DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, filed 7/29/2026, have been fully considered and reviewed by the examiner. The examiner notes the amendment to claims and therefore withdraws the 35 USC 112 2nd paragraph rejection. Claims 1-10 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments related to the Fritz reference are noted, but not persuasive. Applicant argues that Fritz does not disclose a plurality of liquid chambers disposed in one direction and discloses a grouping of nozzles and thus not a plurality of chambers. The examiner disagrees and notes that the scope of the term “liquid chambers” does not provide any specific structure over that which is taught by the prior art. Applicant argues that “grouping of nozzles is not a chamber that holds coating material and feeds a plurality of discharge ports.” Here, the examiner notes that the term chamber is broadly drafted by the applicant to encompass any number of structures. Contrary to the applicant’s arguments, the term does not differentiate over “internal nozzle features” as all that is requires is that there is a chamber, of some undefined structure (i.e. a tube, pipe, bulges, chambers) that is capable of having liquid. The claims themselves are sub-features of the device and therefore the argument that Fritz discloses a nozzle sub-feature appears misplaced and does not illustrate or differentiate the broadly drafted structure from that which is taught by Fritz.
Applicants argue that Fritz does not disclose the coating material is supplied by independently branched supply channels, arguing that the reference discloses a commonly connects outlet of a color changer and thus not independently branched supply channel as disclosed. The examiner disagrees and notes the instant application requires a common source and independent branches to each of the liquid chambers. Here, Applicant’s argue that the shared color changer outlet feeding a group of nozzles in common, the examiner does not agree, as the claims merely require the chamber includes an independent supply to each nozzle, as is specifically taught by Fritz. Each nozzle, i.e. liquid chamber, is connected to an independent branched supply channels, all that is required by the claims (4A, 4B). See also Applicant’s Figure 2, which discloses a single supply source of coating material and independent branches to each nozzle (“The coating material supply device 40 has a supply channel 41, a plurality of branched supply channels 42 branched from the supply channel 41”). As such, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, when read in light of the specification, the prior art that discloses a coating material supply device (i.e. color changer) and has individual branches to each nozzle reasonably reads on the claims as drafted.
Applicant’s argue related to the discharge ports in a plurality of liquid chambers is noted, but not persuasive, for the reasons set forth above with respect to the broadly drafted chambers. Here, its is unclear if the applicant’s is attaching certain structure to the term chamber, but this term does not provide sufficient structure to differentiate over the prior art rejection.
The above annotated figure 4B is for illustration purposes only. As can see above, each nozzle, which will have the broadly drafted “chamber” includes an independently branched supply channel and the nozzles (i.e. chambers) each have discharge ports. See also Figure 19A-19E, which exemplifies the various types of “liquid chambers” encompassed by the disclosure that are within the nozzle as claimed. Figures 27 related to nozzle structure that includes a “liquid chamber” and discharge ports.
Applicant’s arguments relative to obviousness rejection is noted, but not persuasive in view of the disclosure Fritz. See e.g. 21A-21B, (“FIG. 21A shows a schematic representation of three coating agent nozzle arrangements BA1, BA2 and BA3 which are actuatable or adjustable independently of one another (for example controllable or variable)”) Here, this supports both the anticipation and obviousness as set forth in the prior art rejection of record.
Here, the remaining arguments are deemed unpersuasive as not commensurate in scope with the broadly drafted claims or unsupported by factual evidence and thus deemed moot.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over US Patent Application Publication 20130284833 by Fritz et al.
Examiner incorporates herein by reference Response to Arguments above.
Fritz discloses a coating machine that coats the coating surface of an object to be coated with coating material discharged from a coating head, the coating machine comprising: a plurality of liquid chambers disposed along one direction of the coating head and each supplied with the coating material via independent branched supply channels; and discharge ports provided in a plurality of the liquid chambers (Figure 4B and accompanying text, Figure 21A and accompanying text).
Claim 2: Fritz discloses the individual nozzle arrangements are actuatable or adjustable independently from one another (0172) and thus meets this claim requirement. Additionally the nozzles can reasonably be detached as evidenced by their distinct nature of Figure 4B, see 0126 related to group of two or more application apparatuses.
Claim 3-4: Fritz discloses such at Figure 21A.
Claim 5: Fritz discloses the shape of the ports is different, Figure 21A.
Claim 6: Fritz discloses such at Figure 21A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritz et al.
Claim 2: At the very least, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide separable application apparatus since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177,179..
Claim 3-4: Additionally, the number of discharge ports and arrangement of nozzles provided in the liquid chamber will be adjustable and a result effective variable, directly effecting the uniformity (0167) and therefore determination of the optimum number and arrangement of discharge nozzles would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a uniform coating.
Claim 5: Fritz discloses varying the nozzle shape (166) and discloses that the respective application apparatus can be fitted with nozzles form that are the same or different size or form, i.e. shape, see 0166, and therefore determination of the optimum shape would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a uniform coating.
Claim 6: Fritz discloses such at Figure 21A and the width of the chambers would directly affect the spray pattern and therefore determination of the optimum with would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a uniform coating.
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritz et al. with JP 6979546, hereinafter JP 546.
Fritz discloses all that is taught above and discloses a device for coating with a plurality of nozzles, including automotive and discloses a supply channel provided corresponding to each of the liquid chambers and providing the coating material to the liquid chamber (See e.g. Figure 4B); however, fails to discloses the supply line particulars of claim 7.
However, JP 546, also in the art of a device for coating with a plurality of nozzles, including automotive, discloses pressurizing means (gear pump 61, “The gear pump 61 draws in the paint stored in the paint tank 46 and sends out the drawn paint toward the paint head 4”) disposed in the supply channel and applying pressure to the coating material to deliver it towards the liquid chamber; a first valve disposed downstream from the pressurizing means in the supply channel (valves in supply line, 66) ; a reflux channel branched from a position downstream from the pressurizing means in the supply channel and upstream from the first valve and refluxing the coating material delivered from the pressurizing means to an upstream side of the pressurizing means in the supply channel (figure 2 and accompanying text, reflux line 50); a second valve disposed in the reflux channel (valve 71); and an opening/closing control part for opening/closing control of the first valve and the second valve (“control unit (not shown) that controls the operation of the paint head 47 and the paint circulation path 41”). As for the requirement for each supply channel, Fritz discloses individual supply channels to each liquid chamber and independently controlled each liquid chamber and therefore it would have been obvious to provide a gear pump in each line with a reasonable expectation that the liquid would be supplied to each.
Therefore, taking the references collectively, it would have been obvious to have modified Fritz to use the flow path/recirculation path as suggested by JP 546 to reap the benefits as provided by JP 546.
Claim 8: JP 546 discloses open/close values that meets the claim requirement and the control unit controlling the operation of the paint circulation path and therefore meets the structure requirements of this claims (“control unit (not shown) that controls the operation of the paint head 47 and the paint circulation path 41”). It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claims 9-10: JP 546 discloses the pressurizing means is a gear pump driven by a drive source (“The gear pump 61 draws in the paint stored in the paint tank 46 and sends out the drawn paint toward the paint head 4”) wherein the drive source simultaneously drives the gear pump provided in each of the supply channels (“The gear pump 61 is driven and controlled”). As for the requirement of gear pump in each supply channel, Fritz discloses individual supply channels to each liquid chamber and independently controlled each liquid chamber and therefore it would have been obvious to provide a gear pump in each line with a reasonable expectation that the liquid would be supplied to each liquid chamber.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID P TUROCY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718