DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are amended.
Claims 7 and 14 are canceled.
Claims 21-23 are new.
Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15-23 are pending.
Response to Remarks/Amendments
35 USC §101 Rejections
The Applicant traverses the rejection of the claims as being directed to an ineligible abstract idea, contending that the present claims do not recite steps for managing personal behavior. See Remarks p. 13. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The present claims recite steps for generating a risk map that could be implemented mentally or on paper, but a general purpose computer network is recited for implementing the abstract idea.
The Applicant further contends that the claims recite the practical application of “enabling aircraft to fly within a pre-programmed risk profile.” See Remarks p. 15. In response, the Examine submits that: “enabling aircraft to fly within a pre-programmed risk profile;” is not a practical application of the abstract idea of generating a risk map. Instead, “enabling aircraft to fly within a pre-programmed risk profile;” is at best, part of the abstract idea. The claims do not recite any apparent improvement to a technology or technical field.
Again, the Applicant raises the issue of preemption. Again, the Examiner reiterates that, preemption is the concern underlying the judicial exceptions, it is not a standalone test for determining eligibility See MPEP §2106.04[I]. The test for eligibility outlined in MPEP §2106 has been properly followed in the analysis, below, to arrive at a conclusion of ineligibility. The present claims are directed to ineligible subject matter because the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Again, the Applicant submits that the claims are subject matter eligible because the claims recite unconventional elements. Again, the Examiner reiterates that, an abstract idea without significantly more is just that – an abstract idea. Additional elements outside the scope of the abstract idea of generating a flight plan based on a risk map have been considered, but they have been found to amount to generic computer hardware . The
generic computer hardware does not provide a practical application or significantly more than the recited abstract idea. Contrary to the Applicant’s assertions, no apparent improvement to the performance of a computer is recited in the claims.
The rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility is updated and maintained.
35 USC §103 Rejections
Amendments to the claims changed the scope of the claims, necessitating further search and consideration of the prior art. A new search returned the Samuthirapandian and Kuhlman references, which are cited in the rejection of the independent claims, below. The Applicant’s arguments are moot in light of the newly cited references.
The rejection of the dependent claims stands or falls with the rejection of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) provides detailed rules for determining subject matter eligibility for claims in §2106. Those rules provide a basis for the analysis and finding of ineligibility that follows.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claimed invention recites a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Although claims(s) 1-20 are all directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, the claims are directed to generating a flight plan based on a risk map (as evidenced by exemplary independent claim 1; “generate a risk map based on the risk metric;” and “generate, based on the risk map, a flight plan”), an abstract idea. Certain methods of organizing human activity are ineligible abstract ideas, including managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. See MPEP §2106.04(a). The limitations of exemplary claim 1 include: “select . . . altitude values below an altitude threshold;” “correct the altitude values;” “generate . . . a first subset of the flight trajectories . . . and [ ] a second subset of the flight trajectories;” “determine a horizontal distance and a vertical distance between [a] grid location and a point;” “determine a first overlap probability between [horizontal probability distributions];” “determine a second overlap probability between [vertical probability distributions];” “determine . . . a risk metric corresponding to the grid location;” “generate a risk map based on the risk metric;” and “generate, based on the risk map, a flight plan.” The steps are all steps for managing personal behavior related to the abstract idea of generating a risk map that, when considered alone and in combination, are part of the abstract idea of generating a risk map. The dependent claims further recite steps for managing personal behavior that are part of the abstract idea of generating a risk map. These claim elements, when considered alone and in combination, are considered to be abstract ideas because they are directed to a method of organizing human activity which includes mapping risks based on probability of an encounter event to determine an optimal flight plan.
