DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-4) in the reply filed on 08/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhao (US 2024/0204058).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising: a substrate (Fig.14, numeral 102); a gallium nitride layer (104); [0077]) on the substrate (102); a dielectric layer (126) on the gallium nitride layer (104); a passivation oxide layer (128); [0096]) on the dielectric layer (126); and a through gallium nitride via (162) ; [0104]) penetrating the gallium nitride layer (104) and the dielectric layer (126), wherein the through gallium nitride via (162) has a flat side surface (Fig.14), the flat side surface extends from a surface of the through gallium nitride via in contact with the gallium nitride layer (104) to a surface of the through gallium nitride via (162) in contact with the dielectric layer (126), and the passivation oxide layer (128); (154) surrounds an upper portion of the through gallium nitride via (162).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses wherein a bottom surface of the through gallium nitride via (162) is located below a top surface of the substrate (102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rao (US 2024/0055508).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao does not disclose wherein an upper surface of the passivation oxide layer is curved.
Rao however discloses wherein an upper surface of the passivation oxide layer (40) ([0054]) is curved (Fig.1B).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify Zhao with Rao to have an upper surface of the passivation oxide layer curved for the purpose of fabrication a HEMT device (Rao, [0002]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao discloses a conductive layer (Fig.12, numeral 146) disposed on the dielectric layer (126).
Zhao does not disclose that the conductive layer covered by the passivation oxide layer, wherein the passivation oxide layer has a first thickness on a side surface of the conductive layer, the passivation oxide layer has a second thickness on an upper surface of the conductive layer, and the first thickness is larger than the second thickness.
Rao however discloses that the conductive layer (Fig. 2, numeral 22) covered by the passivation oxide layer (40), wherein the passivation oxide layer has a first thickness on a side surface of the conductive layer (22), the passivation oxide layer has a second thickness on an upper surface of the conductive layer, and the first thickness is larger than the second thickness (Fig.1B).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Zhao with Rao to have the conductive layer covered by the passivation oxide layer, wherein the passivation oxide layer has a first thickness on a side surface of the conductive layer, the passivation oxide layer has a second thickness on an upper surface of the conductive layer, and the first thickness is larger than the second thickness for the purpose of fabrication a HEMT device (Rao, [0002]).
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891