DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on application number 18/645176 filed April 24, 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 16, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the fixing device in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification indicates that the fixing device corresponds to any number of fixing chucks which operate using suction or electrostatic force (par. 191-192).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (WO 2007088945, attached translation used for citation purposes).
Regarding claim 1: Takeda et al. discloses a display device manufacturing apparatus which includes a substrate (2) which is inherently supported by some manner of stage, a deposition mask (104) which can be considered a mold that comprises a shielding unit (1041) which is a first mold and a contact portion (41) which is a second mold surrounded by the first mold, where the apparatus includes a spray (105) with an injection port (107) which is a discharge head which can supply ink, and means for applying UV radiation to the substrate (2), where the mask (104) is aligned to have a predetermined positional relationship and then placed onto the substrate (2) (pages 6-8, 17, figures 3-5). While Takeda et al. does not explicitly mention an actual fixing device for creating the predetermined positional relationship and placing the mask (104) onto the substrate, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use some manner of fixing device (i.e., robotic gripper or stage) for this process because automating an otherwise manual activity is not considered to be a patentable advance (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 2: Takeda et al. discloses that the contact portion (41) is spaced apart from the shielding unit (1041) such that it can be considered an “island-type” mold (figures 4-5).
Regarding claim 3: Takeda et al. discloses that the contact portion (41) can include a fluorine compound (p. 17, par. 82).
Regarding claim 5: Takeda et al. discloses that the mask (104) can be made of resin or metal (p. 13, par. 55), and can be coated with a fluorine compound to make it liquid repellent, which is another way of describing a “release agent” (p. 16-17, par. 81-82).
Regarding claim 10: Takeda et al. discloses that either of the contact portion (41) or shielding portion (1041) can have tapered, inclined or curved side surfaces (p. 17 par. 85, figures 29-30).
Regarding claim 11: Takeda et al. fails to explicitly disclose that the substrate (2) includes a through hole, and therefore fails to explicitly disclose that a length of a lower surface of the contact portion (41) is greater than or equal to a length of such a through hole. However, it is noted that materials or articles worked upon by the apparatus in a claim do not patentably impact apparatus claims (MPEP 2115). Therefore, the length of the contact portion (41) can be considered to be larger greater than or equal to the length of a through hole of a substrate, if the apparatus is provided with one having a small enough through hole.
Regarding claim 12: Takeda et al. discloses an embodiment in which the height of the shielding portion (1041) is greater than that of the contact portion (41) by a small distance (t1) (p. 16, par. 77, figures 25-26).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 5 and 10-12 above and further in view of Yamada (JP 2001232251, attached translation used for citation purposes).
Regarding claim 4: Takeda et al. discloses that the mask (104) can have a fluorine coating in order to repel liquid, but fails to explicitly disclose that the coating is PTFE or the resin material of the mask (104) is PDMS. However, Yamada discloses a similar display device manufacturing apparatus using a mask which coats the contact portion of the mask with PTFE in order to repel the liquid coating being applied (page 7). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a PTFE coating as taught by Yamada rather than the generic fluorine coating described by Takeda et al. because Yamada teaches that this is a well known equivalent coating for repelling liquid on a mask, and using a known element to improve a known device is not considered to be a patentable advance (MPEP 2143), and further simple substitution of functional equivalents (generic fluorine coating for PTFE) is not considered to be a patentable advance (MPEP 2143, 2144.06).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 5, and 10-12 above and further in view of Truskett et al. (US 2010/0104747).
Regarding claim 6: Takeda et al. fails to explicitly disclose that the fixing device includes at least one of a vacuum suction chuck or an electrostatic chuck. However, Truskett et al. discloses a similar semiconductor device manufacturing apparatus using a mold which supports the substrate (12) on a chuck (14) held by a stage (16), and further uses a template chuck (28) to support the mold template (18) as well as an imprint head (30) which can be considered another fixing device, both of the chucks using either vacuum suction or electromagnetic support (pars. 18-21, figure 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use vacuum or electromagnetic chucks like those of Truskett et al. rather than the generic fixing means of Takeda et al. because Truskett et al. teaches that this is a well known equivalent mechanism for positioning a mask relative to a substrate, and using a known element to improve a known device is not considered to be a patentable advance (MPEP 2143), and further simple substitution of functional equivalents is not considered to be a patentable advance (MPEP 2143, 2144.06).
Regarding claim 7: Takeda et al. discloses that the mask (104) can be made of metal (p. 13, par. 55), which is a conductive material.
Regarding claim 8: Takeda et al. and Truskett et al. disclose the above combination which includes a substrate chuck (14), a mold chuck (28) and an imprint head (30) which can be considered a separate fixing device which fixes either of the contact portion (41) or the shielding portion (1041) of the mask (104) (see Truskett et al. pars. 18-21, figure 1).
Regarding claim 9: Takeda et al. and Truskett et al. disclose the above combination, but fail to explicitly disclose that the substrate (2) includes a through hole. However, it is noted that materials or articles worked upon by the apparatus in a claim do not patentably impact apparatus claims (MPEP 2115). Furthermore, the limitations regarding what the third fixing device is meant to do are deemed to be limitations with regard to the intended use of the apparatus and are not further limiting in so far as the structure of the apparatus is concerned. In apparatus claims, a claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. MPEP § 2111.02. In the instant case, the third fixing device is capable of moving inside a through hole of a substrate, if provided with a substrate having a large enough through hole.
Conclusion
/S.A.K/
Stephen KittExaminer, Art Unit 1717
8/27/2026
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717