DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/19/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (KR 20190065211 A) in view of Lim et al. (US 10622338 B2).
Re Claim 1 Kwon teaches a light emitting module (FIG. 4b), comprising:
a module body (300, page 8 par 7) including a base (310) having an upper surface, a lower surface, and a plurality of peripheral (side) surfaces connected to the upper surface and the lower surface;
a plurality of electrodes (340 and 350) disposed to be exposed to an outside on at least a part of the plurality of peripheral (side) surfaces of the base (310);
a light emitting element (320) disposed on the base (310) to be (mechanically) connected to two or more of the plurality of electrodes (340 and 350); and
a molding (330) covering the light emitting element (320, FIG. 4b).
Kwon does not teach a plurality of light emitting elements.
Lim teaches a plurality of light emitting elements (151 and 152, col 11 line 7).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Lim into the structure of Kwon since Lim teach a light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lim in combination with Kwon in the above manner for the motivation of optimally integrating a plurality of light emitting elements to increase the brightness of the device. Col 1 line 41 states, “Recently, the brightness problem of a light emitting diode has significantly been improved, so that the LED is applied to various devices such as a backlight unit of a liquid crystal display device, an electric signage, a display device, and home appliances, etc.”
Re Claim 2 Kwon in view of Lim teaches each of the plurality of electrodes (Kwon, 340 and 350, page 8 par 7) include:
an up-down extension (parts on sides of 310, FIG. 4b) portion disposed to extend in an up-down direction on at least one of the plurality of peripheral surfaces of the base (310);
an upper extension (340 on top of 310) portion extending from an upper end of the up-down extension portion on the upper surface of the base to be electrically connected to one or more of the plurality of light emitting elements (320, page 8 par 7, use primary reference to teach “plurality of light emitting elements”); and
a lower extension portion (340 on bottom of 310) extending from a lower end of the up-down extension portion on the lower surface of the base (310, FIG. 4b).
Re Claim 11 Kwon in view of Lim teaches the light emitting module of claim 2, wherein the module body (Lim, FIG. 3) further includes a side wall portion (sides of 171, col 13 row 3) extending upward from an edge of the upper surface of the base (120s), and
wherein the side wall portion (sides of 171) provides a molding filling space (col 13 line 3 “clack filler”) in which the plurality of light emitting elements (151 and 152 and 153) are disposed and the molding is filled (FIG. 3).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (KR 20190065211 A) in view of Lim et al. (US 10622338 B2) as applied to claims 1, 2 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20220367765 A1, IDS).
Re Claim 7 Kwon in view of Lim teaches the light emitting module of claim 2, but does not teach each of the plurality of light emitting elements includes a P-type semiconductor and an N-type semiconductor,
wherein the plurality of light emitting elements have the same arrangement of the P-type semiconductor and the N-type semiconductor, and
wherein the plurality of light emitting elements have the same connection between each of the P-type semiconductor and the N-type semiconductor and the upper extension portion.
Lee teaches each of the plurality of light emitting elements (300 and 400) [0092] includes a P-type semiconductor (311) [0109] and an N-type semiconductor (313) [0110],
wherein the plurality of light emitting elements (300 and 400) have the same arrangement of the P-type semiconductor and the N-type semiconductor (FIG. 7, [0106] says 300 and 400 are the same structurally), and
wherein the plurality of light emitting elements (300 and 400) have the same connection (351 and 352) [0113] between each of the P-type semiconductor (311) [0107] and the N-type semiconductor (313) and the upper extension portion (225 and 226, [0113], FIG. 7 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Lee into the structure of Kwon in view of Lim since Lee teaches an light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in combination with Kwon in view of Lim in the above manner for the motivation of using light emitting elements with the same configurations to build a light emitting device for enhancing color reproducibility and power consumption. [0003] states, “In recent years, research for enhancing color reproducibility and power consumption by applying a light emitting element which emits blue light with advantageous light emitting efficiency and a color conversion layer to the display device is being carried out.”
