Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over H250976 (hereinafter `976) in view of Japanese Patent (S62-163981) (hereinafter `981) filed in the IDS on 04/27/2024 and further in view of KR100983082 (hereinafter `082).
Re claim 1, `976, FIG. 1 [as shown above], 2 and 5 teaches an electrode connection element comprising:
an upper connection member (14/15) formed of a conductive metal material and coming into contact with an upper surface of an electrode terminal (14) formed on a substrate (12);
a lower connection member (17) configured to support a lower surface of the substrate;
a connection member (11) configured to connect the upper connection member (14/15) and the lower connection member (17) to each other;
wherein the connection member comprises a bolt and a nut, or a rivet (11), and
the connection member (11) is inserted by passing through the upper connection member (14/15), the substrate (12), and the lower connection member (17), and
the upper connection member coming into contact with the upper surface of the electrode terminal.
`976 fails to teach the upper connection member comprises a plurality of protrusion portions protruding from a bottom surface thereof.
`981 teaches the upper connection member (7) comprises a plurality of protrusion portions (7a/7b) protruding from a bottom surface thereof.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of enhancing the manufacturing process as taught by `976.
Moreover, `976 fails to teach an electrode connection element configured to electrically connect an electrode terminal to an external drive circuit; and the upper connection member is electrically connected to a wiring line for connection with the external drive circuit through soldering.
`082 teaches an electrode connection element configured to electrically connect an electrode terminal to an external drive circuit; and the upper connection member (power pins 132a, page 4) is electrically connected to a wiring line (112) for connection with the external drive circuit (120).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of improving the reliability of connection as taught by `082, page 1.
Finally, `082, one embodiment fails to teach the connection through soldering,
`082 teaches another embodiment teaches the connection through soldering (“The first connector 50a is soldered on the PCB 10 through the connector pin 51”, FIG. 1, page 1),
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of enhancing the connectivity as taught by `082, page 1.
Re claim 2, in the combination, `367 teaches the electrode connection element of claim 1, wherein the electrode terminal is formed of a conductive nonmetal material (13b), and
the upper connection member is formed of a conductive metal material (upper portion of 14, page 6 of 11).
Re claim 3, in the combination, `976, FIG. 1 [as shown above] teaches the electrode connection element of claim 1, wherein the connection member comprises a bolt and a nut (11),
wherein the bolt is inserted from above the upper connection member to pass through the upper connection member (14/15), the substrate, and the lower connection member (17),
wherein the nut is fastened to an end portion of the bolt (11b/11c or 35/36 of FIG. 5), which is exposed from below the lower connection member (17 or 37 of FIG. 5), to support the lower connection member (17/37).
Re claim 4, in the combination, `367 teaches the electrode connection element of claim 1, wherein the connection member comprises a rivet,
wherein the rivet is inserted from above the upper connection member to pass through the upper connection member (13b), the substrate (3/4), and the lower connection member (14c/14b/14a),
wherein an end portion of the rivet (14c) that is exposed from below the lower connection member is processed to support the lower connection member (14c/14b/14a).
Re claim 5, in the combination, `082, FIG. 4 and 6 teaches the electrode connection element of claim 1, further comprising an elastic member (111) provided between the substrate (112) and the lower connection member (135/132b/131b) and configured to maintain a contact between an upper surface of the electrode terminal and the upper connection member (132a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent No. 1020130100367 (hereinafter `367) (refer to the machine’s translation version) in view of H250976 (hereinafter `976) and further in view of `082.
Re claim 1, `367 teaches an electrode connection element comprising:
an upper connection member (13b/13d/11a, see the Abstract) coming into contact with an upper surface of an electrode terminal (13b, page 6/11, 3rd paragraph) formed on a substrate (3);
a lower connection member (14c/14b/14a) configured to support a lower surface of the substrate;
a connection member (14/11/13) configured to connect the upper connection member (13b/13b) and the lower connection member (14c/14b/14a) to each other;
wherein the connection member comprises a bolt and a nut, or a rivet (14/11/13), and
the upper connection member (13b/13d/11a) comprises a plurality of protrusion portions (at least two 13d, Fig. 24) protruding from a bottom surface thereof.
`367 fails to teach the connection member is inserted by passing through the upper connection member, the substrate, and the lower connection member, and the upper connection member coming into contact with the upper surface of the electrode terminal.
`976, FIG. 1 [as shown above], 2 and 5 teaches the connection member (11) is inserted by passing through the upper connection member (14/15), the substrate (12), and the lower connection member (17), and the upper connection member (14/15) coming into contact with the upper surface of the electrode terminal (11).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of providing a different way to fasten the device layer as taught by `976.
Moreover, `976 fails to teach an electrode connection element configured to electrically connect an electrode terminal to an external drive circuit; and the upper connection member is electrically connected to a wiring line for connection with the external drive circuit through soldering.
`082 teaches an electrode connection element configured to electrically connect an electrode terminal to an external drive circuit; and the upper connection member (power pins 132a, page 4) is electrically connected to a wiring line (112) for connection with the external drive circuit (120).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of improving the reliability of connection as taught by `082, page 1.
Finally, `082, one embodiment fails to teach the connection through soldering,
`082 teaches another embodiment teaches the connection through soldering (“The first connector 50a is soldered on the PCB 10 through the connector pin 51”, FIG. 1, page 1),
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of enhancing the connectivity as taught by `082, page 1.
Re claim 2, in the combination, `367 teaches the electrode connection element of claim 1, wherein the electrode terminal is formed of a conductive nonmetal material (13b), and
the upper connection member is formed of a conductive metal material (upper portion of 14, page 6 of 11).
Re claim 3, in the combination, `976, FIG. 1 [as shown above] teaches the electrode connection element of claim 1, wherein the connection member comprises a bolt and a nut (11),
wherein the bolt is inserted from above the upper connection member to pass through the upper connection member (14/15), the substrate, and the lower connection member (17),
wherein the nut is fastened to an end portion of the bolt (11b/11c or 35/36 of FIG. 5), which is exposed from below the lower connection member (17 or 37 of FIG. 5), to support the lower connection member (17/37).
Re claim 4, in the combination, `367 teaches the electrode connection element of claim 1, wherein the connection member comprises a rivet,
wherein the rivet is inserted from above the upper connection member to pass through the upper connection member (13b), the substrate (3/4), and the lower connection member (14c/14b/14a),
wherein an end portion of the rivet (14c) that is exposed from below the lower connection member is processed to support the lower connection member (14c/14b/14a).
Re claim 5, in the combination, `367 teaches the electrode connection element of claim 1, further comprising an elastic member (11) provided between the substrate (3/4) and the lower connection member (14c/14b/14a) and configured to maintain a contact between an upper surface of the electrode terminal and the upper connection member (13b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot due to a new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893