DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on the date: July 08, 2026.
Claims 1-6 and 9-20 are currently pending. Claims 1, 9, 14-17 and 19-20 have been amended. Claims 7-8 have been cancelled. No claims are new.
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
The applicant has argued that the combination of the prior arts Koyanagi and Coimbra fail to teach all of the claim limitations of independent claim 16 (see REMARKS pages 6-7). The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument. Coimbra teaches the argued claim limitations of “a resistor decoder configured to output a voltage based on a resistance of the first pull-up resistor, wherein the controller is configured to determine the threshold based on the voltage,” (see rejection below). Coimbra teaches a state decoder that will output a voltage based on the resistance of a selected resistive value of a resistor associated with a respective threshold temperature (see para [0083]). Thus, the voltage through resistance value of the first pull-up resistor will be known and the threshold temperature is determined by the voltage through the resistance value of the first pull-up resistor. Therefore, Coimbra teaches the limitations as claimed and the rejection of claim 16 is maintained.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS page 7, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-8 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyanagi et al. US2006/0082944 (called Koyanagi hereinafter and previously cited) in view of Coimbra et al. US2020/0173862 (called Coimbra hereinafter and previously cited).
Regarding independent claim 16, Koyanagi teaches a system (Fig. 14) comprising:
a controller (Fig. 14; ECU2 92) configured to output an indication to a first input pin (Fig. 14; any point from 80c and to the right of it) based on a comparison of a temperature to a threshold (para [0093]; determination of a suitable voltage Va);
a first pull-up resistor (Fig. 14; pull-up resistor 94) having a first terminal coupled to the first input pin (Fig. 14; bottom of resistor 94) and a second terminal coupled to a voltage supply (Fig. 14; battery 7).
Koyanagi fails to teach a resistor decoder configured to output a voltage based on a resistance of the first pull-up resistor, wherein the controller is configured to determine the threshold based on the voltage.
Coimbra teaches a resistor decoder (para [0083]; state machine) configured to output a voltage based on a resistance of the first pull-up resistor (para [0083]), wherein the controller is configured to determine the threshold based on the voltage (para [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as described by Koyanagi with the programmable array of resistors as described by Coimbra for the purpose of adjusting the threshold temperature to be detected to determine if a die/device is within a safe operating temperature (para [0013 and 0083]).
Regarding claim 17, Koyanagi and Coimbra teach the system of claim 16, Koyanagi further teaches wherein the controller is configured to cause the first input pin to be coupled to a common terminal if the temperature exceeds the threshold (Fig. 14; the input of 80c is coupled to a ground through other components in the circuit of Figure 14).
Regarding claim 18, Koyanagi and Coimbra teach the system of claim 16, Koyanagi further teaches further including a second pull-up resistor (Fig. 14; resistor to the right of component 80j) having a first terminal coupled to a second input terminal (Fig. 14; right side of the resistor to the right of component 80j coupled to the input of gate driver 80k), the second input terminal coupled to the resistor decoder (Fig. 14; left side of the resistor to the right of component 80j).
Regarding claim 19, Koyanagi and Coimbra teach the system of claim 16, Koyanagi further teaches further including a microcontroller (Figs. 11 and 14; ECU 70) coupled to the first input pin, the microcontroller configured to receive an indication if the temperature exceeds the threshold (Figs. 11 and 14; temperature sensor 90 coupled to ECU 70).
Regarding claim 20, Koyanagi and Coimbra teach the system of claim 16, wherein the controller is configured to store a lookup table that correlates a resistance of the first pull-up resistor with a temperature threshold (para [0083]; array of resistors so that when one resistor is activated it is associated with a respective threshold temperature).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 and 9-15 are indicated as allowable subject matter.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claim 1, the prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest:
“a second switch having a first terminal and a second terminal, the first terminal coupled to the output terminal of the differential amplifier; and a transistor having a first current terminal, a second current terminal, and a control terminal, the control terminal coupled to the second terminal of the second switch, the first current terminal coupled to a first input/output pin and the first terminal of the capacitor, and the second current terminal coupled to the first terminal of the resistor,” when used in combination with all other limitations of claim 1.
Claims 2-6 are indicated as allowable subject matter for depending on claim 1.
Regarding independent claim 9, the prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest:
“a second switch having a first terminal and a second terminal, the first terminal coupled to the output terminal of the differential amplifier; and a transistor having a first current terminal, a second current terminal, and a control terminal, the control terminal coupled to the second terminal of the second switch, the first current terminal coupled to the first input/output pin and the first terminal of the capacitor, and the second current terminal coupled to the first terminal of the resistor,” when used in combination with all other limitations of claim 1.
Claims 10-15 are indicated as allowable subject matter for depending on claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yanamandra et al. discloses “Short detection circuit” (see US11531070)
Shannon et al. discloses “Electrical over-stress detection circuit” (see US2010/0271742)
Schemm discloses “Methods and apparatus to trim temperature sensors” (see US2021/0199515)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID B FREDERIKSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858