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (KR 20190065211 A) in view of Lim et al. (US 10622338 B2) as applied to claims 1, 2 above, and further in view of Jang et al. (US 20200365649 A1) and Lee et al. (US 20220367765 A1, IDS).
Re Claim 8 Kwon in view of Lim teaches the light emitting module of claim 2, but does not teach each of the plurality of light emitting elements includes a P-type semiconductor and an N-type semiconductor,
wherein at least one of the plurality of light emitting elements has a different arrangement of the P-type semiconductor and the N-type semiconductor.
Jang teaches each of the plurality of light emitting elements (20 and 40) [0071] includes a P-type semiconductor (21 and 41) [0081] and an N-type semiconductor (25 and 45),
wherein at least one of the plurality of light emitting elements has a different arrangement of the P-type semiconductor and the N-type semiconductor (FIG. 3, 20 has p-type layer 21 on top, and 40 has p-type layer 41 on the bottom).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Jang into the structure of Kwon in view of Lim since Jang teaches an light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang in combination with Kwon in view of Lim in the above manner for the motivation of using light emitting elements with the different configurations to build a light emitting device for a high response speed. [0003] states, “With advantages of long lifespan, low power consumption, and high response speed, light emitting diodes have been rapidly replacing an existing light source.”
Kwon in view of Lim and Jang does not teach the plurality of light emitting elements have the same connection between each of the P-type semiconductor and the N-type semiconductor and the upper extension portion.
Lee teaches the plurality of light emitting elements (300 and 400) have the same connection (351 and 352, FIG. 6 and 7) [0093] between each of the P-type semiconductor (300) and the N-type semiconductor (400) and the upper extension portion (225 and 226) [0113].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Lee into the structure of Kwon in view of Lim and Jang since Lee teaches an light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in combination with Kwon in view of Lim and Jang in the above manner for the motivation of using light emitting elements with the same connections to build a light emitting device for enhancing color reproducibility and power consumption. [0003] states, “In recent years, research for enhancing color reproducibility and power consumption by applying a light emitting element which emits blue light with advantageous light emitting efficiency and a color conversion layer to the display device is being carried out.”
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (KR 20190065211 A) in view of Lim et al. (US 10622338 B2) as applied to claims 1, 2 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20220367765 A1, IDS) and Jang et al. (US 20200365649 A1).
Re Claim 9 Kwon in view of Lim teaches the light emitting module of claim 2, but does not teach each of the plurality of light emitting elements includes a P-type semiconductor and an N-type semiconductor,
wherein the plurality of light emitting elements have the same arrangement of the P-type semiconductor and the N-type semiconductor, and
Lee teaches each of the plurality of light emitting elements (300 and 400) [0092] includes a P-type semiconductor (311) [0109] and an N-type semiconductor (313) [0110],
wherein the plurality of light emitting elements (300 and 400) have the same arrangement of the P-type semiconductor and the N-type semiconductor (FIG. 7, [0106] says 300 and 400 are the same structurally).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Lee into the structure of Kwon in view of Lim since Lee teaches an light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in combination with Kwon in view of Lim in the above manner for the motivation of using light emitting elements with the same configurations to build a light emitting device for enhancing color reproducibility and power consumption. [0003] states, “In recent years, research for enhancing color reproducibility and power consumption by applying a light emitting element which emits blue light with advantageous light emitting efficiency and a color conversion layer to the display device is being carried out.”
Kwon in view of Lim and Lee does not teach at least one of the plurality of light emitting elements has a different connection between each of the P-type semiconductor and the N-type semiconductor and the upper extension portion.
Jang teaches at least one of the plurality of light emitting elements (20 and 40) [0071] has a different connection between each of the P-type semiconductor (25 and 45) [0080] and the N-type semiconductor (21 and 41) and the upper extension portion (electrode 25 p [0074] is below 25, and electrode 45p [0076] is above 45, FIG. 8B).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Jang into the structure of Kwon in view of Lim and Lee since Jang teaches a light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang in combination with Kwon in view of Lim and Lee in the above manner for the motivation of using light emitting element connections with the different configurations to build a light emitting device for a high response speed. [0003] states, “With advantages of long lifespan, low power consumption, and high response speed, light emitting diodes have been rapidly replacing an existing light source.”
