Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as file 04/26/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0047] recites “The meter 12 may be operatively engaged to the body 12 by insertion of the first meter connection pins 11…” Please correct the item number of the “body” from “12” to “16”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 discloses the limitation “…said body having a pair of secondary input connectors on said first side electrically connected with pair of first pins…”. Since this is the first time the underlined claim limitation is disclosed, please change said claim limitation to “a pair of first pins”.
Claim 1 discloses the limitation “…said body having a pair of secondary output connectors on said first side electrically connected with pair of second pins …”. Since this is the first time the underlined claim limitation is disclosed, please change said claim limitation to “a pair of second pins”.
Claim 1 discloses the limitation “…said first pair of pins being electrically connected to said bracket input connectors…”. The underlined limitation in question appears to refer to the same “pair of first pins” disclosed earlier in Claim 1; therefor, for the purposes of consistency, please change the underlined claim limitations to “said pair of first pins”.
Claim 1 discloses the limitation “…said second pair of pins being electrically connected to said bracket output connectors …”. The underlined limitation in question appears to refer to the same “pair of second pins” disclosed earlier in Claim 1; therefor, for the purposes of consistency, please change the underlined claim limitations to “said pair of second pins”.
Claim 4 discloses the limitation “…said body having a pair of secondary input connectors on said first side electrically connected with pair of first pins…”. Since this is the first time the underlined claim limitation is disclosed, please change said claim limitation to “a pair of first pins”.
Claim 4 discloses the limitation “…said body having a pair of secondary output connectors on said first side electrically connected with pair of second pins …”. Since this is the first time the underlined claim limitation is disclosed, please change said claim limitation to “a pair of second pins”.
Claim 4 discloses the limitation “…said first pair of pins being electrically connected to said bracket input connectors…”. The underlined limitation in question appears to refer to the same “pair of first pins” disclosed earlier in Claim 4; therefor, for the purposes of consistency, please change the underlined claim limitations to “said pair of first pins”.
Claim 4 discloses the limitation “…said second pair of pins being electrically connected to said bracket output connectors …”. The underlined limitation in question appears to refer to the same “pair of second pins” disclosed earlier in Claim 4; therefor, for the purposes of consistency, please change the underlined claim limitations to “said pair of second pins”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses the limitations “…said electric power meter electrically connected with both said secondary input connectors and said secondary output connectors whereby electric current flowing from said secondary input connectors to said secondary output connectors is measured thereby…” in lines 22-26 of Claim 1. It is not clear if the underlined claim limitations in question refer to the same “pair of secondary input connector” and “pair of secondary output connectors” disclosed earlier in Claim 1 (in lines 5 and 8 respectively), or if they refer to different “secondary input connectors” and “secondary output connectors”. If they are the same, then please changed the underlined claim limitations to “said pair of secondary input connectors” and “said pair of secondary output connectors”.
Claim 1 discloses the limitations “…a secondary output circuit electrically connected to at least one of said secondary output connectors…” in lines 27-28 of Claim 1. It is not clear if the underlined claim limitation in question refers to the same “pair of secondary output connectors” disclosed earlier in Claim 1 (in line 8), or if it refers to different “secondary output connectors”. If it is the same, then please change the underlined claim limitation to “said pair of secondary output connectors”.
Claim 4 discloses the limitations “…said electric power meter electrically connected with both said secondary input connectors and said secondary output connectors whereby electric current flowing from said secondary input connectors to said secondary output connectors is measured thereby…” in lines 22-26 of Claim 4. It is not clear if the underlined claim limitations in question refer to the same “pair of secondary input connector” and “pair of secondary output connectors” disclosed earlier in Claim 4 (in lines 5 and 8 respectively), or if they refer to different “secondary input connectors” and “secondary output connectors”. If they are the same, then please change the underlined claim limitations to “said pair of secondary input connectors” and “said pair of secondary output connectors”.
