Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II as represented by Figure 7, directed to a support rib having an I-shape with a central joined section, a first end section, and a second end section, in the reply filed on October 28, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 2, 11, 13-14, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 28, 2025.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it is replete with clerical and grammatical errors too numerous to mention in each and every instance. The following are several examples of defects. The specification should be carefully proofread for additional instances of clerical and grammatical errors and requires extensive revisions. Appropriate correction is required.
On page 2, line 16, “;” should be changed to -- . --.
On page 2, line 27, “a” should be changed to -- the --.
On page 2, line 27, “tubes” should be changed to -- tube --.
On page 2, line 27, “separated” should be changed to -- separates --.On page 2, line 31, “define” should be changed to -- defines --.
On page 7, line 12, “though” should be changed to -- through --.
On page 8, line 17, “welp” should be changed to -- weft --.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-10, 12, and 15-19 are objected to because they are replete with clerical and grammatical errors too numerous to mention in each and every instance. The following are several examples of clerical and grammatical errors. The claims should carefully be proofread for additional clerical and grammatical errors and require extensive revisions. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 1, line 4, “define” should be changed to -- defines --.
In claim 1, lines 15-17, “and at least one ply of the first end section extends outwardly from the front surface of the central joined section in the thickness direction” is a duplicate limitation previously recited.
In claims 3 and 4, line 1, “piles” should be changed to -- plies --.
In claim 5, line 6, “separated” should be changed to -- separates --.
In claim 5, line 10, “define” should be changed to -- defines --.
In claim 5, line 13, “have” should be changed to -- has --.
In claim 5, line 21, “define” should be changed to -- defines --.
In claim 5, lines 32-34, “and at least one ply of the first end section extends outwardly from the front surface of the central joined section in the thickness direction” is a duplicate limitation previously recited.
In claim 6, line 4, “of the” (second occurrence) should be deleted.
In claim 7, line 4, “of the” (second occurrence) should be deleted.
In claim 8, line 1, “piles” should be changed to -- plies --.
In claim 15, line 6, “separated” should be changed to -- separates --.
In claim 15, line 11, “define” should be changed to -- defines --.
In claim 15, line 14, “have” should be changed to -- has --.
In claim 15, line 22, “define” should be changed to -- defines --.
In claim 15, lines 33-35, “and at least one ply of the first end section extends outwardly from the front surface of the central joined section in the thickness direction” is a duplicate limitation previously recited.
In claim 16, line 4, “of the” (second occurrence) should be deleted.
In claim 17, line 4, “of the” (second occurrence) should be deleted.
In claim 18, line 1, “piles” should be changed to -- plies --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-10, 12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are replete with double recitations of previously recited elements too numerous to mention in each and every instance, causing ambiguity. The following are several examples of previously recited elements. The claims should be carefully reviewed for additional instances of indefinite claim language.
In claim 5, lines 2-3, “a second radial tube” (second occurrence) is a double recitation of the second radial tube.
In claim 5, lines 5-6, “a second radial tubes” is inaccurate as there is only one second radial tube, and this is a double recitation of the second radial tube.
In claim 5, line 16, “a second radial tube” is a double recitation of the second radial tube.
In claim 5, lines 17-18, “a second radial tube” is a double recitation of the second radial tube.
In claim 9, line 3, it is unclear as to which element “the second” refers to.
In claim 10, line 1, “the woven fiber structures” lacks antecedent basis, and it is unclear as to which element this refers to.
In claim 15, line 3, “a second radial tube” is a double recitation of the second radial tube.
In claim 15, line 6, “a second radial tubes” is inaccurate as there is only one second radial tube, and this is a double recitation of the second radial tube.
In claim 15, line 17, “a second radial tube” is a double recitation of the second radial tube.
In claim 15, lines 18-19, “a second radial tube” is a double recitation of the second radial tube.
In claim 19, line 3, it is unclear as to which element “the second” refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 12, and 15-17 (as far as claims 5-7, 12, and 15-17 are definite and understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. 11,560,800.
