Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHEN et al. (US 20130292750 A1) hereinafter referred to as "CHEN".
Regarding claim 1, CHEN teaches a structure comprising: a semiconductor layer (Fig. 2C, element 104; ¶: [0016]) having a first surface (Fig. 2C, element 104B; ¶: [0016]) configured for optically interfacing with incident radiation, and a second surface (Fig. 2C, element 104A; ¶: [0016]) opposite the first surface; a photodetector (Fig. 2C, element 106; ¶: [0015]) within the semiconductor layer and on the second surface thereof; and a doped well (Fig. 2C, element 138; ¶: [0026]) within the semiconductor layer between the photodetector and the first surface, the doped well having a same conductivity type as the semiconductor layer and a higher dopant concentration than the semiconductor layer (Fig. 2C, ¶: [0026]).
Regarding claim 4, CHEN teaches the doped well including a first surface opposite the first surface of the semiconductor layer and distal to the photodetector, and a second surface coincident with the first surface of the semiconductor layer (Fig. 2C, element 138; ¶: [0026]).
Regarding claim 5, CHEN teaches the semiconductor layer being a first p-type doping concentration (Fig. 2C, element 104; ¶: [0016]), and the doped well having a second P+ doping concentration higher than the first p-type doping concentration (Fig. 2C, element 138; ¶: [0026]).
Regarding claim 15, CHEN teaches a structure comprising: a semiconductor layer (Fig. 2C, element 104; ¶: [0016]) having a first surface (Fig. 2C, element 104B; ¶: [0016]) configured for optically interfacing with incident radiation, and a second surface (Fig. 2C, element 104A; ¶: [0016]) opposite the first surface; a photodetector (Fig. 2C, element 106; ¶: [0015]) within the semiconductor layer and on the second surface thereof; and a doped well (Fig. 2C, element 138; ¶: [0026]) within the semiconductor layer between the photodetector and the first surface, the doped well having a same conductivity type as the semiconductor layer and a higher dopant concentration than the semiconductor layer (Fig. 2C, ¶: [0026]), wherein a surface of the doped well is coincident with the first surface of the semiconductor layer (Fig. 2C, element 138; ¶: [0026]).
Regarding claim 17, CHEN teaches the semiconductor layer having a first p-type doping concentration (Fig. 2C, element 104; ¶: [0016]), and the doped well having a second P+ doping concentration higher than the first p-type doping concentration (Fig. 2C, element 138; ¶: [0026]).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20230307479 A1) hereinafter referred to as "Chen".
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches a structure comprising: a semiconductor layer (Fig. 6, element 102; ¶: [0028]) having a first surface (Fig. 6, element 102b; ¶: [0028]) configured for optically interfacing with incident radiation, and a second surface (Fig. 6, element 102f; ¶: [0028]) opposite the first surface; a photodetector (Fig. 6, element 130; ¶: [0051]) within the semiconductor layer and on the second surface thereof; and a doped well (Fig. 6, element 124; ¶: [0041]) within the semiconductor layer between the photodetector and the first surface, the doped well having a same conductivity type as the semiconductor layer and a higher dopant concentration than the semiconductor layer (Fig. 6, ¶: [0044]), wherein a first portion of the semiconductor layer is between the doped well and the first surface of the semiconductor layer (Fig. 7, element 104; ¶: [0030]), and a second portion of the semiconductor layer is between the doped well and the photodetector (Fig. 7, element 106; ¶: [0031]).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches a dielectric layer (Fig. 7, element 126; ¶: [0057]) horizontally surrounding the photodetector and the doped well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 3, CHEN teaches the structure of claim 1. CHEN does not teach a first portion of the semiconductor layer being between the doped well and the first surface, and a second portion of the semiconductor layer being between the doped well and the photodetector.
Chen teaches a first portion of the semiconductor layer being between the doped well and the first surface (Fig. 7, element 104; ¶: [0030]), and a second portion of the semiconductor layer being between the doped well and the photodetector (Fig. 7, element 106; ¶: [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to structure the semiconductor layer in this way so that it may have better contact with an isolation structure as an improved method for forming image sensors (¶: [0026]).
Regarding claim 20, CHEN teaches the structure of claim 15. CHEN does not teach a set of lenses on the first surface of the semiconductor layer, wherein the photodetector is one of a plurality of photodetectors within the semiconductor layer and on the second surface thereof, and the doped well extends horizontally between the set of lenses and each of the plurality of photodetectors.
Chen teaches a set of lenses (Fig. 9B, element 612; ¶: [0082]) on the first surface of the semiconductor layer, wherein the photodetector is one of a plurality of photodetectors within the semiconductor layer and on the second surface thereof (Fig. 9A, element 130a-d; ¶: [0094]), and the doped well extends horizontally between the set of lenses and each of the plurality of photodetectors (Fig. 9A, element 124; ¶: [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include multiple photodetectors so that the size of each may be reduced while still maintaining good electrical performance (¶: [0025]).
Claims 6, 7, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN in view of Hung et al. (US 20230369360 A1) hereinafter referred to as "Hung".
Regarding claim 6, CHEN teaches the structure of claim 1. CHEN does not teach the photodetector including: a detector absorption layer within the semiconductor layer and distal to the doped well; a cathode on the detector absorption layer and the second surface of the semiconductor layer; and an anode on the semiconductor layer horizontally distal to the detector absorption layer.
