DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 25 April 2024.
Specification
The specification is objected to for the following informalities:
There appears to be both an application filed and China in Global Dossier and in Taiwan on applicant’s IDS. Though not required since it appears the instant application was filed sooner than the foreign applications, it is ordinary and customary to include other copending applications filing number and publication numbers (if available) in the background section.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority to 25 April 2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: though the plurality of output transistors is shown, one of ordinary skill would expect MOA and MOxN suggests two transistors of different areas, which is extremely common in the voltage regulator arts. While some effects of a larger area are similar to multiple transistors in parallel (most notably current capability), they do not match the claim language nor do they behave exactly the same in all respects. Please ensure the multiple output transistors are more clearly shown, either in a manner similar to Mihail (US 10459470) provided on applicants IDS or Imai (US 7321326) which explicitly shows multiple output transistors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claims 1, 15, 16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihail (US 10459470) in view of Xu (US 20240014783).
As to claim 1, Mihail discloses (see image below) A voltage regulator, comprising: a plurality of output transistors, first terminals of the plurality of output transistors receive an input voltage, second terminals of the plurality of output transistors output an output voltage; a main operating amplifier, a first input terminal of the main operating amplifier receives a reference voltage, an output terminal of the main operating amplifier is coupled to control terminals of the plurality of output transistors; a voltage dividing circuit, coupled to an second input terminal of the main operating amplifier and the second terminals of the plurality of output transistors, and configured to provide a feedback voltage corresponding to the output voltage to the second input terminal of the main operating amplifier;
Mihail does not teach an auxiliary circuit, coupled to the output terminal of the main operating amplifier and the second terminals of the plurality of output transistors, and configured to provide a dynamic current according to a voltage value on the output terminal of the main operating amplifier; and a current mirror circuit, coupled to the auxiliary circuit and the main operating amplifier, and configured to provide a bias current of the main operating amplifier according to the dynamic current, wherein when the output voltage is decreased, a current value of the dynamic current is increased, a current value of the bias current of the main operating amplifier is increased, so that a response speed of the main operating amplifier is accelerated.
Xu teaches an auxiliary circuit (20), coupled to the output terminal of the main operating amplifier (10) and the second terminals of the plurality of output transistors, and configured to provide a dynamic current according to a voltage value on the output terminal of the main operating amplifier; and a current mirror circuit (20), coupled to the auxiliary circuit and the main operating amplifier, and configured to provide a bias current (I2/I3) of the main operating amplifier according to the dynamic current, wherein when the output voltage is decreased, a current value of the dynamic current is increased, a current value of the bias current of the main operating amplifier is increased (¶72 “When the output voltage Vout of the operational amplifier 10 changes, the first current correspondingly changes, and the current flow shunt by the second mirror current from the first mirror current can also change, so that the remained flow (i.e., the bias current I3 which is actually supplied to the operational amplifier 10) that is not shunt by the second mirror current from the first mirror current can be adjusted accordingly, thus adjusting the bandwidth of the operational amplifier 10 with the output voltage.” See also Fig. 5 which shows this behavior from 0V to Vbn−Vthn), so that a response speed of the main operating amplifier is accelerated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use the current compensation as disclosed in Xu to increase bandwidth.
As to claim 15, Mihail teaches (see image above) a voltage regulator, comprising: a plurality of output transistors, first terminals of the plurality of output transistors receive an input voltage, second terminals of the plurality of output transistors output an output voltage; a main operating amplifier, a first input terminal of the main operating amplifier receives a reference voltage, an output terminal of the main operating amplifier is coupled to control terminals of the plurality of output transistors, a second input terminal of the main operating amplifier receives a feedback voltage corresponding to the output voltage;
Mihail does not teach and an auxiliary circuit, coupled to the output terminal of the main operating amplifier and the second terminals of the plurality of output transistors, and configured to provide a dynamic current according to the output voltage and a voltage value on the output terminal of the main operating amplifier; wherein a bias current of the main operating amplifier is varied at least according to the dynamic current.
