Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GB2306236.7, filed on 04/27/23.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/26/24, 10/01/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Note: Claim 1 is rejected twice below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-8, 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Caleffi Marco (EP 19220226, provided in the IDS). (“Marco”).
6. Regarding claim 1, Marco teaches A fluid inspection apparatus configured to define an inspection section of a fluid flow passage of a system [Figures 1-9, a fluid inspection apparatus is shown], wherein the fluid inspection apparatus comprises: a body element having a wall that defines the inspection section, a flow inlet to the inspection section, and a flow outlet from the inspection section, the inspection section defining a flow path between the flow inlet and the flow outlet [Figures 1-9, a body element 47 (container) having a wall 34 is shown, path 45A, 45B and flow inlet 15 and flow outlet 17 is shown]; and an impurity indicator configured to indicate the presence of an impurity in fluid flowing through the flow path [Figures 1-9, an impurity indicator 46 (magnet) is shown to indicate presence of an impurity in fluid flowing through the flow path], wherein the body element further comprises a first side and a second side, the body element defines a cavity along its length L in the first side, which extends at least part of a distance between the flow inlet and the flow outlet, the cavity being offset from and fluidly isolated from the flow path [Figures 1-9, the body element 47 (container) comprises a first side and a second side and the body element 47 defines a cavity (region where the magnet is incorporated) along its length], and the impurity indicator being located in the cavity such that it is fluidly isolated from the flow path [Figures 1-9, the impurity indicator 46 is located in the cavity and fluidly isolated from the flow path], the impurity indicator is a magnet [Figures 1-9, magnet 46 is taught], and the second side defines a viewing region to inspect a surface of the inspection section adjacent to the impurity indicator [Figures 1-9, a viewing region 36 (glass opening) on the second side is shown].
7. Regarding claim 2, Marco teaches wherein the first side is opposite the second side across the flow path [Figures 1-9, the opposite sides are shown].
8. Regarding claim 3, Marco teaches wherein the first side is opposite a third side across the flow path and the second side extends between the first side and the third side [Figures 1-9, the arrangement similar to present application is shown and the three sides are shown].
9. Regarding claim 4, Marco teaches wherein the body element defines a second cavity along its length L in the third side, which extends at least part of the distance between the flow inlet and the flow outlet, wherein the second cavity is offset from and fluidly isolated from the flow path, wherein a second impurity indicator is located in the second cavity such that it is fluidly isolated from the flow path, and wherein the second impurity indicator is a magnet [Figures 1-9, the magnet 46 (impurity indicator) is placed in a way such that it runs in the cavity on both sides (see top and bottom dark line 46 shown in Figure 2)].
10. Regarding claim 5, Marco teaches wherein: the inspection section defines a central flow axis, which extends along an extent of the body element; the body element defines a first end face spaced apart from a second end face along the extent of the body element; the flow inlet is provided on the first end face and the flow outlet is provided on the second end face such that the inspection section extends along the extent of the body element; and each of the first side and the second side extend from the first end face to the second end face [Figures 1-9, the inspection section arrangement 10 and the body element 47 (container) is shown].
11. Regarding claim 6, Marco teaches wherein the second side of the body element comprises a transparent portion [Figures 1-9, see transparent glass window 36].
12. Regarding claim 7, Marco teaches wherein the body element is transparent [Figures 1-9, see transparent glass window 36, the container 33 is shown transparent].
13. Regarding claim 8, Marco teaches wherein the body element is formed from a material chosen from a list comprising polyurethane resin, epoxy resin, plastic, polymer, graphene, glass, acrylic, amorphous thermoplastic polymer, polyphthalamide, and silicone [Figures 1-9, the body element (container) formed from glass, plastic is taught].
14. Regarding claim 12, Marco teaches wherein the impurity indicator is configured to indicate the presence of a dissolved mineral in the fluid [Figures 1-9, the impurity indicator 46 indicates the presence of a dissolved mineral in the fluid].
15. Regarding claim 13, Marco teaches wherein the first side defines a first flat outer surface and the cavity is provided as a recess on the first flat outer surface [Figures 1-9, the arrangement is shown].
16. Regarding claim 14, Marco teaches wherein the first side defines a first flat outer surface and the cavity is provided beneath and covered by material which defines the first flat outer surface [Figures 1-9, the arrangement is shown].
17. Regarding claim 15, Marco teaches wherein the inspection section has a constant diameter D along its length between the flow inlet and the flow outlet [Figures 1-9, the inspection section arrangement is shown].
18. Regarding claim 16, Marco teaches wherein the inspection section comprises a transparent sheath, which extends along at least part of the length L of the inspection section, wherein the sheath defines the inspection section flow path and the sheath is bounded by the body element, and wherein the sheath includes a different material to the body element [Figures 1-9, the inspection section arrangement is shown].
19. Regarding claim 17, Marco teaches wherein the inspection section defines an unobstructed flow path between the flow inlet and the flow outlet [Figures 1-9, the inspection section arrangement is shown].
20. Regarding claim 18, Marco teaches wherein the inspection section defines an unobstructed flow path between the flow inlet and the flow outlet [Figures 1-9, the inspection section arrangement is shown].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
22. Claims 9-11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marco in view of James et al. (US 8,293,089, provided in the IDS). (“James”).
