DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0267307 A1 (Lin I) in view of US 10,157,871 B1 (Yu).
Regarding claim 1, Lin I discloses, A lead frame substrate (lead frame substrate (120); FIG. 10; [0046]), comprising a circuitry layer (circuitry layer (33); FIG. 10; [0042]), terminals (terminals (23); FIG. 10; [0041]), a warpage inhibiting dielectric layer (a warpage inhibiting dielectric layer (21); FIG. 10; [0041]—an insulator is a dielectric) and a stiffening dielectric layer (stiffening dielectric layer (40); FIG. 10; [0043]—includes resin (41) which is a dielectric), wherein:
the stiffening dielectric layer (40) laterally covers (first annotated FIG. 9, below) lateral surfaces (first annotated FIG. 9, below) of the terminals (23) and is spaced from the circuitry layer (33) and the terminals (23) by the warpage inhibiting dielectric layer (21) (first annotated FIG. 9, below) and has a thickness (first annotated FIG. 9, below) extending between opposite top and bottom surfaces thereof (first annotated FIG. 9, below);
the circuitry layer (33) extends laterally from the terminals (23) and is located above and spaced from the top surface (first annotated FIG. 9, above) of the stiffening dielectric layer (40) by the warpage inhibiting dielectric layer (21) and has an external surface (first annotated FIG. 9, above) facing away from the stiffening dielectric layer (40) and an inner surface (first annotated FIG. 9, above) parallel to the external surface (first annotated FIG. 9, above) and facing the stiffening dielectric layer (40), the top surface (first annotated FIG. 9, above) of the stiffening dielectric layer (40) being located between the inner surface (first annotated FIG. 9, above) of the circuitry layer (33) and the bottom surface (first annotated FIG. 9, above) of the stiffening dielectric layer (40);
the warpage inhibiting dielectric layer (21) includes a first interfacial portion (first annotated FIG. 9, above) disposed between the stiffening dielectric layer (40) and the circuitry layer (33) and in contact with the top surface (first annotated FIG. 9, above) of the stiffening dielectric layer (40) and the inner surface (first annotated FIG. 9, above) of the circuitry layer (33), a second interfacial portion (first annotated FIG. 9, above) disposed between the stiffening dielectric layer (40) and the terminals (23), and a capping portion (first annotated FIG. 9, above) that extends laterally beyond a periphery (first annotated FIG. 9, above) of the circuitry layer (33) and covers the top surface (first annotated FIG. 9, above) of the stiffening dielectric layer (40);
each of the terminals (23) has opposite top and bottom surfaces (first annotated FIG. 9, above) defining a height (first annotated FIG. 9, above)extending in a direction parallel (first annotated FIG. 9, above) to the thickness (first annotated FIG. 9, above)of the stiffening dielectric layer (40), the top surface (first annotated FIG. 9, above) of the terminals (23) being substantially coplanar with the external surface (first annotated FIG. 9, above) of the circuitry layer (33).
But, Lin I does not appear to explicitly disclose, the stiffening dielectric layer has a modulus of elasticity higher than that of the warpage inhibiting dielectric layer, wherein the modulus of elasticity of the warpage inhibiting dielectric layer is less than 20 GPa.
However, in analogous art, Yu discloses that it was well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a modulus of elasticity of a stiffening dielectric layer (stiffening dielectric layer (316a); FIG. 1D, Col. 4, line 10) of a lead frame substrate (lead frame substrate (300); FIG. 1D; Col. 3, line 59) can be predicably formed to range between 0.5 GPa to 150 GPa (Col. 4, lines 43-44) which is higher than a modulus of elasticity of warpage inhibiting dielectric layers (warpage inhibiting dielectric layers 310a-314a); FIG. 1D, Col. 4, lines 8-9) which are formed to range between 0.1 GPa and 100 GPa (Col. 4, lines 44-47) thereby helping to alleviate deformation of lead frame substrate (300) (Col. 5, lines 1-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having the teachings of Lin I and Yu before him/her that the stiffening dielectric layer (40) of Lin I has a modulus of elasticity higher than that of the warpage inhibiting dielectric layer (21) of Lin I, as taught by Yu, to alleviate deformation of the lead frame substrate (120) of Lin I, as also taught by Yu, wherein the modulus of elasticity of the warpage inhibiting dielectric layer (21) is less than 20 GPa because less than 20 GPa overlaps with the range of between 0.1 GPa and 100 GPa disclosed by Yu for a warpage inhibiting dielectric layer. Please see, MPEP 2144.05(I)—In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 2, Lin I in view of Yu discloses, The lead frame substrate (120) of claim 1, wherein each of the terminals (23) has an external lateral surface (Lin I, annotated FIG. 10, above) at a periphery of the lead frame substrate (120) (Lin I, annotated FIG. 10, above).