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (KR 20190065211 A) in view of Lim et al. (US 10622338 B2) as applied to claims 1, 2 above, and further in view of Jang et al. (US 20200365649 A1)
Re Claim 10 Kwon in view of Lim teaches the light emitting module of claim 2, but does not teach each of the plurality of light emitting elements includes a P-type semiconductor and an N-type semiconductor,
wherein at least one of the plurality of light emitting elements has a different arrangement of the P-type semiconductor and the N-type semiconductor, and
wherein at least one of the plurality of light emitting elements has a different connection between each of the P-type semiconductor and the N-type semiconductor and the upper extension portion.
Jang teaches each of the plurality of light emitting elements (20 and 40) [0071] includes a P-type semiconductor (21 and 41) [0081] and an N-type semiconductor (25 and 45),
wherein at least one of the plurality of light emitting elements has a different arrangement of the P-type semiconductor and the N-type semiconductor (FIG. 3, 20 has p-type layer 21 on top, and 40 has p-type layer 41 on the bottom),
wherein at least one of the plurality of light emitting elements (20 and 40) [0071] has a different connection between each of the P-type semiconductor (25 and 45) [0080] and the N-type semiconductor (21 and 41) and the upper extension portion (electrode 25 p [0074] is below 25, and electrode 45p [0076] is above 45, FIG. 8B).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Jang into the structure of Kwon in view of Lim since Jang teaches a light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang in combination with Kwon in view of Lim in the above manner for the motivation of using light emitting element configurations and connections that are different to build a light emitting device for a high response speed. [0003] states, “With advantages of long lifespan, low power consumption, and high response speed, light emitting diodes have been rapidly replacing an existing light source.”
Re Claim 12 Kwon in view of Lim teaches the light emitting module of claim 11, but does not teach the side wall portion is inclined so that a thickness thereof in a horizontal direction decreases as it goes upward.
Jang teaches teach the side wall portion (sides on 290, [0129 states, “…the molding layer 91′ may include substantially the same material as the passivation layer 290…”]) is inclined so that a thickness thereof in a horizontal direction decreases as it goes upward (FIG. 21B).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Jang into the structure of Kwon in view of Lim since Jang teaches a light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang in combination with Kwon in view of Lim in the above manner for the motivation of optimally shaping the molding layer to protect the light emitting module. [0134] states, “…the passivation layer 290 may … protect the light emitting stacked structure from external stress during manufacture.”
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (KR 20190065211 A) in view of Lim et al. (US 10622338 B2) as applied to claims 1, 2, 11 above, and further in view of Park et al. (CN 109417082 A)
Re Claim 13 Kwon in view of Lim teaches the light emitting module of claim 11, but does not teach the base is inclined so that a cross-sectional area thereof in a horizontal direction decreases as it goes downward.
Park teaches the base (170, page 22 par 7) is inclined so that a cross-sectional area thereof in a horizontal direction decreases as it goes downward (FIG. 24a).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Park into the structure of Kwon in view of Lim since Park teaches a light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Park in combination with Kwon in view of Lim in the above manner for the motivation of optimally shaping the base to protect the light emitting module and to allow the structure to be capable of being integrated into a high resolution screen. Page 3 par 5 states, “Embodiments provide a display device capable of realizing high resolution large screen display device.”
Re Claim 14 Kwon in view of Lim and Park teaches the light emitting module of claim 11, wherein when an upper end of the side wall portion (Park, use top right/left corners of 221, page 30 par 2, 221 is a light absorbing layer like a molding layer) is projected directly downward onto an imaginary horizontal plane including a lower end of the base (170), the upper end of the side wall portion surrounds the lower end of the base (170, FIG. 24a).