Under step 2A of the subject matter eligibility analysis, a claim that recites a judicial exception must be evaluated to determine whether the claim provides a practical application of the judicial exception. Additional elements of the independent claims amount to generic computer hardware that does not provide a practical application (an apparatus with interface circuitry, machine-readable instructions, and a processor in independent claim 1; a non-transitory machine-readable medium in independent claim 8; no hardware is recited in independent claim 15). See MPEP §2106.04(d)[I]. The claims do not recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, nor do they recite an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself. See MPEP §2106.05(a). The claims require no more than a generic computer (an apparatus with interface circuitry, machine-readable instructions, and a processor in independent claim 1; a non-transitory machine-readable medium in independent claim 8; no hardware is recited in independent claim 15) to implement the abstract idea, which does not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. See MPEP §2106.05(f). Because the claims only recite use of a generic computer, they do not apply the judicial exception with a particular machine. See MPEP §2106.05(b). For these reasons, the claims do not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, nor do they amount to significantly more than an abstract idea under step 2B of the subject matter eligibility analysis. Using a generic computer to implement an abstract idea does not provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claims recite ineligible subject matter under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12, 15, 19, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230222927 A1 to Gobin et al. (hereinafter ‘GOBIN’) in view of US 20160041001 A1 to Samuthirapandian et al. (hereinafter ‘SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN’), US 20210139023 A1 to Kuhlman et al. (hereinafter’ KUHLMAN’), US 20220135026 A1 to Schleede et al. (hereinafter ‘SCHLEEDE’) and US 20060089760 A1 to Love et al. (hereinafter ‘LOVE’).
Claim 1 (Currently Amended)
GOBIN discloses an apparatus comprising: interface circuitry (see ¶[0036] and Figs. 16 and 17; a client device having a user interface); machine-readable instructions (see abstract; the system includes program instructions); and at least one processor (see ¶[0004]; at least one hardware processor).
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN discloses, circuit to be programmed by the machine-readable instructions to: select, from flight trajectories represented in surveillance data associated with an airspace, altitude values below an altitude threshold (see ¶[0002] and [0029]-[0031]; select an appropriate altitude filter so that only intruders that fall within limits are displayed. Prevent display of intruders that are above an aircraft by a threshold amount);
The combination of GOBIN and SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN does not explicitly disclose, but KUHLMAN discloses, correct the altitude values based on local pressure data to reduce variance in the surveillance data (see abstract and ¶[0002] and [0031]; determine true altitude based on an uncertainty parameter that considers pressure).
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN discloses, generate, based on the corrected altitude values, (a) a first subset of the flight trajectories that are outside of an encounter region of a grid location in the airspace and (b) a second subset of the flight trajectories corresponding to the encounter region (see ¶[0002] and [0029]-[0031]; select an appropriate altitude filter so that only intruders that fall within limits are displayed. Prevent display of intruders that are above an aircraft by a threshold amount).
GOBIN further discloses determine a horizontal distance and a vertical distance between the grid location and a point of a historical flight trajectory of a first aircraft (see ¶[0005] and [0038]; flight path waypoints include latitude, longitude, and altitude. The section of the nominal flight path can include a length of a distance traveled across a population cell defined in the population data. See also ¶[0141]; the interface can also have built in functions 512 to import select parts of the data from previous runs to enable reuse or modification. In the example shown in FIG. 16, the “Import Aircraft” button allows for the import of all of the data in the “Aircraft Information” section from a database.).
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN discloses, the historical flight trajectory selected from the second subset (see ¶[0002] and [0029]-[0031]; select an appropriate altitude filter so that only intruders that fall within limits are displayed. Prevent display of intruders that are above an aircraft by a threshold amount);
GOBIN further discloses determine a first overlap probability between (a) a first horizontal probability distribution corresponding to the grid location and (b) a second horizontal probability distribution corresponding to the point, the second horizontal probability distribution corresponding to the horizontal distance (see ¶[0013]-[0015]; a geometric model can be utilized to determine intersections and/or collision probabilities associated with the vehicle and the object. The predicted locations of the vehicle and the object at the intersection can be determined based on trajectories of the vehicle and the object. The planning system can determine an overlap between the geometric representation of the vehicle and the geometric representation of the object, as well as probability distribution(s) associated with the object. Include a probability distribution in a first direction over an x-axis);
determine a second overlap probability between (c) a first vertical probability distribution corresponding to the grid location and (d) a second vertical probability distribution corresponding to the point, the second vertical probability distribution corresponding to the vertical distance (see again ¶[0013]-[0015]; a geometric model can be utilized to determine intersections and/or collision probabilities associated with the vehicle and the object. The predicted locations of the vehicle and the object at the intersection can be determined based on trajectories of the vehicle and the object. The planning system can determine an overlap between the geometric representation of the vehicle and the geometric representation of the object, as well as probability distribution(s) associated with the object. Include a probability distribution in a second direction over a y-axis);
determine, based on the first overlap probability and the second overlap probability, a risk metric corresponding to the grid location (see ¶[0012] and [0019]; determine the risk of collision based on sensor data. Probability distributions allow for calculations that represent risk associated with trajectories).
