DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2016027159 A2 Miron Denis Michel.
Regarding claim 1, Miron teaches, a vehicle seat, comprising: a cushion pad for a vehicle occupant (fig. 1B); an air passage provided inside the cushion pad, the air passage being provided with an upper opening at an upper surface side of the cushion pad and being provided with a lower opening at a lower surface side of the cushion pad (element 170); an air blower disposed at a seat lower side relative to the cushion pad and connected to the lower opening of the air passage (element 160), the air blower generating an airflow in the air passage upon being operated (elements 190, 192); a lower wall forming the air passage and having the lower opening formed therein (element 302); a reinforcement plate disposed at a seat upper side of the lower wall (element 216), the reinforcement plate having a hole that is communicated with the lower opening and being configured to reinforce the lower wall (element 180); and a weir part provided around the hole of the reinforcement plate and extending toward a seat upper side (see annotated fig. 3, weir part).
Regarding claim 3, Miron teaches, the vehicle seat of claim 1, wherein the weir part is provided at an edge of the hole (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Miron teaches, the vehicle seat of claim 3, wherein the weir part is formed by subjecting the reinforcement plate to flange processing. NOTE: Examiner contends “formed by” is a -product by process- limitation and the structure of the limitation is therefore met in fig. 3
Regarding claim 9, Miron teaches, the vehicle seat of claim 1, wherein the air blower is configured to be disposed at a seat lower side of a hip point of an occupant seated at the cushion pad (fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 10 allowed.
Claims 6-8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art Miron teaches a “reinforcement plate” with a “weir part”, but fails to teach wherein the weir part is water absorbing or made of compressed felt.
Conclusion
/C.M.C/
Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642