DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a reply to the application filed on 10/10/2025, in which, claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 3 is/are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103:
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims reciting “wherein the receiving radio access node is an ng-eNB”, without properly defining the abbreviation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim amendment reciting “wherein the indication includes an identifier for one of a plurality of predefined user plane integrity protection modes…”; however, there is no support for this amendment. The specification, as par 63 defines what it is “indicator UE_UP_IP_NG_ENB into a PDU Session Establishment Request message. UE_UP_IP_NG_ENB indicates that UE 102 supports User Plane integrity protection in LTE PDCP. UE_UP_IP_NG_ENB can also indicate the UE’s defined data rate for UP integrity protection”. Where UE_UP_IP_NG_ENB is the indicator, and there is no teaching of an identifier within the indicator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni et al. (US 20200029207 A1; hereinafter Ni) in view of Kunz et al. (US 20200037165 A1; hereinafter Kunz) further in view of Luo et al. (US 20200015088 A1; hereinafter Luo).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Ni discloses a method performed by a user equipment, UE, for enabling user plane integrity protection of data in a security protocol in a radio access network, the method comprising:
sending a session establishment request towards a session management node that includes an indication of a [user plane integrity protection] mode supported by the UE (UE sends a session establishment request message to an SMF entity, where the session establishment response message may include a security attribute of the session corresponding to the security requirement [Ni; ¶8, 115-132; Figs. 4, 6 and associated texts]); and
receiving an activation message from a receiving radio access node, wherein the receiving radio access node is an evolved long term evolution radio access node (receiving the response message via the access node (AN), where the AN is an eNB [Ni; ¶8, 45, 115-132; Figs. 4, 6 and associated texts]). Ni discloses a User equipment (UE) determines a security attribute of a session of the UE; the UE sends a session establishment request message to a control plane node when the security attribute of the session of the UE does not meet a security requirement of an application. The session establishment request message is used to request to establish a session corresponding to the security requirement of the application. Ni does not explicilty discloses the message security attribute is an indication of a user plane integrity protection mode supported and receiving an activation message from a receiving radio access node that includes an indication to the UE to activate the user plane integrity protection mode for a data radio bearer established with the receiving radio access node; however, in a related and analogous art, Kunz teaches these features.
In particular, Kunz teaches the UE request message and may indicate in the security capabilities the support of UP IP and/or support for selected integrity protection. In certain embodiments, the UE includes the UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate for symmetric integrity protection mode and for asymmetric for DL only and/or UL only integrity protection mode, and the RAN node sends a RRC Connection Reconfiguration Request to the UE for UP security activation containing indications for the activation of UP integrity protection and ciphering for each DRB according to the security policy [Kunz; ¶69, 84]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ni in view of Kunz to includes the supported integrity protection security capabilities with the motivation to improved integrity protection on the user plane [Kunz; ¶39].
Ni-Kunz combination discloses an UE establishing session with a RAN, the request message and may indicate in the security capabilities the support of UP IP and/or support for selected integrity protection. In certain embodiments, the UE includes the UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate for symmetric integrity protection mode and for asymmetric for DL only and/or UL only integrity protection mode, and the RAN node sends a RRC Connection Reconfiguration Request to the UE for UP security activation containing indications for the activation of UP integrity protection and ciphering for each DRB according to the security policy. Ni-Kunz combination does not explicilty discloses wherein the indication includes an identifier for one of a plurality of predefined user plane integrity protection modes, and wherein the receiving radio access node is an ng-eNB; However, in a related and analogous art, Luo teaches these features.
In particular, Luo teaches that the RAN used are NG-RANs, and that send an indication indicating whether user plane integrity protection corresponding to the PDU session identifier is enabled, so that the second base station determines, according to the indication, whether to derive a user plane integrity protection key corresponding to the PDU session identifier. The UE encrypts and/or performs integrity protection on user plane data and an RRC message based on the encryption algorithm and the integrity protection algorithm selected by the base station and the user plane key and the control plane key, the RRC message sent by UE includes at least one of a UE identity, an original cell identifier, an authentication code shortMAC-I, a control plane CU indication or a user plane CU indication, and a PDU session identifier [Luo; ¶25-27, 333-335; Figs 1-2, 12, 23 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ni-Kunz combination with RRC message of Luo, with the motivation to indicate the preferred algorithm and method of communications.
Regarding claim 2 Ni-Kunz-Luo combination discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the user plane integrity protection mode comprises one of: the UE supports user plane integrity protection in PDCP with a radio access node at a full data rate, and the UE supports user plane integrity protection in PDCP with the radio access node at a defined rate that is less than the full data rate (the UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate for symmetric integrity protection mode [Kunz; ¶69, 84]. The motivation to improved integrity protection on the user plane [Kunz; ¶39].
Regarding claim 4 Ni-Kunz-Luo combination discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the session management node comprises a session management function (a session management function (SMF) entity [Ni; ¶44]).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAO Q HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432