Claim 4 discloses the limitations “…a secondary output circuit electrically connected to at least one of said secondary output connectors…” in lines 27-28 of Claim 4. It is not clear if the underlined claim limitation in question refers to the same “pair of secondary output connectors” disclosed earlier in Claim 4 (in line 8), or if it refers to different “secondary output connectors”. If it is the same, then please change the underlined claim limitation to “said pair of secondary output connectors”.
Claim 4 discloses the limitation “…a secondary power meter operatively connected with said secondary circuit whereby…” in lines 30-31 of Claim 4. It is not clear if the underlined claim limitation refers to the same “secondary output circuit” disclosed earlier in Claim 4 (in line 27) or if it refers to a different “secondary circuit”. If it is the same, then please change the underlined claim limitation to “said secondary output circuit”.
Claim 4 discloses the limitation “…a secondary power meter operatively connected with said secondary circuit whereby said secondary electric power meter measures…” in lines 30-32 of Claim 4. It is not clear if the underlined claim limitation refers to the same “secondary power meter” disclosed earlier in Claim 4 (in line 30) or if it refers to a different “secondary electric power meter”; If it is the same, the please establish which of the terms (“secondary power meter” or “secondary electric power meter”) is the correct term; so that it is consistent throughout Claim 4 as well as dependent Claim 6 (it recites “secondary power meter”, therefore it would have the same issue seen in Claim 4).
Claim 5 discloses the limitation “…said outlet being engageable with an electrically powered device…” in line 5 of Claim 5. It is not clear if the underlined limitation refers to the same “electrical outlet” disclosed earlier in Claim 5 (in lines 3-4) or if it refers to a different “outlet”. If it is the same, please change the underlined limitation to “said electrical outlet”.
Please make the proper corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ferree US 2022/0311197 (Hereinafter Ferree).
Regarding claim 1, Ferree teaches an electric power interface (Figs. 1, 2) comprising:
a body (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50) having a first side (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50) opposite a second side (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50) and having a sidewall (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50) extending from said first side and said second side (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50);
said body (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50) having a pair of secondary input connectors ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts A, B)) on said first side electrically connected with pair of first pins ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts A, B)) extending from said first side of said body ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts A, B));
said body (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50) having a pair of secondary output connectors ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts C, D)) on said first side electrically connected with pair of second pins (Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts C, D)) extending from said first side of said body ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts C, D));
said body (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50) positionable to a sandwiched position in between a bracket (Figs. 1, 3; panel, 20) having bracket input connectors (Figs. 1, 3; receptacles, 22) engaged to a power grid (Figs. 1, 3; [0012-0014]; 12, 14) and bracket output connectors (Figs. 1, 3; receptacles, 22) electrically engaged to a power panel having electric circuits extending therefrom (Figs. 1, 3; [0012-0014]; receptacles, 22), and an electric power meter (Figs. 1, 3; meter, 10);
said first pair of pins being electrically connected to said bracket input connectors with said body in said sandwiched position ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts A, B));
said second pair of pins being electrically connected to said bracket output connectors with said body in said sandwiched position ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts C, D));
said electric power meter (Figs. 1, 3; meter, 10) electrically connected with both said secondary input connectors ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts A, B)) and said secondary output connectors ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts C, D)) whereby electric current flowing from said secondary input connectors to said secondary output connectors is measured thereby (Figs. 1, 3; meter, 10); and
a secondary output circuit (Fig. 2; line, 115) electrically connected to at least one of said secondary output connectors ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts C, D)), whereby an electrically powered device is engageable to said secondary output circuit and powered thereby (Fig. 2; line, 115).
Regarding claim 2, Ferree further teaches the electric power interface of claim 1 additionally comprising: said secondary output circuit terminating at an electrical outlet engaged with said sidewall of said body (Figs. 1, 2; line, 115); and said electrically powered device being engageable to said electrical outlet (Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 3, The electric power interface of claim 1 additionally comprising: an electronic tracking component (Figs. 1, 2; [0016, 0017]) electrically connected with said secondary output circuit (Figs. 1, 2; line, 115), said electronic tracking component measuring only a portion of the electric current communicated through said secondary output circuit (Figs. 1, 2; [0016, 0017]).
