DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to applicant’s RCE filed 1/13/2026. Claims 1-4, 6-14, 16-19 and 21-23 are pending and considered below.
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-10 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention was directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without integrating the judicial exception into a practical application and without an additional element which amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to include the limitation “in response to the indication of consent, controlling, by the computing system, the vehicle to perform the maneuver”. Applicant argued that the express language of amended independent claim 1 requires control of the vehicle to perform a maneuver. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-10 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The claims were unclear as to why the vehicle is maneuvered based on the predetermined command after determining that the first command is not a predetermined command. Independent claim 1 has been amended to include “wherein the notification asks whether the maneuver is desired by the person; receiving, by the computing system, an indication of consent by the person in response to the notification, wherein the indication of consent is provided through an actuation pattern associated with at least two consecutive actions for the device, the actuation pattern being distinct from an actuation pattern associated with standard use of the device; and in response to the indication of consent, controlling, by the computing system, the vehicle to perform the maneuver”. Independent claims 11 and 16 have been amended in a similar manner. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-4, 6-14 and 16-19 is withdrawn.
Claims 3, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form. Amended independent claims 1, 11 and 16 include the limitation receiving “an indication of consent by the person in response to the notification”. Dependent claims 3, 13 and 18 include the limitation “determining the absence of consent by the person to the maneuver”. These limitations are mutually exclusive.
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10-11, 13, 15-16, 18 and 20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (U.S. Patent Number 10,496,362). Claims 2, 4, 8-9, 12, 14, 17 and 19 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Delp (US-2017/0248957-A1).
Li discloses a system for a user to navigate an autonomous vehicle manually or via verbal commands (Abstract). When a user pushes a turn-right button, a road map indicating available turn-right locations is presented on a screen of the autonomous vehicle (col. 23, line 47 - col. 24, line 11). The user taps an icon to select a place to make the turn (col. 24, lines 12-38). Alternatively, a user may say a word or sentence to issue a verbal command. After a control system obtains the verbal command, it may display the command on the screen. The control system may also display a question and “Yes” and ”No” answer buttons. A user may say “Yes” or “No” or push a button to confirm or cancel the verbal command (col. 25, lines 12-26).
Delp discloses a computing device which controls a vehicle to execute an autonomous passing operation, an autonomous road exit operation, and an autonomous exit search operation responsive to manual actuation of an associated control mechanism (Abstract). An autonomous vehicle control system is configured to enable a user to select a number of turn signal lever clicks that will activate a particular operational mode (paragraphs [0081-0085]). A passing maneuver may be initiated by “double-clicking” a turn signal lever (paragraph [0043]).
Claims 1-4, 6-14, 16-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Delp for the reasons given below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“actuating device” (claims 8-10) is an arm, a lever, a knob and/or a button, as disclosed in applicant’s specification, paragraph [0020] and FIG. 1, autonomous vehicle-100, and input device-130; and
“non-actuating device” (claims 8-10) is a touch screen, a microphone and/or a camera, as disclosed in applicant’s specification, paragraph [0020] and FIG. 1, autonomous vehicle-100, and input device-130.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Independent claims 1, 11 and 16 include the limitation receiving “an indication of consent by the person in response to the notification”. Dependent claims 3, 13 and 18 include the limitation “determining the absence of consent by the person to the maneuver”. These limitations are mutually exclusive.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-14, 16-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (U.S. Patent Number 10,496,362, hereinafter Li) in view of Delp (US-2017/0248957-A1, hereinafter Delp).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses:
receiving, by a computing system (col. 4, lines 19-40; and FIG. 1-A, processor-10, computer readable medium-12, vehicle-18, control system-24, speed control module-64, steering module-66, braking module-68, and driving system-70);
a first command from a person in a vehicle (col. 23, line 47 - col. 24, line 11; and col. 25, lines 12-20);
determining, by the computing system, that the first command is not a predetermined command (col. 26, lines 38-59);
associated with automatic performance of a maneuver by the vehicle (col. 22, line 27 - col. 23, line 3; and col. 25, line 12 - col. 26, line 59);
in response to the first command and a determination that the first command provided by the person is not the predetermined command associated with automatic performance of the maneuver (col. 22, line 27 - col. 23, line 3; and col. 25, line 12 - col. 26, line 59);
generating, by the computing system, a notification, wherein the notification asks whether the maneuver is desired by the person (col. 24, lines 12-38; and col. 25, lines 21-26);
receiving, by the computing system, an indication of consent by the person in response to the notification (col. 24, lines 12-38; and col. 25, lines 21-26); and
in response to the indication of consent, controlling, by the computing system, the vehicle to perform the maneuver (col. 26, lines 60-66).
