DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 20200013846, hereinafter “Kwon”).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a display device (Fig. 1; Para. [0020]) comprising:
a base substrate (110; Para. [0042]) divided into a display area (AA in Fig. 1D; Para. [0044]) and at least one edge area (the bezel area including NA, 170 and 180; Para. [0068] “the bezel area includes the non-active area NA of the first substrate 110, the side lines 170, and the insulating layer 180”) adjacent to the display area, the base substrate including an upper surface (102), a rear surface (104) facing the upper surface, a first inclined surface (the upper inclined surface of 106) forming a first inclined angle with the upper surface (see Fig. 1C), and a second inclined surface (the lower inclined surface of 106) forming a second inclined angle with the rear surface (see Fig. 1C); and
a display panel (120; Para. [0046] “The display unit 120 displays an image. In one embodiment, an organic light emitting element and a circuit unit for driving the organic light emitting element are included in the display unit 120”) disposed on the upper surface of the base substrate,
wherein the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface are defined in the at least one edge area (see Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the first inclined angle is substantially equal to the second inclined angle (see Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the at least one edge area is adjacent to an outside of the display area (see Fig. 1D).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon discloses the limitations of claim 7 above, and further discloses wherein: the upper surface includes:
four sides that overlap the outside of the display area (see Fig. 1D where the edge area is formed overlapping the outside of DA); and
at least one corner area formed by two adjacent sides included among the four sides and intersecting with each other (see Fig. 1D), and
the first inclined surface extends from at least one of the four sides (see Figs. 1C-1D).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon discloses the limitations of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein the base substrate further includes a pad area (the area comprising PAD1, PAD2; Para. [0054]) configured to transmit electrical signals to the display area (see Paras. [0051], [0054]), and
wherein the first inclined surface extends from a side included among the four sides and located adjacent to the pad area (see Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon discloses the limitations of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein the at least one edge area overlaps the at least one corner area (Figs. 1C-1D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Koo et al. (KR 102345239 B1; the English translation document attached, hereinafter “Koo”).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Kwon does not explicitly disclose an intersection point, where the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface intersect, is defined on the base substrate.
However, Koo teaches various edge area designs (Fig. 20B) including an intersection point (CP3 in Figs. 12 and 20B), where a first inclined surface and a second inclined surface intersect (Figs. 12 and 20B), is defined on a base substrate (glass G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inclined surfaces as disclosed by Kwon with the teachings of Koo, to have an intersection point, where the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface intersect, is defined on the base substrate, for the purpose of providing a glass substrate and fitting the size of an electronic product (Koo: Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon as modified by Koo discloses the limitations of claim 2 above.
Kwon does not explicitly disclose the intersection point is located between a first plane extending in a direction parallel to the upper surface and a second plane extending in a direction parallel to the rear surface.
However, Koo teaches an intersection point is located between a first plane extending in a direction parallel to the upper surface and a second plane extending in a direction parallel to the rear surface (see CP3 in Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inclined surfaces as disclosed by Kwon with the teachings of Koo, to the intersection point is located between a first plane extending in a direction parallel to the upper surface and a second plane extending in a direction parallel to the rear surface, for the purpose of providing a glass substrate and fitting the size of an electronic product (Koo: Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Kwon as modified by Koo discloses the limitations of claim 3 above.
Kwon does not explicitly disclose the intersection point is located on a virtual horizontal line that bisects a thickness of the base substrate.
However, Koo teaches an intersection point is located on a virtual horizontal line that bisects a thickness of substrates (see CP3 in Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inclined surfaces as disclosed by Kwon with the teachings of Koo, wherein the intersection point is located on a virtual horizontal line that bisects a thickness of the base substrate, for the purpose of providing a glass substrate and fitting the size of an electronic product (Koo: Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon as modified by Koo discloses the limitations of claim 3 above.
Kwon does not explicitly disclose a shortest distance from the first plane to the intersection point is substantially equal to a shortest distance from the second plane to the intersection point.
However, Koo teaches a shortest distance from the first plane to the intersection point is substantially equal to a shortest distance from the second plane to the intersection point (see Figs. 12 and 20B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inclined surfaces as disclosed by Kwon with the teachings of Koo, wherein a shortest distance from the first plane to the intersection point is substantially equal to a shortest distance from the second plane to the intersection point, for the purpose of having a convex surface on an edge portion to enhance strength, for the purpose of providing a glass substrate and fitting the size of an electronic product (Koo: Para. [0005]).