Regarding claim 3, Lin I in view of Yu discloses, The lead frame substrate (120) of claim 1, wherein each of the terminals (23) includes a post portion (Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, below) and a flange portion (Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, below), and wherein the flange portion (Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, below) extends laterally from the post portion (Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, below) to a periphery (Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, below) of the lead frame substrate (120), and has a top surface (Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, below) substantially coplanar with the external surface (Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, below) of the circuitry layer (33) and a depression surface (Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, below) located at a predetermined level (Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, below) between the top surface (Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, below) of the flange portion (Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, below) and a bottom surface (second annotated FIG. 9, below) of the post portion (Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, below).
Regarding claim 4, Lin I in view of Yu discloses, The lead frame substrate (120) of claim 3, wherein the predetermined level (Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, above) lies between the inner surface of the circuitry layer ((33); Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, above) and the bottom surface of the post portion (Lin I, second annotated FIG. 9, above).
Regarding claim 5, Lin I in view of Yu discloses, The lead frame substrate (120) of claim 3, wherein the warpage inhibiting dielectric layer (21) has inner lateral surfaces (Lin I, third annotated FIG. 9, below) adjacent to the depression surface (Lin I, third annotated FIG. 9, below).
Regarding claim 6, Lin I in view of Yu discloses, The lead frame substrate (120) of claim 1, wherein the bottom surface (third annotated FIG. 9, above) of each of the terminals (23) is substantially coplanar with the bottom surface (third annotated FIG. 9, above) of the stiffening dielectric layer (40).
Regarding claim 12, Lin I in view of Yu discloses, A flip chip assembly (Lin I, flip chip assembly (720); FIG. 29; [0077]), comprising:
the lead frame substrate (120) of claim 1; and
a semiconductor device (Lin I, semiconductor device (81); FIG. 29; [0077]) electrically connected to the lead frame substrate (120) through bumps (Lin I, bumps (91); FIG. 29; [0077]) disposed between the semiconductor device (81) and the circuitry layer (33) of the lead frame substrate (120).
Regarding claim 13, Lin I in view of Yu discloses, The flip chip assembly (720) of claim 12, further comprising a sealing material (Yu, sealing material (200); FIG. 1B; Col. 3, lines 28-33) encapsulating the semiconductor device (Yu, semiconductor device (100); FIG. 1B; Col. 3, lines 28-33) and extending laterally to a periphery (Yu, FIG. 1B) of the flip chip assembly (720).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin I in view of Yu and further in view of US 2019/0182997 A1 (Lin II).
Regarding claim 7, Lin I in view of Yu does not appear to explicitly disclose, wherein the stiffening dielectric layer is an organic material with a glass reinforcement configured to suppress crack propagation.
However, in analogous art, Lin II discloses that it was well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a stiffening dielectric layer (stiffening dielectric layer (45 and 47); FIG. 8; [0056] and [0063]) may be predicably fabricated to include an organic material with a glass reinforcement (organic material with a glass reinforcement (451); FIG. 8; [0056]). Lin II also discloses that organic material with a glass reinforcement (451) can restrain cracks from extending into stiffening dielectric layer (45) to ensure reliability of routing traces thereon ([0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having the teachings of Lin I, Yu, and Lin II before him/her that the stiffening dielectric layer (40) of Lin I in view of Yi is an organic material with a glass reinforcement configured to suppress crack propagation, as taught by Lin II, to ensure reliability of circuitry layer (33) thereon, as also taught by Lin II.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin I in view of Yu and further in view of US 2019/0206756 A1 (Kim).
Regarding claim 8, Lin I in view of Yu does not appear to explicitly disclose, wherein the warpage inhibiting dielectric layer is an organic material with inorganic particle fillers.
However, in analogous art Kim discloses, that it was well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that an organic material with an inorganic filler may be predictably used to suppress warpage of a semiconductor package ([0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having the teachings of Lin I, Yu, and Kim before him/her that warpage inhibiting dielectric layer (21) of Lin I in view of Yu is an organic material with inorganic particle fillers, as taught by Kim, to suppress warpage of lead frame substrate (120) of Lin I in view of Yu, as also taught by Kim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, Lin I in view of Yu discloses, a thermal pad (Lin I, thermal pad (30); FIG. 9; [0042]), wherein the stiffening dielectric layer (40) laterally surrounds lateral surfaces of the thermal pad (30) (FIG. 9). However, Lin I in view of Yu, in combination with the other recited elements of claim 1 from which claim 9 depends, does not appear to explicitly disclose that the stiffening dielectric layer (40) is spaced from lateral surfaces of the thermal pad (30) by a third interfacial portion of the warpage inhibiting dielectric layer (21).
