DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the filing of 6/3/26. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Guo (2018/0189736) in view of Docherty (2024/0340479.)
Claim 1, 14, 17: Guo discloses a computing system for user interface settings, the computing system comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 21A-B: 2110: Processor; par. 139-143); a communication interface communicatively coupled to the at least one processor (Fig. 21A-B: 2190: Communications Interface; par. 139-143); and
one or more memory devices (Fig. 21A-B: 2175: Memory RAM; par. 139-143) storing executable code, wherein execution of the executable code causes the at least one processor to:
display, via a user interface (Fig. 18: 1800 GUI), a plurality of configurable graphics (Fig. 18: task graphics, 1802) and at least two categories (Fig. 18: To Do, In Progress), the plurality of configurable graphics including input sensitive characteristics (par. 122, draggable), the at least two categories being different locations depicted by the user interface (Fig. 18: three columns next to each other occupying different locations of the UI), each configurable graphic of the plurality of configurable graphics displaying descriptions of planning focused topics (Fig. 18: “Design UI background,” “Go fishing with Andy” etc.); and
receive, via the user interface, a first input to drag and drop a first configurable graphic of the plurality of configurable graphics from the predicted interface location to a different interface location within another of the at least two categories, thereby reclassifying the first configurable graphic from the predicted category into the other category (par. 122, a user can change the state of a task by dragging and dropping tasks into the areas defined by graphical elements 1710, 1720, and/or 1730. For example, the user can select and drag task 1802 from graphical element 1710 into graphical element 1720 to cause CMS client 242 to change the state of task 1802 from “to do” to “in progress.”)
However, Guo does not explicitly disclose:
automatically arrange each of the plurality of configurable graphics at a predicted interface location within one of the at least two categories, the predicted interface location being generated based on a prediction from user data associated with a user profile.
Docherty discloses a similar system for sorting content, including:
automatically arrange each of the plurality of configurable graphics at a predicted interface location within one of the at least two categories, the predicted interface location being generated based on a prediction from user data associated with a user profile (Fig. 5: 510, 512; par. 194, set of content recommendation candidates have related content information including content metadata and the user profile includes content metadata based on previous user activity. The recommendation candidates are then sorted based on a comparison of the content information of the candidates and the content metadata of the user profile.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo and Docherty so as to utilize the content sorting and filtering as disclosed in Docherty within the user interface, task and category context of Guo. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings based on a suggestion for utilize and store a user profile, including user information (Guo par. 34.)
Claim 2, 18: Guo and Docherty disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the at least two categories include two columns depicted as the different locations on the user interface (Guo Fig. 18: three columns next to each other occupying different locations of the UI.)
Claim 3, 19: Guo and Docherty disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the at least two categories including the first location and the second location (Guo Fig. 18: three columns next to each other occupying different locations of the UI.)
Claim 4, 15, 20: Guo and Docherty disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the at least two categories include a long-term category and a short-term category, the long-term category classifying respective planning focused topics of one or more configurable graphics of the plurality of configurable graphics as less immediate needs than the planning focused topics of at least one configurable graphic of the plurality of configurable graphics categorized within the short-term category (Guo Fig. 18, To Do and In Progress, showing long-term and short-term categories.)
Claim 5: Guo and Docherty disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of configurable graphics include at least four configurable graphics that each display a different description of a planning focused topic of the planning focused topics (Guo Fig. 18: “Design UI background,” “Go fishing with Andy” etc.)
Claim 6: Guo and Docherty disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein each graphic of the plurality of configurable graphics is a listening card to guide discussion of the planning focused topics (Guo Fig. 18: “Design UI background,” “Go fishing with Andy” etc.)
Claim 7: Guo and Docherty disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein each description of the planning focused topics is associated with strategic planning for future life events (Guo Fig. 18: “Design UI background,” “Go fishing with Andy” etc.)
Claim 8: Guo and Docherty disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the planning focused topics include at least one selected from the group consisting of education funding, retirement and income planning, estate planning, personal values and investing, dreams and visions, credit strategies, caring for others, tax strategies, family legacy, protecting your family and you, business planning—transition or acquisition, money and family, and charitable and philanthropic goals (Guo Fig. 18: “Design UI background,” “Go fishing with Andy” etc.)
Claim 9: Guo and Docherty disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein execution of the executable code further causes the at least one processor to receive, via the user interface, a plurality of additional inputs to drag and drop each additional configurable graphic of the plurality of configurable graphics to respective interface locations within the at least two categories (Guo Fig. 17-18; par. 122, a user can change the state of a task by dragging and dropping tasks into the areas defined by graphical elements 1710, 1720, and/or 1730. For example, the user can select and drag task 1802 from graphical element 1710 into graphical element 1720 to cause CMS client 242 to change the state of task 1802 from “to do” to “in progress.”)
Claim 10: Guo and Docherty disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein execution of the executable code further causes the at least one processor to receive, via the user interface, a second input to drag and drop a second configurable graphic of the plurality of configurable graphics from an initial interface location to a desired interface location, the at least two categories including the initial interface location and the desired interface location (Guo Fig. 17-18; par. 122, a user can change the state of a task by dragging and dropping tasks into the areas defined by graphical elements 1710, 1720, and/or 1730. For example, the user can select and drag task 1802 from graphical element 1710 into graphical element 1720 to cause CMS client 242 to change the state of task 1802 from “to do” to “in progress.”)
Claim 11: Guo and Docherty disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the displaying of the configurable graphics is part of a predefined program of an enterprise to facilitate discussion, the predefined program including a purpose driven wealth experience (Guo Fig. 18: “Go fishing with Andy” etc.)
Claim 12: Guo and Docherty disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the displaying facilitates information gathering for future proactive outreach (Guo Fig. 18: “Go fishing with Andy” etc.)
Claim 13: Guo and Docherty disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the user interface is of an enterprise computing device of an enterprise (Guo Fig. 3: My Company, Inc) and the displaying occurs while the user interface is viewable by a customer of one or more services provided by the enterprise (Guo Abstract, User.)
Claim 16: Guo and Docherty disclose the computing system of claim 14, wherein selection of a selectable control input for a first planning focused topic prompt description within one classification category prevents selection of a corresponding first planning focused topic prompt description within another classification category based on one or more selection rules applied to each of the plurality of selectable control inputs (Guo drag-drop is done one control at a time—dragging one control prevents dragging another control at the same time; Fig. 17-18; par. 122, a user can change the state of a task by dragging and dropping tasks into the areas defined by graphical elements 1710, 1720, and/or 1730. For example, the user can select and drag task 1802 from graphical element 1710 into graphical element 1720 to cause CMS client 242 to change the state of task 1802 from “to do” to “in progress.”)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Stringham (2022/0108276) drag-drop ideas between areas.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andrey Belousov/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2172
8/4/26