The combination of GOBIN and SCHLEEDE does not specifically disclose, but LOVE discloses, the risk metric representative of a number of aircraft expected to fly in a geographic region of the grid location (see ¶[0005]-[0006]; predict sector counts as the number of aircraft in a sector to determine a problematic block of airspace. Predict sector counts for 15 minute intervals).
GOBIN further discloses generate a risk map based on the risk metric (see abstract; display calculated risk values plotted on a map of the geographical area); and
generate, based on the risk map, a flight plan for a second aircraft to cause steering of the second aircraft based on the flight plan (see ¶[0003] and [0044]; the flight path can be planned or adjusted based on potential ground risk. Avoid higher risk areas).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. SCHLEEDE discloses collision avoidance planning that includes determining risk of objects colliding based on a probability distribution. It would have been obvious to include the risk of object colliding as taught by SCHLEEDE in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to assess risk of vehicles and objects in motion.
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. LOVE discloses aircraft flight-path modeling that includes predicted sector counts for a block of airspace. It would have been obvious to include the sector counts as taught by LOVE in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to model flight paths.
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths with data including altitude (see ¶[0038]). SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN discloses altitude situational awareness that includes an altitude filter to display only intruders into an airspace. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the altitude filter as taught by SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to assess intruders in an airspace.
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths with data including altitude (see ¶[0038]). KUHLMAN discloses altitude reporting that includes using altitude thresholds, where pressure-based altitude measurements may be used, and a true altitude is based on an uncertainty parameter (see abstract and ¶[0002] and [0031]). It would have been obvious to include the pressure based altitude measurement as taught by KUHLMAN in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to accurately measure the altitude of an aircraft.
Claim 3 (Original)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1.
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but LOVE discloses, wherein the first and second horizontal probability distributions correspond to Normal-Double Exponential distributions, and the first and second vertical probability distributions correspond to Laplacian distributions (see abstract and ¶[0013]; aircraft flight parameters represented as random variables with statistical distribution, such as normal, Laplacian, or logistic. Examiner Note: LaPlacian distribution is understood to be double exponential).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. LOVE discloses aircraft flight-path modeling that includes probability distributions that are normal and LaPlacian. It would have been obvious to include the probability distributions as taught by LOVE in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to model flight paths.
Claim 5 (Original)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1.
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but SCHLEEDE discloses, wherein the risk metric includes at least one of a first probability of an encounter event occurring when a movement occurs in the airspace, a second probability of a mid-air collision (MAC) occurring when the movement occurs in the airspace (see ¶[0012] and [0019]; determine the risk of collision based on sensor data. Probability distributions allow for calculations that represent risk associated with trajectories), a first encounter rate per hour, a second encounter rate per flight hour, a MAC rate per hour, or a MAC rate per flight hour.
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. SCHLEEDE discloses collision avoidance planning that includes determining risk of objects colliding based on a probability distribution. It would have been obvious to include the risk of object colliding as taught by SCHLEEDE in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to assess risk of vehicles and objects in motion.
Claim 8 (Currently Amended)
GOBIN discloses at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising machine-readable instructions (see ¶[0004]; computer software on a computer-accessible medium) to cause at least one processor circuit (see ¶[0034[]; computer software on a computer-accessible medium.).
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN discloses, to at least: select, from flight trajectories represented in surveillance data associated with an airspace, altitude values below an altitude threshold (see ¶[0002] and [0029]-[0031]; select an appropriate altitude filter so that only intruders that fall within limits are displayed. Prevent display of intruders that are above an aircraft by a threshold amount);
The combination of GOBIN and SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN does not explicitly disclose, but KUHLMAN discloses, correct the altitude values based on local pressure data to reduce variance in the surveillance data (see abstract and ¶[0002] and [0031]; determine true altitude based on an uncertainty parameter that considers pressure).
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN discloses, generate, based on the corrected altitude values, (a) a first subset of the flight trajectories that are outside of an encounter region of a grid location in the airspace and (b) a second subset of the flight trajectories corresponding to the encounter region (see ¶[0002] and [0029]-[0031]; select an appropriate altitude filter so that only intruders that fall within limits are displayed. Prevent display of intruders that are above an aircraft by a threshold amount).
