DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/26/2024 and 07/23/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s Response dated 07/23/2026. No claim was amended. No new claim was added.
The applicant argues (see page 7 line 16 of the applicant arguments) that “Lim merely discloses detecting a single field repetition and does not teach detecting two field repetitions (a repetition of the legacy signal field and a repletion of a non-legacy signal field)”. The applicant argument is persuasive.
However just the way Lim is teaching determining a non-legacy PPDU format based on repetition of legacy PPDU field, other references such as Chen (USPGPub 2021/0367886) is teaching determining a non-legacy PPDU format based on repetition of non-legacy PPDU field. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine this two references to arrive at the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6, 8, 9, 10, 16, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2021/0367886), Chen hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 6, Chen teaches a method performed by a wireless device operating in a wireless network to auto-detect a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) format of a PPDU, the method comprising: (paragraph 0107 … In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105).). U-SIG is a type of non-legacy PPDU field.
wirelessly receiving the PPDU; (paragraph 0107 … In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105).). U-SIG is a type of non-legacy PPDU field.
determining that the PPDU has a particular non-legacy PPDU format based on detecting a legacy signal field, a repeated legacy signal field, a non-legacy signal field, and a repeated non-legacy signal field in the PPDU; and (paragraph 0090 FIG. 9A shows an example PHY preamble 900 for a non-legacy PPDU according to some implementations. In some implementations, the PHY preamble 900 may be one example of the PHY preamble, which includes portions 602 and 604, of FIG. 6. The PHY preamble 900 includes L-STF 901, L-LTF 902, L-SIG 903, RL-SIG 904, U-SIG 905, EHT-SIG 906, EHT-STF 907, and EHT-LTF 908. In the example of FIG. 9A, U-SIG 905 includes four U-SIG symbols (U-SIG-1, U-SIG-2, U-SIG-3, and U-SIG-4) and EHT-SIG 906 includes two EHT-SIG symbols (EHT-SIG-1 and EHT-SIG-2). More specifically, U-SIG-2 may be a duplicate of U-SIG-1, U-SIG-4 may be a duplicate of U-SIG-3, and EHT-SIG2 may be a duplicate of EHT-SIG-1. ... [0104] ... to improve the reliability and robustness of the ER PPDU 1100 over greater distances, U-SIG 1105 may be repeated (in the time domain). For example, the information in U-SIG 1105 may be carried on two unique U-SIG symbols. However, with repetition, the same information may be duplicated or repeated on two additional U-SIG symbols. ... [0107] … In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105).). U-SIG is a type of non-legacy PPDU field.
interpreting the PPDU as having the particular non-legacy PPDU format in response to determining that the PPDU has the particular non-legacy PPDU format (paragraph [0104] ... to improve the reliability and robustness of the ER PPDU 1100 over greater distances, U-SIG 1105 may be repeated (in the time domain). For example, the information in U-SIG 1105 may be carried on two unique U-SIG symbols. However, with repetition, the same information may be duplicated or repeated on two additional U-SIG symbols. ... [0107] … In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105).). U-SIG is a type of non-legacy PPDU field.
Regarding Claim 8, Chen teaches Claim 6.
Chen further teaches wherein the PPDU is determined to have the particular non-legacy PPDU format further based on a determination that a length of the PPDU indicated in the legacy signal field is a multiple of three (paragraph 0091 - ... The receiving device may further determine, based on a length field (L_LEN) of L-SIG 903, that the PPDU also conforms with the IEEE 802.11be amendment to the IEEE 802.11 standard (where L_LEN %3==0).)
Regarding Claim 9, Chen teaches Claim 6.
Chen further teaches wherein the PPDU is received in a 6 Gigahertz (GHz) band. (paragraph 0050 - … The APs 102 and STAs 104 in the WLAN 100 may transmit PPDUs over an unlicensed spectrum, which may be a portion of spectrum that includes frequency bands traditionally used by Wi-Fi technology, such as the 2.4 GHz band, the 5 GHz band, the 60 GHz band, the 3.6 GHz band, and the 700 MHz band. Some implementations of the APs 102 and STAs 104 described herein also may communicate in other frequency bands, such as the 6 GHz band, … )
Regarding Claim 10, Chen teaches Claim 6.
Chen further teaches wherein the particular non-legacy PPDU format is provided by a particular version of a wireless networking standard. (paragraph 0107 - … In some implementations, the PPDU 1100 may be classified as an ER PPDU when the PHY version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105 indicates the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards. In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105).)
