DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2024 was received and placed in the record on file. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Applicant is advised of possible benefits under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) and (f), wherein an application for patent filed in the United States may be entitled to claim priority to an application filed in a foreign country. Specifically, during examination of the instant application, the examiner became aware of TW 657804 U which claims priority to TW 113201508 U, which has a filing date of 2/07/2024, that is before the US filing date of 4/29/2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the display or speaker on the holding device as recited in claim 6 and the embodiment described in claim 7 “wherein a quantity of the at least one accelerometer is two or more, wherein the accelerometers are disposed on the holding device and spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance, such that the accelerometers are simultaneously and respectively in contact with and attached to the outer skin of the left side of the skull and the outer skin on the right side of the skull when the user wears the bone-conduction transcranial cerebral pressure monitoring device” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“holding device” in claims 1 and 4-8;
“output device” in claims 1-4 and 7-10;
“power supply device” in claims 1-10;
“biasing structure” in claim 3;
“wired transmission module” and “wireless transmission module” in claim 5; .
These terms are interpreted as follows:
“holding device” is interpreted as a headband and a main body as described in paragraph [0036], or equivalents thereof.
“output device” is interpreted as “a wired transmission device”, “a wireless transmission device”, or a display as described in paragraph [0032], or equivalents thereof.
“power supply device” is interpreted as a wired power source, a wireless power source, a battery, or other existing power supply devices as described in paragraph [0033], or equivalents thereof.
“biasing structure” is interpreted as a headband, shrinkable adhesive, or any form capable of applying the main body (accelerometer) biased toward the head of the user as described in paragraph [0037], or equivalents thereof.
“wired transmission module” is interpreted as wires for transmitting an electric signal as described in paragraph [0032], or equivalents thereof.
“wireless transmission module” is interpreted as any structure or transmission method such as Bluetooth, Zigbee, WI-FI or any remote communication method as described in paragraph [0032], or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lovoi et al (US 2022/0395226 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5, 7 and 8; Lovoi discloses a bone-conduction transcranial cerebral pressure monitoring device (wherein the examiner notes that the extracted accelerometer data is indicative of cerebral pressure and thus meets the BRI of cerebral pressure monitoring device; element 100, element 8; figures 1a,c,d and 2a,b), comprising:
a holding device (combined headset elements 112 and 114 of figure 1a; element 8 of figure 2a,b));
at least one accelerometer (elements 110 or 10), wherein the at least one accelerometer is disposed on the holding device (figures 1a and 2a,b), and is exposed from a surface of the holding device for contacting an outer skin of a skull of a user, so as to sense a transcranial cerebral pressure acceleration wave of the user for formation of a first monitoring signal (paragraph [0039]-[0043]; figures 1a-2c);
an output device (elements 126, 128), wherein the output device is disposed on the holding device (within element 112 if figure 1 embodiment or on headband element 8 of figure 2 embodiment) , and is communicatively connected to the at least one accelerometer, so as to output the first monitoring signal (paragraphs [0037]-[0043]; figures 1a-2c); and
a power supply device (element 130), wherein the power supply device is disposed on the holding device, and is electrically connected to the at least one accelerometer and the output device, so as to supply power to the at least one accelerometer and the output device (paragraphs [0037]-[0043]; figures 1a-2c);
wherein, when the user wears the bone-conduction transcranial cerebral pressure monitoring device (figures 1a and 2a,b), the at least one accelerometer (elements 110 and 10) is configured to be in contact with and attached to the outer skin of the skull of the user by the holding device (paragraphs [0037]-[0043]; figures 1a-2c).
Further regarding claim 3; Lovoi discloses the holding device further includes a biasing structure (holding device element 114 and 8 are biased to places accelerometer against head via headset); wherein, when the at least one accelerometer is attached to the outer skin of the skull of the user by the holding device, a bias directed toward the user is applied to the at least one accelerometer by the biasing structure (paragraphs [0037]-[0043]; figures 1a-2c).
Further regarding claim 5; Lovoi discloses the output device (elements 126, 128) is a signal transmission part, and includes at least one of a wired transmission module (element 126) or a wireless transmission module (element 128), so as to transmit the first monitoring signal to an external device (element 150, 160) ((paragraphs [0037]-[0043]; figures 1a-2c).
Further regarding claim 7; Lovoi discloses a quantity of the at least one accelerometer (elements 10) is two or more (embodiment of figures 2a-c includes at least 2 accelerometer elements 10); wherein the accelerometers are disposed on the holding device (element 8) and spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance (figures 2a and b), such that the accelerometers are simultaneously and respectively in contact with and attached to the outer skin of a left side of the skull and the outer skin of a right side of the skull when the user wears the bone-conduction transcranial cerebral pressure monitoring device (paragraphs [0042]; figures 2a and b).