GOBIN further discloses, determine a horizontal distance and a vertical distance between the grid location and a point of a historical flight trajectory of a first aircraft (see ¶[0005] and [0038]; flight path waypoints include latitude, longitude, and altitude. The section of the nominal flight path can include a length of a distance traveled across a population cell defined in the population data. See also ¶[0141]; the interface can also have built in functions 512 to import select parts of the data from previous runs to enable reuse or modification. In the example shown in FIG. 16, the “Import Aircraft” button allows for the import of all of the data in the “Aircraft Information” section from a database.).
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN discloses, the historical flight trajectory selected from the second subset (see ¶[0002] and [0029]-[0031]; select an appropriate altitude filter so that only intruders that fall within limits are displayed. Prevent display of intruders that are above an aircraft by a threshold amount);
GOBIN further discloses determine a first overlap probability between (a) a first horizontal probability distribution corresponding to the grid location and (b) a second horizontal probability distribution corresponding to the point, the second horizontal probability distribution corresponding to the horizontal distance (see ¶[0013]-[0015]; a geometric model can be utilized to determine intersections and/or collision probabilities associated with the vehicle and the object. The predicted locations of the vehicle and the object at the intersection can be determined based on trajectories of the vehicle and the object. The planning system can determine an overlap between the geometric representation of the vehicle and the geometric representation of the object, as well as probability distribution(s) associated with the object. Include a probability distribution in a first direction over an x-axis);
determine a second overlap probability between (c) a first vertical probability distribution corresponding to the grid location and (d) a second vertical probability distribution corresponding to the point, the second vertical probability distribution corresponding to the vertical distance (see again ¶[0013]-[0015]; a geometric model can be utilized to determine intersections and/or collision probabilities associated with the vehicle and the object. The predicted locations of the vehicle and the object at the intersection can be determined based on trajectories of the vehicle and the object. The planning system can determine an overlap between the geometric representation of the vehicle and the geometric representation of the object, as well as probability distribution(s) associated with the object. Include a probability distribution in a second direction over a y-axis);
determine, based on the first overlap probability and the second overlap probability, a risk metric corresponding to the grid location (see ¶[0012] and [0019]; determine the risk of collision based on sensor data. Probability distributions allow for calculations that represent risk associated with trajectories).
The combination of GOBIN and SCHLEEDE does not specifically disclose, but LOVE discloses, the risk metric representative of a number of aircraft expected to fly in a geographic region of the grid location (see ¶[0005]-[0006]; predict sector counts as the number of aircraft in a sector to determine a problematic block of airspace. Predict sector counts for 15 minute intervals).
GOBIN further discloses generate a risk map based on the risk metric (see abstract; display calculated risk values plotted on a map of the geographical area); and
generate, based on the risk map, a flight plan for a second aircraft to cause steering of the second aircraft based on the flight plan (see ¶[0003] and [0044]; the flight path can be planned or adjusted based on potential ground risk. Avoid higher risk areas).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. SCHLEEDE discloses collision avoidance planning that includes determining risk of objects colliding based on a probability distribution. It would have been obvious to include the risk of object colliding as taught by SCHLEEDE in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to assess risk of vehicles and objects in motion.
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. LOVE discloses aircraft flight-path modeling that includes predicted sector counts for a block of airspace. It would have been obvious to include the sector counts as taught by LOVE in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to model flight paths.
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths with data including altitude (see ¶[0038]). SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN discloses altitude situational awareness that includes an altitude filter to display only intruders into an airspace. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the altitude filter as taught by SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to assess intruders in an airspace.
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths with data including altitude (see ¶[0038]). KUHLMAN discloses altitude reporting that includes using altitude thresholds, where pressure-based altitude measurements may be used, and a true altitude is based on an uncertainty parameter (see abstract and ¶[0002] and [0031]). It would have been obvious to include the pressure based altitude measurement as taught by KUHLMAN in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to accurately measure the altitude of an aircraft.
Claim 10 (Original)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium as set forth in claim 8.
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but LOVE discloses, wherein the machine-readable instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit to: select the first and second horizontal probability distributions based on Normal-Double Exponential distributions; and select the first and second vertical probability distributions based on Laplacian distributions (see abstract and ¶[0013]; aircraft flight parameters represented as random variables with statistical distribution, such as normal, Laplacian, or logistic. Examiner Note: LaPlacian distribution is understood to be double exponential).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. LOVE discloses aircraft flight-path modeling that includes probability distributions that are normal and LaPlacian. It would have been obvious to include the probability distributions as taught by LOVE in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to model flight paths.