Li does not disclose an actuation pattern. However, Delp discloses a system for autonomous vehicle maneuvering responsive to manual actuation of an associated control mechanism, including the following features:
wherein the indication of consent is provided through an actuation pattern associated with at least two consecutive actions for the device, the actuation pattern being distinct from an actuation pattern associated with standard use of the device (paragraphs [0043] and [0081-0085]; and FIG. 5, TURN SIGNAL LEVER OPERATIONS MENU-900).
Delp teaches that an autonomous vehicle control system should be configured to enable a user to select a number of turn signal lever clicks that will activate a particular operational mode (paragraph [0081]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the autonomous vehicle using a user actuation pattern indicating a desired maneuver of Delp into the autonomous vehicle using a control panel or a voice recognition system indicating a desired maneuver of Li. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing an efficient manner for a user to confirm a desired autonomous maneuver.
Regarding claims 2, 12 and 17, Li does not disclose an actuation pattern. However, Delp further discloses:
wherein the first command is associated with an actuation pattern for a device corresponding with standard operations relating to standard use of the device (paragraphs [0043] and [0081-0085]; and FIG. 5, TURN SIGNAL LEVER OPERATIONS MENU-900).
Delp teaches that an autonomous vehicle control system should be configured to enable a user to select a number of turn signal lever clicks that will activate a particular operational mode (paragraph [0081]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the autonomous vehicle using a user actuation pattern indicating a desired maneuver of Delp into the autonomous vehicle using a control panel or a voice recognition system indicating a desired maneuver of Li. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing an efficient manner for a user to confirm a desired autonomous maneuver.
Regarding claims 3, 13 and 18, Li further discloses:
determining the absence of consent by the person to the maneuver (col. 24, lines 12-38; and col. 25, lines 21-26).
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 19, Li does not disclose an actuation pattern. However, Delp further discloses:
wherein the notification is provided to the person in response to a determination that an input signal associated with the first command is not associated with an actuation pattern indicative of consent to the maneuver (paragraph [0062]).
Delp teaches that an autonomous vehicle control system should permit a user to cancel a passing operation by clicking a lever back into a neutral position. The autonomous vehicle control system then provides an acknowledgement that the passing operation has been halted (paragraph [0062]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the autonomous vehicle providing notification regarding a user actuation pattern of Delp into the autonomous vehicle providing notification regarding input to a control panel or a voice recognition system of Li. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a user with notification of expected maneuvering of the autonomous vehicle.
Regarding claims 6, 21 and 23, Li further discloses:
wherein the notification is at least one of audible, visual, and haptic (col. 25, lines 21-26; and col. 26, lines 56-59).
Regarding claims 7 and 22, Li further discloses:
wherein, before i) receipt of an input signal associated with the first command that is associated with an actuation pattern indicative of consent to the maneuver and ii) a determination that the maneuver can be performed safely, provision of a signal to cause the vehicle to perform the maneuver is prevented (col. 10, line 57 - col. 11, line 32; and FIG. 7, user settles down-172, user pushes “start” button-174, safety check-176, and vehicle starts-178).
Regarding claim 8, Li does not disclose an actuation pattern. However, Delp further discloses:
wherein the predetermined command is associated with two inputs received by at least one of an actuating device and a non-actuating device (paragraphs [0040] and [0043]; and FIG. 8, buttons-811, 817a-c, turn signal lever-812, fields-820a-c, and touch screen-822).
Delp teaches that a passing maneuver is initiated by “double-clicking” a turn signal lever (paragraph [0043]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the autonomous vehicle using an input user actuation pattern which requires “double-clicking” a turn signal lever to indicate a desired passing maneuver of Delp into the autonomous vehicle using a control panel or a voice recognition system indicating a desired maneuver of Li. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing an efficient manner for a user to confirm a desired autonomous passing maneuver.
Regarding claim 9, Li does not disclose an actuation pattern. However, Delp further discloses:
wherein the two inputs are received within a selected time duration (paragraph [0043], quick succession).
Delp teaches that a passing maneuver is initiated by “double-clicking” a turn signal lever (paragraph [0043]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the autonomous vehicle using an input user actuation pattern which requires “double-clicking” a turn signal lever to indicate a desired passing maneuver of Delp into the autonomous vehicle using a control panel or a voice recognition system indicating a desired maneuver of Li. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing an efficient manner for a user to confirm a desired autonomous passing maneuver.