Re Claim 15 Kwon in view of Lim and Park teaches the light emitting module of claim 11, wherein on the lower surface of the base (Park, 170), an electrode arrangement groove (groove housing 192, par 25 page 6) in which the lower extension portion (192 on bottom surface of 170) is disposed and which is depressed toward a center of the base (170) in a horizontal direction is formed (FIG. 24a), and
wherein the lower extension portion (192 on bottom surface of 170) extends to be inclined upward toward the center of the base (170) in the horizontal direction (FIG. 24a).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (KR 20190065211 A) in view of Lim et al. (US 10622338 B2) and Park et al. (CN 109417082 A) as applied to claims 1, 2, 11, 15 above, and further in view of Park et al. (WO 2021210698 A1), “Park2” hereafter.
Re Claim 16 Kwon in view of Lim and Park teaches the light emitting module of claim 15, but does not teach a direct upward distance between the lowermost end of the lower extension portion and the uppermost end of the lower extension portion is greater than a direct upward distance between the lowermost end of the lower extension portion and the lowermost end of the base.
Park2 teaches a direct upward distance between the lowermost end of the lower extension portion (933a, page 16 par 3) and the uppermost end of the lower extension portion (top point of 902a) is greater than a direct upward distance between the lowermost end of the lower extension portion (933a) and the lowermost end of the base (902, FIG. 13 and 8e, page 14 par 6 states, “Referring to FIG. 9 , the first substrate 901 and the second substrate 902 may be substantially the same as the first substrate 601 and the second substrate 602 illustrated in FIG. 6 .”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Park2 into the structure of Kwon in view of Lim and Park since Park2 teaches a light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Park2 in combination with Kwon in view of Lim and Park in the above manner for the motivation of optimally integrating the lower extension portion to allow for the light emitting module to function with low power consumption and still show excellent initial driving characteristics. Page 2 par 5 states, “Such a light emitting diode has various advantages, such as a long lifespan, low power consumption, excellent initial driving characteristics, and high vibration resistance, compared to a filament-based light emitting device.”
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (KR 20190065211 A) in view of Lim et al. (US 10622338 B2) and Park et al. (CN 109417082 A) as applied to claims 1, 2, 11, 15 above, and further in view of Park et al. (WO 2021210698 A1), “Park2” hereafter.
Re Claim 17 Kwon in view of Lim and Park teaches the light emitting module of claim 15, but does not teach a thickness in the horizontal direction of the lowermost end of the up-down extension portion is smaller than a thickness in the horizontal direction at a center of the up-down extension portion.
Park2 teaches a thickness in the horizontal direction of the lowermost end of the up-down extension portion (2132e1, page 40 par 8) is smaller than a thickness in the horizontal direction at a center of the up-down extension portion (FIG. 33b).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Park2 into the structure of Kwon in view of Lim and Park since Park2 teaches a light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Park2 in combination with Kwon in view of Lim and Park in the above manner for the motivation of optimally shaping the up-down extension to allow for reduced thickness and increased visibility. Page 1 states, “The display device can reduce the thickness, and can increase visibility.”
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (KR 20190065211 A) in view of Lim et al. (US 10622338 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kosugi (JP 2022129519 A).
Re Claim 18 Kwon in view of Lim teaches the light emitting module of claim 1, but does not teach a control element connected to the plurality of light emitting elements through the plurality of electrodes to control the plurality of light emitting elements,
wherein the control element is disposed on the base and covered by the molding covering the plurality of light emitting elements.
Kosugi teaches a control element (23c) connected to the plurality of light emitting elements (20a and 20b) through the plurality of electrodes (page 9 par 9 states, “The controller 23c is electrically connected to the light emitting circuit 20a and the light emitting circuit 20b. For example, the controller 23c is electrically connected to the anode…”) to control the plurality of light emitting elements,
wherein the control element (23c) is disposed on the base (11, page 3 last par) and covered by the molding (15, page 4 par 4 states, “15 can be integrally molded using an injection molding method or the like.”) covering the plurality of light emitting elements (20a and 20b, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Kosugi into the structure of Kwon in view of Lim since Kosugi teaches a light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kosugi in combination with Kwon in view of Lim in the above manner for the motivation of integrating a controller to regulate the light emitting regions. Page 1 par 1 states, “The control unit causes the second light emitting element provided in the second light emitting circuit to be off when the first light emitting element provided in the first light emitting circuit is turned off.”
