DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2019/0027717).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen meets the claimed,
A safety mechanism, comprising: a connecting piece comprising a first connection portion ([0081] and Fig. 4 teach a conductive component 12 with an electrode terminal connection portion 12a), a fusing portion ([0081] and Fig. 4 teach a first fuse member 12b), and a second connecting portion that are connected in sequence ([0081] and Fig. 4 teach a contact piece connection portion 12c); and an expanding layer disposed on a side of the first connection portion or the second connecting portion in a first direction and located at a position of the first connecting portion or the second connecting portion close to the fusing portion; wherein the first direction is a thickness direction of the connecting piece ([0094] teaches a thermal expansion part 7, which is connected to portions 12a and 12c in a thickwise direction as per [0025], and is directly above first fuse member 12b).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen meets the claimed,
The safety mechanism according to claim 1, wherein a projection of the expanding layer on a surface of the connecting piece in the first direction is entirely located in the connecting piece (Fig. 2 teaches that part 7, which overlays conductive component 12 is located entirely on conductive component 12).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen meets the claimed,
A battery, comprising ([0014] teaches a secondary battery): a battery cell ([0060] teaches electrode assembly 2); a top cover disposed opposite and spaced apart from the battery cell ([0009] teaches a secondary battery top cover); and the safety mechanism according to claim 1, disposed between the battery cell and the top cover (Fig. 4 and [0064] teaches connection portion 12c being below the top of the top cover, comprising second portion 42. As seen in Fig. 1, conductive component 12 is above electrode assembly 2), wherein one of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion is connected to the battery cell (Fig. 1 and [0084] teaches conductive component 12 connected to the battery cell through first terminal 11), and the other of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion is connected to the top cover (Fig. 4 and [0064] teaches connection portion 12c connected to the top of the top cover, comprising second portion 42).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 8, wherein: a tab is provided on a side of the battery cell facing the top cover (Fig. 1 teaches a tab facing the top of the battery extending from electrode assembly 2), and the first connecting portion is connected to the battery cell via the tab (Fig. 1 and [0084] teaches conductive component 12 connected to the battery cell through first terminal 11. Electrode terminal connection portion 12a is part of conductive component 12); and the expanding layer is disposed on the first connecting portion (Fig. 4 and [0019] teaches that first fuse member 12b is directly connected to electrode terminal connection portion 12a), the expanding layer is located between the first connecting portion and the top cover (Fig. 4 teaches that second section 42 is above first fuse member 12b, which is directly above electrode terminal connection portion 12a), and the second connecting portion is connected to the top cover (Fig. 4 and [0064] teaches connection portion 12c connected to the top of the top cover, comprising second portion 42).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen meets the claimed,
The battery according to claim 8, wherein: a tab is provided on a side of the battery cell facing the top cover (Fig. 1 teaches a tab facing the top of the battery extending from electrode assembly 2), and the second connecting portion is connected to the battery cell via the tab (Fig. 1 and [0084] teaches conductive component 12 connected to the battery cell through first terminal 11. Contact plate connection portion 12c is part of conductive component 12); and the expanding layer is disposed on the second connecting portion (Fig. 4 and [0019] teaches that first fuse member 12b is directly connected to contact plate connection portion 12a), the expanding layer is located between the second connecting portion and the top cover (Fig. 4 teaches that second section 42 is above first fuse member 12b, which is directly above contact plate connection portion 12a), and the first connecting portion is connected to the top cover (Fig. 4 and [0064] teaches connection portion 12c connected to the top of the top cover, comprising second portion 42. Electrode terminal connection portion 12a is connected to contact plate connection portion 12c and is therefore connected to the top cover).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen meets the claimed,
An electric apparatus, comprising: the battery according to claim 8 ([0003] teaches that batteries can be used in electronic devices, like mobile phones).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2023/0087062).