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to because they depend from claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, Lin I in view of Yu discloses, wherein (i) the lead frame substrate (120) further comprises a thermal pad (Lin I, thermal pad (30); FIG. 9; [0042]), (ii) the stiffening dielectric layer (40) laterally surrounds lateral surfaces of the thermal pad (30) (FIG. 9), and (iii) the semiconductor device (81) is superimposed over and thermally conductible with the thermal pad (30) through additional bumps (Lin I, bumps (91); FIG. 16; [0056])) between the semiconductor device (81) and the thermal pad (30). However, Lin I in view of Yu, in combination with the other recited elements of claim 12 from which claim 14 depends, does not appear to explicitly disclose that the stiffening dielectric layer (40) is spaced from lateral surfaces of the thermal pad (30) by a third interfacial portion of the warpage inhibiting dielectric layer (21).
Claim 15 is objected to because of its recitation of claim 9 (which is also objected to).
Claim 16 is objected to because it depends on claim 15.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s amendment of independent claim 1 and remarks on page five (5) of the “AMENDMENT” filed on September 4, 2026 (hereinafter the “Response”) have overcome the objection to independent claim 1 in the Office Action dated June 9, 2026 (hereinafter the “Office Action”). Applicant’s additional amendments of claim 1 and arguments on pages five (5)-seven (7) regarding the rejection of independent claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin I in view of Yu in the Office Action have been fully considered. However, they are not deemed persuasive as detailed above in this Final Office Action and for at least the reasons discussed more fully below.
For example, pages six (6) of the Response states:
Specifically, Applicant's claim 1 has been further amended to recite, inter alia, "the stiffening dielectric layer has a thickness extending between opposite top and bottom surfaces thereof," "the top surface of the stiffening dielectric layer being located between the inner surface of the circuitry layer and the bottom surface of the stiffening dielectric layer," and "each of the terminals has opposite top and bottom surfaces defining a height extending in a direction parallel to the thickness of the stiffening dielectric layer." Accordingly, the structure disclosed by Li[n] I clearly fails to satisfy these further limitations in the amended claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees at least because each of these above-quoted amended limitations is disclosed by Lin I, as detailed above in this Final Office Action.
As another example, pages six (6)-seven (7) of the Response state:
Additionally, in the structure disclosed by Lin I, the stiffening dielectric layer (40) contacts the circuitry layer (33), as shown below.
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that Lin I fails to disclose the claimed feature that "the stiffening dielectric layer is spaced from the circuitry layer."
Accordingly, Lin I fails to disclose or teach all of the claimed features of Applicant's claim 1. Yu fails to cure the deficiencies of Lin I.
The secondary references to Lin II and Kim have been cited only for their alleged teachings against certain dependent claims. Even assuming, en arguendo, that these references are properly cited for their disclosure, they fail to overcome the above-noted deficiencies of the primary references to Lin I and Yu.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees at least because amended independent claim 1 does not recite that the stiffening dielectric layer (40) do not contact circuitry layer (33) (as argued by Applicant in its annotated FIG. 9, on page seven (7) of the Response that is reproduced above). Rather, amended independent claim 1 recites: “the stiffening dielectric layer laterally covers lateral surfaces of the terminals and is spaced from the circuitry layer”. The Examiner respectfully submits that Lin I discloses this limitation, as detailed above in this Final Office Action.
Notwithstanding the above, to advance prosecution, the Examiner respectfully requests that Applicant please consider a telephone interview with the Examiner to discuss proposed claim amendments to overcome the rejection of the currently pending claims prior to submitting a written response to this Final Office Action. For example, perhaps Applicant could please consider amending independent claim 1 to include a limitation that stiffening dielectric layer (40) never contacts circuitry layer (33). As another example, perhaps Applicant could please consider amending claim 1 to recite that a topmost portion of stiffening dielectric layer (40) is completely spaced from circuitry layer (33) by the warpage inhibiting layer (21). The Examiner would welcome such a discussion of these proposed claim amendments and is available at the number provided below.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, William B. Partridge, can be reached at (571) 270-1402. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/ERIK A. ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812