Regarding Claim 16, Chen teaches 16 wireless device comprising: (fig. 4, fig. 5A and fig. 5B)
a radio frequency transceiver; (fig. 4, fig. 5A and fig. 5B)
a memory device storing a set of instructions; and (fig. 4, fig. 5A and fig. 5B)
a processor coupled to the memory device, wherein the set of instructions when executed by the processor causes the wireless device to: (fig. 4, fig. 5A and fig. 5B)
wirelessly receive a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), (paragraph 0107 … In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105).). U-SIG is a type of non-legacy PPDU field.
determining that the PPDU has a particular non-legacy PPDU format based on detecting a legacy signal field, a repeated legacy signal field, a non-legacy signal field, and a repeated non-legacy signal field in the PPDU, and (paragraph 0090 FIG. 9A shows an example PHY preamble 900 for a non-legacy PPDU according to some implementations. In some implementations, the PHY preamble 900 may be one example of the PHY preamble, which includes portions 602 and 604, of FIG. 6. The PHY preamble 900 includes L-STF 901, L-LTF 902, L-SIG 903, RL-SIG 904, U-SIG 905, EHT-SIG 906, EHT-STF 907, and EHT-LTF 908. In the example of FIG. 9A, U-SIG 905 includes four U-SIG symbols (U-SIG-1, U-SIG-2, U-SIG-3, and U-SIG-4) and EHT-SIG 906 includes two EHT-SIG symbols (EHT-SIG-1 and EHT-SIG-2). More specifically, U-SIG-2 may be a duplicate of U-SIG-1, U-SIG-4 may be a duplicate of U-SIG-3, and EHT-SIG2 may be a duplicate of EHT-SIG-1. ... [0104] ... to improve the reliability and robustness of the ER PPDU 1100 over greater distances, U-SIG 1105 may be repeated (in the time domain). For example, the information in U-SIG 1105 may be carried on two unique U-SIG symbols. However, with repetition, the same information may be duplicated or repeated on two additional U-SIG symbols. ... [0107] … In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105).). U-SIG is a type of non-legacy PPDU field.
interpreting the PPDU as having the particular non-legacy PPDU format in response to determining that the PPDU has the particular non-legacy PPDU format (paragraph [0104] ... to improve the reliability and robustness of the ER PPDU 1100 over greater distances, U-SIG 1105 may be repeated (in the time domain). For example, the information in U-SIG 1105 may be carried on two unique U-SIG symbols. However, with repetition, the same information may be duplicated or repeated on two additional U-SIG symbols. ... [0107] … In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105).). U-SIG is a type of non-legacy PPDU field.
Regarding Claim 18, Chen teaches Claim 16.
Chen further teaches wherein the PPDU is determined to have the particular non-legacy PPDU format further based on a determination that a length of the PPDU indicated in the legacy signal field is a multiple of three. (paragraph 0091 - ... The receiving device may further determine, based on a length field (L_LEN) of L-SIG 903, that the PPDU also conforms with the IEEE 802.11be amendment to the IEEE 802.11 standard (where L_LEN %3==0).)
Regarding Claim 19, Chen teaches Claim 16.
Chen further teaches wherein the PPDU is received in a 6 Gigahertz (GHz) band. (paragraph 0050 - … The APs 102 and STAs 104 in the WLAN 100 may transmit PPDUs over an unlicensed spectrum, which may be a portion of spectrum that includes frequency bands traditionally used by Wi-Fi technology, such as the 2.4 GHz band, the 5 GHz band, the 60 GHz band, the 3.6 GHz band, and the 700 MHz band. Some implementations of the APs 102 and STAs 104 described herein also may communicate in other frequency bands, such as the 6 GHz band, … )
Regarding Claim 20, Chen teaches Claim 16.
