Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 14, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR 20240001945 A) in view of Rebinsky (US 20140324301 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Lim discloses
A system for monitoring a tension in a track of a work machine, the system comprising: one or more sensors coupled to the work machine, wherein a sensor, of the one or more sensors, is configured to obtain a distance information related to a distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine, and wherein the sensor includes a pulse Radio Detection and Ranging (RADAR) sensor (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data"; Paragraph 0013, "In exemplary embodiments, the distance measuring sensor includes a non-contact sensor, and the non-contact sensor may include any one of a RADAR sensor, a LIDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) sensor, a vision sensor, an infrared ray sensor, and an ultrasonic sensor"; Paragraph 0015, "includes at least one distance measuring sensor for recognizing a distance from the upper rotating body to a track of the lower traveling body"); and wherein the invention is configured to: determine an actual distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine, based on the distance information obtained from the sensor (Paragraph 0057, "In exemplary embodiments, the control device (120) can derive key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track using distance data received from the distance measurement sensor (110)"); and determine, based on the actual distance being greater than the expected distance, that the tension in the track is below a tension threshold (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data, and determining whether the tension of the track is within a normal range from the key feature data"). Lim does not disclose that the controller has a processor or memory; and a controller including at least one memory and at least one processor communicably coupled with the memory and the sensor, wherein the memory is configured to store an expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine.
Rebinsky discloses
The controller has a processor or memory (Paragraph 0022, "Controller 34 may include a memory, a secondary storage device, a processor, and any other components for running an application"); and a controller including at least one memory and at least one processor communicably coupled with the memory and the sensor, wherein the memory is configured to store an expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine (Paragraph 0022, "Controller 34 may include a memory, a secondary storage device, a processor, and any other components for running an application"; Paragraph 0021, "Sag sensor 33 may be any type of sensor known in the art capable of detecting deviation of chain 24 from a theoretical straight line tangential path between sprocket 18 and front idler wheel 26.sub.F. In one example, sag sensor 33 is a proximity sensor like that described above).
Lim discloses a controller determining the tension in the tracks directly related to the distance measurement to the tracks but it does not specifically disclose that the controller has a processor or memory or that the controller stores distance data.
The controller of Lim both uses stored values (i.e., the tension thresholds) and analyzes data to come to conclusions which would indicate the need for some kind of processor and memory. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Lim to incorporate the processor and memory of Rebinsky for the implementation of the invention to perform its job.
Lim already discloses an upper and lower threshold to the tension (i.e., the range that indicates normal operation) and that tension is directly related to the distance measurement. It would be advantageous to include both a tension threshold and a distance value, related to the distance between the tracks and the sensor, to promote differentiating between different types of tension. For example, a set of tracks may read high tension due to mud and debris while the tracks may actually be sagging. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with the distance value of Rebinsky to facilitate fully understanding the problem with the track tension.
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The system of claim 1, Lim further discloses wherein the sensor is coupled to a frame of the work machine (Paragraph 0015, "includes at least one distance measuring sensor for recognizing a distance from the upper rotating body to a track of the lower traveling body").
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The system of claim 1, Lim further discloses wherein the sensor includes at least one of: a first sensor configured to obtain a first distance information related to a first distance between the first sensor and a first portion of the track of the work machine (Paragraph 0015, "includes at least one distance measuring sensor for recognizing a distance from the upper rotating body to a track of the lower traveling body"); and a sensor configured to obtain a second distance information related to a second distance between the second sensor and a second portion of the track of the work machine, wherein the first portion is spaced apart from the second portion (Paragraph 0010, "
In exemplary embodiments, the distance measuring sensor recognizes a first distance from the upper swing body to a plate of the track shoe (maximum depth of the track) and a second distance to a grouser protruding from the plate of the track shoe (maximum height of the track)"). Lim does not disclose a second sensor.
Rebinsky discloses
A second sensor (Paragraph 0009, "The undercarriage may also include a controller in communication with the first, second, and third sensors").
Lim discloses a sensor that can take distance measurements at two different locations but it doesn’t disclose a second sensor. A second sensor would be advantageous for multiple reasons including: redundancy in the even that one of the sensors is damaged (hardware problem), verifying measurements (software problem), and having a sensor for both tracks instead of just one as the tension in left track may be different than the tension in the right track. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Rebinsky to incorporate the use of a second sensor to create redundancy to allow for continued operation when there is a problem.