Further regarding claim 8; Lovoi discloses the at least one accelerometer is a capacitive accelerometer, a piezoelectric accelerometer, or a piezoresistive accelerometer (wherein Lovoi discloses 3 axis digital accelerometer utilizes 3 capacitive transducers, thus being capacitive; paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 9; Lovoi discloses a bone-conduction transcranial cerebral pressure monitoring device (wherein the examiner notes that the extracted accelerometer data is indicative of cerebral pressure and thus meets the BRI of cerebral pressure monitoring device; element 100, element 8; figures 1a,c,d and 2a,b), comprising:
at least one accelerometer (elements 110 or 10), wherein the at least one accelerometer is configured to contact an outer skin of a skull, so as to sense a transcranial cerebral pressure acceleration wave of the user for formation of a first monitoring signal (paragraph [0039]-[0043]; figures 1a-2c);
an output device (elements 126, 128), wherein the output device is communicatively connected to the at least one accelerometer, so as to output the first monitoring signal (paragraphs [0037]-[0043]; figures 1a-2c); and
a power supply device (element 130), wherein the power supply is electrically connected to the at least one accelerometer and the output device, so as to supply power to the at least one accelerometer and the output device (paragraphs [0037]-[0043]; figures 1a-2c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovoi.
Regarding claims 2; Lovoi is described in the rejection of claim 1 above. Lovoi further discloses the holding device (elements 112 and 114) further includes a hollow housing (element 112) wherein the output device and the power supply are disposed in the hollow housing (figure 1a).
However, Lovoi does not explicitly disclose the accelerometer is in the hollow housing of the holding device.
Lovoi does further discloses the embodiment of figures 1c and 1d which is an embodiment of the invention as described in paragraphs [0037]-[0040] similar to that of figure 1a. While the embodiment of figures 1c and d and the corresponding section of the specification does not explicitly describe the location of the accelerometer embodiment of figures 1c and d, it would have been clear to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the accelerometer is located on the distal end of the arm extending from the housing to position the accelerometer against the skin in the same manner as depicted in figure 1a (see annotated figures 1c and 1d below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to place the accelerometer inside the housing of the holding device of the embodiment depicted in figures 1c and d (see annotated figure below) in order to position the accelerometer against the skin and protect from external forces as obvious to try, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions (either the accelerometer is mounted externally on the arm, or internally in a hollow portion of the arm), or in the alternative, as a mere rearrangement of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovoi as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Berme et al (US 11,337,606 B1).
Lovoi is described in the rejection of claims 1 and 9 above; specifically, Lovoi further discloses a processor (controller element 124) disposed on the holding device (figures 1a and 1b) wherein head worn device is for obtaining an acceleration waveform from the accelerometers placed against the user’s skin on their head which is indicative of the accelerations experienced by the accelerometer and that the acceleration waveform is analyzed and investigated (paragraph [0039]).
However, Lovoi does not explicitly disclose the processor is configured to perform a double integral on the first monitoring signal output by the at least one accelerometer, so as to form a second monitoring signal; wherein the output device outputs at least one of the second monitoring signal or the first monitoring signal.
Berme teaches it is known to obtain a displacement signal of an accelerometer placed against the head by integrating the accelerometer signal twice in order to obtain the positional information data of the accelerometer.
Regarding claims 4 and 10; Lovoi teaches the accelerometer data represents small motion of the surface of the head produced by pulsatile cerebral blood flow and its impact on the skull. Berme teaches that displacement data of the accelerometer can be obtained by performing a double integral on the accelerometer data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lovoi’s processor such that it is configured to perform a double integral on the first monitoring signal output by the accelerometer as taught by Berme in order to obtain a second monitoring signal (displacement/position of the accelerometer) in order to analyze and investigate pulsatile cerebral blood flow displacement waveform.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovoi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zwierstra et al (US 2024/0201737 A1).
Regarding claim 6; Lovoi is described in the rejection of claim 1 above; furthermore, Lovoi discloses an output device (displays of elements 150 and 160) for displaying the processed and collected data.
However, Lovoi does not explicitly disclose that the display or speaker is disposed on the holding device.
Zwierstra teaches a similar headset device for placing sensors against the head of the user wherein the headset includes electronics components in/on the housing which include user interface elements such as a graphical display, a touchscreen display, audio speakers or the like (paragraph [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lovoi to provide a display or speakers on the headset as taught by Zwierstra in order to provide a user interface on the headset.
In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lovoi’s display to be on the holding device (headset) as mere rearrangement of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2018/0296107 A1 to Harrer et al; discloses detection of heartbeat in cranial accelerometer data using independent component analysis.
US 2023/0380751 A1 to Pizur; discloses a brain impact sensor and method of using the same.
US 2023/0301523 A1 to Intrator; discloses a system for measuring physiological signal from a subject’s head.
US 2017/0172222 A1 to Morgenthau et al; discloses a sensor module for sensing forces to the heads of an individual for analysis.
US 2025/0295351 A1 to Grinnell et al; discloses a concussion sensor.
US 2017/0035350 A1 to Allessie et al; discloses a sensor module having accelerometers for placement on the head.
US 2016/0007935 A1 to Hernandez et al; discloses an apparatus for measuring physiological parameters on the head.
US 10,076,274 B2 to Lovoi et al; discloses a system and method for non-invasive detection of human cranial conditions.
/ADAM J EISEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791