DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with all of the conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), in parent Application No. PCT/CN2022/092598, filed on 05/13/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 04/27/2024, and 12/16/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 04/27/2024 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 04/27/2024 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, lines1-2, “in the pore-forming agent for secondary battery” is redundant.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yakovleva et al. (US 2020/0014033 A1; hereinafter “Yakovleva”).
Regarding claim 1, Yakovleva discloses a pore-forming agent (printable lithium composition; [0011]) for secondary battery (lithium-ion battery; [0067]), comprising a one-dimensional conductive material (rheology modifier; [0011]; the rheology modifier may be comprised of carbon nanotubes to provide a structure for a coated electrode; [0033]; it is submitted that the disclosed carbon nanotubes (CNTs) reasonably read on the recited one-dimensional conductive material because the Instant Specification ([0013]) explicitly describes a CNT as a one-dimensional conductive material) and stable-state lithium metal particles (stabilized lithium metal powder [0008]; lithium metal powder and a polymer binder [0011]; The lithium metal powder and the polymer binder may react to form a lithium-polymer complex, however, such complex should be stable at various temperatures; [0043]), wherein the stable-state lithium metal particles are loaded on the one-dimensional conductive material (a mixture of the polymer binder, rheology modifier, coating reagents, and other potential additives for the lithium metal powder may be formed and introduced to contact the lithium droplets during dispersion; [0043]; wherein the lithium metal powder should be uniformly suspended in the solvent so that when applied or deposited a substantially uniform distribution of lithium metal powder is deposited or applied; [0049]).
Regarding claim 2, Yakovleva discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yakovleva further discloses that the stable-state lithium metal particles are lithium metal particles with a coating layer ([t]he lithium metal powder may also include a substantially continuous layer or coating of fluorine, wax, phosphorus or a polymer or the combination thereof; [0041]).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Yakovleva discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yakovleva further discloses that the one-dimensional conductive material comprises at least one of conductive carbon fiber and organic conductive fiber (a carbon-based rheology modifier [0044]); wherein the conductive carbon fiber comprises at least one of carbon nanotubes and carbon fiber (the rheology modifier may be comprised of carbon nanotubes to provide a structure for a coated electrode; [0033]).
Regarding claim 7, Yakovleva discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yakovleva discloses that in the pore-forming agent for secondary battery, the one-dimensional conductive material forms a conductive network structure (carbon-based rheology modifier may also provide a conductive network between lithium particles after lamination; [0033]).
Regarding claim 8, Yakovleva discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yakovleva further discloses that Dv50 of the pore-forming agent for secondary battery is 10 μm–250 μm (stabilized lithium metal powder having polymer coating of 20 to 200 nm and d50 of 20 μm is added to this suspension; [0080]; [t]he printable lithium suspension is then filtered through 180 μm opening stainless steel mesh; [0080]. Therefore, the pore-forming agent may have a Dv50 (D50) between 20 μm and 180 μm; thus, the range reads on the claimed limitation of 10 μm–250 μm).
Regarding claim 9, Yakovleva discloses a preparation method of pore-forming agent for secondary battery [0078], comprising the following: loading stable-state lithium metal particles on a one-dimensional conductive material (a mixture of the polymer binder, rheology modifier, coating reagents, and other potential additives for the lithium metal powder may be formed and introduced to contact the lithium droplets during dispersion; [0043]) to prepare a pore-forming agent (printable lithium composition; [0011]) for secondary battery (lithium-ion battery; [0067]).
Regarding claim 10, Yakovleva discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yakovleva further discloses that the step of loading stable-state lithium metal particles on a one-dimensional conductive material is performed through spray drying (the printable lithium composition and electrode formulation mix may be applied to a current collector using other dry electrode application processes, including laser deposition, spray drying, hot rolling processes; [0068]).