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (KR 20190065211 A) in view of Lim et al. (US 10622338 B2) and Daikoku (US 20220170619 A1).
Re Claim 19 Kwon teaches a light emitting module (FIG. 4b), comprising:
a module body (300, page 8 par 7) including a base (310) having an upper surface, a lower surface, and a plurality of peripheral (side) surfaces connected to the upper surface and the lower surface;
a plurality of electrodes (340 and 350) disposed to be exposed to an outside on at least a part of the plurality of peripheral surfaces of the base (310);
a light emitting element (320) disposed on the base (310) to be (mechanically) connected to two or more of the plurality of electrodes (340 and 350); and
a molding (330) covering the light emitting element (320, FIG. 4b).
Kwon does not teach a plurality of light emitting elements;
wherein the plurality of light-emitting devices are disposed in each of the plurality of light-emitting regions.
Lim teaches a plurality of light emitting elements (152 and 153, col 11 line 7);
wherein the plurality of light-emitting devices (152 and 153) are disposed in each of the plurality of light-emitting regions (100, FIG. 9, col 13 line 43).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Lim into the structure of Kwon since Lim teach a light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lim in combination with Kwon in the above manner for the motivation of optimally integrating a plurality of light emitting elements to increase the brightness of the device. Col 1 line 41 states, “Recently, the brightness problem of a light emitting diode has significantly been improved, so that the LED is applied to various devices such as a backlight unit of a liquid crystal display device, an electric signage, a display device, and home appliances, etc.”
Kwon in view of Lim does not teach a partition groove is formed on an upper surface of the molding to partition an upper part of the molding into a plurality of light emitting regions.
Daikoku teaches a partition groove (14) [0040] is formed on an upper surface of the molding (23) [0031] to partition an upper part of the molding into a plurality of light emitting regions (5, [0040], FIG. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Daikoku into the structure of Kwon in view of Lim since Daikoku teaches a light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Daikoku in combination with Kwon in view of Lim in the above manner for the motivation of forming partition grooves in the molding to act as a driving unit for local dimming. [0040] states, “Each of the light-emitting regions 5 demarcated by the demarcation groove 14 can serve as, for example, a driving unit for local dimming.”
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (KR 20190065211 A) in view of Cha et al. (US 20210249564 A1).
Re Claim 20 Kwon teaches a display device (FIG. 4b), comprising:
a light emitting module (300, page 8 par 7) including:
a module body (300) including a base (310) having an upper surface, a lower surface, and a plurality of peripheral (side) surfaces connected to the upper surface and the lower surface;
a plurality of electrodes (340 and 350) disposed to be exposed to the outside on at least a part of the plurality of peripheral surfaces of the base (310);
a light emitting element (320) disposed on the base (310) to be connected to two or more of the plurality of electrodes (340 and 350); and
a molding (330) covering the light emitting element (320, FIG. 4b).
Kwon does not teach a display substrate on which an electric circuit is disposed;
a plurality of light emitting modules disposed on the display substrate to be electrically connected to the electric circuit,
the light emitting module includes:
a plurality of light emitting elements.
Cha teaches a display substrate (2100) [0098] on which an electric circuit is disposed (FIG. 4D [0020], LED’s 10a and 10b [0102] are in FIG. 4D and on 2100 in FIG. 1);
a plurality of light emitting modules (100) [0101] disposed on the display substrate (2100) to be electrically connected to the electric circuit (FIG. 1 and 4D),
the light emitting module (100) includes:
a plurality of light emitting elements (10) [0166].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Cha into the structure of Kwon since Cha teaches a light emitting module.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Cha in combination with Kwon in the above manner for the motivation of optimally integrating light emitting modules to connect with a circuit over a substrate to reduce power consumption. [0003] states, “Light emitting diodes have advantages such as longer lifespan, lower power consumption, and fast response, than existing light sources, and thus, light emitting diodes have been replacing existing light sources.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KENNETH MARK SIPLING/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DUY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 6/8/26