Claim 12 (Original)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium as set forth in claim 8.
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but SCHLEEDE discloses, wherein the machine-readable instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit to determine the risk metric by determining at least one of a first probability of an encounter event occurring when a movement occurs in the airspace , a second probability of a mid-air collision (MAC) occurring when the movement occurs in the airspace (see ¶[0012] and [0019]; determine the risk of collision based on sensor data. Probability distributions allow for calculations that represent risk associated with trajectories), a first encounter rate per hour, a second encounter rate per flight hour, a MAC rate per hour, or a MAC rate per flight hour.
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. SCHLEEDE discloses collision avoidance planning that includes determining risk of objects colliding based on a probability distribution. It would have been obvious to include the risk of object colliding as taught by SCHLEEDE in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to assess risk of vehicles and objects in motion.
Claim 15 (Currently Amended)
GOBIN discloses a method (see abstract; the system includes program instructions).
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN discloses, comprising: selecting, from flight trajectories represented in surveillance data associated with an airspace, altitude values below an altitude threshold (see ¶[0002] and [0029]-[0031]; select an appropriate altitude filter so that only intruders that fall within limits are displayed. Prevent display of intruders that are above an aircraft by a threshold amount);
The combination of GOBIN and SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN does not explicitly disclose, but KUHLMAN discloses, correcting the altitude values based on local pressure data to reduce variance in the surveillance data (see abstract and ¶[0002] and [0031]; determine true altitude based on an uncertainty parameter that considers pressure).
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN discloses, generating, based on the corrected altitude values, (a) a first subset of the flight trajectories that are outside of an encounter region of a grid location in the airspace and (b) a second subset of the flight trajectories corresponding to the encounter region (see ¶[0002] and [0029]-[0031]; select an appropriate altitude filter so that only intruders that fall within limits are displayed. Prevent display of intruders that are above an aircraft by a threshold amount).
GOBIN further discloses determining a horizontal distance and a vertical distance between the grid location and a point of a historical flight trajectory of a first aircraft (see ¶[0005] and [0038]; flight path waypoints include latitude, longitude, and altitude. The section of the nominal flight path can include a length of a distance traveled across a population cell defined in the population data. See also ¶[0141]; the interface can also have built in functions 512 to import select parts of the data from previous runs to enable reuse or modification. In the example shown in FIG. 16, the “Import Aircraft” button allows for the import of all of the data in the “Aircraft Information” section from a database.),
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN discloses, the historical flight trajectory selected from the second subset (see ¶[0002] and [0029]-[0031]; select an appropriate altitude filter so that only intruders that fall within limits are displayed. Prevent display of intruders that are above an aircraft by a threshold amount);
GOBIN further discloses determining a first overlap probability between (a) a first horizontal probability distribution corresponding to the grid location and (b) a second horizontal probability distribution corresponding to the point, the second horizontal probability distribution corresponding to the horizontal distance (see ¶[0013]-[0015]; a geometric model can be utilized to determine intersections and/or collision probabilities associated with the vehicle and the object. The predicted locations of the vehicle and the object at the intersection can be determined based on trajectories of the vehicle and the object. The planning system can determine an overlap between the geometric representation of the vehicle and the geometric representation of the object, as well as probability distribution(s) associated with the object. Include a probability distribution in a first direction over an x-axis);
determining a second overlap probability between (c) a first vertical probability distribution corresponding to the grid location and (d) a second vertical probability distribution corresponding to the point, the second vertical probability distribution corresponding to the vertical distance (see again ¶[0013]-[0015]; a geometric model can be utilized to determine intersections and/or collision probabilities associated with the vehicle and the object. The predicted locations of the vehicle and the object at the intersection can be determined based on trajectories of the vehicle and the object. The planning system can determine an overlap between the geometric representation of the vehicle and the geometric representation of the object, as well as probability distribution(s) associated with the object. Include a probability distribution in a second direction over a y-axis);
determining, based on the first overlap probability and the second overlap probability, a risk metric corresponding to the grid location (see ¶[0012] and [0019]; determine the risk of collision based on sensor data. Probability distributions allow for calculations that represent risk associated with trajectories)
The combination of GOBIN and SCHLEEDE does not specifically disclose, but LOVE discloses, the risk metric representative of a number of aircraft expected to fly in a geographic region of the grid location (see ¶[0005]-[0006]; predict sector counts as the number of aircraft in a sector to determine a problematic block of airspace. Predict sector counts for 15 minute intervals).
