Detailed Action
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Species I, Sub-species A, Figs. 2 and 5A, claims 1-20 without traverse is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ko et al.(US 20200105694 A1, hereafter Ko).
Regarding Claim 11, Ko discloses:
A semiconductor package(Fig. 19), comprising:
a first redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [140]) having a multi-layered first redistribution line(Fig. 19 [142]);
a semiconductor chip(Fig. 19 [121]) on the first redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [140]);
a sealing material(Fig. 19 [130]) on the first redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [140]) and over the semiconductor chip(Fig. 19 [121]);
a through post(Fig. 19 [110]) on the first redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [140]) extending into the sealing material(Fig. 19 [130]) and spaced laterally from the semiconductor chip(Fig. 19 [121]);
a second redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [180]) on the sealing material(Fig. 19 [130]) and having at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 19 [182]); and
an upper package(Fig. 19 [30]) on the second redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [180]) and electrically connected to the second redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [180]) through an inter-substrate connection terminal(Fig. 19 [182]),
wherein an opening(Fig. 19 [190h]) exposing a portion of the at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 19 [182]) is on an upper surface of the second redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [180]), and
an uppermost second redistribution line of the at least one second redistribution line exposed through the opening(Fig. 19 [190h]) has a multi-metal-layered structure(Fig. 19 [P]).
Regarding Claim 16, Ko discloses:
A semiconductor package(Fig. 19), comprising:
a first redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [140]) having a multi-layered first redistribution line(Fig. 19 [142]);
a semiconductor chip(Fig. 19 [121]) on the first redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [140]);
a through post(Fig. 19 [110]) on the first redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [140]) and spaced laterally from the semiconductor chip(Fig. 19 [121]); and
a second redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [180]) on the semiconductor chip(Fig. 19 [121]) and through post(Fig. 19 [110]) and having at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 19 [182]);
wherein an opening(Fig. 19 [190h]) exposing a portion of the at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 19 [182]) is on an upper surface of the second redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [180]), and
an uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 19 [182]) exposed through the opening(Fig. 19 [190h]) comprises a lower metal layer of copper(See paragraph 0115), and an upper metal layer(Fig. 19 [P]) of nickel(See paragraph 0116).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al.(US 20220037294 A1, hereafter Hwang) in view of Fujita(US 20220328390 A1, hereafter Fujita).
Regarding Claim 1, Ko discloses:
A first redistribution substrate(Fig. 1a [100]) having a multi-layered first redistribution line(Fig. 1A [150]);
a semiconductor chip(Fig. 1A [200]) on the first redistribution substrate(Fig. 1A [100]);
a through post(Fig. 1A [310]) extending vertically on the first redistribution substrate(Fig. 1A [100]) and spaced laterally from the semiconductor chip(Fig. 1A [200]); and
a second redistribution substrate(Fig. 1A [400]) on the semiconductor chip(Fig. 1A [200]) and the through post(Fig. 1A [200]) and having at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 1A [450]),
wherein a first pad region(Fig. 1A [420]) and a second pad region(Fig. 1A See figure below) are defined on an upper surface of the second redistribution substrate(Fig. 1A [400]), the first pad region(Fig. 1A [420]) including a first opening(Fig. 1A See figure below) exposing a first portion of the at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 1A [450]) and position at a central portion of the second redistribution substrate(Fig. 1A [400]), and the second pad region(Fig. 1A See figure below) extending around the first pad region(Fig. 1A [420]) and including a second opening(Fig. 1A See figure below) exposing a second portion of the at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 1A [450]) and
a first-type pad(Fig. 1A See figure below) is on the at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 1A [450]) in the first opening(Fig. 1A See figure below), and a second-type pad(Fig. 1A See figure below) having an outer protruding portion is on the at least one second redistribution line in the second opening(Fig. 1A See figure below).
Hwang does not teach or disclose the first-type pad having a planar shape.