Claims 11-12, 14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Moon et al. (US 20170029957, hereinafter “Moon”).
Regarding claim 11, Kwon discloses a method of manufacturing a display device (Fig. 1; Paras. [0020], [0059]), the method comprising:
forming a substrate (110; Para. [0042]) including an upper surface (102) and the rear surface (104) facing the upper surface;
forming a first inclined surface (the upper inclined surface of 106);
forming a second inclined surface (the lower inclined surface of 106); and
forming a base substrate (110 including the upper and lower inclined surface of 106) including the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface.
Kwon does not explicitly disclose forming at least one first hole in a first irradiation direction on a rear surface of a substrate;
forming at least one second hole in a second irradiation direction different from the first irradiation direction on the rear surface;
filling the at least one first hole and the at least one second hole with an etchant;
forming a first inclined surface along the at least one first hole; and
forming a second inclined surface along the at least one second hole.
However, Moon teaches a known method of forming an inclined surface by using a laser and an etchant (Figs. 1A-1D; Para. [0014]) comprises: forming at least one first hole in a first irradiation direction on a surface of a substrate (Fig. 1B; 110a formed on the base material M in an irradiation direction using a laser beam; Para. [0029]);
filling the at least one first hole with an etchant (Fig. 1C; Para. [0032]); and
forming a first inclined surface along the at least one first hole (Fig. 1D; see the inclined surface formed on 110; Para. [0029]).
Because Kwon suggests a laser irradiation (Para. [0059]) and providing two inclined surfaces (Fig. 1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kwon with the teachings of Moon, for forming at least one first hole in a first irradiation direction on a rear surface of a substrate; forming at least one second hole in a second irradiation direction different from the first irradiation direction on the rear surface; filling the at least one first hole and the at least one second hole with an etchant; forming the first inclined surface along the at least one first hole; and forming the second inclined surface along the at least one second hole, for the purpose of forming inclined surfaces using a known fabrication method (Moon: Paras. [0027]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon as modified by Moon discloses the limitations of claim 11 above.
Kwon does not explicitly disclose the at least one first hole and the at least one second hole are spaced apart from each other.
However, Moon teaches forming at least one first hole on a surface of a substrate to form an inclined surface (Fig. 1B; 110 a formed on a surface of M to form an inclined surface; Para. [0029]).
Because Kwon suggests providing two inclined surfaces (Fig. 1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kwon with the teachings of Moon, wherein the at least one first hole and the at least one second hole are spaced apart from each other, for the purpose of forming inclined surfaces using a known fabrication method (Moon: Paras. [0027]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 14, Kwon as modified by Moon discloses the limitations of claim 11 above.
Kwon does not explicitly disclose forming the at least one first hole includes forming a plurality of first holes along a first direction parallel to the rear surface, and
wherein forming the at least one second hole includes forming a plurality of second holes along the first direction.
However, Moon teaches forming at least one first hole on a surface of a substrate to form an inclined surface (Fig. 1B; 110 a formed on a surface of M to form an inclined surface; Para. [0029]).
Because a display device generally has a two-dimensional panel as shown by Kwon (Fig. 1A) extending in the x-direction and in the y-direction, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kwon with the teachings of Moon, for forming the at least one first hole includes forming a plurality of first holes along a first direction parallel to the rear surface, and wherein forming the at least one second hole includes forming a plurality of second holes along the first direction, for the purpose of forming inclined surfaces using a known fabrication method (Moon: Paras. [0027]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 17, Kwon as modified by Moon discloses the limitations of claim 11 above.
Kwon does not explicitly disclose forming the first inclined surface includes forming a dummy substrate including a third inclined surface by extending the at least one first hole to the upper surface through the etchant; and
wherein forming of the base substrate includes separating the base substrate from the dummy substrate.
However, Moon teaches forming a first inclined surface includes forming a dummy substrate including a third inclined surface by extending the at least one first hole to the upper surface through the etchant (see Fig. 1C, wherein “ETCHANT” creates a dummy substrate including another inclined surface to be separated); and
wherein forming of the base substrate includes separating the base substrate from the dummy substrate (Fig. 1C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kwon with the teachings of Moon, for forming the first inclined surface includes forming a dummy substrate including a third inclined surface by extending the at least one first hole to the upper surface through the etchant; and wherein forming of the base substrate includes separating the base substrate from the dummy substrate, for the purpose of forming inclined surfaces using a known fabrication method (Moon: Paras. [0027]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 18, Kwon as modified by Moon discloses the limitations of claim 17 above.