GOBIN further discloses generating a risk map based on the risk metric (see abstract; display calculated risk values plotted on a map of the geographical area); and
generating, based on the risk map, a flight plan for a second aircraft to cause steering of the second aircraft based on the flight plan (see ¶[0003] and [0044]; the flight path can be planned or adjusted based on potential ground risk. Avoid higher risk areas).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. SCHLEEDE discloses collision avoidance planning that includes determining risk of objects colliding based on a probability distribution. It would have been obvious to include the risk of object colliding as taught by SCHLEEDE in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to assess risk of vehicles and objects in motion.
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. LOVE discloses aircraft flight-path modeling that includes predicted sector counts for a block of airspace. It would have been obvious to include the sector counts as taught by LOVE in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to model flight paths.
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths with data including altitude (see ¶[0038]). SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN discloses altitude situational awareness that includes an altitude filter to display only intruders into an airspace. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the altitude filter as taught by SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to assess intruders in an airspace.
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths with data including altitude (see ¶[0038]). KUHLMAN discloses altitude reporting that includes using altitude thresholds, where pressure-based altitude measurements may be used, and a true altitude is based on an uncertainty parameter (see abstract and ¶[0002] and [0031]). It would have been obvious to include the pressure based altitude measurement as taught by KUHLMAN in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to accurately measure the altitude of an aircraft.
Claim 17 (Original)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the method as set forth in claim 15.
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but LOVE discloses, further including: selecting the first and second horizontal probability distributions based on Normal-Double Exponential distributions; and selecting the first and second vertical probability distributions based on Laplacian distributions (see abstract and ¶[0013]; aircraft flight parameters represented as random variables with statistical distribution, such as normal, Laplacian, or logistic. Examiner Note: LaPlacian distribution is understood to be double exponential).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. LOVE discloses aircraft flight-path modeling that includes probability distributions that are normal and LaPlacian. It would have been obvious to include the probability distributions as taught by LOVE in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to model flight paths.
Claim 19 (Original)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the method as set forth in claim 15.
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but SCHLEEDE discloses, further including determining the risk metric by determining at least one of a first probability of an encounter event occurring when a movement occurs in the airspace, a second probability of a mid-air collision (MAC) occurring when the movement occurs in the airspace (see ¶[0012] and [0019]; determine the risk of collision based on sensor data. Probability distributions allow for calculations that represent risk associated with trajectories), a first encounter rate per hour, a second encounter rate per flight hour, a MAC rate per hour, or a MAC rate per flight hour.
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. SCHLEEDE discloses collision avoidance planning that includes determining risk of objects colliding based on a probability distribution. It would have been obvious to include the risk of object colliding as taught by SCHLEEDE in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to assess risk of vehicles and objects in motion.
Claim 21 (New)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1.
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but LOVE discloses, wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to determine the first overlap probability based on a combination of a first risk value, a second risk value, and a third risk value, the first risk value corresponding to a first overlap between two Gaussian distributions, the second risk value corresponding to a second overlap between a Gaussian distribution and a Laplacian distribution, and the third risk value corresponding to a third overlap between two Laplacian distributions (see abstract; at least one aircraft flight parameter is represented as a random variable with a particular statistical distribution, such as a normal (Gaussian), Laplacian, or logistic distribution; or with a more complex algorithm containing one or more random elements).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. LOVE discloses aircraft flight-path modeling that includes predicted sector counts for a block of airspace, where flight paths are represented according to a probability distribution selected from Gaussian, Laplacian, or logistic. It would have been obvious to include the probability distributions as taught by LOVE in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to model flight paths.
Claim 22 (New)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1.
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but SCHLEEDE discloses, wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to: identify one or more intersection points between the historical flight trajectory and a boundary of the encounter region (see ¶[0013]-[0015]; a geometric model can be utilized to determine intersections and/or collision probabilities associated with the vehicle and the object. The predicted locations of the vehicle and the object at the intersection can be determined based on trajectories of the vehicle and the object. The planning system can determine an overlap between the geometric representation of the vehicle and the geometric representation of the object, as well as probability distribution(s) associated with the object. Include a probability distribution in a first direction over an x-axis);
divide the historical flight trajectory into a plurality of encounter segments based on the one or more intersection points (see ¶[0009]; a distance between the vehicle and the object less than a threshold, an overlap between the vehicle and the object greater than a threshold, etc.).