Xu teaches and an auxiliary circuit, coupled to the output terminal of the main operating amplifier and the second terminals of the plurality of output transistors, and configured to provide a dynamic current according to the output voltage and a voltage value on the output terminal of the main operating amplifier; wherein a bias current of the main operating amplifier is varied at least according to the dynamic current (see claim 1 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use the current compensation as disclosed in Xu to increase bandwidth.
As to claim 16, Mihail in view of Xu teaches further comprising: a voltage dividing circuit, coupled to a second input terminal of the main operating amplifier and the second terminals of the plurality of output transistors, and configured to provide the feedback voltage (see image above).
As to claim 19, Mihail in view of Xu teaches further comprising: a current mirror circuit (Mihail, 20), coupled to the auxiliary circuit and the main operating amplifier, and configured to provide the bias current based on the dynamic current and the output voltage.
Claims 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihail (US 10459470) in view of Xu (US 20240014783 ) and Hino (US 20210191442).
As to claim 14, Miahil in view of Xu teaches further comprising: a second capacitor and the plurality of output transistors.
They do not teach further comprising: a first terminal of the second capacitor is coupled to the second terminals of the plurality of output transistors, a second terminal of the second capacitor is coupled to the second input terminal of the main operating amplifier.
Hino teaches further comprising: a second capacitor, a first terminal of the second capacitor is coupled to the second terminals of the plurality of output transistors, a second terminal of the second capacitor is coupled to the second input terminal of the main operating amplifier (Hino, item 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use the capacitive compensation as disclosed in Hino to zero a pole.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13, 17, 18, 20 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, the prior art fails to disclose: “wherein: the voltage regulator further comprises: an auxiliary resistor, a first terminal of the auxiliary resistor is coupled to the output terminal of the main operating amplifier; and the auxiliary circuit comprises: a first auxiliary transistor, a first terminal of the first auxiliary transistor receives the input voltage, a second terminal of the first auxiliary transistor outputs the dynamic current, a control terminal of the first auxiliary transistor is coupled to the second terminal of the auxiliary resistor.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
As to claim 17, the prior art fails to disclose: “further comprises: an auxiliary resistor, a first terminal of the auxiliary resistor is coupled to the output terminal of the main operating amplifier; and the auxiliary circuit comprises: a first auxiliary transistor, a first terminal of the first auxiliary transistor receives the input voltage, a second terminal of the first auxiliary transistor outputs the dynamic current, a control terminal of the first auxiliary transistor is coupled to the second terminal of the auxiliary resistor.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
As to claim 20, the prior art fails to disclose " wherein the current mirror circuit comprises: a plurality of first mirror transistors, first terminals of the plurality of first mirror transistors are coupled to the main operating amplifier to provide the bias current, second terminals of the plurality of first mirror transistors are coupled to a reference low voltage; a second mirror transistor, a first terminal of the second mirror transistor is coupled to the auxiliary circuit to receive the dynamic current, a control terminal of the second mirror transistor is coupled to control terminals of the plurality of first mirror transistors and the first terminal of the second mirror transistor, a second terminal of the second mirror transistor is coupled to the reference low voltage; and a resistor, coupled between the first terminal of the second mirror transistor and the output voltage to generate a static current to the second mirror transistor.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Please note: while objected or allowed claims have been indicated, only the presented claims have been examined for compliance with form and 35 USC 112 consideration. As a reminder, claims that are dependent upon objected claims still require examination for form and 35 USC 112 issues even if they overcome 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections. Similarly, amendments incorporating allowable subject matter into independent claims requires reconsideration for dependent claim form and any possible 35 USC 112 issues that arise through amendments even if the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections are overcome. As such, applicant is advised that while examiner can enter previously allowed claims or previously objected claims rewritten into independent form after final rejection, any other claims may not be entered.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839