Disclosed is an airfoil support rib comprising: a central joined section comprising at least one ply 72, 74, 76 containing woven fibers in a ceramic matrix, the central joined section having a front surface and a back surface wherein the area between the front surface and the back surface define a thickness of the support rib, the central joined section further comprising a first end and a second end wherein the first and second ends are positioned opposite of each other, a first end section comprising at least two plies 74, 76 containing woven fibers in a ceramic matrix, wherein each of the at least two plies of the first end section extends from the central joined section at the first end of the central joined section and at least one ply of the first end section extends outwardly from the front surface of the central joined section in a thickness direction and at least one ply of the first end section extends outwardly from the back surface of the central joined section in the thickness direction; a second end section comprising at least two plies 74, 76 containing woven fibers in a ceramic matrix, wherein each of the at least two plies of the second end section extends from the central joined section at the second end of the central joined section and at least one ply of the first end section extends outwardly from the front surface of the central joined section in the thickness direction and at least one ply of the second end section extends outwardly from the back surface of the central joined section in the thickness direction. Note column 5, lines 45-48 (claim 1).
Also disclosed is an airfoil 60 comprising: a first radial tube 78a and a second radial tube 78b wherein the first radial tube and a second radial tube have a length, a width, and a thickness, wherein the length and width of each of the first radial tube and the second radial tube form a top and bottom surface on each of the first radial tube and the second radial tube where the thickness of the first radial tube and a second radial tubes 78b separated the top and bottom surfaces, wherein the first and second radial tubes have an outer circumferential surface whose length and width is defined by the thickness of the first and second radial tubes, wherein a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the first and second radial tubes define complementary flat surfaces of the first and second radial tubes, wherein the complementary flat surface of the first radial tube is positioned adjacent to the complementary flat surface of the second radial tube, and wherein the outer circumferential surface of the first and second radial tubes have at least two curved surfaces positioned above and below the complementary flat surfaces of the first and second radial tubes; and at least one support rib positioned between the first radial tube and a second radial tube 78b and attached to both the complementary flat surfaces of the first radial tube and a second radial tube 78b, the support rib comprising: the central joined section comprising the at least one ply containing woven fibers in the ceramic matrix, the central joined section having the front surface and the back surface wherein the area between the front surface and the back surface define the thickness of the support rib, the central joined section further comprising the first end and the second end wherein the first and second ends are positioned opposite of each other, the first end section comprising the at least two plies containing the woven fibers in the ceramic matrix, wherein each of the at least two plies of the first end section extends from the central joined section at the first end of the central joined section and at the least one ply of the first end section extends outwardly from the front surface of the central joined section in the thickness direction and the at least one ply of the first end section extends outwardly from the back surface of the central joined section in the thickness direction; the second end section comprising the at least two plies containing woven fibers in the ceramic matrix, wherein each of the at least two plies of the second end section extends from the central joined section at the second end of the central joined section and the at least one ply of the first end section extends outwardly from the front surface of the central joined section in the thickness direction and the at least one ply of the second end section extends outwardly from the back surface of the central joined section in the thickness direction (claim 5).
At least one ply of the first end section attaches to the curved surface of the outer circumferential surface of the first radial tube which is positioned above the complementary flat surface of the first radial tube and at least one ply of the first end section attaches to the curved surface of the outer circumferential surface of the of the second radial tube which is positioned above the complementary flat surface of the second radial tube (claim 6).
At least one ply of the second end section attaches to the curved surface of the outer circumferential surface of the first radial tube which is positioned below the complementary flat surface of the first radial tube and at least one ply of the second end section attaches to the curved surface of the outer circumferential surface of the of the second radial tube which is positioned below the complementary flat surface of the second radial tube (claim 7).