In the same field of endeavor, Fujita discloses a first-type pad(Fig. 4E [103]) having a planar shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Hwang along the lines of Fujita. One might have been motivated to provide a pad of a planar shape in order to form a desirable attachment to an external component, as disclosed by Fujita(See paragraph 0057). Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in a modified version of Hwang’s package with a planar-shaped package as disclosed by Fujita.
Regarding Claim 6, Hwang further discloses:
The second-type pad(Fig. 1A See figure below) is on an uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 1A [450]) in the second opening(Fig. 1A See figure below), and
The uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 1A See figure below) is not exposed around the second-type pad(Fig. 1A See figure below).
Regarding Claim 7, Hwang further discloses:
The second redistribution substrate(Fig. 1A [400]) comprises a body insulating layer(Fig. 1A [403]) over the at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 1A [450]),
the second opening(Fig. 1A See figure below) has a structure extending vertically into a portion of an upper portion of the body insulating layer(Fig. 1A [403]) and having a bottom surface of the uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 1A [450]) and side surfaces of the body insulating layer(Fig. 1A [403]), and
the second-type pad(Fig. 1A See figure below) has a structure extending from the uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 1A [450]) onto the side surfaces and an upper surface of the body insulating layer(Fig. 1A [403]).
Regarding Claim 8, Hwang further discloses:
A portion of the second-type pad(Fig. 1A See figure below) extending onto the upper surface of the body insulating layer(Fig. 1A [403]) constitutes the outer protruding portion of the second-type pad(Fig. 1A See figure below).
Regarding Claim 9, Hwang further discloses:
An upper package(Fig. 1A [500]) on the second redistribution substrate(Fig. 1A [400]),
wherein the semiconductor chip(Fig. 1A [200]) comprises an application processor(AP) chip(See paragraph 0070, “a memory circuit, a logic circuit, or a combination thereof”), and
the upper package(Fig. 1A [500]) comprises at least one memory chip(See paragraph 0047).
Regarding Claim 10, Hwang further discloses:
A sealing material(Fig. 1A [300]) at least partially filling the space between the first redistribution substrate(Fig. 1A [100]) and the second redistribution substrate(Fig. 1A [400]) and on the semiconductor chip(Fig. 1A [200]),
wherein the through post(Fig. 1A [310]) extends into the sealing material(Fig. 1A [300]) and electrically connects the first redistribution substrate(Fig. 1A [100]) to the second redistribution substrate(Fig. 1A [400]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang and Fujita, further in view of Ko.
Regarding Claim 2,
Hwang discloses the first-type pad and the second-type pad(Fig. 1A See figure below) on the metal layer of the redistribution line(Fig. 1A [450]).
Neither Hwang nor Fujita teach or disclose the uppermost second redistribution line of the at least one second redistribution line exposed from the first opening and the second opening has a multi-metal-layered structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Ko discloses a multi-metal-layered structure(Fig. 19 [182/P]) of the at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 19 [180]) exposed from the opening(Fig. 19 [190h]) has a multi-metal-layered structure(Cu and Au, See paragraphs 0115-0116),
The uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 19 [180]) comprises a lower metal layer(Fig. 19 [182]) of copper(See paragraph 0115) and an upper metal layer(Fig. 19 [P]) of nickel(See paragraph 0116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Hwang and Fujita along the lines of Ko. One might have been motivated to provide Ko’s surface processing layer to improve adhesion between the pad and the redistribution line. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of a modified form of Hwang’s device with Fujita’s pad structure alongside Ko’s surface processing layer.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang and Fujita, further in view of Ko and Chung et al.(US 20210202423 A1, hereafter Chung).
Regarding Claim 3,
Ko describes the lower metal layer of Cu and an upper metal layer of Ni(See rejection of claim 2).