Chen further teaches wherein the particular non-legacy PPDU format is provided by a particular version of a wireless networking standard (paragraph 0107 - … In some implementations, the PPDU 1100 may be classified as an ER PPDU when the PHY version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105 indicates the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards. In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 11, 13, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0367886), Chen hereinafter, in view of Lim et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0258407), Lim hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Chen teaches a method performed by a wireless device operating in a wireless network to transmit a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) having a PPDU format that can be auto-detected, the method comprising: (paragraph 0107 … In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105).). U-SIG is a type of non-legacy PPDU field.
generating the PPDU to include a legacy signal field, a repeated legacy signal field, a non-legacy signal field, and a repeated non-legacy signal field; and (paragraph 0090 FIG. 9A shows an example PHY preamble 900 for a non-legacy PPDU according to some implementations. In some implementations, the PHY preamble 900 may be one example of the PHY preamble, which includes portions 602 and 604, of FIG. 6. The PHY preamble 900 includes L-STF 901, L-LTF 902, L-SIG 903, RL-SIG 904, U-SIG 905, EHT-SIG 906, EHT-STF 907, and EHT-LTF 908. In the example of FIG. 9A, U-SIG 905 includes four U-SIG symbols (U-SIG-1, U-SIG-2, U-SIG-3, and U-SIG-4) and EHT-SIG 906 includes two EHT-SIG symbols (EHT-SIG-1 and EHT-SIG-2). More specifically, U-SIG-2 may be a duplicate of U-SIG-1, U-SIG-4 may be a duplicate of U-SIG-3, and EHT-SIG2 may be a duplicate of EHT-SIG-1. ... [0104] ... to improve the reliability and robustness of the ER PPDU 1100 over greater distances, U-SIG 1105 may be repeated (in the time domain). For example, the information in U-SIG 1105 may be carried on two unique U-SIG symbols. However, with repetition, the same information may be duplicated or repeated on two additional U-SIG symbols. ... [0107] … In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105).). U-SIG is a type of non-legacy PPDU field.
wirelessly transmitting the PPDU, wherein non-legacy wireless devices are able to determine that the PPDU has a particular non-legacy PPDU format based on detecting repetitions of the non-legacy signal field in the PPDU (paragraph [0104] ... to improve the reliability and robustness of the ER PPDU 1100 over greater distances, U-SIG 1105 may be repeated (in the time domain). For example, the information in U-SIG 1105 may be carried on two unique U-SIG symbols. However, with repetition, the same information may be duplicated or repeated on two additional U-SIG symbols. ... [0107] … In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105). U-SIG is a non-legacy signal PPDU field.
Yet, Chien does not expressly teach wirelessly transmitting the PPDU, wherein non-legacy wireless devices are able to determine that the PPDU has a particular non-legacy PPDU format based on detecting repetitions of the legacy signal field in the PPDU.
However, in the analogous art, Lim explicitly discloses wirelessly transmitting the PPDU, wherein non-legacy wireless devices are able to determine that the PPDU has a particular non-legacy PPDU format based on detecting repetitions of the legacy signal field in the PPDU (paragraph 0131 - ... Accordingly, when the repeated L-SIG exists after the L-SIG, the HE STA may determine that the received PPDU is an HE type. …). HE stands for High Efficiency (a type of non-legacy PPDU.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s determination that the PPDU has a particular non-legacy PPDU format based on detecting repetitions of the non-legacy signal field in the PPDU with Lim’s determination that the PPDU has a particular non-legacy PPDU format based on detecting repetitions of the legacy signal field in the PPDU to get determination of the PPDU has a particular non-legacy PPDU format based on detecting repetitions of the legacy signal field and the non-legacy signal field in the PPDU to achieve another design choice.
Regarding Claim 3, Chen in view of Lim teaches Claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the legacy signal field indicates a length of the PPDU, wherein the non-legacy wireless devices are able to determine that the PPDU has the particular non-legacy PPDU format further based on the length of the PPDU indicated in the legacy signal field being a multiple of three. (paragraph 0091 - ... The receiving device may further determine, based on a length field (L_LEN) of L-SIG 903, that the PPDU also conforms with the IEEE 802.11be amendment to the IEEE 802.11 standard (where L_LEN %3==0).)
Regarding Claim 4, Chen in view of Lim teaches Claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the PPDU is transmitted in a 6 Gigahertz (GHz) band (paragraph 0050 - … The APs 102 and STAs 104 in the WLAN 100 may transmit PPDUs over an unlicensed spectrum, which may be a portion of spectrum that includes frequency bands traditionally used by Wi-Fi technology, such as the 2.4 GHz band, the 5 GHz band, the 60 GHz band, the 3.6 GHz band, and the 700 MHz band. Some implementations of the APs 102 and STAs 104 described herein also may communicate in other frequency bands, such as the 6 GHz band, … )
Regarding Claim 5, Chen in view of Lim teaches Claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the particular non-legacy PPDU format is provided by a particular version of a wireless networking standard. (paragraph 0107 - … In some implementations, the PPDU 1100 may be classified as an ER PPDU when the PHY version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105 indicates the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards. In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105).)
