DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 6/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Non-elected claims 19 and 20 are cancelled. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “the flow area”. It is unclear if it is referring to “the flow circulating area” or “the reduced flow area” in parent claim 11.
For examination purposes, “the flow area” is construed as -- the flow circulating area--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 109297022 A) in view of Koeune (US PGPub No. 2022/0082332).
Regarding claim 1, Chen (Fig. 6) discloses a system, comprising:
a heat exchanger (a unit of two heat exchangers 6) for exchanging thermal energy with a fluid flowing through (a fluid from bottom inlet 603), the heat exchanger having:
a housing (a body of the two heat exchangers 6) defining a first inlet (603), a first outlet (604), a second inlet (6011), and a second outlet (6012);
first conduits within the housing (gas flow passages 602), the first conduits fluidly connecting the first inlet to the first outlet (the gas flow passages 602 connect the inlet 603 and the outlet 604);
one or more second conduit within the housing (air flow passages 601), the one or more second conduits fluidly connecting the second inlet to the second outlet (the air flow passages 601 connect the inlet 6011 and the outlet 6012), the one or more second conduit in heat exchange relationship with the first conduits (the passages 602 performs heat exchange with the fluid flowing in passages 601); and
a mixing chamber (a section between the two heat exchangers 6, see annotated figure below) intersecting two or more of the first conduits (between two sections of the gas flow passages 602) and separating the first conduits into upstream sections (the gas flow passages 602 below the mixing chamber) and downstream sections (the gas flow passages 602 above the mixing chamber) relative to a flow from the first inlet to the first outlet, the mixing chamber having a peripheral wall extending around a mixing volume (a wall enclosing the mixing chamber), the peripheral wall defining a convergent section in which a flow circulating area of the mixing volume (a flow area of the mixing chamber) decreases in a downstream direction relative to the flow through the first conduits (see annotated figure below, the flow area decreases along the downstream direction in the annotated figure).
Chen fails to disclose a system for an aircraft engine;
an aircraft component; and
a heat exchanger for exchanging thermal energy with a fluid flowing through the aircraft component.
Koeune, also directed to a known tube and shell heat exchanger, discloses a shell and tube heat exchange system for an aircraft engine (a system having a Fuel Cooled Oil Cooler exchanger 50, Fig. 2 for cooling an aircraft engine 2);
an aircraft component (components 22 and 26 within the aircraft engine 2 that requires cooling by the circulating engine oil, Fig. 1); and
a heat exchanger (the Fuel Cooled Oil Cooler exchanger 50) for exchanging thermal energy with a fluid (the oil) flowing through the aircraft component (the components 22 and 26).
Therefore, the heat exchanger of Chen may be used to perform heat exchange between the fuel and oil in the aircraft engine 2 in Koeune.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a system for an aircraft engine; an aircraft component; and a heat exchanger for exchanging thermal energy with a fluid flowing through the aircraft component in Chen as taught by Koeune in order to perform heat transfer between the oil and fuel for optimal operation of an aircraft engine.
Regarding claim 2, Chen as modified in claim 1 further discloses wherein the flow circulating area decreases to a reduced flow circulating area in the convergent section (a decreased area at the downstream side of the convergent section), the peripheral wall defining a central section in which the flow circulating area corresponds to the reduced flow circulating area (see annotated figure above, the central section has the same size as the decreased area), and a divergent section in which the flow circulating area increases (see annotated figure above, the divergent section where the mixing chamber increases as its downstream side).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in claim 2 further discloses wherein the central section extends from a first location to a second location downstream of the first location (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in claim 3 further discloses wherein the flow circulating area corresponds to the reduced flow circulating area at a single location (the decreased area is at a single, center location of the entire flow area of the mixing chamber), the flow circulating area greater than the reduced flow circulating area both immediately upstream and downstream of the single location (the flow area expands immediately upstream the “first location” and downstream the “second location” from the center of the mixing chamber).
Regarding claim 5, Chen as modified in claim 1 further discloses wherein the housing defines an elbow (a 90-degree bent of the body of the heat exchangers 6 at the “convergent section” or “divergent section” in annotated figure above), the mixing chamber located at the elbow (the mixing chamber is located at the 90 degree bent).
