Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over H250976 (hereinafter `976) in view of Japanese Patent (S62-163981) (hereinafter `981) filed in the IDS on 04/27/2024.
Re claim 1, `976, FIG. 1 [as shown above], 2 and 5 teaches an electrode connection element comprising:
an upper connection member (14/15) coming into contact with an upper surface of an electrode terminal (14) formed on a substrate (12);
a lower connection member (17) configured to support a lower surface of the substrate;
a connection member (11) configured to connect the upper connection member (14/15) and the lower connection member (17) to each other;
wherein the connection member comprises a bolt and a nut, or a rivet (11), and
the connection member (11) is inserted by passing through the upper connection member (14/15), the substrate (12), and the lower connection member (17), and
the upper connection member coming into contact with the upper surface of the electrode terminal.
`976 fails to teach the upper connection member comprises a plurality of protrusion portions protruding from a bottom surface thereof.
`976 teaches the upper connection member (7) comprises a plurality of protrusion portions (7a/7b) protruding from a bottom surface thereof.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of enhancing the manufacturing process as taught by `976.
Re claim 3, `976, FIG. 1 [as shown above] teaches the electrode connection element of claim 1, wherein the connection member comprises a bolt and a nut (11),
wherein the bolt is inserted from above the upper connection member to pass through the upper connection member (14/15), the substrate, and the lower connection member (17),
wherein the nut is fastened to an end portion of the bolt (11b/11c or 35/36 of FIG. 5), which is exposed from below the lower connection member (17 or 37 of FIG. 5), to support the lower connection member (17/37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent No. 1020130100367 (hereinafter `367) (refer to the machine’s translation version) in view of H250976 (hereinafter `976).
Re claim 1, `367 teaches an electrode connection element comprising:
an upper connection member (13b/13d/11a, see the Abstract) coming into contact with an upper surface of an electrode terminal (13b, page 6/11, 3rd paragraph) formed on a substrate (3);
a lower connection member (14c/14b/14a) configured to support a lower surface of the substrate;
a connection member (14/11/13) configured to connect the upper connection member (13b/13b) and the lower connection member (14c/14b/14a) to each other;
wherein the connection member comprises a bolt and a nut, or a rivet (14/11/13), and
the upper connection member (13b/13d/11a) comprises a plurality of protrusion portions (at least two 13d, Fig. 24) protruding from a bottom surface thereof.
`367 fails to teach the connection member is inserted by passing through the upper connection member, the substrate, and the lower connection member, and the upper connection member coming into contact with the upper surface of the electrode terminal.
`976, FIG. 1 [as shown above], 2 and 5 teaches the connection member (11) is inserted by passing through the upper connection member (14/15), the substrate (12), and the lower connection member (17), and the upper connection member (14/15) coming into contact with the upper surface of the electrode terminal (11).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of providing a different way to fasten the device layer as taught by `976.
Re claim 2, in the combination, `367 teaches the electrode connection element of claim 1, wherein the electrode terminal is formed of a conductive nonmetal material (13b), and
the upper connection member is formed of a conductive metal material (upper portion of 14, page 6 of 11).
Re claim 3, in the combination, `976, FIG. 1 [as shown above] teaches the electrode connection element of claim 1, wherein the connection member comprises a bolt and a nut (11),
wherein the bolt is inserted from above the upper connection member to pass through the upper connection member (14/15), the substrate, and the lower connection member (17),
wherein the nut is fastened to an end portion of the bolt (11b/11c or 35/36 of FIG. 5), which is exposed from below the lower connection member (17 or 37 of FIG. 5), to support the lower connection member (17/37).
Re claim 4, in the combination, `367 teaches the electrode connection element of claim 1, wherein the connection member comprises a rivet,
wherein the rivet is inserted from above the upper connection member to pass through the upper connection member (13b), the substrate (3/4), and the lower connection member (14c/14b/14a),
wherein an end portion of the rivet (14c) that is exposed from below the lower connection member is processed to support the lower connection member (14c/14b/14a).
Re claim 5, in the combination, `367 teaches the electrode connection element of claim 1, further comprising an elastic member (11) provided between the substrate (3/4) and the lower connection member (14c/14b/14a) and configured to maintain a contact between an upper surface of the electrode terminal and the upper connection member (13b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot due to a new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893