DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11/17/2025 has been acknowledged. Claims 1-7 remain pending. Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 6-7 include the singular term “the one module" as referred to in lines 6 and 9 of claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. The term is introduced in the claims as the potentially plural term “the at least one module” as referred to in line 2 of claim 1. The claim language further describes that “the at least one module includes a plurality of hardware modules”. Therefore, when the singular term “the one module” is used in the claims, it is indefinite as to which one of the plurality of hardware modules is being referred to, or if the plurality of at least one modules are subject to the same metes and bounds as “the one module” is. Applicant is recommended to amend this term to antecedently refer to “the one module”, such as by introducing it as “a first module of the at least one modules”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricci et al. (US 20130241720 A1) in view of Harmon et al. (US 20240208422 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ricci teaches an information processing device comprising
a controller ([0067-0068]),
the controller being communicably connected with at least one module that is detachably mounted to a vehicle or that is detachably mounted to the vehicle ([0053]; [0013-0015], detachably mounted terminal contains at least one module in the form of an application)
and has a function which is able to be, while the at least one module is mounted to the vehicle, activated and deactivated depending on whether or not the at least one module is energized ([0058] and [0062], the function is activated regardless of its attachment status, which includes being activated while it is mounted),
the controller being configured to detect when the one module is detached from the vehicle ([0054], where essential software applications are transferred to the onboard display device when the detachably mounted terminal is detached),
the controller being configured to present, to a user of the vehicle, a first service that becomes available by the at least one module ([0095]).
Ricci detects when the display console is detached as it transfers essential software applications to the onboard display device when said detachment occurs. It doesn’t explicitly detect when the display console is mounted to the vehicle, nor does it explicitly display the services that become available when the one module is detected as being mounted to the vehicle.
However, Ricci also discloses detecting the position and location of the detachable console device ([0076]). It also teaches "essential modules" ([0016]) that are transferred to an additional, onboard display device when the detachable console device is detached ([0054]) and ([0093]). These essential services are then displayed on the detachable console device when the detachable console device, i.e. one module, is detected as being mounted to the vehicle, as shown in Fig. 5E, where the software module 512b is considered and displayed on the detachable console device as essential, shown by 524. It therefore would have been obvious to a skilled artisan that the invention of Ricci detects when the console device is mounted to the vehicle so that essential modules can be transferred to the detachable console device, such as software module 512b of Fig. 5E, after they are initially transferred from the detachable console device when it is detached.
Ricci does not teach wherein the at least one module includes a plurality of hardware modules that are configured to be detachably mounted to the vehicle, and wherein a different service becomes available based on a differing combination of the plurality of hardware modules.
In the same field of endeavor, Harmon teaches wherein the at least one module includes a plurality of hardware modules that are configured to be detachably mounted to the vehicle ([0085]), wherein a different service becomes available based on a differing combination of the plurality of hardware modules ([0087] and [0093], detachable modules include a terminal that offers services to passengers in rear view seats and additionally outputs airflow towards them).
A skilled artisan can modify the vehicle of Harmon to include the slots in the middle console to allow for detachable modules to be attached. When this is done so the detachable module is 70B of Harmon, which includes airflow ducts/outlets and HVAC systems, this would mean the air control of the vehicle can now be customized for any passengers in the rear seats. When this detachable module is included in Ricci as such, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to have these enhanced climate control systems be displayed and able to be controlled via the remote terminal as a part of its already existing climate control application. This would be implemented as part of the climate control application as shown in Figs. 5A-5E of Ricci, allowing a user to control the climate for passengers in the rear seats of the vehicle via the detachable console in the same manner in which it already controls the climate for the driver and a passenger in the forward located seats.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify the vehicle of Ricci to include the detachable console of Harmon and have this console be controlled via the detachable terminal based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the travel experience of passengers in the rear seat of a vehicle via enhanced air and climate control.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art remains as applied in claim 1. Ricci teaches wherein:
the controller presents, to the user, the first service that becomes available by mounting a first combination of the plurality of hardware modules onto the vehicle ([0095], an exemplary service available from a combination is a calling service, which function as a combination of the physical cellular telephony module, the cellular application module, and the input/output modules from speakers, touchscreens, and other devices).
