DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the plurality of exterior sidewalls " in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of examination below, Examiner interprets the limitation as reciting “the plurality of sidewalls”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20080237845 A1).
As to Claim 1, Kim discloses:
A cooling apparatus (heat exchanger 102; see Fig. 1) contacting an electronic component of an electronic device (IC die 104), the cooling apparatus 102 comprising:
a bottom wall (heat spreader 100) directly contacting the electronic component 104 (Par. 0014 “heat spreader 100 physically and thermally coupled to an IC die 104”);
a plurality of sidewalls (sides of 102) formed perpendicular to the bottom wall 100 (sides are perpendicular to 100), the bottom wall 100 and the plurality of sidewalls defining an internal cavity (chamber 114);
a cooling fluid 150 disposed within the internal cavity 114 (Par. 0016 “The heat exchanger 102 includes a liquid container, housing or chamber 114 that contains a liquid coolant”); and
a heat resistance component (Thermally-Conductive Microporous Coating (TCMC) 111) positioned adjacent the cooling fluid 150and aligned with the electronic component 104 (111 within liquid coolant and aligned with 104),
wherein the bottom wall 100 is positioned between the heat resistance component 111 and the electronic component 104 (100 is between 111 and 104).
As to Claim 2, Kim discloses:
wherein the heat resistance component 111 is one of:
positioned directly over at least a portion of the bottom wall 100 (111 is directly over 100), within the internal cavity (111 is within 114), or
directly embedded within the bottom wall, opposite to and aligned with the electronic component.
As to Claim 3, Kim discloses:
wherein the cooling fluid 150 flows directly over the heat resistance component 111 positioned directly over the portion of the bottom wall 100 (Par. 0018 “The liquid coolant 150 partially fills the chamber 114, at least partially covering the TCMC 111 surface area”).
As to Claim 4, Kim discloses:
wherein the heat resistance component 111 is formed as at least one of:
a layer of heat resistant paint,
a patch formed from a material having lower thermal conductivity properties than a material forming the bottom wall 100 (111 is distinct from area around it, see definition of patch below; Par. 0020 “the TCMC can be a microporous coat or a boiling surface enhancement… The microporous surface is created using particles of various sizes comprising any metal which can be bonded by the soldering process including nickel, copper, aluminum, silver, iron, brass, and various alloys in conjunction with a thermally conductive binder”; Par. 0018 “one may still use typical metal such as aluminum or copper for the major portion of the vessel including the side to contact the heat-generating device”; at least nickel, aluminum, iron and brass have lower thermal conductivity than copper; Definition of patch – “a part or area distinct from that about it” – Merriam-Webster), or
an air gap formed directly in the bottom wall, below the cooling fluid.
As to Claim 8, Kim discloses:
wherein the heat resistance component 111 is positioned proximate to and separated from the plurality of sidewalls (sides of 102; 111 is separated from sides of 102, 111 is proximate to sides of 102).
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 7661463 B2)
As to Claim 9, Liu discloses:
A cooling apparatus (cooling device of Fig. 11; reference will be made to Figs. 2 and 4 for similar parts; col. 5, Lines 5-8 “The cooling device of the fifth embodiment is similar to the cooling device of the second embodiment except that heat pipes 23 are used in the fifth embodiment”; col. 4, Lines 30-35 “The cooling device of the second embodiment is similar to the cooling device of the first embodiment except that the fins of the heat sink 30 of the cooling device of the second embodiment integrally extend from the top wall 11 of the chamber 10, the buffering region 22 is located at opposite sides of the chamber 10”) contacting an electronic component 20 of an electronic device (col. 3, Lines 52-54 “The bottom wall 14 comprises a bottom surface for contacting with and absorbing heat from the heat generating component 20”), the cooling apparatus comprising:
a bottom wall 14 directly contacting the electronic component 20 (see col. 3, Lines 52-54);
a plurality of exterior sidewalls (sides of boiling chamber 10) formed perpendicular to the bottom wall 14 (sides of 10 are perpendicular to 14);
a plurality of interior walls (see Fig. below of highlighted structure 13) formed perpendicular to the bottom wall 14 and surrounded by the plurality of exterior sidewalls (highlighted 13 are perpendicular to 14 and within sides of 10);
an inner cavity (see Fig. below) defined by the plurality of interior walls and the bottom wall 14 (highlighted inner cavity defined by highlighted structures 13 and bottom wall 14), the inner cavity in direct alignment with the electronic device 20 (highlighted inner cavity in direct alignment with 20);
an outer cavity (buffering regions 22) defined by the plurality of exterior sidewalls (sides of 10) and the bottom wall 14 (22 defined by 14 and sides of 10), the outer cavity 22 surrounding the inner cavity (22 surrounds highlighted inner cavity); and
a cooling fluid (working fluid 15) disposed within the inner cavity and the outer cavity 22 (working fluid disposed in highlighted inner cavity and 22).
