Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, line 2, states “and angularly offset by about 180 degrees.” It is not understood what aspect of the first and second walls is offset by 180 degrees. This may be referring to a hole pattern for the duct(s) that pass through the first and second walls. Claim 2 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant admitted prior art including prior art Fig. 1 and 2 and any mention of prior art in the written specification (AAPA) in view of Meyer-Blumenroth et al. (US 2023/0321607) (Meyer) and Hess (US 4318692).
The AAPA of Fig. 1 discloses a tank comprising: an outer enclosure, an inner enclosure positioned in the outer enclosure, first and second connection systems connecting the outer and inner enclosures, a first wall fastened to or forming part of the outer enclosure, a second wall fastened to or forming part of the inner enclosure, and at least one duct passing through the first and second walls, the first and second walls comprising, for each duct, respectively, first and second orifices to allow the duct to pass therethrough, wherein the tank further comprises, for each duct, first and second rigid connections connecting the duct and, respectively, the first and second walls, wherein each duct comprises an intermediate segment situated between the first and second walls. The intermediate segments of the ducts are straight pipes. The AAPA fails to disclose that the intermediate segment has a curved path and helical shape.
Meyer teaches a membrane filter as shown in Fig. 8 and 8A. The membrane tubes are arranged in triple helixes (three tubes curved about a same helix axis). Meyer teaches a first wall (end face 2) and a second wall (end face 2a), each tube is a duct, each duct having an intermediate segment situated between the first and second walls, each intermediate segment has a curved, helically shaped path such that the segment length exceeds the minimum spacing distance between the first and second walls. However, each intermediate segment path is several multiples of one 360 degree rotation of the helix. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the shape of all of the intermediate segments of the ducts to be a multiple helix and curved about the same helix axis as this configuration of multiple helixes provides a stress tolerant design that tolerates longitudinal stresses (see paragraph [153] of Meyer).
Hess teaches a helical duct 40, a duct that follows a helical path, the trajectory of the helical path extends approximately 180 degrees of rotation as stated in column 5, lines 32-39. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the length in degrees of rotation to be less than 360 degrees as (1) the amount of helical turning in a confined space would reduce the complexity of manufacture and (2) the reduction in stress would be maintained.
Re claim 2, the first wall of the AAPA has a first plane corresponding to a surface exposed to ambient conditions and the second wall of the AAPA has a second plane corresponding to a surface exposed to the inner enclosure, the first and second walls of the AAPA are substantially parallel to each other and angularly offset by about 180°.
Re claim 4, the first connection system of the AAPA comprises: a tubular interface passing through the outer and inner enclosures, connected thereto and having a first end opening out to an outside of the outer enclosure, and a second end opening out to an inside of the inner enclosure, a first closure plate closing the first end of the tubular interface and forming the first wall, and, a second closure plate closing the second end of the tubular interface and forming the second wall.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA in view of Meyer and Hess as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Preston (US 25151836).
The combination fails to disclose use on an aircraft. Preston teaches an apparatus for holding and vaporizing liquefied gases with an outer enclosure and an inner enclosure and is suited for use on an aircraft for breathing purposes. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the tank on an aircraft for the storage of a liquefied gas.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment overcame the rejection of record and applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejection (AAPA in view of Fernandes) has been withdrawn. A new ground of rejection has been made in view of the “rotation of less than 360 degrees” limitation added to claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
sjc/STEPHEN J CASTELLANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733