DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/25/2024 and 04/24/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a fan system”, “an air intake assembly” and “an air exhaust assembly” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jimbo et al. (US PAP 2009/0232281 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Jimbo et al. teaches a computed tomography imaging system (1), comprising (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047): a gantry; a rotating frame (2) rotatably supported in the gantry (see abstract; Figs. 3 and 5-9A), the rotating frame, including:
an X-ray source (4) configured to emit X-ray radiation that traverses an examination region (3); and an X-ray detector (5) disposed opposite the X-ray source (4) and configured to detect X-ray radiation traversing the examination region and generate signals indicative of the detected X-ray radiation; a plenum (7) configured to hold pressurized air; a cooling system (6; 15; 16), including:
a heat exchanger (6) configured to transfer heat from a coolant cooling at least one component carried by the rotating frame (2), and a fan system (15 and 16) configured to move cool air from the plenum to the heat exchanger (6) and move heated air away from the heat exchanger (6), wherein the cooling system further includes at least one of (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047): an air intake assembly (19 and 20) configured to provide an air intake path (8, 9 and 10) for the cool air to the heat exchanger; and an air exhaust assembly (7a and 7b) configured to provide an air exhaust path for the heated air (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047).
With respect to claim 2, Jimbo et al. teaches the computed tomography imaging system of claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047), wherein air intake assembly (19 and 20) is disposed between the plenum (7) and the heat exchanger (6) (see Figs. 3 and 5-9A).
With respect to claim 3, Jimbo et al. the computed tomography imaging system of claim 2 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047), wherein air intake assembly includes: a shoot; a mechanical bearing (17; 18) affixed to one end of the shoot; and an elongated louver (19; 20) with a first end affixed to the mechanical bearing (17; 18) (see Figs. 3 and 5-9A).
With respect to claim 4, Jimbo et al. teaches the computed tomography imaging system of claim 3 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047), wherein the elongated louver is configured to pivot about the mechanical bearing from a closed position to an open position in response to receiving air produced while rotating the rotating frame, forming a scoop that routes air from the plenum to the heat exchanger (see Figs. 3 and 5-9A).
With respect to claim 5, Jimbo et al. teaches the computed tomography imaging system of claim 4, wherein the elongated louver includes a plurality of slats configured in a normally open position to allow air to flow through channels of the elongated louver when the rotating frame is not rotating (see Figs. 3 and 5-9A).
With respect to claim 6, Jimbo et al. teaches the computed tomography imaging system of claim 5 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047), wherein the plurality of slats are configured to automatically close the channels in response to the air produced when the rotating frame is rotating (see Figs. 3 and 5-9A).
With respect to claim 7, Jimbo et al. teaches the computed tomography imaging system of claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047), wherein the heat exchanger (6) includes a first side adjacent to the plenum and a second side adjacent to the air exhaust assembly (see Figs. 3 and 5-9A).
With respect to claim 8, Jimbo et al. teaches the computed tomography imaging system of claim 7 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047), wherein the air exhaust assembly includes: a shoot disposed adjacent to the heat exchanger; and a scoop with a first side and a second side, wherein the first side is at an edge of the rotating frame and the second side protrudes off of the rotating frame into a space between the rotating frame and a stationary frame of the gantry (see Figs. 3 and 5-9A).
With respect to claim 11, Jimbo et al. teaches a method, comprising (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047): receiving, at an air intake assembly of a cooling system of a computed tomography imaging system (1), turbulent air produced in response to rotating a rotating frame (2) of a gantry of the computed tomography imaging system (1), opening an elongated louver of the air intake assembly (8, 9 ,10, 19 and 20) with the turbulent air, wherein the open elongated louver (19 and 20) provides an air intake scoop (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047); and routing, with the air intake scoop and a fan system of the computed tomography imaging system (1), air from a plenum of the computed tomography imaging system to a heat exchanger (6) of the computed tomography imaging system, providing a first flow of air (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047).
With respect to claim 12, Jimbo et al. teaches the method of claim 11 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047), further including: closing the elongated louver of the air intake assembly in an absence of the turbulent air (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047).
With respect to claim 13, Jimbo et al. teaches the method of claim 12 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047), further including: drawing, with the fan system, air from the plenum to the heat exchanger through channels in the elongated louver in the absence of the turbulent air, providing a second flow of air, wherein the first flow of air is greater than the second flow of air (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047).
With respect to claim 14, Jimbo et al. teaches the method of claim 11 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047), further including: receiving, at a shoot of an air exhaust assembly of the computed tomography imaging system, air flowing over the heat exchanger; and routing, with the shoot, the received air to a scoop of the air exhaust assembly (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047).
With respect to claim 15, Jimbo et al. teaches the method of claim 14 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047), further including:
expelling, with the scoop and the fan system (15; 16), the received air from the air exhaust assembly (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047).
With respect to claim 16, Jimbo et al. teaches a method, comprising: receiving, at a shoot of an air exhaust assembly (7a and 7b) of a cooling system of a computed tomography imaging system (1), air flowing over a heat exchanger (6) of the computed tomography imaging system (1); routing, with the shoot, the received air to a scoop of the air exhaust assembly; and expelling, with the scoop and a fan system of the air exhaust assembly, the air received in the shoot from the air exhaust assembly (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047).
With respect to claim 17, Jimbo et al. teaches the method of claim 16 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047), wherein expelling the air received includes routing the air off of a rotating frame of a gantry of the computed tomography imaging system (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047).
With respect to claim 18, Jimbo et al. teaches the method of claim 16 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047), further including: receiving, at an air intake assembly of the cooling system, turbulent air produced in response to rotating the rotating frame (2) of the gantry of the computed tomography imaging system (1), automatically opening an elongated louver of the air intake assembly with the turbulent air, wherein the open elongated louver provides an air intake scoop; and routing, with the air intake scoop and a fan system (15 and 16) disposed in of the computed tomography imaging system (1), air from a plenum of the computed tomography imaging system (1) to a heat exchanger of the computed tomography imaging system (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047).
With respect to claim 19, Jimbo et al. teaches the method of claim 18 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047), further including: closing the elongated louver of the air intake in an absence of the turbulent air (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047).
With respect to claim 20, Jimbo et al. teaches the method of claim 19 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047), further including: drawing, with the fan system, air from the plenum to the heat exchanger through channels in the elongated louver in the absence of the turbulent air (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 9 and 10, the most relevant prior art, Jimbo et al. (US PAP 2009/0232281 A1) teaches the computed tomography imaging system of claim 8 (see abstract; Figs. 3-9A; paragraphs 0008-0010 and 0024-0047) but fail to explicitly teach or make obvious that the scoop includes a third side that extends diagonally from the edge of the rotating frame to the space, and the second side includes an air outlet as claimed in combination with all of the remaining limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kendell (US Patent 5,956,383; see abstract; Figs. 1-5; column 3, line 3 – column 5, line 67) and McCarty, Jr (US PAP 2004/0109538 A1; see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0003-0020) teaches cooling systems for X-ray CT systems.
Irakli Kiknadze
/IRAKLI KIKNADZE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/I.K./ November 24, 2025