As to Claim 10, Liu discloses:
wherein the plurality of interior walls (highlighted in Fig. in rejection of claim 9 above) is positioned between and separates the inner cavity and the outer cavity 22 (highlighted interior walls separate buffering regions and highlighted inner cavity).
As to Claim 11, Liu discloses:
wherein the inner cavity (highlighted inner cavity) includes a first internal pressure, and the outer cavity 22 includes a second internal pressure, the second internal pressure lower than the first internal pressure (boiling occurs at inner cavity, condensation occurs in buffering regions 22, highlighted inner cavity must have higher pressure than buffering region 22).
As to Claim 12, Liu discloses:
further comprising:
a distinct plurality of interior walls (highlighted below) formed perpendicular to the bottom wall 14 (highlighted distinct interior walls are perpendicular to 14), the distinct plurality of interior walls positioned between the plurality of exterior sidewalls (sides of 10) and the plurality of interior walls (see Fig. below; distinct interior walls between interior walls and sides of 10); and
an intermediary cavity (highlighted below) defined by the plurality of interior walls, the bottom wall 14, and the distinct plurality of interior walls (highlighted intermediary cavity defined by interior walls, 14 and distinct interior walls), the intermediary cavity surrounding the inner cavity and surrounded by the outer cavity 22 (highlighted intermediary cavity surrounds inner cavity and is surrounded by 22).
As to Claim 13, Liu discloses:
wherein the intermediary cavity (highlighted in rejection of claim 12 above) includes a third internal pressure, the third internal pressure is lower than the first internal pressure of the inner cavity, and greater than the second internal pressure of the outer cavity 22 (highlighted intermediary cavity must at least have a lower pressure than highlighted inner cavity as not directly over 20 and greater pressure than within 22 as no condensation occurring in intermediary cavity).
As to Claim 14, Liu discloses:
wherein the cooling fluid (working fluid 15) is disposed within the intermediary cavity (working fluid dispose din highlighted intermediary cavity).
As to Claim 15, Liu discloses:
wherein the inner cavity (highlighted in rejection of claims 9 and 12 above) includes a predetermined size that is based on at least one of:
thermal characteristics of the electronic component 20 (heat transfer enhancing structure 13 selected to dissipate heat of heat generating component 20, heat absorbing units 16a affect size of highlighted inner cavity),
dimensions of the electronic component,
material characteristics of the bottom wall, or
a thickness of the bottom wall.
A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As to Claim 16, Liu discloses:
further comprising:
a first heatpipe (at least one of heat pipe 23; Figs. 11-12) in fluid communication with the inner cavity (exterior of heat pipe 23 fluidly connected to highlighted inner cavity via region 22); and
a second heatpipe (the other of the at least one heat pipe 23) in fluid communication with the outer cavity 22 (exterior of other heat pipe 23 fluidly connected to region 22).
Claim 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US 20240147667 A1).
As to Claim 17, Chen discloses:
A cooling apparatus A contacting an electronic component of an electronic device (Par. 0030 “The bottom outer surface 142 of the bottom cover 14 is configured to be contacted with a heat source (not shown). Wherein, the heat source can be a chip or chip packaging case of electronic product”), the cooling apparatus comprising:
a bottom wall (bottom cover 14) directly contacting the electronic component (Par. 0030 “The bottom outer surface 142 of the bottom cover 14 is configured to be contacted with a heat source (not shown). Wherein, the heat source can be a chip or chip packaging case of electronic product”);
a plurality of sidewalls (sides of case 20) formed perpendicular to the bottom wall 14 (sides of case 20 are perpendicular to 14), the plurality of sidewalls and the bottom wall defining an internal cavity (heat-exchanging chamber 30);
a means for increasing heat resistance 16 for the bottom wall 14 aligned with the electronic component (wick 16 on bottom wall 14; inherently at least in part provides thermal resistance), the bottom wall 14 positioned between the means for increasing heat resistance 16 and the electronic component (heat source disposed under 14, 14 disposed between 16 and heat source); and
cooling means (cold liquid fluid in 30 and working fluid in 15) disposed over the bottom wall 14 and positioned within the internal cavity 30 (both cold liquid fluid and working fluid disposed within 30).