Kwon does not explicitly disclose forming the dummy substrate includes removing a portion of the substrate using the etchant, and
wherein the portion is formed at an intersection of the second inclined surface, the third inclined surface, and the rear surface.
However, Moon teaches forming a dummy substrate includes removing a portion of the substrate using the etchant (see Fig. 1C, wherein “ETCHANT” creates a dummy substrate including a portion to be separated), and
wherein the portion is formed at an intersection of the second inclined surface, the third inclined surface, and the rear surface (Fig. 1C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kwon with the teachings of Moon, for forming the dummy substrate includes removing a portion of the substrate using the etchant, and wherein the portion is formed at an intersection of the second inclined surface, the third inclined surface, and the rear surface, for the purpose of forming inclined surfaces using a known fabrication method (Moon: Paras. [0027]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Kwon as modified by Moon discloses the limitations of claim 11 above.
Kwon does not explicitly disclose filling the etchant includes applying the etchant on the rear surface of the substrate.
However, Moon teaches filling the etchant includes applying the etchant on the rear surface of the substrate (Para. [0032] “the etchant may be jetted on to the base material M”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kwon with the teachings of Moon, for filling the etchant includes applying the etchant on the rear surface of the substrate, for the purpose of forming inclined surfaces using a known fabrication method (Moon: Paras. [0027]-[0032]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Moon, and in further view of Koo.
Regarding claim 20, Kwon as modified by Moon discloses the limitations of claim 11 above.
Kwon does not explicitly disclose an intersection point, where the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface intersect, is located between a first plane extending in a direction parallel to the upper surface and a second plane extending in a direction parallel to the rear surface.
However, Koo teaches an intersection point (CP3 in Figs. 12 and 20B), where a first inclined surface and a second inclined surface intersect, is located between a first plane extending in a direction parallel to the upper surface and a second plane extending in a direction parallel to the rear surface (see Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inclined surfaces as disclosed by Kwon with the teachings of Koo, to have an intersection point, where the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface intersect, is located between a first plane extending in a direction parallel to the upper surface and a second plane extending in a direction parallel to the rear surface, for the purpose of providing a glass substrate and fitting the size of an electronic product (Koo: Para. [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, Kwon as modified by Moon discloses the limitations of claim 11 above.
However, Kwon and Moon fail to explicitly disclose, in light of the specifications, “a length of the at least one first hole in the first irradiation direction is longer than a length of the at least one second hole in the second irradiation direction”.
The examiner further considered Lee et al. (US 20220005914, hereinafter “Lee”), Gupta et al. (US 20170199405, hereinafter “Gupta”) and Chun (US 20170107605). For example, Lee teaches a method of manufacturing a display device, using a laser (L; Para. [0086]) and an etchant (AEC; Para. [0080]) to control the length of at least one hole (Fig. 6), but fails explicitly disclose a length of the at least one first hole in the first irradiation direction is longer than a length of the at least one second hole in the second irradiation direction. The prior art of Kwon, Moon, Koo, Lee, Gupta and Chun, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, Kwon as modified by Moon discloses the limitations of claim 14 above.
However, Kwon and Moon fail to explicitly disclose, in light of the specifications, “the at least one first hole and the at least one second hole are arranged side by side in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction”.
The examiner further considered Chun, Lee and Gupta. For example, Chun teaches a method of manufacturing a display device, and arranging at least one first hole and at least one second hole (the upper and lower hole on M in Fig. 6), but fails to explicitly disclose the at least one first hole and the at least one second hole are arranged side by side in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction. The prior art of Kwon, Moon, Koo, Lee, Gupta and Chun, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Kwon as modified by Moon discloses the limitations of claim 14 above.
However, Kwon and Moon fail to explicitly disclose, in light of the specifications, “the at least one first hole and the at least one second hole are arranged obliquely to the first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction”.
The examiner further considered Chun, Lee and Gupta. For example, Chun teaches a method of manufacturing a display device, and arranging at least one first hole and at least one second hole (the upper and lower hole on M in Fig. 6), but fails to explicitly disclose the at least one first hole and the at least one second hole are arranged side by side in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction. The prior art of Kwon, Moon, Koo, Lee, Gupta and Chun, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 16.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871