Regarding Claim 11, Chen teaches a wireless device comprising: (fig. 4, fig. 5A and fig. 5B)
a radio frequency transceiver; (fig. 4, fig. 5A and fig. 5B)
a memory device storing a set of instructions; and (fig. 4, fig. 5A and fig. 5B)
a processor coupled to the memory device, wherein the set of instructions when executed by the processor causes the wireless device to: (fig. 4, fig. 5A and fig. 5B)
generate a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) that includes a legacy signal field, a repeated legacy signal field, a non-legacy signal field, and a repeated non-legacy signal field and (paragraph 0090 FIG. 9A shows an example PHY preamble 900 for a non-legacy PPDU according to some implementations. In some implementations, the PHY preamble 900 may be one example of the PHY preamble, which includes portions 602 and 604, of FIG. 6. The PHY preamble 900 includes L-STF 901, L-LTF 902, L-SIG 903, RL-SIG 904, U-SIG 905, EHT-SIG 906, EHT-STF 907, and EHT-LTF 908. In the example of FIG. 9A, U-SIG 905 includes four U-SIG symbols (U-SIG-1, U-SIG-2, U-SIG-3, and U-SIG-4) and EHT-SIG 906 includes two EHT-SIG symbols (EHT-SIG-1 and EHT-SIG-2). More specifically, U-SIG-2 may be a duplicate of U-SIG-1, U-SIG-4 may be a duplicate of U-SIG-3, and EHT-SIG2 may be a duplicate of EHT-SIG-1. ... [0104] ... to improve the reliability and robustness of the ER PPDU 1100 over greater distances, U-SIG 1105 may be repeated (in the time domain). For example, the information in U-SIG 1105 may be carried on two unique U-SIG symbols. However, with repetition, the same information may be duplicated or repeated on two additional U-SIG symbols. ... [0107] … In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105).). U-SIG is a type of non-legacy PPDU field.
wirelessly transmitting the PPDU, wherein non-legacy wireless devices are able to determine that the PPDU has a particular non-legacy PPDU format based on detecting repetitions of the non-legacy signal field in the PPDU (paragraph [0104] ... to improve the reliability and robustness of the ER PPDU 1100 over greater distances, U-SIG 1105 may be repeated (in the time domain). For example, the information in U-SIG 1105 may be carried on two unique U-SIG symbols. However, with repetition, the same information may be duplicated or repeated on two additional U-SIG symbols. ... [0107] … In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105). U-SIG is a non-legacy signal PPDU field.
Yet, Chien does not expressly teach wirelessly transmitting the PPDU, wherein non-legacy wireless devices are able to determine that the PPDU has a particular non-legacy PPDU format based on detecting repetitions of the legacy signal field in the PPDU.
However, in the analogous art, Lim explicitly discloses wirelessly transmitting the PPDU, wherein non-legacy wireless devices are able to determine that the PPDU has a particular non-legacy PPDU format based on detecting repetitions of the legacy signal field in the PPDU (paragraph 0131 - ... Accordingly, when the repeated L-SIG exists after the L-SIG, the HE STA may determine that the received PPDU is an HE type. …). HE stands for High Efficiency (a type of non-legacy PPDU.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s determination that the PPDU has a particular non-legacy PPDU format based on detecting repetitions of the non-legacy signal field in the PPDU with Lim’s determination that the PPDU has a particular non-legacy PPDU format based on detecting repetitions of the legacy signal field in the PPDU to get determination of the PPDU has a particular non-legacy PPDU format based on detecting repetitions of the legacy signal field and the non-legacy signal field in the PPDU to achieve another design choice.
Regarding Claim 13, Chen in view of Lim teaches Claim 11.
Chen further teaches wherein the legacy signal field indicates a length of the PPDU, wherein the non-legacy wireless devices are able to determine that the PPDU has the particular non-legacy PPDU format further based on the length of the PPDU indicated in the legacy signal field being a multiple of three. (paragraph 0091 - ... The receiving device may further determine, based on a length field (L_LEN) of L-SIG 903, that the PPDU also conforms with the IEEE 802.11be amendment to the IEEE 802.11 standard (where L_LEN %3==0).)
Regarding Claim 14, Chen in view of Lim teaches Claim 11.