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, btu LOVE discloses, increment an encounter count corresponding to the grid location based on a count of the plurality of encounter segments (see ¶[0005]-[0006]; predict sector counts as the number of aircraft in a sector to determine a problematic block of airspace. Predict sector counts for 15 minute intervals); and
determine the risk metric based on the encounter count (see ¶[0005]-[0006]; predict sector counts as the number of aircraft in a sector to determine a problematic block of airspace. Predict sector counts for 15 minute intervals).
Claim 23 (New)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1.
GOBIN does not specifically disclose, but SCHLEEDE discloses, wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to autonomously steer the aircraft based on the flight plan (see abstract and ¶[0001] and [0009]; a planning system used by autonomous which predicts the location of vehicles to avoid collisions).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. SCHLEEDE discloses a collision avoidance planning system that is used by autonomous vehicles. It would have been obvious to include the autonomous vehicles as taught by SCHLEEDE in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to assess and reduce risk of autonomous vehicles with a given flight path.
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230222927 A1 to GOBIN et al. in view of US 20160041001 A1 to SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN et al., US 20210139023 A1 to KUHLMAN et al., US 20220135026 A1 to SCHLEEDE et al., and US 20060089760 A1 to LOVE et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20220051569 A1 to Larson et al. (hereinafter ‘LARSON’).
Claim 2 (Previously Presented)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1.
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE does not specifically disclose, but LARSON discloses, wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to: determine, based on the risk map, a mission risk metric associated with the flight plan; compare the mission risk metric to a risk threshold; and adjust the flight plan based on the comparison (see ¶[0124]; a user may redesign one or more aspects of the mission to mitigate risk. If the expected casualty value is above a threshold, the planned trajectory of a flight may be redesigned to avoid a population center. See also abstract; trajectory information associated with a planned flight).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. LARSON discloses flight risk analysis that includes redesigning a flight plan when risk is too high. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to take a mitigating action as taught by LARSON in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to reduce risk in populated areas.
Claim 9 (Previously Presented)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium as set forth in claim 8.
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE does not specifically disclose, but LARSON discloses, wherein the machine-readable instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit to: determine, based on the risk map, a mission risk metric associated with the flight plan; compare the mission risk metric to a risk threshold; and adjust the flight plan based on the comparison (see ¶[0124]; a user may redesign one or more aspects of the mission to mitigate risk. If the expected casualty value is above a threshold, the planned trajectory of a flight may be redesigned to avoid a population center. See also abstract; trajectory information associated with a planned flight).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. LARSON discloses flight risk analysis that includes redesigning a flight plan when risk is too high. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to take a mitigating action as taught by LARSON in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to reduce risk in populated areas.
Claim 16 (Previously Presented)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the method as set forth in claim 15.
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE does not specifically disclose, but LARSON discloses, further including: determining, based on the risk map, a mission risk metric associated with the flight plan; comparing the mission risk metric to a risk threshold; and adjusting the flight plan based on the comparison (see ¶[0124]; a user may redesign one or more aspects of the mission to mitigate risk. If the expected casualty value is above a threshold, the planned trajectory of a flight may be redesigned to avoid a population center. See also abstract; trajectory information associated with a planned flight).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. LARSON discloses flight risk analysis that includes redesigning a flight plan when risk is too high. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to take a mitigating action as taught by LARSON in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to reduce risk in populated areas.
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230222927 A1 to GOBIN et al. in view of US 20160041001 A1 to SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN et al., US 20210139023 A1 to KUHLMAN et al., US 20220135026 A1 to SCHLEEDE et al., and US 20060089760 A1 to LOVE et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20210255641 A1 to Tang et al. (hereinafter ‘TANG’).
Claim 4 (Previously Presented)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1.
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE does not specifically disclose, but TANG discloses, wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to: calculate three-dimensional (3-D) distances between the grid location and a plurality of points along the historical flight trajectory; and select the point corresponding to a lesser one of the calculated 3-D distances (see claims 1 and 10; design a three-dimensional trajectory of an aerial vehicle where an objective function minimizes flight distance).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. TANG discloses designing a trajectory of a vehicle that includes minimizing the distance traveled of the vehicle in a three dimensional space. It would have been obvious to include the minimization of distance as taught by TANG in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to optimize distance traveled.
