DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 08/10/2026 amended claims 1, 3, 8-13 and cancelled claim 7. Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are pending and rejected.
Objection/s to the Application, Drawings and Claims
The filing on 08/10/2026 appropriately amended the title; hence the objections to the title made in the last office action are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11-13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 216956633 U). A translation of CN 216956633 U is referenced in the statement of rejection/s.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a projection device (Fig. 1-7), comprising: an imaging module comprising a display panel (2) and a light-source module (1), wherein the imaging module is configured to provide imaging beams; a freeform-surface reflective mirror (4) disposed on a path of the imaging beams; and a projection lens assembly (5), wherein the imaging beams are transmitted toward the projection lens assembly (5) via the freeform-surface reflective mirror (4), and the imaging beams are emitted by the projection device after passing through the projection lens assembly (5), wherein the projection lens assembly (5) has an optical axis (10), the optical axis (10) comprises a first optical axis (first portion of 10) and a second optical axis (second portion of 10), the second optical axis (second portion of 10) deflects relative to the first optical axis (first portion of 10) at the freeform-surface reflective mirror (4), the first optical axis (first portion of 10) passes through the projection lens assembly (5), the imaging beams emitted by the projection device form an imaging-beam region on a cross-section plane perpendicular to the first optical axis (first portion of 10), the first optical axis (first portion of 10) does not pass through a geometric center of the imaging-beam region (Fig. 6), and the second optical axis (second portion of 10) passes through a geometric center region of the display panel (2), wherein the geometric center region is a region having a distance less than or equal to 40% (eccentric amount is designed to be 50% or 40%-60%) of a minimum width of the display panel (2) from a geometric center of the display panel (2; Fig. 4; p. 5-6); wherein the first optical axis (first portion of 10) is tilted by an angle θ1 (6) relative to a base surface (9), a plane on which the display panel (2) is positioned is tilted by an angle θ2 (8) relative to the base surface (9), and a difference between the angle θ1 (6) and the angle θ2 (8) is greater than -4 degrees and less than 0.5 degrees, or greater than 0.5 degrees and less than 4 degrees (p. 6-7, “the angle value of the first included angle 6 is equal to the angle value of the third included angle 8”).
Regarding claim 2, Chen further teaches the second optical axis (second portion of 10) passes through the geometric center of the display panel (2; Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, Chen further teaches the angle θ1 (6) and the angle θ2 (8) satisfy a conditional expression 0.7<|θ1/θ2|<1.5 (p. 6-7, “the angle value of the first included angle 6 is equal to the angle value of the third included angle 8”).
Regarding claim 5, Chen further teaches the angle θ1 (6) is within a range of 0.5 degrees to 6 degrees (p. 6, 1st full paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, Chen further teaches the angle θ2 (8) is within a range of 0.5 degrees to 7.5 degrees (p. 6, 1st full paragraph).
Regarding claim 11, Chen further teaches the angle θ1 (6) and the angle θ2 (8) satisfy a conditional expression 0.33<|θ1/θ2|<15 (p. 6-7, “the angle value of the first included angle 6 is equal to the angle value of the third included angle 8”).
Regarding claim 12, Chen further teaches the angle θ1 (6) is within a range of 0.5 degrees to 3 degrees (p. 6, 1st full paragraph).
Regarding claim 13, Chen further teaches the angle θ2 (8) is within a range of 0.2 degrees to 1.5 degrees (p. 6, 1st full paragraph).
Regarding claim 15, Chen further teaches a Fresnel lens element (3) disposed between the display panel (2) and the freeform-surface reflective mirror (4), wherein an optical axis (10) of the Fresnel lens element (3) is parallel to the second optical axis (second portion of 10; Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 16, Chen further teaches an included angle between the second optical axis (second portion of 10) and a tangent plane of a geometric center of the freeform-surface reflective mirror (4) is greater than or equal to 20 degrees and less than or equal to 60 degrees, e.g., 45 degrees (Fig. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Regarding claim 8, Chen does not explicitly teach the conditional expression 0.073<|θ1/θ2|<0.5 is satisfied.
Scheimpflug principle, which describes the tilt relationship between θ3 and θ4, is well known in the art (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scheimpflug_principle).
Having the 0.073<|θ3/θ4|<0.5 amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results which is prima facie obvious. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Furthermore, having the 0.073<|θ3/θ4|<0.5 requires only rearrangement of parts that does not change the principle of operation in anyway. Rearrangement of parts without changing the operation of the reference device is prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 9, Chen further teaches the angle θ1 (6) is within a range of 0.8 degrees to 2.5 degrees (p. 6, 1st full paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, Chen further teaches the angle θ2 (8) is within a range of 5 degrees to 11 degrees (p. 6, 1st full paragraph).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Chen does not explicitly teach the projection device is an upright-type projection device or a lying-type projection device.
Lacking criticality to the functioning of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to make the projector an upright-type projection device or a lying-type projection device; because it is a matter of design choice.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Zhu (CN 213545026 U).
Regarding claim 4, Chen does not explicitly teach a base plate, wherein the light-source module (1) is disposed on the base plate, and the base surface (9) is parallel to the base plate.
