DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on August 26th, 2026. Claims 1-38 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8-10, 12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2006/012777 (the ‘777 publication).
Regarding claim 1, the ‘777 publication discloses a photoionization detector with ignition failure warning system, comprising:
(a) an ultraviolet lamp operable when ignited for emitting ultraviolet radiation effective to ionize a target analyte within a sample (element 32),
(b) sensing electrodes for detecting the presence of ionized target analyte within the sample and generating a genuine value electrical signal having a value proportional to the concentration of target analyte within the sample (elements 50 & 52),
(c) ignition electrodes for igniting the ultraviolet lamp (elements 40 & 42),
(d) a driver in electrical communication with the ignition electrodes for supplying an ignition current theoretically effective to ignite the ultraviolet lamp (element 44),
(e) an ignition failure warning electrical circuit operable for (A) detecting an absence of ultraviolet radiation emitted by the ultraviolet lamp after an attempted ignition of the ultraviolet lamp by the driver (element 20), and (B) generating secondary electrical signals upon detecting an absence of ultraviolet radiation emitted by the ultraviolet lamp after an attempted ignition of the ultraviolet lamp by the driver (element 20’), and
(f) a processor for receiving the genuine value electrical signal and the secondary signals (element 46), and generating a human perceptible indication of failed ignition when the secondary signals are received (“If the detection signal indicates that the UV lamp is not lit, the microprocessor 46 issues an alarm signal to notify the operator.”).
The ‘777 publication does not disclose a circuit operable for generating alternating high value and low value secondary electrical signals. Oscillator circuits are very well known in the art, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use an oscillator circuit for encoding the secondary signals if so desired, since this is an easily detectable signal waveform.
Regarding claim 2, the ‘777 publication discloses the photoionization detector of claim 1 wherein the processor converts the genuine value electrical signal to a corresponding concentration of target analyte when the genuine value electrical signal is received sans receipt of the secondary signals (“If the UV light intensity is constant, then the measured current can be converted to a concentration of volatile organic gases (in parts per million, ppm)”).
Regarding claim 4, the ‘777 publication discloses the photoionization detector of claim 1 wherein the ignition electrodes and ignition failure warning electrical circuit are powered via a common power input terminal (“Power input pin 106 passes through via 96" in substrate 202 and is coupled to contact 96' on circuit board 95 for providing electrical power to circuit board 95.” wherein “As shown in FIG. 4, the lamp driving circuit 44, the bias circuit 54, and the photosensor 20 are integrated on the circuit board 95.”).
Regarding claim 8, the ‘777 publication discloses the photoionization detector of claim 1 wherein the ultraviolet lamp is operable for ionizing a volatile organic compound target analyte (intended use, also “If the UV light intensity is constant, then the measured current can be converted to a concentration of volatile organic gases (in parts per million, ppm)”).
Regarding claim 9, the ‘777 publication discloses a photoionization detector with ignition failure warning system, comprising:
(a) a housing defining a sample retention chamber (element 36),
(b) an ultraviolet lamp operable when ignited for emitting ultraviolet radiation effective to ionize a target analyte within a sample (element 32),
(c) an anode-cathode pair for detecting the presence of ionized target analyte within the sample retention chamber and generating a genuine value electrical signal having a value proportional to the concentration of target analyte within the sample retention chamber (elements 50 & 52),
(d) ignition electrodes for igniting the ultraviolet lamp (elements 40 & 42),
(e) a driver in electrical communication with the ignition electrodes for supplying an ignition current theoretically effective to ignite the ultraviolet lamp (element 44),
(f) an ignition failure warning electrical circuit operable for (A) detecting an absence of ultraviolet radiation emitted by the ultraviolet lamp after an attempted ignition of the ultraviolet lamp by the driver (element 20), and (B) generating secondary electrical signals upon detecting an absence of ultraviolet radiation emitted by the ultraviolet lamp after an attempted ignition of the ultraviolet lamp by the driver (element 20’), and
(g) a processor for receiving the genuine value electrical signal and the secondary signals (element 46), and generating a human perceptible indication of failed ignition when the secondary signals are received (“If the detection signal indicates that the UV lamp is not lit, the microprocessor 46 issues an alarm signal to notify the operator.”).
The ‘777 publication does not disclose a circuit operable for generating alternating high value and low value secondary electrical signals. Oscillator circuits are very well known in the art, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use an oscillator circuit for encoding the secondary signals if so desired, since this is an easily detectable signal waveform.
Regarding claim 10, the ‘777 publication discloses the photoionization detector of claim 9 wherein the processor converts the genuine value electrical signal to a corresponding concentration of target analyte when the genuine value electrical signal is received sans receipt of the secondary signals (“If the UV light intensity is constant, then the measured current can be converted to a concentration of volatile organic gases (in parts per million, ppm)”).
Regarding claim 12, the ‘777 publication discloses the photoionization detector of claim 9 wherein the ignition electrodes and ignition failure warning electrical circuit are powered via a common power input terminal (“Power input pin 106 passes through via 96" in substrate 202 and is coupled to contact 96' on circuit board 95 for providing electrical power to circuit board 95.” wherein “As shown in FIG. 4, the lamp driving circuit 44, the bias circuit 54, and the photosensor 20 are integrated on the circuit board 95.”).