Regarding claim 4 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The system of claim 3 including the processor. Lim discloses wherein the invention is configured to: determine a first actual distance between the first sensor and the first portion of the track of the work machine, based on the first distance information (Paragraph 0010, "In exemplary embodiments, the distance measuring sensor recognizes a first distance from the upper swing body to a plate of the track shoe (maximum depth of the track) and a second distance to a grouser protruding from the plate of the track shoe (maximum height of the track)"); determine a second actual distance between the sensor and the second portion of the track of the work machine, based on the second distance information (Paragraph 0010, "In exemplary embodiments, the distance measuring sensor recognizes a first distance from the upper swing body to a plate of the track shoe (maximum depth of the track) and a second distance to a grouser protruding from the plate of the track shoe (maximum height of the track)"); and determine that the tension in the track is below the tension threshold based on at least on the distance: (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data, and determining whether the tension of the track is within a normal range from the key feature data"). Lim does not disclose a second sensor; at least one of: the first actual distance being greater than a first expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine; and the second actual distance being greater than a second expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine.
Rebinsky discloses
A second sensor (Paragraph 0009, "The undercarriage may also include a controller in communication with the first, second, and third sensors"); at least one of: the first actual distance being greater than a first expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine (Paragraph 0020, "Displacement sensor 32 may be any type of device configured to measure a change in the distance between front and rear idler wheels 26.sub.F, 26.sub.R (or the change in distance between front idler wheel 26.sub.F and sprocket 18 in the low-sprocket configuration not having rear idler wheel 26.sub.R)"; Paragraph 0021, "Sag sensor 33 may be any type of sensor known in the art capable of detecting deviation of chain 24 from a theoretical straight line tangential path between sprocket 18 and front idler wheel 26.sub.F. In one example, sag sensor 33 is a proximity sensor like that described above"); and the second actual distance being greater than a second expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine.
Lim discloses a sensor that can take distance measurements at two different locations but it doesn’t disclose a second sensor. Lim also discloses monitoring the change in tension through the use of distances and comparison to a tension threshold but not using a preset distance between a sensor and the tracks.
A second sensor would be advantageous for multiple reasons including: redundancy in the even that one of the sensors is damaged (hardware problem), verifying measurements (software problem), and having a sensor for both tracks instead of just one as the tension in left track may be different than the tension in the right track. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Rebinsky to incorporate the use of a second sensor to create redundancy to allow for continued operation when there is a problem.
The invention comparing a distance value would be advantageous as it can simplify the tension diagnostic. For example, if the distance doesn’t match a premeasured value, then the operator knows the tension is either too low or too high. This can be useful in situations where the operator knows the tracks are clean or they are setting up the tracks for the first time. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Rebinsky to simplify the tension diagnostic of the tracks.
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The system of claim 1 including the processor. Lim further discloses wherein the invention is configured to generate a notification to alert an operator that the tension in the track is below the tension threshold (Paragraph 0005, "and an output device for receiving tension data from the control device and displaying it on a screen or generating a warning signal when the tension of the track is outside the normal range").
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The system of claim 1 including a processor. Lim discloses wherein the invention is configured to determine an amount of the tension in the track based on a distance (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data, and determining whether the tension of the track is within a normal range from the key feature data"). Lim does not disclose based on a value of deviation between the actual distance and the expected distance.
Rebinsky discloses
Based on a value of deviation between the actual distance and the expected distance (Paragraph 0020, "Displacement sensor 32 may be any type of device configured to measure a change in the distance between front and rear idler wheels 26.sub.F, 26.sub.R (or the change in distance between front idler wheel 26.sub.F and sprocket 18 in the low-sprocket configuration not having rear idler wheel 26.sub.R)"; Paragraph 0021, "Sag sensor 33 may be any type of sensor known in the art capable of detecting deviation of chain 24 from a theoretical straight line tangential path between sprocket 18 and front idler wheel 26.sub.F. In one example, sag sensor 33 is a proximity sensor like that described above").