Regarding claim 4, Ferree teaches an electric power interface (Figs. 1, 2) comprising:
a body (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50) having a first side (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50) opposite a second side (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50) and having a sidewall (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50) extending said first side and said second side (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50);
said body (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50) having a pair of secondary input connectors ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts A, B)) on said first side electrically connected with pair of first pins ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts A, B)) extending from said first side of said body ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts A, B));
said body (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50) having a pair of secondary output connectors ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts C, D)) on said first side electrically connected with pair of second pins ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts C, D)) extending from said first side of said body ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts C, D));
said body (Figs. 1, 2; housing, 50) positionable to a sandwiched position in-between a bracket (Figs. 1, 3; panel, 20) having bracket input connectors (Figs. 1, 3; receptacles, 22) engaged to a power grid (Figs. 1, 3; [0012-0014]; 12, 14) and bracket output connectors (Figs. 1, 3; receptacles, 22)electrically engaged to a power panel having electric circuits extending therefrom (Figs. 1, 3; receptacles, 22), and an electric power meter (Figs. 1, 3; meter, 10);
said first pair of pins being electrically connected to said bracket input connectors with said body in said sandwiched position ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts A, B)); said
said second pair of pins being electrically connected to said bracket output connectors with said body in said sandwiched position ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts C, D));
said electric power meter (Figs. 1, 3; meter, 10) electrically connected with both said secondary input connectors ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts A, B)) and said secondary output connectors ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts C, D)) whereby electric current flowing from said secondary input connectors to said secondary output connectors is measured thereby (Figs. 1, 3; meter, 10); and
a secondary output circuit (Fig. 2; line, 115) electrically connected to at least one of said secondary input connectors ((Figs. 1, 2; [0012, 0016-0017]; contact elements, 24, 80 (contacts A, B)) and communicating a secondary electric current therethrough (Fig. 2; [0016-0017]; line, 115); and
a secondary power meter ([0006]; Claim 10; second meter) operatively connected with said secondary circuit (Fig. 2; line, 115) whereby said secondary electric power meter measures said secondary electric current flowing through said secondary output circuit ([0006]; Claim 10; second meter).
Regarding claim 5, Ferree further teaches the electric power interface of claim 4, additionally comprising: said secondary output circuit (Fig. 2; [0016-0017]; line, 115) terminating at an electrical outlet engaged with said sidewall of said body (Figs. 1, 2; [0016-0017]; line, 115); and said outlet being engageable with an electrically powered device to thereby power said electrically powered device (Figs. 1, 2; [0016-0017]; line, 115).
Regarding claim 6, Ferree further teaches the electric power interface of claim 4, additionally comprising: said secondary output circuit (Fig. 2; [0016-0017]; line, 115) having at least one wire communicating through a conduit engaged with said sidewall (Figs. 1, 2; [0016-0017]; line, 115); and said secondary power meter ([0006]; Claim 10; second meter) engaged to said conduit whereby it is supported in a position adjacent said electric power meter (Figs. 1, 2; [0016-0017]; line, 115).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fulton et al. US 2017/0212160 - A watt-hour meter may include one or more electrical junction points that interface a Distributed Energy Resource to an energy-consuming structure and to the electrical distribution grid, while maintaining compliance with interconnection requirements for safety, power quality and automatic disconnect capabilities.
Schweitzer et al. US 2017/0322283 - Continuous monitoring of an electric power system during testing of a primary electric power meter is described herein.
Schamber et al. US 2019/0346506 - An electric meter that is configured to regenerate meter state data after a power loss includes a memory with at least one volatile and non-volatile memory device and a processor connected to the memory.
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858