Regarding claim 11, Yakovleva discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yakovleva further discloses that a negative electrode plate (the lithium anode may be a flat lithium metal anode; [0034]), comprising a current collector [0056] and a negative electrode active substance layer (active anode material; [0056]), wherein the negative electrode active substance layer is disposed on at least one surface of the current collector (the active anode material and the printable lithium composition are provided together and extruded onto the current collector; [0056]); and the negative electrode active substance layer comprises the pore-forming agent for secondary battery according to claim 1 (the printable lithium composition may be applied onto a substrate; [0034]; [e]xamples may include a current collector, an anode, a cathode, an electrolyte and a separator; [0034]).
Regarding claim 13, Yakovleva discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yakovleva further discloses an electrode assembly (electrode stack; [0067]), comprising: a positive electrode plate (hybrid cathode; [0067]), a separator [0067], and the negative electrode plate (anode electrode; [0067]) according to claim 11 (reacting lithium with the active material of the negative electrode by bringing the printable lithium composition into contact with a surface of the active material layer of the negative electrode; [0072]) that are stacked (the hybrid cathode may be disposed against an anode electrode with a polyolefin separator in between the electrodes; [0067]).
Regarding claim 14, Yakovleva discloses a secondary battery (solid-state battery; [0072]), comprising a positive electrode plate [0072], an electrolyte (solid electrolyte; [0072], and a negative electrode plate (the lithium anode may be a flat lithium metal anode; [0034]) that are stacked (combining the negative electrode with the positive electrode to form an electrode assembly; [0072]), the electrolyte being disposed between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate (an electrolyte in electrochemical communication with the cathode and anode; [0004]); wherein the negative electrode plate comprises a current collector and a negative electrode active substance layer (the printable lithium composition is deposited or applied to an active anode material on a current collector namely to form a prelithiated anode; [0054]), wherein the negative electrode active substance layer is disposed on at least one surface of the current collector (the printable lithium composition and electrode formulation mix may be applied to a current collector; [0068]); the negative electrode active substance layer comprises a negative electrode active material and a one-dimensional conductive material (the printable lithium composition is deposited or applied to an active anode material; [0054]; wherein [t]he printable lithium composition may also include a rheology modifier; [0011]; and, the rheology modifier may be comprised of carbon nanotubes to provide a structure for a coated electrode; [0033]; it is submitted that the disclosed carbon nanotubes (CNTs) reasonably read on the recited one-dimensional conductive material because the Instant Specification ([0013]) explicitly describes a CNT as a one-dimensional conductive material), the negative electrode active material being intercalated with lithium ([a]nodes prelithiated using the printable lithium composition; [0055]); and the negative electrode active substance layer has a pore structure ([t]he anode materials may be a foil, mesh or foam; [0054]), at least part of the pore structure being formed by the one-dimensional conductive material (the rheology modifier may be comprised of carbon nanotubes to provide a structure for a coated electrode; [0033]. The carbon-based rheology modifier may also provide a conductive network between lithium particles after lamination [0033]; the rheology modifier is dispersible and may provide a three-dimensional structure to enhance electrochemical performance of a coated electrode; [0032]).
Yakovleva discloses carbon nanotubes comprised in the rheology modifier. Although Yakovleva does not explicitly disclose carbon nanotubes as a one-dimensional material, the disclosed material possesses the claimed structural characteristic of one-dimensional material and can form a conductive network in the negative electrode as claimed in the specification (see [0013]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yakovleva et al. (US 2020/0014033 A1; hereinafter “Yakovleva”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Abe et al. (US 2015/0311493 A1; hereinafter “Abe”).
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Yakovleva discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yakovleva fails to disclose that the one-dimensional conductive material comprises at least one of conductive carbon fiber and organic conductive fiber; wherein the organic conductive fiber is selected from fiber containing at least one of polyaniline, polythiophene, polypyrrole, and polyacetylene.
Abe teaches, directed to a negative electrode material, a polymer compound capable of intercalating and deintercalating lithium that include polyacetylene, polyaniline, polypyrrole, and the like [0102].