Lim discloses monitoring the change in tension through the use of distances and comparison to a tension threshold. In combination with Rebinsky, it would also look for a comparison with a distance value to promote differentiating between different types of tension. This feature can be advantageous in certain situations as it can simplify the tension diagnostic. If the operator knows the tracks are clean, or they are setting up the tracks for the first time, a simple mismatch in a premeasured distance immediately tells the operator the tension is off. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Rebinsky to simplify the tension diagnostic of the tracks.
Regarding claim 8 Lim discloses
A system for monitoring a tension in a track of a work machine, the system comprising: one or more sensors coupled to the work machine, wherein a sensor, of the one or more sensors, is configured to obtain an information related to a decrease in the tension in the track (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data, and determining whether the tension of the track is within a normal range from the key feature data"; Paragraph 0015, "includes at least one distance measuring sensor for recognizing a distance from the upper rotating body to a track of the lower traveling body"), and wherein the sensor includes a laser displacement sensor, an ultrasound sensor, an imaging device, an inductive position sensor, or a linear position sensor associated with an actuator of the work machine that is adapted to adjust the tension in the track (Paragraph 0013, "In exemplary embodiments, the distance measuring sensor includes a non-contact sensor, and the non-contact sensor may include any one of a RADAR sensor, a LIDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) sensor, a vision sensor, an infrared ray sensor, and an ultrasonic sensor"); and, wherein the invention is configured to: analyze the information related to the decrease in the tension in the track obtained from the sensor; and determine, based on an analysis of the information obtained from the sensor, that the tension in the track is below a tension threshold (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data, and determining whether the tension of the track is within a normal range from the key feature data"). Lim does not disclose a controller including at least one memory and at least one processor communicably coupled with the memory and the sensor
Rebinsky discloses
A controller including at least one memory and at least one processor communicably coupled with the memory and the sensor (Paragraph 0022, "Controller 34 may include a memory, a secondary storage device, a processor, and any other components for running an application").
Lim discloses a controller determining the tension in the tracks directly related to the distance measurement to the tracks but it does not specifically disclose that the controller has a processor or memory. The controller of Lim both uses stored values (i.e., the tension thresholds) and analyzes data to come to conclusions which would indicate the need for some kind of processor and memory. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Lim to incorporate the processor and memory of Rebinsky for the implementation of the invention to perform its job.
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The system of claim 8 including the processor and memory, wherein, when the sensor includes the laser displacement sensor, the ultrasound sensor, the imaging device, or the inductive position sensor, the information obtained from the sensor relates to a distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine (Paragraph 0013, "In exemplary embodiments, the distance measuring sensor includes a non-contact sensor, and the non-contact sensor may include any one of a RADAR sensor, a LIDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) sensor, a vision sensor, an infrared ray sensor, and an ultrasonic sensor"; Paragraph 0015, "includes at least one distance measuring sensor for recognizing a distance from the upper rotating body to a track of the lower traveling body"), and wherein the processor is configured to: determine an actual distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine, based on the information obtained from the sensor (Paragraph 0057, "In exemplary embodiments, the control device (120) can derive key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track using distance data received from the distance measurement sensor (110)"); and determine, based on the actual distance, that the tension in the track is below the tension threshold (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data, and determining whether the tension of the track is within a normal range from the key feature data"). Lim does not disclose the actual distance being different than an expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine; wherein the memory is configured to store the expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine.
Rebinsky discloses
The actual distance being different than an expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine; wherein the memory is configured to store the expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine (Paragraph 0020, "Displacement sensor 32 may be any type of device configured to measure a change in the distance between front and rear idler wheels 26.sub.F, 26.sub.R (or the change in distance between front idler wheel 26.sub.F and sprocket 18 in the low-sprocket configuration not having rear idler wheel 26.sub.R)"; Paragraph 0021, "Sag sensor 33 may be any type of sensor known in the art capable of detecting deviation of chain 24 from a theoretical straight line tangential path between sprocket 18 and front idler wheel 26.sub.F. In one example, sag sensor 33 is a proximity sensor like that described above"; Paragraph 0065, "A memory may store information and/or instructions for use by a processor to perform the function").