Regarding claim 10, Chen (Fig. 6) discloses a system, comprising:
a fluid circuit (gas flow circuit flowing within gas flow passages 602) extending from a fluid reservoir (6021 on bottom side of the Fig. 6) of a first fluid (the gas flow);
a source of a second fluid (a source of a fluid at inlet 6011); and
a heat exchanger (a unit of two heat exchangers 6) having:
first conduits (gas flow passages 602) in fluid communication with the fluid circuit and having first conduit inlets (inlets of the passages 602 downstream the mixing chamber in annotated figure above) and first conduit outlets (outlets of the passages 602 upstream the mixing chamber in annotated figure above), the first conduits being in heat exchange relationship with the second fluid (the passages 602 performs heat exchange with the fluid flowing in passages 601); and
a mixing chamber (a section between the two heat exchangers 6, see annotated figure above) intersecting the first conduits between the first conduit inlets and the first conduit outlets (between the two passages mentioned above), the first conduits defining flow paths merging together into the mixing chamber (at “first location” in the annotated figure above where the fluid converges) and separating from each other out of the mixing chamber (at “second location” in the annotated figure above where the fluid diverges), the mixing chamber having a convergent section in which a flow circulating area decreases in a direction of the flow (see annotated figure above, the flow area decreases along the downstream direction in the annotated figure).
Chen fails to disclose an aircraft engine; and
a fluid circuit extending from a fluid reservoir of a first fluid to a component of the aircraft engine and back to the fluid reservoir.
Koeune, also directed to a known tube and shell heat exchanger, discloses an aircraft engine (Fig. 1); and
a fluid circuit (oil circuit of a Fuel Cooled Oil Cooler exchanger 50, Figs. 1 and 2) extending from a fluid reservoir of a first fluid (manifold 96, Fig. 2) to a component of the aircraft engine (to components 22 and 26 within the aircraft engine 2) and back to the fluid reservoir (the oil flows back to the manifold 96 of the heat exchanger 50 from the components 22 and 26).
Therefore, the heat exchanger of Chen may be used to perform heat exchange between the fuel and oil in the aircraft engine 2 in Koeune.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an aircraft engine; and a fluid circuit extending from a fluid reservoir of a first fluid to a component of the aircraft engine and back to the fluid reservoir in Chen as taught by Koeune in order to perform heat transfer between the oil and fuel for optimal operation of an aircraft engine.
Regarding claim 11, Chen as modified in claim 10 further discloses wherein the mixing chamber has an upstream wall and a downstream wall interconnected to the upstream wall via a peripheral wall (see annotated figure above, they are connected via the wall surrounding the mixing chamber), a mixing volume defined by the upstream wall, the downstream wall, and the peripheral wall (see “mixing chamber” in annotated figure above, the “mixing chamber” is defined by the upstream wall, the downstream wall on its lateral sides, and the peripheral wall around the mixing chamber), the peripheral wall defining the converging section in which the flow circulating area decreases to a reduced flow area (see annotated figure above, the converging section has a decreased area at its downstream end), a central section in which the flow area corresponds to the reduced flow area (see annotated figure above, the central section has the same size as the decreased area), and a divergent section in which the flow area increases (the diverging section in annotated figure above having an increased area at its downstream end).
Regarding claim 12, Chen in claim 11 further discloses wherein the central section extends from a first location to a second location downstream of the first location (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 13, Chen in claim 11 further discloses wherein the flow circulating area corresponds to the reduced flow area at a single location (the decreased area is at a single, center location of the entire flow area of the mixing chamber), the flow circulating area greater than the reduced flow area both immediately upstream and downstream of the single location (the flow area expands immediately upstream the “first location” and downstream the “second location” from the center of the mixing chamber).
Regarding claim 14, Chen in claim 10 further discloses wherein the heat exchanger includes a housing containing the first conduits (a body of the heat exchangers 6 containing the gas flow channels 602), the heat exchanger defining a second conduit (air flow passages 601) between the first conduits and the housing (see Fig. 6), the housing defining an elbow (a 90-degree bent of the body of the heat exchangers 6 at the “convergent section” or “divergent section” in annotated figure above), the mixing chamber located at the elbow (the mixing chamber is located at the 90 degree bent).
