DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lempidis EP 3742568.
Regarding claim 1, Lempidis discloses a protection circuit [Fig. 1, overvoltage protection circuit 13] for a power converter [Fig. 1, power converter 2] for explosion-protection applications, comprising:
a series connection of a reverse-polarized Zener diode and a resistor to be coupled between a high and a low potential supply line of the power converter [Fig. 2, a series connection of a reversed polarized Zener diode 25 and a resistor 29 coupled between 14 and 15]; and
a semiconductor switch [Fig. 2, switch 21] directly coupled between the high and low potential supply line with its conduction path wherein a control terminal of the semiconductor switch is coupled with or controlled by a node between the Zener diode and the resistor [Fig. 2, gate terminal of 21 is coupled to the node 32; par. 0032 to par. 0034].
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. Publication No. US 2004/0070374.
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a protection circuit [Fig. 2] for a power converter for explosion-protection applications, comprising:
a series connection of a reverse-polarized Zener diode and a resistor to be coupled between a high and a low potential supply line of the power converter [Fig. 2, a series connection of a reversed polarized Zener diode 36 and a resistor 34 coupled between 56 and 58]; and
a semiconductor switch [Fig. 2, switch 32] directly coupled between the high and low potential supply line with its conduction path wherein a control terminal of the semiconductor switch is coupled with or controlled by a node between the Zener diode and the resistor [Fig. 2, gate terminal of 32 is coupled to the node between 34 and 36].
Regarding claim 2, Ito discloses that the semiconductor switch is configured to become conductive when a voltage over the resistor increases over a threshold voltage [Fig. 2, the switch 32 is configured to become conductive when a voltage over the resistor 34 increases over a threshold voltage; par. 0035, par. 0036].
Regarding claim 3, Ito discloses that the semiconductor switch is a bipolar transistor [Fig. 2, 32 is a bipolar transistor as shown] which is configured to have the control terminal current controlled, wherein the sensitive emitter basis path through the semiconductor switch is in parallel with the resistor [Fig. 2, the emitter path through the transistor 32 is in parallel with the resistor 34].
Regarding claim 4, Ito discloses that a standard diode [Fig. 2, diode 18] or a Schottky diode is coupled between the high and low potential supply lines with reverse polarization as shown].
Regarding claim 6, Ito discloses that the control terminal of the semiconductor switch is directly coupled with the node [Fig. 2, the gate terminal of 32 is directly coupled with the node (between 34 and 36)].
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boecker EP 3021444.
Regarding claim 1, Boecker discloses a protection circuit [Fig. 2, overvoltage protection circuit SV] for a power converter for explosion-protection applications, comprising:
a series connection of a reverse-polarized Zener diode and a resistor to be coupled between a high and a low potential supply line of the power converter [Fig. 2, a series connection of a reversed polarized Zener diode V5 and a resistor R1 coupled between +24V and 0V]; and
a semiconductor switch [Fig. 2, transistor T1] directly coupled between the high and low potential supply line with its conduction path wherein a control terminal of the semiconductor switch is coupled with or controlled by a node between the Zener diode and the resistor [Fig. 2, gate terminal G of T1 is coupled to the node between V5 and R1; abstract].
Regarding claim 5, Boecker discloses that the semiconductor switch is a MOSFET transistor [Fig. 2, MOSFET T1 as shown] which is configured to have the control terminal voltage controlled, wherein the sensitive Gate-Source path through the semiconductor switch is in parallel with the resistor [Fig. 2, G-S path of the transistor T1 is in parallel with the resistor R1].
Claims 1, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harian et al. Patent No. US 5,606,232.
Regarding claim 1, Harian discloses a protection circuit [Fig. 3, 200] for a power converter for explosion-protection applications, comprising:
a series connection of a reverse-polarized Zener diode and a resistor to be coupled between a high and a low potential supply line of the power converter [Fig. 3, a series connection of a reversed polarized Zener diode 244 and a resistor 246 coupled between two DC power lines]; and
a semiconductor switch [Fig. 3, transistor 262] directly coupled between the high and low potential supply line with its conduction path wherein a control terminal of the semiconductor switch is coupled with or controlled by a node between the Zener diode and the resistor [Fig. 3, gate terminal G of 262 is coupled to the node 274].
Regarding claim 5, Harian discloses that the semiconductor switch is a MOSFET transistor [Fig. 3, MOSFET T 262] which is configured to have the control terminal voltage controlled, wherein the sensitive Gate-Source path through the semiconductor switch is in parallel with the resistor [Fig. 2, G-S path of the transistor 262 is in parallel with the resistor 246].
Regarding claim 7, Harian discloses that the MOSFET transistor is coupled with node through an emitter circuit [Fig. 3, emitter circuit comprising transistor 250] which is directly coupled with the node [directly coupled to the node 274].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lempidis EP 3742568, in view of Lark Publication No. US 2006/0164780.
Regarding claims 8-9, Lempidis does not further comprises a safety breaker element in one of the high potential and low potential supply lines so that when an overvoltage event causes the semiconductor switch to be conductive the resulting current flows through the safety breaker element eventually blowing it.
Lark discloses an overvoltage protection circuit, comprising: a safety breaker element [Fig. 10, fuse 15] in one of the high potential and low potential supply lines so that when an overvoltage event causes the semiconductor switch to be conductive the resulting current flows through the safety breaker element eventually blowing it [par. 0006].
Lempidis and Lark are analogous overvoltage protection circuits. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to incorporate Lark’s fuse, into, Lempidis, for the benefit of providing a final robust safeguard against dangerous overcurrents and potential fires.
Conclusion
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
DHARTI PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/DHARTI H PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838