Lim discloses a controller determining the tension in the tracks directly related to the distance measurement to the tracks but it does not specifically disclose that the controller stores an expected distance between the sensor and the tracks. This feature can be advantageous in certain situations as it can simplify the tension diagnostic. For example, if the distance doesn’t match a premeasured value, then the operator knows the tension is either too low or too high. This can be useful in situations where the operator knows the tracks are clean or they are setting up the tracks for the first time. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Rebinsky to simplify the tension diagnostic of the tracks.
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The system of claim 9 including a processor. Lim discloses wherein the processor is configured to determine an amount of the tension in the track based on a distance (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data, and determining whether the tension of the track is within a normal range from the key feature data"). Lim does not disclose using a value of the distance deviation between the actual distance and the expected distance.
Rebinsky discloses
Using a value of the distance deviation between the actual distance and the expected distance (Paragraph 0020, "Displacement sensor 32 may be any type of device configured to measure a change in the distance between front and rear idler wheels 26.sub.F, 26.sub.R (or the change in distance between front idler wheel 26.sub.F and sprocket 18 in the low-sprocket configuration not having rear idler wheel 26.sub.R)"; Paragraph 0021, "Sag sensor 33 may be any type of sensor known in the art capable of detecting deviation of chain 24 from a theoretical straight line tangential path between sprocket 18 and front idler wheel 26.sub.F. In one example, sag sensor 33 is a proximity sensor like that described above").
Lim discloses using distance in its tension calculation but does not disclose using a distance deviation from an expected value. If an invention is using an expected distance, then there would be an expected level of tension, but calculating the change in tension based off the change in the expected distance it can determine the change in tension but also the rate of change as it has a reference point. It would be advantageous to have the rate in change of tension as it can help diagnose what the tension problem is, for example, the rate in change for a slowly leaking cylinder would be different than the rate of change from complete hydraulic failure. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Rebinsky to allow for more detailed diagnostics of what may be causing tension problems.
Regarding claim 11 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The system of claim 9. Lim discloses wherein, when the sensor includes the laser displacement sensor, the ultrasound sensor, the imaging device, or the inductive position sensor (Paragraph 0013, "In exemplary embodiments, the distance measuring sensor includes a non-contact sensor, and the non-contact sensor may include any one of a RADAR sensor, a LIDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) sensor, a vision sensor, an infrared ray sensor, and an ultrasonic sensor"), the sensor includes at least one of: a first sensor configured to obtain a first distance information related to a first distance between the first sensor and a first portion of the track of the work machine (Paragraph 0015, "includes at least one distance measuring sensor for recognizing a distance from the upper rotating body to a track of the lower traveling body"); and a sensor configured to obtain a second distance information related to a second distance between the second sensor and a second portion of the track of the work machine, wherein the first portion is spaced apart from the second portion (Paragraph 0010, "In exemplary embodiments, the distance measuring sensor recognizes a first distance from the upper swing body to a plate of the track shoe (maximum depth of the track) and a second distance to a grouser protruding from the plate of the track shoe (maximum height of the track)"). Lim does not disclose a second sensor.
Rebinsky discloses
A second sensor (Paragraph 0009, "The undercarriage may also include a controller in communication with the first, second, and third sensors").
Lim discloses a sensor that can take distance measurements at two different locations but it doesn’t disclose a second sensor. A second sensor would be advantageous for multiple reasons including: redundancy in the even that one of the sensors is damaged (hardware problem), verifying measurements (software problem), and having a sensor for both tracks instead of just one as the tension in left track may be different than the tension in the right track. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Rebinsky to incorporate the use of a second sensor to create redundancy to allow for continued operation when there is a problem.
Regarding claim 12 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The system of claim 11 including a processor. Lim discloses wherein, when the sensor includes the laser displacement sensor, the ultrasound sensor, the imaging device, or the inductive position sensor (Paragraph 0013, "In exemplary embodiments, the distance measuring sensor includes a non-contact sensor, and the non-contact sensor may include any one of a RADAR sensor, a LIDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) sensor, a vision sensor, an infrared ray sensor, and an ultrasonic sensor"), the processor is configured to: determine a first actual distance between the first sensor and the first portion of the track of the work machine, based on the first distance information (Paragraph 0010, "In exemplary embodiments, the distance measuring sensor recognizes a first distance from the upper swing body to a plate of the track shoe (maximum depth of the track) and a second distance to a grouser protruding from the plate of the track shoe (maximum height of the track)"); determine a second actual distance between the sensor and the second portion of the track of the work machine, based on the second distance information (Paragraph 0010, "In exemplary embodiments, the distance measuring sensor recognizes a first distance from the upper swing body to a plate of the track shoe (maximum depth of the track) and a second distance to a grouser protruding from the plate of the track shoe (maximum height of the track)"); and determine that the tension in the track is below the tension threshold based on the distance (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data, and determining whether the tension of the track is within a normal range from the key feature data"). Lim does not disclose a second sensor; at least one of: the first actual distance being different than a first expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine; and the second actual distance being different than a second expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine.
