Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “…equal to thickness” should be “…equal to a thickness”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the surface". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination “the surface” is being interpreted as “a surface”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the edge". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination “the edge” is being interpreted as “an edge”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 20220013868 A1, provided in applicant’s IDS filed 04/29/2025) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20200350636 A1) and Kim et al. (US 20040063457 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches a structure for a battery block comprising a circuit board, 20, a busbar, 10, and a connecting arm, 31, which can together be called a circuit board sampling structure (Takahashi fig. 5, 0040). An edge of the circuit board extends to form the connecting arm as seen in fig. 5 below. Takahashi further teaches mounting the busbar, which is soldered to an end of the connecting arm (Takahashi 0049), by using a hook structure, 66, along with a base portion, 63, (fig. 16, 0071) which fixes the busbar in place and can be called the connector. Takahashi further teaches that the attached connecting arm is clamped between the base portion and the busbar (Takahashi fig. 6, the connecting arm end, 35, is between the base portion, 63, and the busbar,10). Takahashi is silent to specifically the busbar having a plug hole of a snap-fit structure as well as a corresponding plug part prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art.
In a similar field of endeavor, Zhu teaches a battery module that has a circuit board, 12, a busbar, 16, and a connecting member, 15, where the connecting member clamps the circuit board between the busbar and the connecting member in order to provide stability and reduce vibrations (Zhu fig. 9, 0071-0072). The connecting member of Zhu further comprises a plug part of a snap-fit structure which connects and clamps on to the busbar (Zhu 0072). While a corresponding plug hole is never explicitly described, it is the examiner’s opinion that a plug hole inherently exists in order for the snap-fit structure in Zhu to work as described, even if not, a plug part and complementary plug hole is known in the art as taught by Kim below.
Kim provides an example of a snap-fit structure where the plug part is a hook and the plug hole is a hole (Kim fig. 3, 0034) which makes it obvious to one of ordinary skill that the part complementary to the plug part can be a plug hole as a matter of using a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.). In this case it is a way of securing the plug part in place.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the battery module of Takahashi and instead of securing the busbar and connecting arm in place via the busbar stopper, 66, secure the busbar in place via a plug part protruding from the base portion and inserting it through a plug hole in the busbar as taught in Zhu and Kim. This combination is an obvious matter of using a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.). In this case, both an arm reaching around and inserting a plug part into a plug hole are methods of securing or fixing the busbar in place in order to reduce vibrations.
Takahashi fig. 5
Zhu fig. 9
Regarding claims 2-4, modified Takahashi teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the combination plug part and plug hole where the plug part can be described as a hook which reaches through the plug hole on the busbar and rests against the surface away from the connecting arm, forming a snap-fit member. As the hook must fully go through the busbar in order to rest on the opposite side, the distance between the hook and the connector is necessarily greater than a thickness of the busbar (Zhu fig. 10, 0071, groove 1531).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, modified Takahashi teaches claim 1 as described above and teaches at least one plug part and plug hole which together form a snap-fit structure and simple duplication as well as rearrangement of parts is rendered obvious in the absence of unexpected results, See MPEP 2144.04.VI. As the only purpose of the snap-fit structure is to secure the busbar and connecting arm and reduce vibrations, simply adding more snap-fit structures in various patterns will not modify the operation of the device.
Regarding claim 7, modified Takahashi teaches claim 5 as described above and, as the plug parts go through the plug holes present in the connecting arm away from the circuit board, the connecting arm is in a zone defined by the plug holes and necessarily abuts against the plug part.
Regarding claim 9, modified Takahashi teaches claim 1 as described above and Takahashi further teaches that the connecting arm has a bent portion, 32 (Takahashi fig 5).
Regarding claim 10, modified Takahashi teaches claim 9 as described above and Takahashi further teaches that the edge of the circuit board has a notch and the connecting arm extends from inside the notch to outside the notch (Takahashi fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, modified Takahashi teaches claim 10 as described above and further teaches a first inner wall perpendicular to an extension direction of the edge and the connecting arm extends from the first inner wall and bends in a perpendicular direction (Takahashi fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, modified Takahashi teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches a battery block which comprises a plurality individual battery modules and the terminals of the battery cells are connected to the busbar (Takahashi 0002, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, modified Takahashi teaches claim 12 as described above and the battery block can be called a battery pack as it has a plurality of battery modules.
Regarding claim 16, modified Takahashi teaches claim 14 as described above and further teaches that the battery block goes into an electric vehicle (Takahashi 0002).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 20220013868 A1, provided in applicant’s IDS filed 04/29/2025) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20200350636 A1) and Kim et al. (US 20040063457 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Specht et al. (US 20150212315 A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Takahashi teaches claim 1 as described above and teaches that the busbar and connecting arm are soldered (Takahashi 0049), but is silent to the connecting arm and busbar being welded prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art.
In a similar field of endeavor, Specht teaches an electrical connection where the electrical coupling of the components can be done via conductive glue, soldering, welding, mechanical fastener such as a compression clamp or rivet, or through overlapping printing of the components to form electrically conductive bridges between printings (0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the busbar and connecting arm of modified Takahashi and simply weld them together instead of soldering as taught in Specht as a matter of using a known equivalent technique to form a physical and secure connection, See MPEP 2143. The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 20220013868 A1, provided in applicant’s IDS filed 04/29/2025) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20200350636 A1) and Kim et al. (US 20040063457 A1) as applied to claims 12 and 14 above respectively, and further in view of Günther et al. (US 20190036092 A1).
Regarding claim 13, modified Takahashi teaches claim 12 as described above and Takahashi further teaches that the battery block goes into an electric vehicle (Takahashi 0002), but is silent to a housing for the battery module prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art. In a similar field of endeavor, Günther teaches a battery housing for use in electric vehicles in order to protect the battery module or modules from outside conditions and the battery module goes into a tray which can be called a cavity (Günther 0002-0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the battery modules of modified Takahashi and put it in a battery housing as described in Günther in order to protect the battery from outside conditions.
Regarding claim 15, modified Takahashi teaches claim 14 as described above and Takahashi further teaches that the battery block goes into an electric vehicle (Takahashi 0002), but is silent to a housing for the battery module prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art. In a similar field of endeavor, Günther teaches a battery housing for use in electric vehicles in order to protect the battery module or modules from outside conditions and the battery module goes into a tray which can be called a cavity (Günther 0002-0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the battery modules of modified Takahashi and put it in a battery housing as described in Günther in order to protect the battery from outside conditions.
Conclusion
/SEAN R. BROWN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/ADAM J FRANCIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728