Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 09/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 11-12 from Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argued that there is no teaching or suggestion in Kidani_2 of “determining, based on reference samples, a predictor that uses a greater weight in each of regions of the current block once bisected along the straight line.”
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kidani_2 clearly teaches determining, based on reference samples (see FIG. 6 and paragraphs 0112-0114, which teach that the prediction is based on adjacent reference samples), a predictor that uses a greater weight in each of regions of the current block once bisected along the straight line (see FIG. 13 and paragraphs 0244-0246, which disclose weight values, including greater weight values, for predicted samples of each partitioned area A/B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIDANI (US 2024/0129490) in view of KIDANI et al. (US 2024/0205391) hereinafter “KIDANI_2”.
As per claim 1, KIDANI discloses a method performed by a video decoding apparatus for intra-predicting a current block (FIG. 7; paragraph 0115), the method comprising:
decoding, from a bitstream, a geometric intra-prediction flag (i.e., sps_gpm_intra_enabled_flag) that indicates whether to use a geometric intra-prediction mode for the current block (see FIG. 8, step S200-HLS-02; paragraph 0123); and
decoding from the bitstream a geometric partitioning information index (i.e., gpm_partition_index; see FIG. 10, step S200-09; paragraph 0182), a first intra-prediction mode index (i.e., intra_gpm_idx0; see FIG. 15, step SR0-02A; paragraph 0234), and a second intra-prediction mode index (i.e., intra_gpm_idx1; see FIG. 16, step SR1-10; paragraph 0249) based on a value of the geometric intra-prediction flag (FIG. 10 shows that decode gpm_partition_idx is based on GpmFlag value that is also based on sps_gpm_intra_enabled_flag value as shown in FIG. 9. FIGs. 15 and 16 show that decode intra_gpm_idx0 and intra_gpm_idx1 are based on gpm_r0_intra_flag value that is also based on sps_gpm_intra_enabled_flag value as shown in FIG. 11);
selecting a first intra-prediction mode by using the first intra-prediction mode index (paragraphs 0236-0239) and a second intra-prediction mode by using the second intra-prediction mode index (paragraphs 0253-0256);
However, KIDANI does not explicitly disclose generating, based on the first intra-prediction mode, a first intra predictor of the current block by using pixels spatially adjacent to the current block;
generating, based on the second intra-prediction mode, a second intra predictor of the current block by using pixels spatially adjacent to the current block;
obtaining, by using the geometric partitioning information index, weights that comprise first weights used for the first intra predictor and second weights used for the second intra predictor; and
weight summing the first intra predictor and the second intra predictor by using the weights to generate a final intra predictor of the current block,
wherein obtaining the weights comprises: obtaining, by using the geometric partitioning information index, an index of angle and an index of distance relative to a straight line bisecting the current block, the index of angle representing an angle of a line segment orthogonal to the straight line, and the index of distance representing a distance from the straight line, and
determining, based on reference samples, a predictor that uses a greater weight in each of regions of the current block once bisected along the straight line.
In the same field of endeavor, KIDANI_2 discloses generating, based on the first intra-prediction mode, a first intra predictor of the current block by using pixels spatially adjacent to the current block (FIG. 6; paragraphs 0120 and 0168);
generating, based on the second intra-prediction mode, a second intra predictor of the current block by using pixels spatially adjacent to the current block (FIG. 6; paragraphs 0120 and 0168);
obtaining, by using the geometric partitioning information index, weights that comprise first weights used for the first intra predictor and second weights used for the second intra predictor (FIGs. 6 and 13; paragraph 0244); and
weight summing the first intra predictor and the second intra predictor by using the weights to generate a final intra predictor of the current block (paragraph 0245),
wherein obtaining the weights comprises: obtaining, by using the geometric partitioning information index, an index of angle and an index of distance relative to a straight line bisecting the current block, the index of angle representing an angle of a line segment orthogonal to the straight line, and the index of distance representing a distance from the straight line (paragraph 0247), and
determining, based on reference samples (see FIG. 6 and paragraphs 0112-0114, which teach that the prediction is based on adjacent reference samples), a predictor that uses a greater weight in each of regions of the current block once bisected along the straight line (see FIG. 13 and paragraphs 0244-0246, which disclose weight values, including greater weight values, for predicted samples of each partitioned area A/B).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by KIDANI, with those of KIDANI_2, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed both references teach application of intra prediction to geometric partitioning mode, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combination of KIDANI and KIDANI_2 used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
As per claim 2, KIDANI_2 discloses generating the list comprising prediction modes for intra prediction of the current block (FIG. 7; paragraphs 0116-0118).
As per claim 3, KIDANI_2 discloses reordering the list of prediction modes by excluding the first intra-prediction mode from the list of prediction modes (paragraphs 0176 and 0194).
As per claim 5, KIDANI_2 discloses wherein obtaining the weights further comprises: calculating actual distances between pixels in the current block and the straight line by using a size of the current block, the index of angle, and the index of distance (paragraph 0247).
As per claims 8-12, the claims are directed to a method performed by a video encoding apparatus corresponding to the method performed by a video decoding apparatus of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those applied for claims 1-3 are applicable for claims 8-12 since KIDANI teaches an encoding method (see paragraphs 0102 and 0125).
As per claims 13-17, arguments analogous to those applied for claims 8-12 are applicable for claims 13-17; in addition, KIDANI teaches transmitting the bitstream (see paragraph 0032).
As per claim 18, KIDANI discloses wherein decoding from the bitstream the geometric partitioning information index, the first intra-prediction mode index, and the second intra- prediction mode index is performed in response to the geometric intra-prediction flag being true (FIG. 10 shows that decode gpm_partition_idx is based on GpmFlag being 1 in response to the sps_gpm_intra_enabled_flag being 1 as shown in FIG. 9. FIGs. 15 and 16 show that decode intra_gpm_idx0 and intra_gpm_idx1 are based on gpm_r0_intra_flag being 1 in response to the sps_gpm_intra_enabled_flag being 1 as shown in FIG. 11).
As per claims 19-20, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 18 are applicable for claims 19-20.
8. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIDANI (US 2024/0129490) in view of KIDANI et al. (US 2024/0205391) in further view of JANG et al. (US 2025/0008101) hereinafter “JANG”.
As per claim 6, KIDANI and KIDANI_2 disclose the method of claim 5, wherein obtaining the weights further comprises: calculating, based on the actual distances, the first weights and the second weights for the pixels in the current block (paragraph 0247 of KIDANI_2),
However, KIDANI or KIDANI_2 do not explicitly disclose wherein, for each of the pixels in the current block, a sum of a weight of the first intra predictor and a weight of the second intra predictor is one.
In the same field of endeavor, JANG discloses wherein, for each of the pixels in the current block, a sum of a weight of the first intra predictor and a weight of the second intra predictor is one (see equation 5 in paragraph 0254).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by KIDANI and KIDANI_2, with those of JANG, because all references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed all references teach application of intra prediction to geometric partitioning mode, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED JEBARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482