23. Regarding claim 9, Marco teaches the apparatus.
Marco does not explicitly teach wherein the body element material comprises a phosphorescent pigment such that the body element is operable to emit light in response to absorbing light from a light source.
However, James teaches wherein the body element material comprises a phosphorescent pigment such that the body element is operable to emit light in response to absorbing light from a light source [Figures 1-2, a light source 202 is shown].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Marco with James. Doing so would allow Marco to comprise a light source which would help improve particles detection.
24. Regarding claim 10, Marco teaches the apparatus.
Marco does not explicitly teach wherein the body element further comprises a light source mounted on and/or embedded in the body element, and wherein the fluid inspection apparatus further comprises a power source to operate the light source.
However, James teaches wherein the body element further comprises a light source mounted on and/or embedded in the body element, and wherein the fluid inspection apparatus further comprises a power source to operate the light source [Figures 1-2, a light source 202 is shown].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Marco with James. Doing so would allow Marco to comprise a light source which would help improve particles detection.
25. Regarding claim 11, Marco teaches the apparatus.
Marco does not explicitly teach wherein the power source comprises a thermoelectric generator operable to generate electricity using heat energy extracted from the fluid passing through the inspection section.
However, James teaches wherein the power source comprises a thermoelectric generator operable to generate electricity using heat energy extracted from the fluid passing through the inspection section [Figures 1-2, a powered light source is taught].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Marco with James. Doing so would allow Marco to comprise a powered light source which would help improve particles detection.
26. Regarding claim 19, Marco teaches the apparatus.
Marco does not explicitly teach further comprising a flow diagnostic apparatus operable to: (a) capture and record fluid observation data comprising an image of the fluid in the inspection section and/or sound of the fluid in inspection section; (b) determine a fluid quality indicator of the fluid in the inspection section based on the fluid observation data; and (c) generate an output comprising the fluid quality indicator.
However, James teaches further comprising a flow diagnostic apparatus operable to: (a) capture and record fluid observation data comprising an image of the fluid in the inspection section and/or sound of the fluid in inspection section; (b) determine a fluid quality indicator of the fluid in the inspection section based on the fluid observation data; and (c) generate an output comprising the fluid quality indicator [Figures 1-2, P(23) teaches electronic circuits for processing signals/data].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Marco with James. Doing so would allow Marco to comprise a circuit which would help receive data, process data and output data.
27. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marco in view of James in further view of Bossini (US 2022/0226758).
28. Regarding claim 20, Marco teaches A system comprising the fluid flow passage defined at least in part by the fluid inspection apparatus according to claim 1.
Marco and James does not explicitly teach wherein the second side of the body element is positioned between a viewing position A and the inspection section, and wherein the system forms at least part of: a boiler heating circuit, a heat pump flow and return circuit, an electric boiler heating circuit, a cold water main supply, a hot water outlet, an air conditioning unit, an air conditioning circuit, an underfloor heating system, an oil filter, a water pump circuit, a fuel system, or any combination thereof.
However, Bossini teaches wherein the second side of the body element is positioned between a viewing position A and the inspection section, and wherein the system forms at least part of: a boiler heating circuit, a heat pump flow and return circuit, an electric boiler heating circuit, a cold water main supply, a hot water outlet, an air conditioning unit, an air conditioning circuit, an underfloor heating system, an oil filter, a water pump circuit, a fuel system, or any combination thereof [P(0003) teaches system used in the generator (boilers, heat pump, and so on)].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Marco and James with Bossini. Doing so would allow Marco and James to use this system in the boiler, heat pump environment and help improve the system.
29. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by James.
30. Regarding claim 1, James teaches A fluid inspection apparatus configured to define an inspection section of a fluid flow passage of a system [Figures 1-9, a fluid inspection apparatus is shown], wherein the fluid inspection apparatus comprises: a body element having a wall that defines the inspection section, a flow inlet to the inspection section, and a flow outlet from the inspection section, the inspection section defining a flow path between the flow inlet and the flow outlet [Figures 1-2, a body element 100 having a wall that defines the inspection section 128 is shown, flow inlet and flow outlet shown, see arrows 114, 116]; and an impurity indicator configured to indicate the presence of an impurity in fluid flowing through the flow path, wherein the body element further comprises a first side and a second side [Figures 1-2, an impurity indicator 106 (magnet) is shown to indicate the presence of an impurity in fluid flowing through the flow path], the body element defines a cavity along its length L in the first side, which extends at least part of a distance between the flow inlet and the flow outlet, the cavity being offset from and fluidly isolated from the flow path, and the impurity indicator being located in the cavity such that it is fluidly isolated from the flow path, the impurity indicator is a magnet, and the second side defines a viewing region to inspect a surface of the inspection section adjacent to the impurity indicator [Figures 1-9, the body element defines a cavity along its length (at least in part) offset from and fluidly isolated from the flow path, the magnet is located in the cavity, and a viewing region 118 (observation window) is shown].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Newman et al. (US 2007/0090055) teaches a magnetic filter in a fluid environment. See Abstract and Figures 1-16.
Conclusion
/NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858