DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a reply to the request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 4/10/2026, in which Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7 are presented for examination.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are newly added.
Claim 3 is canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Argument
Claim Objection:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to objection of claim(s) 1, 5 have been considered. The objection has been withdrawn in view of the amendment(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112:
Applicants’ arguments with respect to 112 1st paragraph with rejection of claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 112 1st paragraph has been withdrawn in view of the amendment(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni et al. (US 20200029207 A1; hereinafter Ni) in view of Kunz et al. (US 20200037165 A1; hereinafter Kunz) further in view of De Kievit et al. (US 20220132316 A1; hereinafter Kievit).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Ni discloses a method performed by a user equipment, UE, for enabling user plane integrity protection of data in a security protocol in a radio access network, the method comprising:
sending a session establishment request towards a session management node that includes an indication of a user plane [integrity protection] mode supported by the UE (UE sends a session establishment request message to an SMF entity, where the session establishment response message may include a security attribute of the session corresponding to the security requirement. In an optional implementation, the session establishment response message may further include user plane protocol stack indication information, and the user plane protocol stack indication information is used to indicate the encapsulation format of the data of the application. [Ni; ¶8, 11, 115-132; Figs. 1-2, 4, 6 and associated texts]); and
receiving an activation message from a receiving radio access node, wherein the receiving radio access node is an evolved long term evolution radio access node (receiving the response message via the access node (AN), where the AN is an eNB [Ni; ¶8, 45, 115-132; Figs. 4, 6 and associated texts]). Ni discloses a User equipment (UE) determines a security attribute of a session of the UE; the UE sends a session establishment request message to a control plane node when the security attribute of the session of the UE does not meet a security requirement of an application. The session establishment request message is used to request to establish a session corresponding to the security requirement of the application. Ni does not explicilty discloses the message security attribute is an indication of a user plane integrity protection mode supported and receiving an activation message from a receiving radio access node that includes an indication to the UE to activate the user plane integrity protection mode for a data radio bearer established with the receiving radio access node and wherein the user plane integrity protection mode comprises that the UE supports user plane integrity protection in packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) with a radio access node [at a defined rate that is less than the full data rate]; however, in a related and analogous art, Kunz teaches these features.
In particular, Kunz teaches the UE request message and may indicate in the security capabilities the support of UP IP and/or support for selected integrity protection. In certain embodiments, the UE includes the UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate for symmetric integrity protection mode and for asymmetric for DL only and/or UL only integrity protection mode, and the RAN node sends a RRC Connection Reconfiguration Request to the UE for UP security activation containing indications for the activation of UP integrity protection and ciphering for each DRB according to the security policy [Kunz; ¶69, 84]. The UE communicates with the RAN, supporting the UPIP security features over the PDCP radio protocol [Kunz; ¶11-12, 42-44, 67-73 79; Figs. 2A-2B and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ni in view of Kunz to includes the supported integrity protection security capabilities with the motivation to improved integrity protection on the user plane [Kunz; ¶39].
Ni-Kunz combination discloses an UE establishing session with a RAN, the request message and may indicate in the security capabilities the support of UP IP and/or support for selected integrity protection. In certain embodiments, the UE includes the UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate for symmetric integrity protection mode and for asymmetric for DL only and/or UL only integrity protection mode, and the RAN node sends a RRC Connection Reconfiguration Request to the UE for UP security activation containing indications for the activation of UP integrity protection and ciphering for each DRB according to the security policy. Ni-Kunz combination does not explicilty discloses a defined rate that is less than the full data rate; however, in a related and analogous art, Kievit teaches this feature.
In particular, Kievit teaches integrity protection in 4G and 5G system, especially in the context of Dual Connectivity (DC) involving both 4G and 5G base stations, where routing through eNB/gNB by using PDCP in user plane and specifying the UE’s UP IP capability, often time the maximum data rate the UE supports the UP IP out of the full data rate [Kievit, ¶303-306, 344, 383; Figs. 1-3, 7-9 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ni-Kunz combination in view of Kievit with the motivation to support max capabilities between UE and RAN.
Regarding claim 2, Ni-Kunz-Kievit combination discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein indication includes the defined rate for user plane integrity protection (defined the maximum data rate the UE supports the UP IP out of the full data rate [Kievit, ¶303-306, 344, 383; Figs. 7-9 and associated texts]). The motivation to support max capabilities between UE and RAN.
Regarding claim 4, Ni-Kunz-Kievit combination discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the session management node comprises a session management function (a session management function (SMF) entity [Ni; ¶44]).
Regarding claim 6, Ni-Kunz-Kievit combination discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the radio access node is an evolved long term evolution radio access node (LTE system [Kievit; ¶29-32]). The motivation to support max capabilities between UE and RAN.
Regarding claim 7, Ni-Kunz-Kievit combination discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the radio access node is a Next Generation Evolved Node-B (ng-eNB) (next generation eNBs (ng-eNBs) [Kievit; ¶36]). The motivation to support max capabilities between UE and RAN.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http:ljwww.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/DAO Q HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432