Regarding Claim 1, Cho meets the claimed,
A safety mechanism, comprising: a connecting piece comprising a first connection portion ([0057] teaches a separator 20 with a undefined first connection portion that exists directly below expansion member 50a and extends to approximately halfway of the circumference of the wound), a fusing portion (Fig. 4 teaches that separator 20 is wound into a spiral with expansion member 50a filling the center. In this case, the fusing portion is located approximately halfway through the circumference of the wound stack), and a second connecting portion that are connected in sequence (Fig. 4 teaches that separator 20 is wound into a spiral with expansion member 50a filling the center. In this case, the second connecting portion is connected to the fusing portion and makes up roughly the other half of the separator 20); and an expanding layer disposed on a side of the first connection portion or the second connecting portion in a first direction and located at a position of the first connecting portion or the second connecting portion close to the fusing portion; wherein the first direction is a thickness direction of the connecting piece ([0057] teaches an expansion member 50a. Fig. 2 teaches that expansion member 50a is disposed directly on top of separator 20, which would be the thickness direction).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Regarding Claim 2, Cho meets the claimed,
The safety mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the expanding layer is configured to be capable of increasing in volume in response to absorption of fluid ([0022] teaches that the expansion member absorbs electrolyte in order to expand).
Regarding Claim 7, Cho meets the claimed,
The safety mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the expanding layer comprises an expanding glue layer capable of absorbing fluid ([0065] teaches that the adhesion surface of the expansion member may be a swelling tape, which comprises an adhesive, or glue layer, that swells).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2023/0087062) in view of “Batteries in a Flash” (Coin Cell Cross Reference; https://web.archive.org/web/20211209094438/https://www.batteriesinaflash.com/coin-cell-battery-cross-reference, available Dec. 9, 2021).
Cho does not specifically teach a minimum distance between the expanding layer and the fusing portion being at least 1 mm.
“Batteries” is analogous as it teaches coin cell dimensions for a coin battery.
“Batteries” does not independently teach a minimum distance between the expanding layer and the fusing portion being at least 1 mm.
However, Cho teaches that the battery is a button-type battery of indeterminate size. A basic CR1025 button battery has a diameter of 10 mm as per “Batteries”. With the fusing portion being roughly halfway through the circumference of the winding coil, that means there is approximately 2.5 mm between the expansion member and the fusing portion
The examiner finds that Cho differs from the claim only in the specific size of a button/coin type battery cell of CR1025 as taught by “Batteries”. The examiner finds that one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. The examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the use of a CR1025 button/coin type battery cell sizing with Cho because it yields the predictable result of the standardized battery size of a CR1025 button/coin type battery cell (See “Batteries” [Coin Cell Battery Cross Reference Chart & Specifications]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US2023/0087062) in view of Kruglick et al. (US 2012/0082889).
Cho doesn’t explicitly teach a thickness for the expanding layer.
Kruglick is analogous as it teaches a method for stopping electrolyte leaks.
Kruglick meets the claimed,
The safety mechanism according to claim 1, wherein thickness of the expanding layer in the first direction is not less than 0.2 mm ([0024] teaches that a sealing layer may be 0.1 to 1 mm thick).
The examiner finds that Cho differs from the claim only in the combination of the use of an electrolyte absorbing layer thickness of more than 0.2 mm as taught by Kruglick. The examiner finds that one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. The examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the use of an electrolyte absorbing layer thickness of more than 0.2 mm with Cho because it yields the predictable result of an electrolyte absorbing layer having a thickness of more than 0.2 mm (See Kruglick [0024]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (2019/0027717) in view of “Federal Batteries” (Battery Terminal Types and Applications; https://federalbatteries.com.au/news/battery-terminal-types-and-applications, available May 21, 2020).
Chen meets the claimed,
[…] and the second direction and the third direction intersect with each other and are both perpendicular to the first direction (As seen in Fig. 2, the second direction is widthwise relative to the battery, the third direction is lengthwise relative to the battery, and the first direction is heightwise relative to the battery, therefore, all directions are perpendicular to each other and the second and third directions intersect).
Chen does not teach a specific size of the expanding layer.
“Federal Batteries” is considered analogous as it teaches common battery terminals.
“Federal Batteries” meets the claimed,
The safety mechanism according to claim 1, wherein: size of the expanding layer in a second direction is not less than 5 mm, and/or size of the expanding layer in a third direction is not less than 5 mm (Button Terminals can use an M8 terminal which is 8 millimeters. When used in conjunction with Chen, that means the first fuse member 12b must have a width of at least 8 mm as well, as electrode terminal connection portion 12a surrounds the terminal and first fuse member 12b is the same total width as electrode terminal connection portion 12a);
The examiner finds that Chen differs from the claim only in the combination of the specification of a battery terminal size as taught by “Federal Batteries”. The examiner finds that one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. The examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the use of a battery terminal size of 8 mm with Chen because it yields the predictable result of a prismatic battery having terminal sizes of 8mm (See “Federal Batteries” [Button Terminal]).
Conclusion
/A.Y.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744