DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 7 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 11 should recite, -- [[the]]a terminal of the terminals,…. -- and line 16, -- the terminal of the terminals…. --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 8,610,447 B2; hereinafter Lee) in view of Chan et al. (US 2021/0325453 A1; hereinafter Chan).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a test socket (Fig. 1, Examiner annotated test socket) configured to allow terminals (Fig. 1, item 12) of a device under test (Fig. 1, item 10) to come into contact with electrode pads of a tester (Fig. 1, item 20), which generates a test signal, to perform an electrical test (column 1, lines 28 – 32; current flows from the test terminals of the test device into the lead terminals of the semiconductor chip through the test socket, and signals respectively output from the lead terminals are analyzed to determine whether the semiconductor chip is abnormal) for the device under test (Fig. 1, item 10), the test socket (Fig. 1, Examiner annotated test socket) comprising:
a plurality of socket pins (Fig. 1, items 50), each socket pin (Fig. 1, item 50) comprising a barrel assembly (Fig. 1, item 52) in which a lower plunger (Fig. 1, item 56), which can come into contact with the electrode pad (Fig. 1, item 22), is supported by an elastic force (Fig. 1, item 58), a first contact part (Fig. 1, contact of item 56) composed as a separate element from the barrel assembly (Fig. 1, item 52) and being capable of coming into contact with the terminal (Fig. 1, item 12), and an upper plunger (Fig. 1, item 54) provided with a second contact part (Fig. 1, contact of item 54) coming into contact with the barrel assembly (Fig. 1, item 52); and
a socket body (Fig. 1, item 30) having pin holes (column 1, lines 36 – 37; housing 30 has through-holes) in which the socket pins (Fig. 1, items 50) are disposed respectively, each pin hole (column 1, lines 36 – 37; housing 30 has through-holes) being formed at a position corresponding to the terminal (Fig. 1, item 12) of the device under test (Fig. 1, item 10);
wherein the upper plunger (Fig. 1, item 54) of at least one of the plurality of socket pins (Fig. 1, items 50) has a thickness different from thicknesses (column 11, lines 28- 30; first and second steel wires, may have the same thicknesses or may have different thicknesses) of the upper plungers (Fig. 1, item 54) of other socket pins (Fig. 1, items 50).
But Lee does not specifically teach a warped device under test.
However, Chan suggests a warped device under test (para [0039]; warped DUTs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Lee in view of Chan because since a die and a substrate are attached together (e.g., using a solder material), the difference in thermal expansion between them may cause the DUT to warp when heated or cooled (Chan, para [0039]).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee and Chan suggest the test socket of claim 1, Lee also discloses wherein the socket body (Fig. 1, item 30) comprises:
a housing (Fig. 1, item 30 is a housing) having housing holes (column 1, lines 36 – 37; housing 30 has through-holes) formed therein, each housing hole (column 1, lines 36 – 37; housing 30 has through-holes) being configured to receive a portion of the upper plunger (Fig. 1, item 54) therein.
But Lee and Chan do not specifically teach in the configuration of Fig. 1 of Lee a plate coupled to a lower side of the housing and having plate holes formed therein, each housing hole being configured to receive a portion of the barrel assembly therein,
wherein the housing hole and the plate hole are combined with each other to form a pin hole.
However, Lee suggests a plate (Fig. 16, item 610) coupled to a lower side of the housing (Fig. 16, item 500) and having plate holes (Fig. 16, item 640) formed therein, each housing hole (Fig. 16, through-holes 510) being configured to receive a portion of the barrel assembly (Fig. 16, item 400) therein,
wherein the housing hole (Fig. 16, through-holes 510) and the plate hole (Fig. 16, item 640) are combined with each other to form a pin hole (Fig. 16 and column 18, lines 55 – 57; via-holes 640 are formed in centers of the upper and lower conductive pads 620 and 630 to pass through the insulating films 610).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Lee and Chan in view of the configuration of Fig. 16 of Lee in order to pass through the plate (Lee, column 18, lines 55 – 57).
Claim(s) 2 – 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Chan, and further in view of Barabi et al. (US 2007/0018666 A1; hereinafter Barabi).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee and Chan suggest the test socket of claim 1. But Lee and Chan do not specifically teach wherein the upper plunger having a thickness corresponding to a distance between the terminal and the socket body is disposed in each of the plurality of socket pins to enable all the upper plungers to simultaneously come into contact with the corresponding terminals.