Regarding claim 16, the ‘777 publication discloses the photoionization detector of claim 1 wherein the ultraviolet lamp is operable for ionizing a volatile organic compound target analyte (intended use, also “If the UV light intensity is constant, then the measured current can be converted to a concentration of volatile organic gases (in parts per million, ppm)”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-7, 11, and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claims 3, 11, and 14-15, the ‘777 publication discloses the claimed inventions except for communicating the genuine value electrical signal and the secondary electrical signals to the processor via a common output terminal as indistinguishable signals. Communicating plural electrical signals to a processor via a common output terminal is known in the art, but would not be compatible with the ignition failure circuit of the ‘777 publication because there would be no way to distinguish a true low or zero analyte signal from an ignition failure warning. Applicant has determined that the unique combination of an oscillator circuit for generating alternating high and low signals and the common output terminal allows for a single output signal that can provide both types of information.
Regarding claims 5-7, the prior art of record does not disclose the photoionization detector of claim 1 wherein the high value and low value secondary electrical signals are reported by the processor as high value and low value concentrations of target analyte respectively, resulting in an uncharacteristically dramatic human perceptible oscillation of reported concentrations of target analyte. The ‘777 publication discloses the secondary electrical signals being reported to the processor as a separate signal than the sensed concentrations of analyte so this interpretation would make no sense.
Claims 17-38 are allowed.
Regarding claims 17-27, the prior art of record does not disclose a photoionization detector with ignition failure warning system, comprising:
(a) an ultraviolet lamp operable when ignited for emitting ultraviolet radiation effective to ionize a target analyte within a sample,
(b) sensing electrodes for detecting the presence of ionized target analyte within the sample and generating a genuine value electrical signal having a value proportional to the concentration of target analyte within the sample,
(c) ignition electrodes for igniting the ultraviolet lamp,
(d) a selectively activatable ignition assist light source different from the ultraviolet lamp for emitting electromagnetic radiation ineffective for detectably ionizing a target analyte within a sample, (e) a driver in electrical communication with the ignition electrodes for supplying an ignition current theoretically effective to ignite the ultraviolet lamp,
(f) an ignition failure warning electrical circuit operable for (A) detecting an absence of ultraviolet radiation emitted by the ultraviolet lamp after an attempted ignition of the ultraviolet lamp by the driver, (B) oscillating powering of the ignition assist light source as between a light-on status and light-off status upon detecting an absence of ultraviolet radiation emitted by the ultraviolet lamp after an attempted ignition of the ultraviolet lamp by the driver, (C) detecting the on-off status of the ignition assist light source over time, and (D) generating a light-on electrical signal having a value when the ignition assist light source is on and generating a light-off electrical signal having a value different from the value of the light-on electrical signal when the ignition assist light source is off, so as to generate an oscillating set of high value and low value secondary electrical signals, and
(g) a processor for receiving the genuine value electrical signal and the oscillating high value and low value secondary electrical signals, and generating a human perceptible indication of failed ignition when the oscillating high value and low value secondary electrical signals are received.
The closest prior arts of record are WO 2006/012777 (the ‘777 publication) and US 2005/0218334 (Haverstick et al.). The ‘777 publication discloses elements a-c, e, f part A, and g (see analysis for similar claim 1 above) but fails to disclose part d, a selectively activatable ignition assist light source different from the ultraviolet lamp for emitting electromagnetic radiation ineffective for detectably ionizing a target analyte within a sample, or an ignition failure warning electrical circuit operable for (B) oscillating powering of the ignition assist light source as between a light-on status and light-off status upon detecting an absence of ultraviolet radiation emitted by the ultraviolet lamp after an attempted ignition of the ultraviolet lamp by the driver, (C) detecting the on-off status of the ignition assist light source over time, and (D) generating a light-on electrical signal having a value when the ignition assist light source is on and generating a light-off electrical signal having a value different from the value of the light-on electrical signal when the ignition assist light source is off, so as to generate an oscillating set of high value and low value secondary electrical signals.
Haverstick discloses a photoionization detector including part d, a selectively activatable ignition assist light source different from the ultraviolet lamp for emitting electromagnetic radiation ineffective for detectably ionizing a target analyte within a sample (fig. 2C, element 41). Circuits for powering of ignition assist light sources, including based on detecting an absence of ultraviolet radiation, and detecting the on-off status of the ignition assist light source are obvious additions to such a selectively activatable ignition assist light source. However, oscillating powering of the ignition assist light source so as to generate an oscillating set of high value and low value secondary electrical signals, as a person having ordinary skill in the art would only consider powering the ignition assist light on when ultraviolet light is absent as an assist, not oscillating between on and off states.
Essentially the same reason or allowance apply to claims 28-38.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 26th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, 8-10, 12, and 16, applicant argues that obviousness requires more than generic coverage, required instead a reasoned basis for selecting the particular claimed species.
Obvious to try is a valid obviousness rationale. Without the common terminal, the choice of an alternating secondary signal is no more or less obvious than any other form of signal, so examiner does not need to provide any deeper analysis. It is only the combination of the alternating secondary signal and the sensing signal at the common output terminal as claimed in claims 3 & 11 that confers any particular benefit.
Regarding claims 3, 5-7, 11, and 13-15 applicant argues that the AAPA does not teach alternating high and low value signals.
This point is moot because examiner has determined, upon deeper reflection, that the AAPA does not actually disclose using a common output terminal, since the failed ignition detection in the known method described by applicant may take the form of simply assuming that a low or zero target analyte concentration is evidence of failed ignition. Therefore the rejections of these claims as obvious over the ‘777 publication in view of the AAPA are withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZA W OSENBAUGH-STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881