Zhu teaches a base plate (21), wherein the light-source module (12) is disposed on the base plate, and the base surface (14 plane) is parallel to the base plate (21; Fig. 3, 4, 6, and 8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Chen with Zhu; because it allows cooling of the light source to improve life expectancy of the system.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Guo (US 20210302811 A1) and in further view of Tatsuno (US 20120154768 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Chen does not explicitly teach the freeform-surface reflective mirror (4) symmetrical with respect to a first plane and asymmetrical with respect to a second plane, the first optical axis (first portion of 10) and the second optical axis (second portion of 10) are positioned on the first plane, and the second plane is perpendicular to the first plane.
Guo teaches the freeform-surface reflective mirror being a curved freeform-surface reflective mirror (7; [0062], [0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Chen with Guo; because the curved freeform mirror of Guo allows for greater optical correction ([0062] of Guo).
Guo does not explicitly teach freeform-surface reflective mirror symmetrical with respect to a first plane and asymmetrical with respect to a second plane, the first optical axis and the second optical axis are positioned on the first plane, and the second plane is perpendicular to the first plane.
Tatsuno teaches freeform-surface reflective mirror (20; Fig. 2 and 5) symmetrical with respect to a first plane (Y-Z) and asymmetrical with respect to a second plane (X-Z), the first optical axis and the second optical axis are positioned on the first plane (Y-Z; Fig. 2), and the second plane is perpendicular to the first plane (X-Z; Fig. 2 and 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to Chen and Guo with Tatsuno; because it allows for trapezoidal distortion correction to improve the viewing experience ([0040] of Tatsuno).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Lin (US 20150301320 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Chen further teaches a multi element projection lens (5); but does not explicitly teach the projection lens assembly (5) comprises a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, and a fourth lens element in a sequence from an object side to an image side, and the first lens element and the second lens element are formed as a glued lens element.
Lin teaches the projection lens assembly (18) comprises a first lens element (S18-S19), a second lens element (S17-S18), a third lens element (one of 42/40/34/46/44/32/30/28), and a fourth lens element (other of 42/40/34/46/44/32/30/28) in a sequence from an object side to an image side, and the first lens element (S18-S19) and the second lens element (S17-S18) are formed as a glued lens element (36; [0023], [0024]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Chen with Lin; because it provides a short throw projection lens to improve placement of the projector for better viewing experience.
Regarding claim 18, neither Chen nor Lin explicitly teach a distance between an object-side surface of the first lens element and an image-side surface of the fourth lens element on the first optical axis is TL1, a diameter of the lens element among the first lens element to the fourth lens element having a largest diameter is D1, and the projection lens assembly satisfies a conditional expression 0.7<|TL1/D1|<1.5.
Lacking criticality to the functioning of the invention, changing the size of the diameter, D1, of the lens element such that 0.7<|TL1/D1|<1.5 is a matter of design choice; hence it is prima facie obvious.
Furthermore, changes in size or proportion that does not affect the functionality of the device is prima facie obvious. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.). In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but are found not persuasive; hence the rejection/s of all pending claims are maintained.
Applicant respectfully submits that the amended claim 1 has recited at least the distinguishing features of "wherein the first optical axis is tilted by an angle 01 relative to a base surface, a plane on which the display panel is positioned is tilted by an angle 02 relative to the base surface, and a difference between the angle 01 and the angle 02 is greater than -4 degrees and less than 0.5 degrees, or greater than 0.5 degrees and less than 4 degrees" over the cited references.
Regarding each of FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 7 in the Chen reference (CN 216956633 U), the optical axis of the projection lens assembly 5 is parallel with the plane on which the display panel 2 is positioned. That is, the angle difference defined in the distinguishing features is zero in the Chen reference. The distinguishing features at issue have not been disclosed by Chen.
Further, regarding the aforementioned Chen reference and the Scheimpflug principle recited on page 6 of the Office Action, Applicant respectfilly submits that the projection lens 5 and the display panel 2 in the Chen reference are further arranged with a Fresnel lens element 3 therebetween. The Fresnel lens element 3 in the Chen reference may be inclined relative to the display panel 2 to provide the function of reducing trapezoidal distortion of the image.
Accordingly, because the optical configuration disclosed in the Chen reference differs from the optical arrangement to which the Scheimpflug principle is applicable, the Scheimpflug principle cannot be directly applied to the optical configuration including the projection lens 5, the Fresnel lens element 3, and the display panel 2 disclosed in the Chen reference. Therefore, a person skilled in the art would not have been motivated to apply the tilt relationship disclosed by the Scheimpflug principle to the Chen reference.
And, the present application employs the freeform-surface reflective mirror to compensate the distortion (keystone distortion) of projected image caused by the tilt of the first optical axis and the tilt of the display panel relative to the base surface. To the contrary, the Chen reference using a reflective plane mirror should not have the compensation function. The Scheimpflug principle at most avoids defocusing issues resulting from the tilt of the system, but fails to compensate the said keystone distortion. The Scheimpflug principle cannot cure the deficiency of the Chen reference. (Remarks; p. 8-10).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen explicitly teaches “the angle value of the first included angle 6 is equal to the angle value of the third included angle 8” hence “a difference between the angle θ1 (6) and the angle θ2 (8) is greater than -4 degrees and less than 0.5 degrees.”
Furthermore, applicant/s’ conclusion that “the Scheimpflug principle cannot be directly applied to the optical configuration including the projection lens 5, the Fresnel lens element 3, and the display panel 2 disclosed in the Chen reference” appears unfounded. Scheimpflug principle operates based on the focus planes of the projection lens; the composition of the projection lens does not matter.
Lastly, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., freeform-surface reflective mirror) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882