Claim(s) 6-8 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 109297022 A) in view of Koeune (US PGPub No. 2022/0082332) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Evans (US PGPub No 2012/0192813).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Chen as modified in claim 1 and 11 further discloses wherein the mixing chamber includes an upstream wall secured to the peripheral wall (see annotated figure above), the upstream sections of the first conduits secured to the upstream wall (the upstream passages 602 secured to the upstream wall), the upstream wall defining apertures each fluidly connected to a respective one of the upstream sections of the first conduits (openings of the upstream wall receiving outlet end of the passages 602), the apertures extending from apertures inlets at an upstream face of the upstream wall to aperture outlets at a downstream face of the upstream wall (the openings inherently extend from inlets at an upstream face facing the passages 601; and outlets at an downstream face facing the mixing chamber).
Chen fails to disclose the aperture inlets circumferentially offset from the aperture outlets to induce a swirl into the fluid flowing through the apertures.
Evans discloses a tube sheet (84) having through holes machined at an acute angle to accept the helix wound tubes 20 (Fig. 5 and paragraph 0034). Therefore, the tube sheet 84 of Evans has aperture inlets (the through holes on an inner side of the tube sheet 84 facing the tubes 20) circumferentially offset from the aperture outlets (circumferentially offset the through holes on an outer side of the tube sheet 84 where ends of the tubes 20 extends, Fig. 5, since the holes are angled to accept helix wound tubes 20 that are circumferentially extending).
Therefore, helix tubes 20 and tube sheets with angled through holes accepting angled ends of the helix tubes 20 of Evans may replace straight passages 602 and tube sheets at opposite ends of the passages 602 of Chen. As a result, the modified structure induces a swirl into the fluid flowing through the apertures because an angle with respected to a vertical direction of the fluid flow is defined at each inlet and outlet of the modified tubes and tube sheets.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the aperture inlets circumferentially offset from the aperture outlets to induce a swirl into the fluid flowing through the apertures in Chen as taught by Evans in order to allow significant expansion and contraction of the tubes without overstressing joints between the tubes and tube sheets (paragraph 0036 of Evans).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Chen as modified in claim 6 and 15 further discloses wherein a shape of the apertures is round (the passages 602 as modified is round).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Chen as modified in claim 6 and 15 fails to disclose wherein a shape of the apertures is rectangular.
Koeune further discloses that the branches 109.3 in tubular meshes 100 may have a rectangular cross-sectional shape (Fig. 9 and paragraph 0072). Therefore, the apertures in tube sheets 70 and 72 of the heat exchanger 50 in Fig. 2 may have a rectangular shape to receive branches 100 in rectangular cross-sectional shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein a shape of the apertures is rectangular in Chen as taught by Koeune. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 109297022 A) in view of Koeune (US PGPub No. 2022/0082332) as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Lv (CN 111750701 A).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Chen in claim 1 and 10 fails to disclose wherein the mixing chamber includes a plurality of mixing chambers serially disposed one after the other, the first conduits including intermediate sections interconnecting one of the plurality of mixing chambers to the other.
Lv (Fig. 5) discloses two or more heat exchangers 30 having the same structure that are connected in series (paragraph 0036 of the translation). Therefore, in view of the teaching of Lv, one of ordinary skill in the art would duplicate the heat exchanger 6, and the duplicated heat exchanger 6 further connects to the two original heat exchangers 6 by another mixing chamber (and another connecting pipe 13).
As a result, the mixing chamber includes a plurality of mixing chambers (the mixing chamber in claim 1 or 10 and the another mixing chamber added) serially disposed one after the other (the original mixing chamber is serially disposed after the added mixing chamber having a middle heat exchanger 6 in between), the first conduits including intermediate sections interconnecting one of the plurality of mixing chambers to the other (the passages 602 of the middle heat exchanger 6 serially connecting the two mixing chambers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the mixing chamber includes a plurality of mixing chambers serially disposed one after the other, the first conduits including intermediate sections interconnecting one of the plurality of mixing chambers to the other in Chen as taught by Lv in order to increase heat exchange capacity. Also, mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763