However, neither Hwang nor Fujita teach or disclose a first cross-sectional thickness of the upper metal layer is about 0.1 microns or more, and the lower metal layer has a second cross-sectional thickness equal to or greater than the first cross-sectional thickness of the upper metal layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Chung describes an upper metal layer(Fig. 1 [153]) which is greater than 0.1 µm in thickness(See paragraph 0045) and lesser in thickness when compared to a lower metal layer(Fig. 1 [151]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the device disclosed by Hwang along the lines of Chung. When producing a modified version of Hwang’s device, one of ordinary skill in the art would require a set of dimensions by which to produce the relevant components of Hwang’s device. For this, the prior art of Chung, which lays out the dimensions of respective metal layers, would be necessary. Performing this modification would have generated a Predictable result in the creation of a modified form of Hwang’s device with Fujita’s pad structure alongside Ko’s surface processing layer.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang and Fujita, further in view of Lam(US 20180294186 A1, hereafter Lam).
Regarding Claim 4,
Hwang discloses:
The first-type pad(Fig. 1A See figure below) is on an uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 1A [450]) of the at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 1A [450]) in the first opening(Fig. 1A See figure below).
Hwang does not teach or disclose the uppermost second redistribution line is exposed around the first-type pad.
In the same field of endeavor, Lam discloses an exposed redistribution line(Fig. 2A [30]) around a first pad(Fig. 2A [160]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to further modify the device disclosed by Hwang along the lines of Lam. One might have been motivated to provide exposed portions of the second redistribution layer in order to provide an accessible terminal for testing away from the existing pad and structure connected to it. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Hwang’s device with an exposed portion of a redistribution layer.
Regarding Claim 5, Hwang further discloses:
The second redistribution substrate(Fig. 1A [400]) comprises a body insulating layer(Fig. 1A [403]) over the at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 1A [450]),
the first opening(Fig. 1A See figure below) has a structure extending vertically into a portion of an upper portion of the body insulating layer to expose a portion of the uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 1A See figure below),
an entirety of the uppermost second redistribution line has a first width in a first direction parallel to an upper surface of the first redistribution substrate(Fig. 1A [100]),
a portion of the uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 1A See figure below), which is exposed through the first opening(Fig. 1A See figure below) has a second width that is less than the first width in the first direction, and
the body insulating layer(Fig. 1A [403]) is over an outer portion of the uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 1A See figure below).
Claim(s) 12-15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Yu et al.(US 20210035890 A1, hereafter Yu).
Regarding Claim 12,
Ko does not teach or disclose a first pad region and a second pad region defined on the upper surface of the second redistribution substrate or the limitations therein.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu discloses:
A first pad region(Fig. 5 [S3]) and a second pad region(Fig. 5 [S1]) defined on an upper surface of the second redistribution substrate(Fig. 5 [170]), the first pad region(Fig. 5 [S3]) positioned at a central portion of the second redistribution substrate(Fig. 5 [170]), and the second pad region(Fig. 5 [S1]) extending around the first pad region(Fig. 5 [S3]),
The opening(Fig. 5 [S1/S2/S3]) comprises a first opening(Fig. 5 [S3]) in the first pad region(Fig. 5 [S3]) and a second opening(Fig. 5 [S1]) in the second pad region(Fig. 5 [S1]),
a first-type pad(Fig. 5 [1743]) having a planar shape is on the uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 5 [172]) of the at least one second redistribution line in the first opening(Fig. 5 [S3]), and
a second-type pad(Fig. 5 [1741]) having an outer protruding portion is on the uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 5 [172]) in the second opening(Fig. 5 [S1]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Ko along the lines of Yu. One might have been motivated to apply Yu’s pad structure in order to improve layout flexibility and reliability of the package(See paragraph 0029 of Yu). Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Ko’s device with a pad structure as disclosed by Yu.
Regarding Claim 13,
Ko discloses the uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 19 [182/P]) comprises a lower metal layer(Fig. 19 [182]) of copper and an upper metal layer(Fig. 19 [P]) of Nickel(See paragraphs 0115-0116).