Rebinsky discloses
A second sensor (Paragraph 0009, "The undercarriage may also include a controller in communication with the first, second, and third sensors"); at least one of: the first actual distance being different than a first expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine (Paragraph 0020, "Displacement sensor 32 may be any type of device configured to measure a change in the distance between front and rear idler wheels 26.sub.F, 26.sub.R (or the change in distance between front idler wheel 26.sub.F and sprocket 18 in the low-sprocket configuration not having rear idler wheel 26.sub.R)"; Paragraph 0021, "Sag sensor 33 may be any type of sensor known in the art capable of detecting deviation of chain 24 from a theoretical straight line tangential path between sprocket 18 and front idler wheel 26.sub.F. In one example, sag sensor 33 is a proximity sensor like that described above"); and the second actual distance being different than a second expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine.
Lim discloses a sensor that can take distance measurements at two different locations but it doesn’t disclose a second sensor. Lim also discloses monitoring the change in tension through the use of distances and comparison to a tension threshold but not using a preset distance between a sensor and the tracks.
A second sensor would be advantageous for multiple reasons including: redundancy in the even that one of the sensors is damaged (hardware problem), verifying measurements (software problem), and having a sensor for both tracks instead of just one as the tension in left track may be different than the tension in the right track. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Rebinsky to incorporate the use of a second sensor to create redundancy to allow for continued operation when there is a problem.
The invention comparing a distance value would be advantageous as it can simplify the tension diagnostic. For example, if the distance doesn’t match a premeasured value, then the operator knows the tension is either too low or too high. This can be useful in situations where the operator knows the tracks are clean or they are setting up the tracks for the first time. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Rebinsky to simplify the tension diagnostic of the tracks.
Regarding claim 14 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The system of claim 8. Lim further discloses wherein the processor is configured to generate a notification to alert an operator that the tension in the track is below the tension threshold (Paragraph 0005, "and an output device for receiving tension data from the control device and displaying it on a screen or generating a warning signal when the tension of the track is outside the normal range.").
Regarding claim 18 Lim discloses
A method for monitoring a tension in a track of a work machine, the method comprising: obtaining, by a sensor coupled to the work machine, an information related to a decrease in the tension in the track (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data, and determining whether the tension of the track is within a normal range from the key feature data"), wherein the sensor includes a pulse Radio Detection and Ranging (RADAR) sensor, a laser displacement sensor, an ultrasound sensor, an imaging device, an inductive position sensor, or a linear position sensor associated with an actuator of the work machine that is adapted to adjust the tension in the track (Paragraph 0013, "In exemplary embodiments, the distance measuring sensor includes a non-contact sensor, and the non-contact sensor may include any one of a RADAR sensor, a LIDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) sensor, a vision sensor, an infrared ray sensor, and an ultrasonic sensor"); analyzing, by a controller, the information related to the decrease in the tension in the track obtained from the sensor; and determining, by the processor, that the tension in the track is below a tension threshold, based on an analysis of the information obtained from the sensor (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data, and determining whether the tension of the track is within a normal range from the key feature data"). Lim does not disclose that the controller has at least one processor.
Rebinsky discloses
The controller has at least one processor (Paragraph 0022, "Controller 34 may include a memory, a secondary storage device, a processor, and any other components for running an application").
Lim discloses a controller determining the tension in the tracks directly related to the distance measurement to the tracks but it does not specifically disclose that the controller has a processor. The controller of Lim both uses stored values (i.e., the tension thresholds) and analyzes data to come to conclusions which would indicate the need for some kind of processor and memory. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Lim to incorporate the processor and memory of Rebinsky for the implementation of the invention to perform its job.
