DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-8, 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (PGPUB 20210166774), hereinafter as Cha, in view of Yoon et al. (PGPUB 20180204624), hereinafter as Yoon.
Regarding claim 1, Cha teaches controller for a semiconductor memory device including a plurality of memory blocks, the controller comprising:
a read-history table storage (Fig. 1, HB, and [0082]) configured to store a read-history table
including read voltages used in at least two previously read-passed read operations on a select memory block among the plurality of memory blocks (Fig 6A, SBN-block, HRL1-3 history read levels); and
a read voltage controller (Fig 1, controller 110) configured to control the memory device to perform a read operation using the read voltages stored in the read-history table (Fig 15),
update the read-history table based (Fig 6A),
but not expressly an optimum read voltage search component configured to search a valley of a threshold voltage distribution based on a plurality of reference read voltages;
Yoon teaches an optimum read voltage search component configured to search a valley of a threshold voltage distribution based on a plurality of reference read voltages ([0081-83]).
Since Yoon and Cha are both from the same field of semiconductor memory device, the purpose disclosed by Yoon would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Cha.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to search an optimum read voltage as in Yoon into Cha for the purpose of reading data out the memory device.
Regarding claim 2, Cha teaches an error correction block configured to perform an error correction operation on first data provided from the memory device as a result of the read operation using a default read voltage (Fig 14A, S121, and error correction S114-116-123).
Regarding claim 3, Cha and Yoon teach when the error correction operation on the first data fails, the read voltage controller controls the memory device to perform the read operation using the first read voltage, which is most recently updated read voltage among the read voltages used in the at least two previously read-passed read operation (Cha Fig 6A, and Yoon [0081]).
Regarding claim 9, Cha teaches a memory system, comprising:
a memory device configured to include a plurality of memory blocks (Fig 1, SB);
a controller configured to receive a read request (Fig 15) for data in a select memory block among the plurality of memory blocks from a host and to control the memory device to read data corresponding to the read request using a read-history table including read voltages used in at least two previously read-passed read operations on the select memory block (Fig 6A),
and update the read-history table (Fig 6A)
but not expressly search a valley of a threshold voltage distribution based on a plurality of reference read voltages;
Yoon teaches to search a valley of a threshold voltage distribution based on a plurality of reference read voltages ([0081-83]).
The reason for combining the references used in rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claim 10, Cha and Yoon teach to store the read-history table including read voltages used in at least two previously read-passed read operations on a select memory block among the plurality of memory blocks (Cha Fig 6A and Yoon [0081]); control the memory device to perform a read operation using the read voltages stored in the read-history table (Fig 15); and perform an error correction operation on first data provided from the memory device as a result of the read operation using a default read voltage (Fig 14A).
Regarding claim 11, Cha and Yoon teach when the error correction operation on the first data fails, the controller is configured to control the memory device to perform the read operation using the first read voltage (Fig 15, S360), which is most recently updated read voltage among the read voltages used in the at least two previously read-passed read operation (Cha Fig 6A, and Yoon [0081]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827