Note that as “the first service” introduced in claim 1 is a service “that becomes available by the at least one module when the one module is detected as being mounted to the vehicle”. This means that “the first service” as claimed can become available by a singular one module being mounted to the vehicle. As “the first service” of claim 2 is interpreted as this same service, it is the interpretation of the examiner that one module of the plurality of hardware modules being mounted to the vehicle is considered as “a first combination of the plurality of hardware modules”.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art remains as applied in claim 1. Ricci teaches wherein the controller presents, to the user, a service available by a combination of a device mounted to the vehicle in advance and the at least one module ([0014], [0016], and [0088-0089], the controller presents services that include a combination of the functionality of the device and installed devices on the vehicle. An exemplary service is climate control, where the climate control application module of the device communicates with an installed climate control on the vehicle to allow a user to set the climate of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 4, the prior art remains as applied in claim 1. Ricci teaches wherein: the at least one module is a first module mounted to the vehicle ([0053]).
Ricci does not teach that in response to mounting of at least one second module which is currently unmounted to the vehicle, a second service becomes available by a combination of the first module and the at least one second module, the controller presents, to the user, the second service that becomes available by the combination.
In the same field of endeavor, Harmon teaches a system with at least one second module that is detachable and that provides a second service becomes available by a combination of the first module and the at least one second module such that the controller presents, to the user, the second service that becomes available by the combination ([0085], contains a base to receive removable modules; [0087] and [0093], detachable modules include a terminal that offers services to passengers in rear view seats and additionally outputs airflow towards them).
A skilled artisan can modify the vehicle of Harmon to include the slots in the middle console to allow for detachable modules to be attached. When this is done so the detachable module is 70B of Harmon, which includes airflow ducts/outlets and HVAC systems, this would mean the air control of the vehicle can now be customized for any passengers in the rear seats. When this detachable module is mounted in Ricci as such, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to have these enhanced climate control systems be displayed in response to the mounting of this detachable module and able to be controlled via the remote terminal as a part of its already existing climate control application as the climate control options provided by this second module were otherwise unable to be performed by the vehicle. This would be implemented as part of the climate control application as shown in Figs. 5A-5E of Ricci, allowing a user to control the climate for passengers in the rear seats of the vehicle via the detachable console in the same manner in which it already controls the climate for the driver and a passenger in the forward located seats.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify the vehicle of Ricci to include the detachable console of Harmon and have this console be controlled via the detachable terminal based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the travel experience of passengers in the rear seat of a vehicle via enhanced air and climate control.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art remains as applied in claim 2. Ricci teaches wherein the plurality of hardware modules include at least one hardware module that acquires biological information of the user ([0017] and [0104], a module receives biometric data and displays an emergency service accordingly).
Regarding claim 6, Ricci teaches an information processing method used for an information processing device including
a controller ([0067-0068]),
the controller being communicably connected with at least one module that is detachably mounted to a vehicle ([0053]; [0013-0015], detachably mounted terminal contains at least one module in the form of an application)
and has a function which is able to be, while the at least one module is mounted to the vehicle, activated and deactivated depending on whether or not the at least one module is energized ([0058] and [0062], function is activated regardless of its attachment status, which includes being activated while it is mounted),
the controller being configured to detect when the one module is detached from the vehicle ([0054], where essential software applications are transferred to the onboard display device when the detachably mounted terminal is detached),
the method comprising presenting, to a user of the vehicle, a service that becomes available by the at least one module ([0095]).
Ricci detects when the display console is detached as it transfers essential software applications to the onboard display device when said detachment occurs. It doesn’t explicitly detect when the display console is mounted to the vehicle, nor does it explicitly display the services that become available when the one module is detected as being mounted to the vehicle.