Also disclosed is a method for making the airfoil comprising: joining the first radial tube to the second radial tube via the support rib (by exterior overwrap plies 76); wherein the first radial tube and a second radial tube 78b have a length, a width, and a thickness, wherein the length and width of each of the first radial tube and the second radial tube form the top and bottom surface on each of the first radial tube and the second radial tube where the thickness of the first radial tube and a second radial tubes 78b separated the top and bottom surfaces, wherein the first and second radial tubes have the outer circumferential surface whose length and width is defined by the thickness of the first and second radial tubes, wherein the portion of the outer circumferential surface of the first and second radial tubes define the complementary flat surfaces of the first and second radial tubes, wherein the complementary flat surface of the first radial tube is positioned adjacent to the complementary flat surface of the second radial tube, and wherein the outer circumferential surface of the first and second radial tubes have the at least two curved surfaces positioned above and below the complementary flat surfaces of the first and second radial tubes; and the at least one support rib positioned between the first radial tube and a second radial tube 78b and attached to both the complementary flat surfaces of the first radial tube and a second radial tube 78b, the support rib comprising: the central joined section comprising the at least one ply containing woven fibers in the ceramic matrix, the central joined section having the front surface and the back surface wherein the area between the front surface and the back surface define the thickness of the support rib, the central joined section further comprising the first end and the second end wherein the first and second ends are positioned opposite of each other, the first end section comprising at the least two plies containing woven fibers in the ceramic matrix, wherein each of the at least two plies of the first end section extends from the central joined section at the first end of the central joined section and at the least one ply of the first end section extends outwardly from the front surface of the central joined section in the thickness direction and the at least one ply of the first end section extends outwardly from the back surface of the central joined section in the thickness direction; the second end section comprising the at least two plies containing woven fibers in the ceramic matrix, wherein each of the at least two plies of the second end section extends from the central joined section at the second end of the central joined section and the at least one ply of the first end section extends outwardly from the front surface of the central joined section in the thickness direction and the at least one ply of the second end section extends outwardly from the back surface of the central joined section in the thickness direction (claim 15).
The at least one ply of the first end section attaches to the curved surface of the outer circumferential surface of the first radial tube which is positioned above the complementary flat surface of the first radial tube and at least one ply of the first end section attaches to the curved surface of the outer circumferential surface of the of the second radial tube which is positioned above the complementary flat surface of the second radial tube (claim 16).
The at least one ply of the second end section attaches to the curved surface of the outer circumferential surface of the first radial tube which is positioned below the complementary flat surface of the first radial tube and at least one ply of the second end section attaches to the curved surface of the outer circumferential surface of the of the second radial tube which is positioned below the complementary flat surface of the second radial tube (claim 17).
Note the annotated figures below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. 11,560,800 in view of the article by Unni Santhosh “Stress Analysis and Life Prediction of a Ceramic Matrix Composite Vane Using a Micromechanics-Based Approach”.
Kim et al discloses an airfoil substantially as claimed as set forth above, but does not disclose that the fibers of the plies of the airfoil support rib comprises warp fibers and weft fibers woven together at a perpendicular angle.
The article “Stress Analysis and Life Prediction of a Ceramic Matrix Composite Vane Using a Micromechanics-Based Approach” (figure 3) shows a ceramic matrix composite vane having woven fibers of plies of the airfoil which comprises warp fibers and weft fibers woven together at a perpendicular angle as shown by the right hand side of figure 3, for the purpose of allowing for handling high interlaminar stresses in the airfoil.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the airfoil support rib of Kim et al. such that the fibers of the plies of the airfoil support rib comprises warp fibers and weft fibers woven together at a perpendicular angle, as taught by the article “Stress Analysis and Life Prediction of a Ceramic Matrix Composite Vane Using a Micromechanics-Based Approach”, for the purpose of allowing for handling high interlaminar stresses in the airfoil.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. 11,560,800 in view of Dyson et al. 2021/0189886.
Kim et al discloses an airfoil support rib substantially as claimed as set forth above, but does not disclose that the fibers of the plies of the airfoil support rib are SiC fibers coated with boron nitride.