Yakovleva and Abe are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely secondary batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include at least one of polyaniline, polythiophene, polypyrrole, and polyacetylene as the organic conductive fiber in the pore-forming agent disclosed by Yakovleva, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would result in the intercalation and deintercalation of lithium [0102], as suggested by Abe.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yakovleva et al. (US 2020/0014033 A1; hereinafter “Yakovleva”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Yang et al. (CN 113871575 A; hereinafter “Yang”; see attached machine translation for reference).
Regarding claim 6, Yakovleva discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yakovleva fails to disclose that the mass ratio of the one-dimensional conductive material to the stable-state lithium metal particles is (3–10):1.
Yang teaches, directed to a lithium metal anode sheet, that the mass ratio of carbon material skeleton, lithiophilic material, lithium metal and binder is (50-70):(20-40):(5-15):(6-8); [n0015]. Therefore, the mass ratio of conductive material (carbon material skeleton) to stable state lithium particles (lithium metal and binder, wherein the sum of the ratios would result in 11-21), would be 2.4:1 to 6.4:1; wherein 50/21= 2.4 and 70/11=6.4).
Yakovleva and Yang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely secondary lithium metal anodes and secondary batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that pore-forming agent disclosed by Yakovleva must necessarily have a mass ratio of the one-dimensional conductive material to the stable-state lithium metal particles, as explicitly shown by Yang, and would thus reasonably understand that such ratio must necessarily be 2.4:1 to 6.6:1, in order to take into account the comprehensive performance of lithium metal anode sheet, such as cycle stability, safety, conductivity and capacity [n0015]; and would thus find it obvious to routinely select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges (2.4:1 to 6.6:1 overlaps (3–10):1) because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yakovleva et al. (US 2020/0014033 A1; hereinafter “Yakovleva”), as applied to claim 11 above, in view of Kim et al. (US 20190109309 A1; hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 12, Yakovleva discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yakovleva fails to disclose that mass percentage of the pore-forming agent for secondary battery in the negative electrode active substance layer is 0.1%–15%.
Yakovleva and Kim are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely secondary batteries.
Kim teaches directed to a pore forming agent in an electrode, that the monomeric organic compound (pore -forming agent) may be higher than about 0 wt % to about 10 wt % based on a total weight of the porous film (active material); [0022].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that pore-forming agent disclosed by Yakovleva must necessarily have a mass percentage content in the negative electrode active substance, as explicitly shown by Kim, and would thus reasonably understand that such mass percentage must necessarily be higher than about 0 wt % to about 10 wt %, in order maintain a proper porosity and gas permeability of the film [0022]; and would thus find it obvious to routinely select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges (higher than about 0 wt % to about 10 wt % overlaps 0.1%–15%) because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yakovleva et al. (US 2020/0014033 A1; hereinafter “Yakovleva”), as applied to claim 14 above, in view of Park et al. (US 2013/0302666 A1; hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claims 15-19, Yakovleva discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Yakovleva fails to disclose a battery module, comprising the secondary battery according to claim 14; a battery pack, comprising the battery module according to claim 15; an electric apparatus, comprising the secondary battery according to claim 14; an electric apparatus, comprising the battery module according to claim 15; and, an electric apparatus, comprising the battery pack according to claim 16.
Park teaches a lithium secondary battery comprised of an electrode assembly, which includes a cathode, an anode, and a polymer membrane [0025]; wherein the lithium secondary battery may be used in battery cells [0085]; wherein medium and large battery modules include a plurality of battery cells [0085].
Park further teaches that the medium and large battery modules; including a plurality of battery cells, may be used in medium and large devices; wherein they the devices electric vehicles (EVs), hybrid electric vehicles (HEVs), plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs), and apparatuses for storing power [0086].
Yakovleva and Park are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely secondary batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include the secondary battery disclosed by Yakovleva in a battery module, comprised in a battery pack, comprised in an electric apparatus with the reasonable expectation that doing so would result in obtaining a power storage source of devices [0086], as suggested by Park.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yushin et al. (US 2018/0151884 A1) discloses an anode material composition for a metal-ion battery.
/J.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 08/31/2026