However, Ricci also discloses detecting the position and location of the detachable console device ([0076]). It also teaches "essential modules" ([0016]) that are transferred to an additional, onboard display device when the detachable console device is detached ([0054]) and ([0093]). These essential services are then displayed on the detachable console device when the detachable console device, i.e. one module, is detected as being mounted to the vehicle, as shown in Fig. 5E, where the software module 512b is considered and displayed on the detachable console device as essential, shown by 524. It therefore would have been obvious to a skilled artisan that the invention of Ricci detects when the console device is mounted to the vehicle so that essential modules can be transferred to the detachable console device, such as software module 512b of Fig. 5E, after they are initially transferred from the detachable console device when it is detached.
Ricci does not teach wherein the at least one module includes a plurality of hardware modules that are configured to be detachably mounted to the vehicle, and wherein a different service becomes available based on a differing combination of the plurality of hardware modules.
In the same field of endeavor, Harmon teaches wherein the at least one module includes a plurality of hardware modules that are configured to be detachably mounted to the vehicle ([0085]), wherein a different service becomes available based on a differing combination of the plurality of hardware modules ([0087] and [0093], detachable modules include a terminal that offers services to passengers in rear view seats and additionally outputs airflow towards them).
A skilled artisan can modify the vehicle of the Harmon to include the slots in the middle console to allow for detachable modules to be attached. When this is done so the detachable module is 70B of Harmon, which includes airflow ducts/outlets and HVAC systems, this would mean the air control of the vehicle can now be customized for any passengers in the rear seats. When this detachable module is included in Ricci as such, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to have these enhanced climate control systems be displayed and able to be controlled via the remote terminal as a part of its already existing climate control application. This would be implemented as part of the climate control application as shown in Figs. 5A-5E of Ricci, allowing a user to control the climate for passengers in the rear seats of the vehicle via the detachable console in the same manner in which it already controls the climate for the driver and a passenger in the forward located seats.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify the vehicle of Ricci to include the detachable console of Harmon and have this console be controlled via the detachable terminal based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the travel experience of passengers in the rear seat of a vehicle via enhanced air and climate control.
Regarding claim 7, Ricci teaches an information processing system comprising:
an information processing device including a controller ([0067-0068]);
and at least one module that is detachably mounted to a vehicle([0053]; [0013-0015], detachably mounted terminal contains at least one module in the form of an application)
and has a function which is able to be, while the at least one module is mounted to the vehicle, activated and deactivated depending on whether or not the at least one module is energized ([0058] and [0062], function is activated regardless of its attachment status, which includes being activated while it is mounted),
the controller being configured to detect when the one module is detached from the vehicle ([0054], where essential software applications are transferred to the onboard display device when the detachably mounted terminal is detached),
the controller being communicably connected with the at least one module ([0067-0068], the controller executes the applications).
the controller configured to present, to a user of the vehicle, a service that becomes available by the at least one module ([0095]).
Ricci detects when the display console is detached as it transfers essential software applications to the onboard display device when said detachment occurs. It doesn’t explicitly detect when the display console is mounted to the vehicle, nor does it explicitly display the services that become available when the one module is detected as being mounted to the vehicle.
However, Ricci also discloses detecting the position and location of the detachable console device ([0076]). It also teaches "essential modules" ([0016]) that are transferred to an additional, onboard display device when the detachable console device is detached ([0054]) and ([0093]). These essential services are then displayed on the detachable console device when the detachable console device, i.e. one module, is detected as being mounted to the vehicle, as shown in Fig. 5E, where the software module 512b is considered and displayed on the detachable console device as essential, shown by 524. It therefore would have been obvious to a skilled artisan that the invention of Ricci detects when the console device is mounted to the vehicle so that essential modules can be transferred to the detachable console device, such as software module 512b of Fig. 5E, after they are initially transferred from the detachable console device when it is detached.
Ricci does not teach wherein the at least one module includes a plurality of hardware modules that are configured to be detachably mounted to the vehicle, and wherein a different service becomes available based on a differing combination of the plurality of hardware modules.