Chen further teaches wherein the PPDU is transmitted in a 6 Gigahertz (GHz) band (paragraph 0050 - … The APs 102 and STAs 104 in the WLAN 100 may transmit PPDUs over an unlicensed spectrum, which may be a portion of spectrum that includes frequency bands traditionally used by Wi-Fi technology, such as the 2.4 GHz band, the 5 GHz band, the 60 GHz band, the 3.6 GHz band, and the 700 MHz band. Some implementations of the APs 102 and STAs 104 described herein also may communicate in other frequency bands, such as the 6 GHz band, … )
Regarding Claim 15, Chen in view of Lim teaches Claim 11.
Chen further teaches wherein the particular non-legacy PPDU format is provided by a particular version of a wireless networking standard. (paragraph 0107 - … In some implementations, the PPDU 1100 may be classified as an ER PPDU when the PHY version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105 indicates the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards. In other words, a receiving device may determine that the PPDU 1100 is formatted as an ER PPDU by detecting the repetition in U-SIG 1105 (based on the modulation scheme associated with U-SIG-2) and determining that the PPDU 1100 is transmitted in accordance with the IEEE 802.11be amendment of the IEEE 802.11 standards (based on the version identifier subfield of U-SIG 1105).)
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0367886), Chen hereinafter, in view of Lim et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0258407), Lim hereinafter, and further in view of Balakrishnan et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2024/0015059), Balakrishnan hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 2, Chen in view of Lim teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Chen in view of Lim does not expressly teach wherein the PPDU is generated to further include a legacy short training field, a repeated legacy short training field, a legacy long training field, and a repeated long training field.
However, in the analogous art, Balakrishnan explicitly discloses wherein the PPDU is generated to further include a legacy short training field, a repeated legacy short training field, a legacy long training field, and a repeated long training field (paragraph 0016 discloses a legacy short training field, a repeated legacy short training field, a legacy long training field, and a repeated long training field.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s Physical layer preamble design to include Balakrishnan's multiple PPDU fields to achieve PPDU that is both backward and forward compatible.
Regarding Claim 12, Chen in view of Lim teaches Claim 11.
Yet, Chen in view of Lim does not expressly teach wherein the PPDU is generated to further include a legacy short training field, a repeated legacy short training field, a legacy long training field, and a repeated long training field.
However, in the analogous art, Balakrishnan explicitly discloses wherein the PPDU is generated to further include a legacy short training field, a repeated legacy short training field, a legacy long training field, and a repeated long training field (paragraph 0016 discloses a legacy short training field, a repeated legacy short training field, a legacy long training field, and a repeated long training field.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s Physical layer preamble design to include Balakrishnan's multiple PPDU fields to achieve PPDU that is both backward and forward compatible.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0367886), Chen hereinafter, in view of Balakrishnan et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2024/0015059), Balakrishnan hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 7, Chen in teaches Claim 6.
Yet, Chen does not expressly teach wherein the PPDU further includes a legacy short training field, a repeated legacy short training field, a legacy long training field, and a repeated long training field that precede the legacy signal field, the repeated legacy signal field, the non-legacy signal field, and the repeated non-legacy signal field.
However, in the analogous art, Balakrishnan explicitly discloses wherein the PPDU further includes a legacy short training field, a repeated legacy short training field, a legacy long training field, and a repeated long training field that precede the legacy signal field, the repeated legacy signal field, the non-legacy signal field, and the repeated non-legacy signal field (paragraph 0016 discloses a legacy short training field, a repeated legacy short training field, a legacy long training field, and a repeated long training field.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s Physical layer preamble design to include Balakrishnan's multiple PPDU fields to achieve PPDU that is both backward and forward compatible.
Regarding Claim 17, Chen in teaches Claim 16.
Yet, Chen does not expressly teach wherein the PPDU further includes a legacy short training field, a repeated legacy short training field, a legacy long training field, and a repeated long training field that precede the legacy signal field, the repeated legacy signal field, the non-legacy signal field, and the repeated non-legacy signal field.
However, in the analogous art, Balakrishnan explicitly discloses wherein the PPDU further includes a legacy short training field, a repeated legacy short training field, a legacy long training field, and a repeated long training field that precede the legacy signal field, the repeated legacy signal field, the non-legacy signal field, and the repeated non-legacy signal field (paragraph 0016 discloses a legacy short training field, a repeated legacy short training field, a legacy long training field, and a repeated long training field.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s Physical layer preamble design to include Balakrishnan's multiple PPDU fields to achieve PPDU that is both backward and forward compatible.
Conclusion
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472