Claim 11 (Previously Presented)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium as set forth in claim 8.
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE does not specifically disclose, but TANG discloses, wherein the machine-readable instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit to: calculate three-dimensional (3-D) distances between the grid location and a plurality of points along the historical flight trajectory; and select the point corresponding to a lesser one of the calculated 3-D distances (see claims 1 and 10; design a three-dimensional trajectory of an aerial vehicle where an objective function minimizes flight distance).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. TANG discloses designing a trajectory of a vehicle that includes minimizing the distance traveled of the vehicle in a three dimensional space. It would have been obvious to include the minimization of distance as taught by TANG in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to optimize distance traveled.
Claim 18 (Previously Presented)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the method as set forth in claim 15.
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE does not specifically disclose, but TANG discloses, further including: calculating three-dimensional (3-D) distances between the grid location and a plurality of points along the historical flight trajectory; and selecting the point corresponding to a lesser one of the calculated 3-D distances (see claims 1 and 10; design a three-dimensional trajectory of an aerial vehicle where an objective function minimizes flight distance).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. TANG discloses designing a trajectory of a vehicle that includes minimizing the distance traveled of the vehicle in a three dimensional space. It would have been obvious to include the minimization of distance as taught by TANG in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to optimize distance traveled.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230222927 A1 to GOBIN et al. in view of US 20160041001 A1 to SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN et al., US 20210139023 A1 to KUHLMAN et al., US 20220135026 A1 to SCHLEEDE et al., and US 20060089760 A1 to LOVE et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20220051565 A1 to Hui et al. (hereinafter ‘HUI’).
Claim 6 (Previously Presented)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1.
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE does not explicitly disclose, but HUI discloses, wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to: predict intent of a third aircraft based on a position of the third aircraft and the risk map, the intent corresponding to an expected flight trajectory of the third aircraft; and adjust the flight plan of the second aircraft based on the predicted intent (see ¶[0048] and Fig. 5; monitor vehicle and object trajectories, predict collision risks, and take mitigating collision avoiding actions considering the trajectory of all vehicles. Real-time collision avoidance may be provided for vehicles in the 3D domain).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. HUI discloses collision avoidance based on coordination of vehicle operations that includes taking mitigating actions when a collision is predicted. It would have been obvious to include the mitigating actions as taught by HUI in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to avoid collisions for risky flight paths.
Claim 13 (Previously Presented)
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium as set forth in claim 8.
The combination of GOBIN, SAMUTHIRAPANDIAN, KUHLMAN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE does not explicitly disclose, but HUI discloses, wherein the machine-readable instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit to: predict intent of a third aircraft based on a position of the third aircraft and the risk map, the intent corresponding to an expected flight trajectory of the third aircraft; and adjust the flight plan of the second aircraft based on the predicted intent (see ¶[0048] and Fig. 5; monitor vehicle and object trajectories, predict collision risks, and take mitigating collision avoiding actions considering the trajectory of all vehicles. Real-time collision avoidance may be provided for vehicles in the 3D domain).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. HUI discloses collision avoidance based on coordination of vehicle operations that includes taking mitigating actions when a collision is predicted. It would have been obvious to include the mitigating actions as taught by HUI in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to avoid collisions for risky flight paths.
Claim 20 (Previously Presented)
The combination of GOBIN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE discloses the method as set forth in claim 15.
The combination of GOBIN, SCHLEEDE, and LOVE does not explicitly disclose, but HUI discloses, further including: predicting intent of a third aircraft based on a position of the third aircraft and the risk map, the intent corresponding to an expected flight trajectory of the third aircraft; and adjusting the flight plan of the second aircraft based on the predicted intent (see ¶[0048] and Fig. 5; monitor vehicle and object trajectories, predict collision risks, and take mitigating collision avoiding actions considering the trajectory of all vehicles. Real-time collision avoidance may be provided for vehicles in the 3D domain).
GOBIN discloses a quantitative approach and departure risk assessment system that includes mapping risk based an assessment of flight paths over a variety of terrain and populated areas that is based on a probability distribution of the flight path (see abstract and ¶[0006]. HUI discloses collision avoidance based on coordination of vehicle operations that includes taking mitigating actions when a collision is predicted. It would have been obvious to include the mitigating actions as taught by HUI in the system executing the method of GOBIN with the motivation to avoid collisions for risky flight paths.
Conclusion
/RICHARD N SCHEUNEMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624