DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “152” has been used to designate both the “first portion” and the “resilient band” in Fig. 4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nesmjanowitsch (EP 2410198 A1) in view of Boyle et al. (US 2020/0096067 A1).
Re claims 1 and 13, Nesmjanowitsch teaches an electromechanical brake actuator for applying braking force to a rotor, comprising: a first ball nut assembly (7) including a first spindle and a first nut axially movable relative to the rotor in response to rotation of the first spindle; a second ball nut assembly (7) including a second spindle and a second nut axially movable relative to the rotor in response to rotation of the second spindle; and an anti-rotation member (see below) secured to both the first and second nuts for limiting relative rotational movement between the first and second nuts. (Fig. 1-4)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First nut)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second nut)][AltContent: textbox (Anti-rotation member)][AltContent: arrow]
Nesmjanowitsch teaches an application device (2) for supplying torque to the spindles such that both spindles rotate to cause both nuts to simultaneously move towards the rotor for applying braking force thereto. However, Nesmjanowitsch does not teach a motor. Boyle et al. teaches a motor (40) for supplying torque to the spindles such that both spindles rotate to cause both nuts to simultaneously move towards the rotor for applying braking force thereto. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to supply torque to the spindles since motors are well known means for actuating brake devices.
Re claims 2 and 13, Nesmjanowitsch does not teach a gear train connected to the first and second spindles. Boyle et al. teaches a gear train (40) connected to the first and second spindles. ([0061], [0065]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a gear train as taught by Boyle et al. in order to allow for torque adjustment.
Re claims 3 and 14, Nesmjanowitsch as modified teaches wherein the gear train comprises a first gear rotatable with the first spindle, a second gear rotatable with the second spindle, and an idler gear meshed with the first and second gears. (Boyle et al. - [0027])
Re claim 4, Nesmjanowitsch as modified teaches wherein the motor supplies torque directly to the idler gear. (Boyle et al. - [0027])
Re claim 5, Nesmjanowitsch as modified teaches wherein the motor supplies torque directly to first spindle and indirectly to the second spindle. (Boyle et al. - [0027])
Re claim 6, Nesmjanowitsch as modified teaches wherein the anti-rotation member (10) extends from the first nut to the second nut and moves with the nuts. (Fig. 1-4)
Re claim 12, Nesmjanowitsch as modified teaches wherein the anti-rotation member (see above) further limits at least one of relative axial movement and relative pivoting between the first and second nuts.
.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-22 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach heating the anti-rotation member to expand first and second openings therein; passing the nuts of the first and second ball nut assemblies into the first and second openings; and cooling the anti-rotation member to shrink the first and second openings and secure the anti-rotation member to the first and second ball nut assemblies to thereby limit relative movement therebetween.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bieker et al., Baumgartner, Ritsema, Howard et al., Thomas et al., and Giering teach similar brake actuators.
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTWAugust 12, 2026