Ko does not teach or disclose a first-type pad on an upper metal layer in the first opening.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu discloses a first-type pad(Fig. 5 [1743]) on an upper metal layer(Fig. 5 [172]) in the first opening(Fig. 5 [S3]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Ko along the lines of Yu. One might have been motivated to apply Yu’s pad structure in order to improve layout flexibility and reliability of the package(See paragraph 0029 of Yu). Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Ko’s device with a pad structure as disclosed by Yu.
Furthermore, Ko does not teach or disclose the upper metal layer is exposed around the first-type pad.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu disclose a first-type pad(Fig. 5 [1743]) which exposes the layer beneath it(See Fig. 5). In addition, Yu describes the metallization layer(Fig. 5 [174]) of which the first-type pad is a part of as being electrically connected to the metallization layer below it(Fig. 5 [172]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to arrive at the limitations of the claim at hand by applying the prior art of Yu to the prior art of Ko. In connecting the first pad(Fig. 5 [1743]) to the metallization layer below it(Fig. 5 [172]), one of ordinary skill in the art would be presented with a handful of ways by which to do so, one of which being the placement of the pad atop the metallization layer in such a way that it makes a direct contact with the metallization in a space wider than the pad itself, thus exposing a portion of this metallization layer. One might have been motivated to apply Yu’s pad structure in order to improve layout flexibility and reliability of the package(See paragraph 0029 of Yu). Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Ko’s device with a pad structure as disclosed by Yu.
Regarding Claim 14,
Ko further discloses the uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 19 [182]) of the at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 19 [182]) comprises a lower metal layer of copper and an upper metal layer of nickel(See paragraph 0115-0116).
While Ko does not disclose that the second-type pad is on the upper metal layer in the second opening and the upper metal layer is not exposed around the second-type pad, one of ordinary skill in the art who applies the prior art of Yu to Ko’s device would have naturally arrived at the limitations at hand, due to the deposition of the pads(Fig. 5 [174]) atop the first redistribution line(Fig. 5 [172]).
Regarding Claim 15, Ko further discloses:
The second redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [180]) comprises a body insulating layer(Fig. 19 [190]) on the at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 19 [182]),
the second opening(Fig. 19 [190h]) has a structure extending vertically into a portion of an upper portion of the body insulating layer(Fig. 19 [190]) and defined by a bottom surface of the upper metal layer(Fig. 19 [P]) and side surfaces of the body insulating layer(Fig. 19 [190]).
Ko does not teach or disclose the second-type pad has a structure extending from the upper metal layer onto the side surfaces and an upper surface of the body insulating layer.
In the same field of endeavor,
Yu discloses the second-type pad(Fig. 5 [S1]) has a structure extending from the upper metal layer(Fig. 5 [172])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Ko along the lines of Yu. One might have been motivated to apply Yu’s pad structure in order to improve layout flexibility and reliability of the package(See paragraph 0029 of Yu). Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Ko’s device with a pad structure as disclosed by Yu.
Regarding Claim 17,
Ko does not teach or disclose a first pad region and a second pad region defined on the upper surface of the second redistribution substrate or the limitations therein.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu discloses:
A first pad region(Fig. 5 [S3]) and a second pad region(Fig. 5 [S1]) defined on an upper surface of the second redistribution substrate(Fig. 5 [170]), the first pad region(Fig. 5 [S3]) positioned at a central portion of the second redistribution substrate(Fig. 5 [170]), and the second pad region(Fig. 5 [S1]) extending around the first pad region(Fig. 5 [S3]),
The opening(Fig. 5 [S1/S2/S3]) comprises a first opening(Fig. 5 [S3]) in the first pad region(Fig. 5 [S3]) and a second opening(Fig. 5 [S1]) in the second pad region(Fig. 5 [S1]),
a first-type pad(Fig. 5 [1743]) having a planar shape is on the uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 5 [172]) of the at least one second redistribution line in the first opening(Fig. 5 [S3]), and
a second-type pad(Fig. 5 [1741]) having an outer protruding portion is on the uppermost second redistribution line(Fig. 5 [172]) in the second opening(Fig. 5 [S1]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Ko along the lines of Yu. One might have been motivated to apply Yu’s pad structure in order to improve layout flexibility and reliability of the package(See paragraph 0029 of Yu). Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Ko’s device with a pad structure as disclosed by Yu.