Hung teaches the photodetector including: a detector absorption layer (Fig. 2L, element 30; ¶: 46]) within the semiconductor layer and distal to the doped well; a cathode (Fig. 2L, element 82; ¶: [0060]) on the detector absorption layer and the second surface of the semiconductor layer; and an anode (Fig. 2L, element 52; ¶: [0057]) on the semiconductor layer horizontally distal to the detector absorption layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the detector absorption layer as it is an important part in forming a subpixel within an image sensor (¶: [0031]).
Regarding claim 7, CHEN teaches the structure of claim 1. CHEN does not teach a material composition of the semiconductor layer being different from a material composition of the photodetector.
Hung teaches a material composition of the semiconductor layer being different from a material composition of the photodetector (Fig. 2L, element 10, 510; ¶: [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have different materials in order to provide use of standard CMOS manufacturing processes on a silicon substrate (¶: [0024]).
Regarding claim 16, CHEN teaches the structure of claim 15. CHEN does not teach a material composition of the semiconductor layer being different from a material composition of the photodetector.
Hung teaches a material composition of the semiconductor layer being different from a material composition of the photodetector (Fig. 2L, element 10, 510; ¶: [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have different materials in order to provide use of standard CMOS manufacturing processes on a silicon substrate (¶: [0024]).
Regarding claim 18, CHEN teaches the structure of claim 15. CHEN does not teach the photodetector including: a detector absorption layer within the semiconductor layer and horizontally distal to the doped well; a cathode on the detector absorption layer and the second surface of the semiconductor layer; and an anode on the semiconductor layer distal to the detector absorption layer.
Hung teaches the photodetector including: a detector absorption layer (Fig. 2L, element 30; ¶: [0046]) within the semiconductor layer and horizontally distal to the doped well; a cathode (Fig. 2L, element 82; ¶: [0060]) on the detector absorption layer and the second surface of the semiconductor layer; and an anode (Fig. 2L, element 52; ¶: [0057]) on the semiconductor layer distal to the detector absorption layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the detector absorption layer as it is an important part in forming a subpixel within an image sensor (¶: [0031]).
Regarding claim 19, CHEN In view of Hung teaches the structure of claim 18. CHEN does not teach the photodetector further including an n-type shallow well within the semiconductor layer between the detector absorption layer and the cathode, wherein a p-type doped portion of the semiconductor layer is vertically between the photodetector and the doped well.
Hung further teaches the photodetector further including an n-type shallow well (Fig. 2L, element 21; ¶: [0038]) within the semiconductor layer between the detector absorption layer and the cathode, wherein a p-type doped portion of the semiconductor layer is vertically between the photodetector and the doped well (Fig. 2L, element 10; ¶: [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to create an n-type well with a p-type portion of the semiconductor in order to create a photovoltaic p-n junction (¶: [0054]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of CHEN.
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches the structure of claim 8. Chen does not teach the semiconductor layer having a p-type doping concentration, and the doped well having a P+ doping concentration.
CHEN teaches the semiconductor layer having a p-type doping concentration (Fig. 2C, element 104; ¶: [0016]), and the doped well having a P+ doping concentration (Fig. 2C, element 138; ¶: [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the concentration of the doped well in order to reduce dark current and white pixel defects (¶: [0026]).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Hung.
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches the structure of claim 8. Chen does not teach the photodetector including: a detector absorption layer within the semiconductor layer and distal to the doped well; a cathode on the detector absorption layer and the second surface of the semiconductor layer; and an anode on the semiconductor layer horizontally distal to the detector absorption layer.
Hung teaches the photodetector including: a detector absorption layer (Fig. 2L, element 30; ¶: [0046]) within the semiconductor layer and distal to the doped well; a cathode (Fig. 2L, element 82; ¶: [0060]) on the detector absorption layer and the second surface of the semiconductor layer; and an anode (Fig. 2L, element 52; ¶: [0057]) on the semiconductor layer horizontally distal to the detector absorption layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the detector absorption layer as it is an important part in forming a subpixel within an image sensor (¶: [0031]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen in view of Hung teaches the structure of claim 12. Chen does not teach the photodetector further including an n-type shallow well within the semiconductor layer between the detector absorption layer and the cathode, wherein a p-type doped portion of the semiconductor layer is vertically between the photodetector and the doped well.
Hung further teaches the photodetector further including an n-type shallow well (Fig. 2L, element 21; ¶: [0038]) within the semiconductor layer between the detector absorption layer and the cathode, wherein a p-type doped portion of the semiconductor layer is vertically between the photodetector and the doped well (Fig. 2L, element 10; ¶: [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to create an n-type well with a p-type portion of the semiconductor in order to create a photovoltaic p-n junction (¶: [0054]).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches the structure of claim 8. Chen does not teach a material composition of the semiconductor layer including silicon and a material composition of the photodetector including germanium.
Hung teaches a material composition of the semiconductor layer including silicon (Fig. 2L, element 10; ¶: [0032]) and a material composition of the photodetector including germanium (Fig. 2L, element 510; ¶: [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have different materials in order to provide use of standard CMOS manufacturing processes on a silicon substrate (¶: [0024]).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, CHEN teaches the structure of claim 1, but does not teach a surface area of the doped well being larger than the surface area of the photodetector.
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the structure of claim 8, but does not teach a surface area of the doped well being larger than the surface area of the photodetector.
The prior art, when taken alone or in combination, cannot be construed as teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the applicant.
Conclusion
/I.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899