In the same field of endeavor, Harmon teaches wherein the at least one module includes a plurality of hardware modules that are configured to be detachably mounted to the vehicle ([0085]), wherein a different service becomes available based on a differing combination of the plurality of hardware modules ([0087] and [0093], detachable modules include a terminal that offers services to passengers in rear view seats and additionally outputs airflow towards them).
A skilled artisan can modify the vehicle of the Harmon to include the slots in the middle console to allow for detachable modules to be attached. When this is done so the detachable module is 70B of Harmon, which includes airflow ducts/outlets and HVAC systems, this would mean the air control of the vehicle can now be customized for any passengers in the rear seats. When this detachable module is included in Ricci as such, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to have these enhanced climate control systems be displayed and able to be controlled via the remote terminal as a part of its already existing climate control application. This would be implemented as part of the climate control application as shown in Figs. 5A-5E of Ricci, allowing a user to control the climate for passengers in the rear seats of the vehicle via the detachable console in the same manner in which it already controls the climate for the driver and a passenger in the forward located seats.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify the vehicle of Ricci to include the detachable console of Harmon and have this console be controlled via the detachable terminal based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the travel experience of passengers in the rear seat of a vehicle via enhanced air and climate control.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the objects of claims 1 and 6-7 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the previous objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous rejection under 35 USC 112(b) of claim 4 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the previous 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn. A new 112(b) rejection is given over the amended claims 1 and 6-7 as noted in the rejections above, but this new rejection is independent and distinct from the previously given 112(b) rejection.
With respect to the previous rejections under 35 USC 102 of the 1-3 and 5-7, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Applicant argued that "Ricci also fails to disclose, explicitly or inherently, ‘each and every’ feature of ‘wherein the at least one module includes a plurality of hardware modules that are configured to be detachably mounted to the vehicle, and wherein a different service becomes available based on a differing combination of the plurality of hardware modules’". This is considered persuasive as the examiner notes the amended claim language further specifying the term "module" as a "hardware module". This does restrict the inclusion of software applications as modules as interpreted for the previously given rejections.
While the detachable vehicle console of Ricci still discloses a plurality of "hardware modules that are configured to be detachably mounted to the vehicle", such as any of the physical components illustrated in Fig. 3 of Ricci, applicant's definition of modules in para. 15 of the included specification defines that modules are "components which can be easily added or replaced ... without special training." It is recognized that the hardware modules of the configurable vehicle console do not have this functionality, and thus cannot be interpreted as meeting the metes and bounds of the claimed "modules". Therefore, the previous rejections under 35 USC 102 are withdrawn.
Applicant argues that the "function of Ricci's detachable display, such as providing access to available console applications, is activated regardless of its attachment status. In other words, functionality of the detachable display does not change regardless of the attachment/detachment status." This argument is unpersuasive. As noted in the rejection above, Ricci teaches "essential modules" that are ran on the detachable console device when it is connected to the vehicle, but transferred to the onboard display device when the detachable console device is removed from the vehicle-mounted position ([0076]). Therefore, the functionality of this detachable console device does change as essential modules are not ran on said device if it is no longer attached to the vehicle.
Applicant further argues that “Ricci also fails to disclose, explicitly or inherently, ‘each and every’ feature of ‘wherein the at least one module includes a plurality of hardware modules that are configured to be detachably mounted to the vehicle, and wherein a different service becomes available based on a differing combination of the plurality of hardware modules’ as generally recited in amended claim 1.” While this argument is persuasive, the combination of Ricci in view of Harmon- as used in the previous rejection of claim 4- does teach a plurality of hardware modules as required by the amended claim limitations.
Accordingly, claims 1-7 are now rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Ricci in view of Harmon, with the new ground(s) of rejection being necessitated by the amended claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Ono et al. (US 20230303017 A1)
Ricci et al. (US 20130135118 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACK ROBERT BREWER/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ADAM D TISSOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663