However, Barabi suggests wherein the upper plunger having a thickness corresponding to a distance between the terminal and the socket body is disposed in each of the plurality of socket pins to enable all the upper plungers to simultaneously come into contact with the corresponding terminals (para [0025]; it is understood, however, that the invention is not limited to plungers having different lengths, and that it is possible to provide a spring contact pin in accordance with the invention having plungers of the same length, or even having a plunger at the crimped end of the barrel casing that is longer than the depressible plunger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Lee and Chan in view of Barabi in order to achieving electrical interconnection (Barabi, para [0003]).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee and Chan suggest the test socket of claim 1. But Lee and Chan do not specifically teach wherein a thickness of the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a periphery of the socket body is smaller than a thickness of the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a central portion.
However, Barabi suggests wherein a thickness of the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a periphery of the socket body is smaller than a thickness of the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a central portion (para [0025]; it is understood, however, that the invention is not limited to plungers having different lengths, and that it is possible to provide a spring contact pin in accordance with the invention having plungers of the same length, or even having a plunger at the crimped end of the barrel casing that is longer than the depressible plunger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Lee and Chan in view of Barabi in order to achieving electrical interconnection (Barabi, para [0003]).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee and Chan suggest the test socket of claim 1. But Lee and Chan do not specifically teach wherein a thickness of the upper plunger is increased from the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a periphery of the socket body towards the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a central portion.
However, Barabi suggests wherein a thickness of the upper plunger is increased from the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a periphery of the socket body towards the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a central portion (para [0025]; it is understood, however, that the invention is not limited to plungers having different lengths, and that it is possible to provide a spring contact pin in accordance with the invention having plungers of the same length, or even having a plunger at the crimped end of the barrel casing that is longer than the depressible plunger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Lee and Chan in view of Barabi in order to achieving electrical interconnection (Barabi, para [0003]).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee and Chan suggest the test socket of claim 1. But Lee and Chan do not specifically teach wherein a thickness of the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a periphery of the socket body is greater than a thickness of the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a central portion.
However, Barabi suggests wherein a thickness of the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a periphery of the socket body is greater than a thickness of the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a central portion (para [0025]; it is understood, however, that the invention is not limited to plungers having different lengths, and that it is possible to provide a spring contact pin in accordance with the invention having plungers of the same length, or even having a plunger at the crimped end of the barrel casing that is longer than the depressible plunger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Lee and Chan in view of Barabi in order to achieving electrical interconnection (Barabi, para [0003]).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee and Chan suggest the test socket of claim 1. But Lee and Chan do not specifically teach wherein a thickness of the upper plunger is decreased from the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a periphery of the socket body towards the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a central portion.
However, Barabi suggests wherein a thickness of the upper plunger is decreased from the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a periphery of the socket body towards the upper plunger of the socket pin disposed on a central portion (para [0025]; it is understood, however, that the invention is not limited to plungers having different lengths, and that it is possible to provide a spring contact pin in accordance with the invention having plungers of the same length, or even having a plunger at the crimped end of the barrel casing that is longer than the depressible plunger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Lee and Chan in view of Barabi in order to achieving electrical interconnection (Barabi, para [0003]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hart (US 4,724,383) suggests a testing apparatus for conducting electrical test signals between certain test signal conductors of a base grid of an automatic testing machine and a plurality of corresponding respective conductive test areas of a circuit board, the conductive test areas being irregularly located on the circuit board, the testing apparatus comprising in combination:
a plurality of probe means each having an upper contact point for electrically contacting a respectively one of the conductive test areas on the circuit board, and a lower contact point for electrically contacting a respective one of the test signal conductors of the base grid, each probe means including internal means for resiliently resisting forces urging the upper and lower contact points toward each other and means for electrically connecting the upper and lower contact points (see claim 1).
Tsujii (US 6,489,791 B1) teaches mounting a BOST semiconductor device and a semiconductor device under test in a single socket (see claim 1).
Oishi (US 2011/0117796 A1) discloses a probe pin comprising: a conductive housing having a first end and a second end opposite the first end, and a space extending from the first end to the second end being formed internally; a first conductive plunger provided at the first end; a second conductive plunger provided at the second end; and a coil spring received in the housing to elastically support at least one of first and second plungers; wherein the coil spring comprises a first coil portion having coils, each with a substantially equal diameter, and a second coil portion adjacent to one end of the first coil portion and having coils with gradually reduced diameters relative to the diameter of the first coil portion (see claim 1).
/GIOVANNI ASTACIO-OQUENDO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 1/8/2026