As to Claim 18, Chen discloses:
wherein the means for increasing the heat resistance 16 of the bottom wall 14 is one of:
positioned directly over at least a portion of the bottom wall 14, within the internal cavity 30 defined by the bottom wall 14 and the plurality of sidewalls (sides of 20; 16 is at least positioned over a portion of bottom cover 14), or
directly embedded within the bottom wall, opposite to and aligned with the electronic component.
As to Claim 19, Chen discloses:
a means for separating the internal cavity 12 (upper cover 12 separates chamber 30) defined by the plurality of sidewalls (sides of 20) and the bottom wall 14, wherein the plurality of sidewalls (sides of 20) surround the means for separating the internal cavity 12 (sides of 20 surround 12).
As to Claim 20 (as best understood), Chen discloses:
wherein the means for increasing heat resistance includes:
a first means for increasing heat resistance for the bottom wall (wick 16) in direct alignment with the electronic device (Par. 0030 “The bottom outer surface 142 of the bottom cover 14 is configured to be contacted with a heat source (not shown). Wherein, the heat source can be a chip or chip packaging case of electronic product”), the first means for increasing the heat resistance for the bottom wall 16 defined by the means for separating the internal cavity 12 (16 is disposed within 12); and
a second means for increasing heat resistance for the bottom wall (support columns 50; see Figs. 1-3, labeled in Fig. 3) surrounding the first means for increasing the heat resistance 16 (columns 50 surround at least central bottom portion of wick 16), the second means for increasing the heat resistance of the bottom wall 50 defined by the plurality of sidewalls (sides of 20), the bottom wall 14, and the means for separating the internal cavity 12; (support columns are within sides of 20, above 14 and within 12),
wherein the cooling means (cold liquid fluid in 30 and working fluid in 15) are disposed within the first means for increasing the heat resistance for the bottom wall 16 and the second means for increasing the heat resistance for the bottom wall 50 (both cold liquid fluid in 30 and working fluid in 15 surround wick 16 and columns 50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20080237845 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Howard (US 10039209 B1).
As to Claim 5, Kim discloses:
wherein the patch 111 includes:
a first portion in direct alignment the electronic device 104, the first portion including a first height (111 is directly aligned with 104, has a height).
Kim does not disclose:
a second portion formed adjacent and surrounding the first portion, the second portion including a second height less than the first height of the first portion.
However, Howard discloses:
wherein the patch (treatment 110; Fig. 10) includes:
a first portion in direct alignment the electronic device 108, the first portion including a first height (highlighted first portion of 110, has first height); and
a second portion formed adjacent and surrounding the first portion (second region highlighted below), the second portion including a second height less than the first height of the first portion (height of second region less than first region);
in order to more evenly distribute the outward diffusing heat through the substrate (col. 10, Lines 30-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim as further suggested by Howard e.g., providing:
a second portion formed adjacent and surrounding the first portion, the second portion including a second height less than the first height of the first portion;
in order to more evenly distribute the outward diffusing heat through the substrate/cooling apparatus.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to Claim 6, the obvious modification of Kim in view of Howard discloses:
wherein the second height of the second portion of the patch is tapered away from the first portion (see highlighted second region tapered away from highlighted first region of Fig. 10 of Howard above).
As to Claim 7, Kim does not disclose:
wherein the heat resistance component includes a predetermined size that is based on at least one of:
thermal characteristics of the electronic component,
dimensions of the electronic component,
material characteristics of the bottom wall, or
a thickness of the bottom wall.
However, Howard discloses:
wherein the heat resistance component (110 of Fig. 10) includes a predetermined size that is based on at least one of:
thermal characteristics of the electronic component 108 (size/shape of 110 based on hotspot created by 108; col. 10, Lines 27-35 “For example, the thickness of the treatment 110 may be inversely proportional to a distance from a hot spot 104, to provide for a thermal conductivity that decreases with distance from the hot spot 104. Because the transversely diffusing heat 112 is spread transversely in the treatment 110, with greater efficiency closer to the hot spot, the outward diffusing heat 402 conducted outward through the substrate 502 may be more evenly distributed across the structure 102”);
in order to more evenly distribute the outward diffusing heat through the substrate (col. 10, Lines 30-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim as further suggested by Howard e.g., providing:
wherein the heat resistance component includes a predetermined size that is based on at least one of:
thermal characteristics of the electronic component;
in order to more evenly distribute the outward diffusing heat through the substrate/cooling apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ohsawa (US 8982559 B2) discloses a thermal resistance component within a heatsink.
Siu (US 20060196640 A1) discloses a boil-enhancing member within a vapor chamber.
Kim (US 20070230128 A1) discloses a boil-enhancing member within a cooling apparatus.
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835