Regarding claim 19 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The method of claim 18 including a processor. Lim discloses wherein, when the sensor includes the pulse RADAR sensor, the laser displacement sensor, the ultrasound sensor, the imaging device, or the inductive position sensor (Paragraph 0013, "In exemplary embodiments, the distance measuring sensor includes a non-contact sensor, and the non-contact sensor may include any one of a RADAR sensor, a LIDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) sensor, a vision sensor, an infrared ray sensor, and an ultrasonic sensor"), the information obtained from the sensor is related to a distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine, the method further comprising: determining, by the processor, an actual distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine, based on the information obtained from the sensor (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data, and
determining whether the tension of the track is within a normal range from the key feature data"); and determining, by the processor, that the tension in the track is below the tension threshold (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data, and
determining whether the tension of the track is within a normal range from the key feature data"). Lim does not disclose a tension based on the actual distance being different than an expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine, wherein a memory of the controller is configured to store the expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine.
Rebinsky discloses
A controller with a memory (Paragraph 0022, "Controller 34 may include a memory, a secondary storage device, a processor, and any other components for running an application"), wherein a memory of the controller is configured to store the expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine (Paragraph 0022, "Controller 34 may include a memory, a secondary storage device, a processor, and any other components for running an application"; Paragraph 0021, "Sag sensor 33 may be any type of sensor known in the art capable of detecting deviation of chain 24 from a theoretical straight line tangential path between sprocket 18 and front idler wheel 26.sub.F. In one example, sag sensor 33 is a proximity sensor like that described above"); a tension based on the actual distance being different than an expected distance between the sensor and the track of the work machine (Paragraph 0020, "Displacement sensor 32 may be any type of device configured to measure a change in the distance between front and rear idler wheels 26.sub.F, 26.sub.R (or the change in distance between front idler wheel 26.sub.F and sprocket 18 in the low-sprocket configuration not having rear idler wheel 26.sub.R)"; Paragraph 0021, "Sag sensor 33 may be any type of sensor known in the art capable of detecting deviation of chain 24 from a theoretical straight line tangential path between sprocket 18 and front idler wheel 26.sub.F. In one example, sag sensor 33 is a proximity sensor like that described above").
Lim discloses a controller determining the tension in the tracks directly related to the distance measurement to the tracks but it does not specifically disclose that the controller has a processor or memory or that the controller stores distance data. Also, Lim discloses using distance in its tension calculation but does not disclose using a distance deviation from an expected value.
The controller of Lim both uses stored values (i.e., the tension thresholds) and analyzes data to come to conclusions which would indicate the need for some kind of processor and memory. It would be advantageous to include both a tension threshold and a distance value, related to the distance between the tracks and the sensor, to promote differentiating between different types of tension. For example, a set of tracks may read high tension due to mud and debris while the tracks may actually be sagging. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Lim to incorporate the processor and memory of Rebinsky for the implementation of the invention to perform its job.
If an invention is using an expected distance, then there would be an expected level of tension, but calculating the change in tension based off the change in the expected distance it can determine the change in tension but also the rate of change as it has a reference point. It would be advantageous to have the rate in change of tension as it can help diagnose what the tension problem is, for example, the rate in change for a slowly leaking cylinder would be different than the rate of change from complete hydraulic failure. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Rebinsky to allow for more detailed diagnostics of what may be causing tension problems.
Claim(s) 5, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR 20240001945 A) in view of Rebinsky (US 20140324301 A1) further in view of Scott (WO 2017075652 A1).
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The system of claim 4 including the processor. Lim does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to determine the actual distance by averaging the first actual distance and the second actual distance.
Scott discloses
Wherein the processor is configured to determine the actual distance by averaging the first actual distance and the second actual distance (Paragraph 0019, "As shown in Figure 1, the track tension may be measured by measuring the distance a of track deflection between upper rollers 130 and 135, and the distance b between the upper roller 135 and front wheel 110. The average of the distances a and b").