Regarding Claim 18, Ko does not teach or disclose a first-type pad on an upper metal layer in the first opening.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu discloses a first-type pad(Fig. 5 [1743]) on an upper metal layer(Fig. 5 [172]) in the first opening(Fig. 5 [S3]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Ko along the lines of Yu. One might have been motivated to apply Yu’s pad structure in order to improve layout flexibility and reliability of the package(See paragraph 0029 of Yu). Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Ko’s device with a pad structure as disclosed by Yu.
Furthermore, Ko does not teach or disclose the upper metal layer is exposed around the first-type pad.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu disclose a first-type pad(Fig. 5 [1743]) which exposes the layer beneath it(See Fig. 5). In addition, Yu describes the metallization layer(Fig. 5 [174]) of which the first-type pad is a part of as being electrically connected to the metallization layer below it(Fig. 5 [172]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to arrive at the limitations of the claim at hand by applying the prior art of Yu to the prior art of Ko. In connecting the first pad(Fig. 5 [1743]) to the metallization layer below it(Fig. 5 [172]), one of ordinary skill in the art would be presented with a handful of ways by which to do so, one of which being the placement of the pad atop the metallization layer in such a way that it makes a direct contact with the metallization in a space wider than the pad itself, thus exposing a portion of this metallization layer. One might have been motivated to apply Yu’s pad structure in order to improve layout flexibility and reliability of the package(See paragraph 0029 of Yu). Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Ko’s device with a pad structure as disclosed by Yu.
Regarding Claim 19, Ko further discloses:
The second redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [180]) comprises a body insulating layer(Fig. 19 [190]) on the at least one second redistribution line(Fig. 19 [182]),
the second opening(Fig. 19 [190h]) has a structure extending vertically into a portion of an upper portion of the body insulating layer(Fig. 19 [190]) and defined by a bottom surface of the upper metal layer(Fig. 19 [P]) and side surfaces of the body insulating layer(Fig. 19 [190]).
Ko does not teach or disclose the second-type pad has a structure extending from the upper metal layer onto the side surfaces and an upper surface of the body insulating layer.
In the same field of endeavor,
Yu discloses the second-type pad(Fig. 5 [S1]) has a structure extending from the upper metal layer(Fig. 5 [172])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Ko along the lines of Yu. One might have been motivated to apply Yu’s pad structure in order to improve layout flexibility and reliability of the package(See paragraph 0029 of Yu). Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Ko’s device with a pad structure as disclosed by Yu.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko.
Regarding Claim 20, Ko discloses an upper package(Fig. 19 [30]) on the second redistribution substrate(Fig. 19 [180]),
wherein the semiconductor chip(Fig. 19 [121]) comprises an application processor(AP) chip(See paragraph 0102).
Ko does not explicitly teach or disclose the upper package comprises at least one memory chip, instead stating that it may be an integrated circuit die(See paragraph 0077).
However, Ko then states that an integrated circuit die may include a memory chip(See paragraph 0102).
It would have been obvious to arrive at the claimed limitation based on the disclosure by Ko, because Ko describes the upper package as an integrated circuit, layer presenting that an integrated circuit may be a memory chip. One might have been motivated to produce such a package as to transport, test, or interface a memory chip with an application processor chip. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the generation of an embodiment of Ko’s device.
Above: Fig. 1 of Hwang with first and second-type pads, first and second openings, first and second pad regions, and uppermost first and second redistribution lines denoted by examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al.(US 20220165778 A1) discloses a package substrate. Kwon(US 20220068731 A1) discloses a package structure with a through post and pads. Kang et al.(US 20220013465 A1) discloses a pad structure.
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/MARSHALL MU-NUO HATFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2897