DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/24/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “the desired dairy product characteristic includes one or more input parameter includes an end-use product type.” It is not clear what this phrase requires. There appear to be missing or incorrect words here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Balassanian [US 2014/0072679A1].
Balassanian teaches system for automated beverage production (title) comprising a user identifying and inputting a desired product characteristic into a controller (Figure 2, #200; Figure 5, #410), the product being a dairy product such as milk (paragraph 0022, 0035-0036), the desired characteristic being an aesthetic characteristic such as a product color (paragraph 0030-0031, 0039-0040), the user also specifying a desired shelf-life duration (paragraph 0040), the controller providing a treatment parameters based upon the characteristic by choosing ingredients which provide the desired color (Figure 5, #420-450), the controller also choosing appropriate ingredients based upon their respective parameters such as pH, sugar content, pathogen count, water content, and/or color (paragraph 0025-0031), the controller also selecting nitrogen flushing and/or an appropriate chiller temperature in order to provide the desired shelf-life duration (paragraph 0045), and outputting the desired dairy product protein (Figure 5, #460).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balassanian [US 2014/0072679A1] in view of Mathys et al [US 2014/0154371A1].
Balassanian teach the above mentioned concepts. Balassanian does not explicitly recite a milk protein concentrate or micellar casein concentrate (claim 15), or a pulsed electric field process (claim 16). Mathys et al teach pulsed electric field treatment process of dairy products (title) comprising the treatment of dairy products such as milk, casein powder, and milk protein powder (paragraph 0014), the PEF treatment providing increased shelf-life at chilled conditions (paragraph 0023), the PEF treatment including a selected duration and temperature (paragraph 0156, 0170, 0172), a chilling step using a selected temperature (paragraph 0174), and subsequently freeze- or spray-drying the PEF product into a concentrate (paragraph 0175). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed milk protein concentrate and PEF treatment into the invention of Balassanian, in view of Mathys et al, since both are directed to methods of processing dairy products, since Balassanian already included a selected shelf-life duration with processing steps such as nitrogen flushing and chilled storage, since dairy processing systems commonly included the treatment of dairy products such as milk, casein powder, and milk protein powder (paragraph 0014) and a PEF treatment providing increased shelf-life at chilled conditions (paragraph 0023) as shown by Mathys et al, since the PEF treatment would have enabled a longer shelf-life duration in the process of Balassanian, since a longer shelf-life would have enabled greater flexibility in choosing the desired time of consumption, since many consumers desired food and beverage products with increased protein levels, since milk protein concentrate was a commonly used food supplement, since many consumers purchased concentrated beverage products which they later diluted prior to consumption, since a concentrated product would possess lower levels of water and thus be capable of being placed in a smaller volume container, since smaller containers would be less expensive to manufacture, store, and transport; and since many consumers desired concentrated and high protein products for their personal fitness and nutrition needs.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balassanian as applied above, and further in view of Keener et al [US 2019/0290792A1].
Balassanian teaches the above mentioned concepts. Balassanian does not explicitly recite cold plasma treatment (claim 17). Keener et al teach inactivating pathogenic microorganisms using cold plasma (title) wherein the liquid is milk (page 10, claim 19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the claimed cold plasma treatment into the invention of Balassanian, in view of Keener et al, since both are directed to methods of processing dairy products, since Balassanian already included a selected shelf-life duration with processing steps such as nitrogen flushing and chilled storage, since dairy processing systems commonly included inactivating pathogenic microorganisms using cold plasma (title) wherein the liquid is milk (page 10, claim 19) as shown by Keener et al, since longer shelf-life duration would enable greater flexibility to the consumer in choosing when to use the product of Balassanian, and since the cold plasma treatment would have enabled a longer shelf-life duration in the process of Balassanian, in view of Keener et al.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Filliol teaches a beverage system with user input, Verdi teaches a system for analyzing and processing human milk, Hartmann teaches a system for analyzing and processing human milk, Ameye teaches a system for formulating and creating baby formula, Bindrich teaches a system for PEF treatment of casein micelles.
/DREW E BECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792