , such as proximal or at the locations included in the received second information.”) Regarding claim 41, Baghel and Mach disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses relay said data from said first node to a fifth node or to said first node from a fifth node (abstract figures 1-10 sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.”) Regarding claim 42, Baghel and Mach disclose claim 28, Mach also discloses receive said second location(s) from a first entity (abstract figures 4, 9-10 paragraphs [0180]-[0183], [0209], [0223]-[0227] [0279]-[0281], [0308]-[0335] “For example, where the first UE is included in a first vehicle and the second UE is included in a second vehicle , the first UE may determine and transmit network information such as frequency, physical cell identifier, RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ (i.e. the first information) with corresponding locations thereof (i.e. the second information). Upon receiving the first information and the corresponding second information, the second UE determines the first state of the network, for example at the corresponding location of the first UE, and may predict (i.e. calculate) similar first information therefrom for a future location of the second UE , such as proximal or at the locations included in the received second information.”) Regarding claim 43, Baghel and Mach disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses triggered by an event or a third message from a second entity (abstract figures 1-10 paragraph [0006] sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.” … “In some cases, the second UE may be configured with a threshold of a signal quality (e.g., signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) or reference signal received power (RSRP)), where the second UE measures the signal quality for a received data packet transmission and compares the measurement to the threshold . If the measurement falls below the threshold and remains there for a configured amount of time, the second UE may transmit a feedback message to the first UE to indicate a need to increase the transmission power level and/or decrease the MCS of the previously received data packet. In some cases, the configured threshold and the configured amount of time may depend on the CBR and the quality of service for the first data packet transmission.”) Regarding claim 44, Baghel and Mach disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses a first node (abstract figures 1-10 paragraph [0006] sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.”) Regarding claim 45, Baghel and Mach disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses an apparatus (abstract figures 1-10 paragraph [0006] sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.”) 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baghel and Mach as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Trevathan (US 20180255425 A1) . Regarding claim 35, Baghel and Mach disclose claim 28, Baghel also discloses receive a first message from a fourth node (abstract figures 1-10 paragraph [0006] sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.” … “In some cases, the second UE may be configured with a threshold of a signal quality (e.g., signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) or reference signal received power (RSRP)), where the second UE measures the signal quality for a received data packet transmission and compares the measurement to the threshold. If the measurement falls below the threshold and remains there for a configured amount of time, the second UE may transmit a feedback message to the first UE to indicate a need to increase the transmission power level and/or decrease the MCS of the previously received data packet. In some cases, the configured threshold and the configured amount of time may depend on the CBR and the quality of service for the first data packet transmission.”) Mach also discloses receive a first message from a fourth node located in a proximal zone substantially around said second location (abstract figures 4, 9-10 paragraphs [0180]-[0183], [0209], [0223]-[0227] [0279]-[0281], [0308]-[0335] “For example, where the first UE is included in a first vehicle and the second UE is included in a second vehicle , the first UE may determine and transmit network information such as frequency, physical cell identifier, RSSI, RSRP and/or RSRQ (i.e. the first information) with corresponding locations thereof (i.e. the second information). Upon receiving the first information and the corresponding second information, the second UE determines the first state of the network, for example at the corresponding location of the first UE, and may predict (i.e. calculate) similar first information therefrom for a future location of the second UE , such as proximal or at the locations included in the received second information.”) Baghel and Mach don’t specifically disclose a prediction zone. Trevathan discloses a prediction zone substantially (paragraphs [0022], [0037], [0048]-[0049], [0071] “ optimize the monitoring of geo-boundaries based on a trajectory of the mobile device, e.g., direction, movement and speed of the mobile device. For example, by providing details of the mobile device, e.g., the current location, speed and direction of travel (e.g., trajectory) of the mobile device, it is possible to optimize a list of geo-boundaries within the path of the mobile device, e.g., within a prediction zone . More specifically, the prediction zone will focus on location points that should be monitored within the trajectory of the mobile device , e.g., within a path of the mobile device, while ignoring location points which are not projected to be within the trajectory of the mobile device” … “a predicted optimized zone (e.g., “ prediction zone ”) of coverage, i.e., optimized list of geo-boundaries, is generated, which may be within a predicted path of travel of the mobile device 110.”) Baghel, Mach and Trevathan are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Baghel and Mach the prediction zone disclosed by Trevathan. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to optimize the monitoring based on a trajectory of the mobile device (Trevathan abstract paragraph [0022]). See also KSR above. Regarding claim 36, Baghel, Mach and Trevathan disclose claim 35, Baghel also discloses first message is sent in response to a second message (abstract figures 1-10 paragraph [0006] sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.” … “In some cases, the second UE may be configured with a threshold of a signal quality (e.g., signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) or reference signal received power (RSRP)), where the second UE measures the signal quality for a received data packet transmission and compares the measurement to the threshold. If the measurement falls below the threshold and remains there for a configured amount of time, the second UE may transmit a feedback message to the first UE to indicate a need to increase the transmission power level and/or decrease the MCS of the previously received data packet. In some cases, the configured threshold and the configured amount of time may depend on the CBR and the quality of service for the first data packet transmission.”) Regarding claim 37, Baghel, Mach and Trevathan disclose claim 35, Baghel also discloses first message comprises a measurement of or indicators of said first radio parameter by said fourth node at said prediction zone (abstract figures 1-10 paragraph [0006] sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink.” … “In some cases, the second UE may be configured with a threshold of a signal quality (e.g., signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) or reference signal received power (RSRP)), where the second UE measures the signal quality for a received data packet transmission and compares the measurement to the threshold . If the measurement falls below the threshold and remains there for a configured amount of time, the second UE may transmit a feedback message to the first UE to indicate a need to increase the transmission power level and/or decrease the MCS of the previously received data packet. In some cases, the configured threshold and the configured amount of time may depend on the CBR and the quality of service for the first data packet transmission.”) Regarding claim 38, Baghel, Mach and Trevathan disclose claim 35, Baghel also discloses first message comprises sidelink control information (abstract figures 1-10 paragraph [0006] sidelink communications “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system that supports sidelink .” … “In some cases, the second UE may be configured with a threshold of a signal quality (e.g., signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) or reference signal received power (RSRP)), where the second UE measures the signal quality for a received data packet transmission and compares the measurement to the threshold . If the measurement falls below the threshold and remains there for a configured amount of time, the second UE may transmit a feedback message to the first UE to indicate a need to increase the transmission power level and/or decrease the MCS of the previously received data packet. In some cases, the configured threshold and the configured amount of time may depend on the CBR and the quality of service for the first data packet transmission.”) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Edge (US 20230417861 A1) discloses coordination of crowd sensing using radio frequency sensing from multiple wireless nodes. Abedini (US 20240306117 A1) discloses resolving ambiguity in cases of repeater-based positioning. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUAN A TORRES whose telephone number is (571) 272-3119. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kenneth N Vanderpuye can be reached at (571) 272-3078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JUAN A TORRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 2 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 3 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 4 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 5 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 6 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 7 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 8 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 9 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 10 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 11 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 12 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 13 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 14 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 15 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 16 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 17 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 18 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 19 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 20 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 21 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 22 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 23 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 24 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 25 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 26 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 27 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 28 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 29 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 30 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/644,801 Page 31 Art Unit: 2634