Regarding claim 10, Li further discloses:
wherein at least one of the predetermined command and the first command is associated with an actuating device or a non-actuating device, the actuating device including at least one of an arm, a lever, a knob, and a button, the non-actuating device including at least one of a touch screen, a microphone, and an image sensor (col. 22, line 27 - col. 23, line 3; col. 23, line 47 - col. 24, line 57; FIG. 24-A, control panel-94, and navigational buttons-74,76,78,80,82; FIG. 24-B, control panel-96, arrow labels-84,86,88,90,92, and knob-98; and FIG. 25, screen-512).
Regarding claim 11, Li further discloses:
at least one processor (col. 4, lines 19-40);
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform operations comprising: (col. 4, lines 19-40; and FIG. 1-A, processor-10, computer readable medium-12, vehicle-18, control system-24, speed control module-64, steering module-66, braking module-68, and driving system-70);
receiving a first command from a person in a vehicle (col. 23, line 47 - col. 24, line 11; and col. 25, lines 12-20);
determining that the first command is not a predetermined command (col. 26, lines 38-59);
associated with automatic performance of a maneuver by the vehicle (col. 22, line 27 - col. 23, line 3; and col. 25, line 12 - col. 26, line 59);
in response to the first command and a determination that the first command provided by the person is not the predetermined command associated with automatic performance of the maneuver (col. 22, line 27 - col. 23, line 3; and col. 25, line 12 - col. 26, line 59);
generating a notification, wherein the notification asks whether the maneuver is desired by the person (col. 24, lines 12-38; and col. 25, lines 21-26);
receiving an indication of consent by the person in response to the notification (col. 24, lines 12-38; and col. 25, lines 21-26); and
maneuvering the vehicle based on the predetermined command (col. 26, lines 60-66).
Li does not disclose an actuation pattern. However, Delp further discloses:
wherein the indication of consent is provided through an actuation pattern associated with at least two consecutive actions for the device, the actuation pattern being distinct from an actuation pattern associated with standard use of the device (paragraphs [0043] and [0081-0085]; and FIG. 5, TURN SIGNAL LEVER OPERATIONS MENU-900).
Delp teaches that an autonomous vehicle control system should be configured to enable a user to select a number of turn signal lever clicks that will activate a particular operational mode (paragraph [0081]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the autonomous vehicle using a user actuation pattern indicating a desired maneuver of Delp into the autonomous vehicle using a control panel or a voice recognition system indicating a desired maneuver of Li. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing an efficient manner for a user to confirm a desired autonomous maneuver.
Regarding claim 16, Li further discloses:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations comprising: (col. 4, lines 19-40; and FIG. 1-A, processor-10, computer readable medium-12, vehicle-18, control system-24, speed control module-64, steering module-66, braking module-68, and driving system-70);
receiving a first command from a person in a vehicle (col. 23, line 47 - col. 24, line 11; and col. 25, lines 12-20);
determining that the first command is not a predetermined command (col. 26, lines 38-59);
associated with automatic performance of a maneuver by the vehicle (col. 22, line 27 - col. 23, line 3; and col. 25, line 12 - col. 26, line 59);
in response to the first command and a determination that the first command provided by the person is not the predetermined command associated with automatic performance of the maneuver (col. 22, line 27 - col. 23, line 3; and col. 25, line 12 - col. 26, line 59);
generating a notification, wherein the notification asks whether the maneuver is desired by the person (col. 24, lines 12-38; and col. 25, lines 21-26);
receiving an indication of consent by the person in response to the notification (col. 24, lines 12-38; and col. 25, lines 21-26); and
maneuvering the vehicle based on the predetermined command (col. 26, lines 60-66).
Li does not disclose an actuation pattern. However, Delp further discloses:
wherein the indication of consent is provided through an actuation pattern associated with at least two consecutive actions for the device, the actuation pattern being distinct from an actuation pattern associated with standard use of the device (paragraphs [0043] and [0081-0085]; and FIG. 5, TURN SIGNAL LEVER OPERATIONS MENU-900).
Delp teaches that an autonomous vehicle control system should be configured to enable a user to select a number of turn signal lever clicks that will activate a particular operational mode (paragraph [0081]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the autonomous vehicle using a user actuation pattern indicating a desired maneuver of Delp into the autonomous vehicle using a control panel or a voice recognition system indicating a desired maneuver of Li. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing an efficient manner for a user to confirm a desired autonomous maneuver.
Conclusion
TAMARA L. WEBER
Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/TAMARA L WEBER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667