Lim discloses getting two different distance measurements but does not disclose averaging two different measurements. It would be advantageous to average two distance measurements to the same general section of the tracks to mitigate inaccuracies in the measurement where there may be irregularities in the tracks. The tracks may have uneven wear, uneven stretching, or heterogeneous distribution of debris that can affect the measurement. This would be achievable if the sensor of Lim measured two different spots relatively close together or if Lim used the second sensor to measure similar spots as the first sensor to do an average. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Scott to incorporate averaging the distance measurements to mitigate irregularities in the tracks.
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The system of claim 12 including the processor. Lim does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to determine the actual distance by averaging the first actual distance and the second actual distance.
Scot discloses
Wherein the processor is configured to determine the actual distance by averaging the first actual distance and the second actual distance (Paragraph 0019, "As shown in Figure 1, the track tension may be measured by measuring the distance a of track deflection between upper rollers 130 and 135, and the distance b between the upper roller 135 and front wheel 110. The average of the distances a and b").
Lim discloses getting two different distance measurements but does not disclose averaging two different measurements. It would be advantageous to average two distance measurements to the same general section of the tracks to mitigate inaccuracies in the measurement where there may be irregularities in the tracks. The tracks may have uneven wear, uneven stretching, or heterogeneous distribution of debris that can affect the measurement. This would be achievable if the sensor of Lim measured two different spots relatively close together or if Lim used the second sensor to measure similar spots as the first sensor to do an average. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Scott to incorporate averaging the distance measurements to mitigate irregularities in the tracks.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR 20240001945 A) in view of Rebinsky (US 20140324301 A1) further in view of Fehrer (US 5896633 A).
Regarding claim 15 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The system of claim 8, wherein, when the sensor includes the laser displacement sensor, the ultrasound sensor (Paragraph 0013, "In exemplary embodiments, the distance measuring sensor includes a non-contact sensor, and the non-contact sensor may include any one of a RADAR sensor, a LIDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) sensor, a vision sensor, an infrared ray sensor, and an ultrasonic sensor"), the sensor is coupled to a frame of the work machine (Paragraph 0015, "includes at least one distance measuring sensor for recognizing a distance from the upper rotating body to a track of the lower traveling body"). Lim does not disclose and wherein, when the sensor includes the inductive position sensor, the sensor is disposed in an undercarriage system of the work machine, such that the sensor faces the track.
Fehrer discloses
Wherein, when the sensor includes the inductive position sensor, the sensor is disposed in an undercarriage system of the work machine, such that the sensor faces the track (Column 4 Lines 43-44, "For monitoring the size of the sag 15, the dancing roller 11 may be connected to an inductive position transducer").
Lim discloses using distance sensors pointed at tracks to determine the amount of tension or sag, but it does not disclose using an inductive position sensor. The invention using an inductive position sensor has notable advantages over using sensors like radar in that it is resistant to environmental interference and doesn’t suffer from signal attenuation. The induction position sensor is therefore possibly more reliable in a harsh environment. Lim can simply use an inductive position sensor as the distance sensor looking at the tracks. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Fehrer to incorporate an inductive position sensor so that the sensor is more robust against environmental problems.
Claim(s) 16, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR 20240001945 A) in view of Rebinsky (US 20140324301 A1) further in view of Wirkus (CA 3013013 A1).
Regarding claim 16 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The system of claim 8. Lim does not disclose wherein, when the sensor includes the linear position sensor, the sensor is communicably coupled with the actuator, and wherein the actuator includes a piston.
Wirkus discloses
Wherein, when the sensor includes the linear position sensor, the sensor is communicably coupled with the actuator, and wherein the actuator includes a piston (Paragraph 0005, "In accordance with another construction, a tensioning system for a crawler track includes an idler wheel, a mobile base that includes a frame, a pre-load actuating element coupled to the frame"; Paragraph 0021, "the pre-load actuating element 165 is a hydraulic cylinder having a ram portion…Other constructions include different types of pre-load actuating elements 165 (e.g., pneumatic cylinders, electric linear actuators, etc."; Paragraph 0027, "In some constructions, the tensioning system 150 additionally or alternatively includes a sensor or other device that measures a linear position of the yoke").
Lim discloses a distance sensor that looks at the tracks but does not disclose a distance sensor, such as a linear position sensor, that looks at the pistons of the track. The invention using a linear position sensor on the hydraulic cylinder is advantageous in that the linear position sensor is: unaffected by environmental debris, it helps the operator diagnose that the tension problem is due to the piston position, and it facilitates easier maintenance of the tracks if the piston position is known. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Wirkus to facilitate a more specific diagnosis of a tension problem with the tracks and to facilitate maintenance of the tracks.