Dyson et al. shows a ceramic matrix composite (CMC) airfoil 14 having an unnumbered airfoil support rib which divides the airfoil into two portions 32, with fibers of plies of the airfoil support rib being SiC fibers coated with boron nitride (paragraphs [0031] and [0033], for example), for the purpose of providing desirable thermal and mechanical properties to the airfoil.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the airfoil support rib of Kim et al. such that the fibers of the plies of the airfoil support rib are SiC fibers coated with boron nitride, as taught by Dyson et al., for the purpose of providing desirable thermal and mechanical properties to the airfoil support rib.
Claims 8-9 and 18-19, as far as they are definite and understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. 11,560,800 in view of the article by Unni Santhosh “Stress Analysis and Life Prediction of a Ceramic Matrix Composite Vane Using a Micromechanics-Based Approach”.
Kim et al discloses an airfoil and a method for making an airfoil substantially as claimed as set forth above, but does not disclose that the fibers of the plies of the airfoil support rib comprises warp fibers and weft fibers woven together at a perpendicular angle (claim 8), does not disclose warp fibers and weft fibers of the central joined section are generally oriented in the width and thickness directions of the radial tubes, and wherein warp fibers and weft fibers of the second and second end sections are generally oriented in the thickness and length directions of the radial tubes (claim 9), does not disclose that the fibers of the plies of the airfoil support rib comprises warp fibers and weft fibers woven together at a perpendicular angle (claim 18), and does not disclose warp fibers and weft fibers of the central joined section are generally oriented in the width and thickness directions of the radial tubes, and wherein warp fibers and weft fibers of the second and second end sections are generally oriented in the thickness and length directions of the radial tubes (claim 19).
The article “Stress Analysis and Life Prediction of a Ceramic Matrix Composite Vane Using a Micromechanics-Based Approach” (figure 3) shows a ceramic matrix composite vane having woven fibers of plies of the airfoil which comprises warp fibers and weft fibers woven together at a perpendicular angle as shown by the right hand side of figure 3, and having woven warp fibers and weft fibers as shown by the right hand side of figure 3 which are generally oriented in a width and a thickness directions of the airfoil, and wherein warp fibers and weft fibers of an end section as shown by the left hand side of figure 3 are generally oriented in the thickness and length directions of the airfoil, for the purpose of allowing for handling high interlaminar stresses in the airfoil.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the airfoil and method for making an airfoil of Kim et al. such that the fibers of the plies of the airfoil support rib comprises warp fibers and weft fibers woven together at a perpendicular angle, such that warp fibers and weft fibers of the central joined section are generally oriented in the width and thickness directions of the radial tubes, and such that warp fibers and weft fibers of the second and second end sections are generally oriented in the thickness and length directions of the radial tubes, as taught by the article “Stress Analysis and Life Prediction of a Ceramic Matrix Composite Vane Using a Micromechanics-Based Approach”, for the purpose of allowing for handling high interlaminar stresses in the airfoil.
Claim 10, as far as it is definite and understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. 11,560,800 and the article by Unni Santhosh “Stress Analysis and Life Prediction of a Ceramic Matrix Composite Vane Using a Micromechanics-Based Approach” as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Dyson et al. 2021/0189886.
The modified method for making an airfoil of Kim et al. shows all of the claimed subject matter except for the fibers of the plies of the airfoil support rib are SiC fibers coated with boron nitride.
Dyson et al. shows a ceramic matrix composite (CMC) airfoil 14 having an unnumbered airfoil support rib which divides the airfoil into two portions 32, with fibers of plies of the airfoil support rib being SiC fibers coated with boron nitride (paragraphs [0031] and [0033], for example), for the purpose of providing desirable thermal and mechanical properties to the airfoil.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified method of making an airfoil of Kim et al. such that the fibers of the plies of the airfoil support rib are SiC fibers coated with boron nitride, as taught by Dyson et al., for the purpose of providing desirable thermal and mechanical properties to the airfoil support rib.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Roach et al. is cited to show an airfoil with a X-shaped internal cross-rib made of CMC.
/Christopher Verdier/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745