DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 09 June 2026 in response to the non-final rejection mailed on 17 December 2025 has been considered. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending. Claim(s) 1-20 has/have been examined in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,894,292 to DeLuca.
Regarding claim 1, DeLuca discloses a connection assembly mechanism comprising: a flat bracket (See Figure above) having a first surface (See Figure above) and a second surface (See Figure above), the second surface configured for flush mounting with a horizontal precast structure (capable of flush mounting); a first set of shear connectors (See Figure above), extending from the first surface, configured for embedding within the horizontal precast structure (capable of embedding within a horizontal precast member); a wall bracket (See Figure above) having a horizontal flange (See Figure above) and a vertical flange (See Figure above) orthogonal to each other, wherein an outer surface of the horizontal flange is configured for flush-mounting with a base portion of a pocket member of a vertical precast structure (capable of flush mounting with a vertical precast structure); a second set of shear connectors (See Figure above), extending from inner surfaces of the horizontal flange and the vertical flange (See Figure above), configured for embedding within the vertical precast structure (capable of embedding within vertical structure); and a connection mechanism (See Figure above) configured for coupling the outer surface of the horizontal flange of the wall bracket and the second surface of the flat bracket, thereby coupling the horizontal precast structure and the vertical precast structure at a construction site.
Regarding claim 2, further comprising an elastic pad (See Figure above) configured for slab bearing between the second surface of the flat bracket and the outer surface of the horizontal flange of the wall bracket (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the wall bracket further comprises an angular elongated connector configured for embedding within the vertical precast structure (capable of being embedded within a vertical structure).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the horizontal flange and the vertical flange of the wall bracket conform with an edge portion of the base portion of the pocket member provided at a top portion of the vertical precast structure (the flanges are capable of engaging an edge portion of a vertical structure opening/shoulder).
Regarding claim 5, further comprising an outer surface of the vertical flange of the wall bracket configured for chamfer-mounting at a vertical portion orthogonal to the base portion of the pocket member of the vertical precast structure (capable of chamfer-mounting).
Regarding claim 6, further comprising a flat bar (See Figure above) configured for mechanically coupling the outer surface of the horizontal flange of the wall bracket with the second surface of the flat bracket at a first side with respect to the first set of shear connectors.
Regarding claim 7, further comprising a flat bar (See Figure above) configured for mechanically coupling the outer surface of the horizontal flange of the wall bracket with the second surface of the flat bracket at a second side with respect to the first set of shear connectors.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the first set of shear connectors is further configured for embedding within a concrete portion of the horizontal precast structure, wherein top portions of the first set of shear connectors are further configured for embedding in a base of a structural topping of the horizontal precast structure (shear connectors are capable of being embedded within concrete and a topping if the topping is desired in use).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the vertical precast structure is a precast wall (assembly mechanism is capable of being used with a precast wall).
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 114045963 A to Wu et al.
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a connection assembly mechanism comprising: a flat bracket (See Figure above) having a first surface (See Figure above) and a second surface (See Figure above), the second surface configured for flush mounting with a horizontal precast structure (capable of flush mounting with a horizontal structure); a first set of shear connectors (See Figure above), extending from the first surface, configured for embedding within the horizontal precast structure (capable of embedding within a horizontal structure); a wall bracket (See Figure above) having a horizontal flange (See Figure above) and a vertical flange (See Figure above) orthogonal to each other, wherein an outer surface of the horizontal flange is configured for flush-mounting with a base portion of a pocket member of a vertical precast structure (capable of being flush mount with a vertical precast structure); a second set of shear connectors (See Figure above), extending from inner surfaces of the horizontal flange and the vertical flange (See Figure above), configured for embedding within the vertical precast structure (capable of embedding within a recast vertical structure); and a connection mechanism (See Figure above) configured for coupling the outer surface of the horizontal flange of the wall bracket and the second surface of the flat bracket (See Figure above), thereby coupling the horizontal precast structure and the vertical precast structure at a construction site (capable of securing a vertical and horizontal precast structure).
Regarding claim 2, further comprising an elastic pad (gasket 321) configured for slab bearing between the second surface of the flat bracket and the outer surface of the horizontal flange of the wall bracket.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the horizontal flange and the vertical flange of the wall bracket conform with an edge portion of the base portion of the pocket member provided at a top portion of the vertical precast structure (capable of conforming with an edge portion of a vertical structure).
Regarding claim 5, further comprising an outer surface of the vertical flange of the wall bracket configured for chamfer-mounting at a vertical portion orthogonal to the base portion of the pocket member of the vertical precast structure (capable of chamfer mounting at a vertical portion of the vertical structure).
Regarding claim 6, further comprising a flat bar (See Figure above) configured for mechanically coupling the outer surface of the horizontal flange of the wall bracket with the second surface of the flat bracket at a first side with respect to the first set of shear connectors.
Regarding claim 7, further comprising a flat bar (See Figure above) configured for mechanically coupling the outer surface of the horizontal flange of the wall bracket with the second surface of the flat bracket at a second side with respect to the first set of shear connectors.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the first set of shear connectors is further configured for embedding within a concrete portion of the horizontal precast structure, wherein top portions of the first set of shear connectors are further configured for embedding in a base of a structural topping of the horizontal precast structure (shear connectors are capable of being embedded within concrete and a topping if the topping is desired in use).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the vertical precast structure is a precast wall (assembly mechanism is capable of being used with a precast wall).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to disclose the assembly mechanism and the relationship and orientation between the assembly mechanism and the horizontal and vertical precast structures. More specifically the prior art of record fails to disclose the bracket having shear connectors engaging the horizontal precast structure, the wall bracket with shear connectors engaging the vertical precast structure, and the connection between the specific surfaces of the flat bracket and the wall bracket.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09 June 20226 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that DeLuca does not disclose the assembly mechanism and the relationship and orientation between the assembly mechanism and the horizontal and vertical precast structures. This is not found to be persuasive. The claims are directed to a connection assembly mechanism and are not directed to a mechanism in combination with vertical and horizontal precast structures. The mechanism of DeLuca is capable of being used in the desired relationship and orientation with vertical and horizontal precast structures.
Applicant further argues that the upper bracket in DeLuca is “not a flat bracket”, but the bracket of DeLuca is primarily the flat horizontal portion having a distal vertical flange, and therefore without further structural limitations are deemed to be flat brackets.
The arguments directed to the rejection under Wu are basically the same arguments presented in view of DeLuca. The arguments are deemed unpersuasive for the same reasons as pointed out for DeLuca above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635