Regarding claim 17 the combination of Lim, Rebinsky, and Wirkus discloses
The system of claim 16, and determining when the tension in the track is below a tension threshold (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data, and determining whether the tension of the track is within a normal range from the key feature data"). Lim does not disclose wherein, when the sensor includes the linear position sensor, the information obtained from the sensor is related to a movement of the piston from its previous position, and wherein the processor is configured to determine the tension in the track is based on the movement of the piston from its previous position.
Wirkus discloses
Wherein, when the sensor includes the linear position sensor, the information obtained from the sensor is related to a movement of the piston from its previous position, and wherein the processor is configured to determine the tension in the track is based on the movement of the piston from its previous position (Paragraph 0005, "In accordance with another construction, a tensioning system for a crawler track includes an idler wheel, a mobile base that includes a frame, a pre-load actuating element coupled to the frame"; Paragraph 0021, "the pre-load actuating element 165 is a hydraulic cylinder having a ram portion…Other constructions include different types of pre-load actuating elements 165 (e.g., pneumatic cylinders, electric linear actuators, etc."; Paragraph 0027, "In some constructions, the tensioning system 150 additionally or alternatively includes a sensor or other device that measures a linear position of the yoke").
Lim discloses a distance sensor that looks at the tracks but does not disclose a distance sensor, such as a linear position sensor, that looks at the pistons of the track. The invention using a linear position sensor on the hydraulic cylinder is advantageous in that the linear position sensor is: unaffected by environmental debris, it helps the operator diagnose that the tension problem is due to the piston position, and it facilitates easier maintenance of the tracks if the piston position is known. For the sake of ensuring the longevity of the machine/vehicle Lim could set a threshold to the position of the cylinder. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Wirkus to facilitate a more specific diagnosis of a tension problem with the tracks and to facilitate maintenance of the tracks.
Regarding claim 20 the combination of Lim and Rebinsky discloses
The method of claim 18 including a processor and determining that the tension in the track is below the tension threshold (Paragraph 0005, "a control device for receiving distance data from the track from the at least one distance measuring sensor, deriving key feature data for diagnosing the tension of the track through a condition diagnosis algorithm based on the distance data, and determining whether the tension of the track is within a normal range from the key feature data"). Lim does not disclose wherein, when the sensor includes the linear position sensor, the sensor is communicably coupled with the actuator, wherein the actuator includes a piston, and wherein, when the sensor includes the linear position sensor, the information obtained from the sensor is related to a movement of the piston from its previous position, the method further comprising: tension based on the movement of the piston from its previous position.
Wirkus discloses
Wherein, when the sensor includes the linear position sensor, the sensor is communicably coupled with the actuator, wherein the actuator includes a piston, and wherein, when the sensor includes the linear position sensor, the information obtained from the sensor is related to a movement of the piston from its previous position, the method further comprising: tension based on the movement of the piston from its previous position (Paragraph 0005, "In accordance with another construction, a tensioning system for a crawler track includes an idler wheel, a mobile base that includes a frame, a pre-load actuating element coupled to the frame"; Paragraph 0021, "the pre-load actuating element 165 is a hydraulic cylinder having a ram portion…Other constructions include different types of pre-load actuating elements 165 (e.g., pneumatic cylinders, electric linear actuators, etc."; Paragraph 0027, "In some constructions, the tensioning system 150 additionally or alternatively includes a sensor or other device that measures a linear position of the yoke").
Lim discloses a distance sensor that looks at the tracks but does not disclose a distance sensor, such as a linear position sensor, that looks at the pistons of the track. The invention using a linear position sensor on the hydraulic cylinder is advantageous in that the linear position sensor is: unaffected by environmental debris, it helps the operator diagnose that the tension problem is due to the piston position, and it facilitates easier maintenance of the tracks if the piston position is known. For the sake of ensuring the longevity of the machine/vehicle Lim could set a threshold to the position of the cylinder. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim with Wirkus to facilitate a more specific diagnosis of a tension problem with the tracks and to facilitate maintenance of the tracks.
Conclusion
/PETER DAVON DOZE/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648