DETAILED ACTION
I. This office action is in response to the correspondence filed on April 29, 2024. Claims 1-21 are pending and being examined.
II. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
III. Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “the second SNPN” in line 4. It is unclear what the second SNPN refers to because the claim does not earlier recite a second SNPN. The limitation renders the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
For purposes of examination, the examiner will treat the following quotation from claim 1, “the second SNPN” as “the SNPN”.
Claims 17-19 are dependent on claim 16 and are rejected for indefiniteness under U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above regarding claim 16.
The following prior art rejection is based on the best possible interpretation of the claim language in light of the above rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
IV. Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Matolia et al. (US 2022/0312306 A1, including WO 2021/237247 A1).
Regarding claim 7 Matolia teaches a method to access a stand-alone non-Public network (SNPN) applied to a mobile station (MS) (see paragraphs [0032] – [0033] and Fig. 3, a GUI includes six entries for manual network selection of a PLMN/SNPN (see paragraph [0037]). This reads on a method to access a stand-alone non-Public network (SNPN), supporting access to an SNPN providing access for localized services in SNPN (see paragraphs [0012] & [0032] and Fig. 3, The UE may be equipped with manual network selection capability. Manual selection refers to a procedure in which the UE attempts to connect to a particular PLMN/SNPN. The GUI includes six entries for the manual network selection. This reads on supporting access to an SNPN providing access for localized services in SNPN); wherein the MS is in a manual SNPN selection mode (see paragraphs [0012] & [0032] and Fig. 3, The UE may be equipped with manual network selection capability. Manual selection refers to a procedure in which the UE attempts to connect to a particular PLMN/SNPN. The GUI includes six entries for the manual network selection. This reads on wherein the MS is in a manual SNPN selection mode); and indicating to a user whether available SNPNs are present in a list of temporarily forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN, or a list of permanently forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN associated with each entry of the list of subscriber data or public land mobile network (PLMN) subscription (see paragraphs [0012] & [0032] – [0033] and Fig. 3, The UE may be equipped with manual network selection capability. Manual selection refers to a procedure in which the UE attempts to connect to a particular PLMN/SNPN. The GUI 300 includes six entries 305-330. The sixth entry 330 may represent a set of PLMNs that may include one or more FPLMNs (temporary followed by permanent forbidden). The UE may still able to connect to an FPLMN to perform an emergency call and/or receive access to other types of emergency services. Thus, the inclusion of FPLMNs in the manual network selection list may enable access to emergency services. This reads on indicating to a user whether available SNPNs are present in a list of temporarily forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN, or a list of permanently forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN associated with each entry of the list of subscriber data or public land mobile network (PLMN) subscription).
Regarding claim 8 Matolia teaches wherein the SNPN providing access for localized services in the SNPN belongs to a list of permanently forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN, or a list of temporarily forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN associated with each entry of the list of subscriber data or PLMN subscription (see paragraphs [0032] – [0033] and Fig. 3, The sixth entry (FPLMN 350, Fig. 3) may represent a set of PLMNs that may include one or more FPLMNs (temporary followed by permanent forbidden). The UE may still able to connect to an FPLMN to perform an emergency call and/or receive access to other types of emergency services. Thus, the inclusion of FPLMNs in the manual network selection list may enable access to emergency services. This reads on wherein the SNPN providing access for localized services in the SNPN belongs to a list of permanently forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN, or a list of temporarily forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN associated with each entry of the list of subscriber data or PLMN subscription).
Regarding claim 9 Matolia teaches wherein initiation of registration comprises an initial registration procedure or a mobility registration update procedure, or an initial registration procedure for onboarding services, or a mobility registration update procedure for onboarding services (see paragraphs [0057] – [0058], The UE camps on the selected PLMN. Subsequently, the UE may attempt to initiate a registration procedure with the PLMN. This reads on wherein initiation of registration comprises an initial registration procedure or a mobility registration update procedure, or an initial registration procedure for onboarding services, or a mobility registration update procedure for onboarding services).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
V. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-12, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matolia et al. (US 2022/0312306 A1, including WO 2021/237247 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0135827 A1, including WO 2021/172768 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Matolia teaches a method to access a stand-alone non-Public network (SNPN) in a forbidden SNPN (FSNPN) list or a forbidden tracking area identity (FTAI) list applied to a mobile station (MS) (see paragraphs [0032] – [0033] and Fig. 3, a GUI includes six entries for manual network selection of a PLMN/SNPN (see paragraph [0037]). FPLMN entry (620, Fig. 6) represents a set of PLMNs that include one or more forbidden networks(FPLMN). This reads on a method to access a stand-alone non-Public network (SNPN) in a forbidden SNPN (FSNPN) list or a forbidden tracking area identity (FTAI) list applied to a mobile station), comprising: performing an SNPN selection mode procedure to camp on a cell of a user selected SNPN (see paragraph [0056] – [0058], The UE receives user input indicating that the user has selected one of the PLMNs displayed on the GUI. The user may select any PLMN and/or SNPN displayed on the GUI (see paragraph [0056]). The UE camps on the selected PLMN. This reads on performing an SNPN selection mode procedure to camp on a cell of a user selected SNPN); wherein an SNPN is selected by a user (see paragraph [0057], The UE receives user input indicating that the user has selected one of the PLMNs and/or SNPNs. This reads on wherein an SNPN is selected by a user); determining that the selected SNPN is present in the FSNPN list or a tracking area identity (TAI) of the camped cell is in the FTAI list (see paragraph [0033] and Fig. 3, The UE may be configured to consider the entry of FPLMNs when manually selecting a PLMN and/or SNPN so that the UE may be able to connect to an FPLMN to perform an emergency service. The inclusion of the FPLMNs in the manual network selection list may enable access to emergency services. This reads on determining that the selected SNPN is present in the FSNPN list or a tracking area identity (TAI) of the camped cell is in the FTAI list); and initiating registration on the selected SNPN using specific access technology (see paragraphs [0057] - [0058], The UE receives user input indicating that the user has selected one of the PLMNs. The UE camps on the selected PLMN. Subsequently, the UE may attempt to initiate a registration procedure with the PLMN. This reads on initiating registration on the selected SNPN using specific access technology).
Matolia does not specifically teach ignoring contents of the FSNPN list and the FTAI list for the selected SNPN.
Kim teaches teach ignoring contents of the FSNPN list and the FTAI list for the selected SNPN (see paragraph [0198], Upon selection of a PLMN by the user the MS may initiate registration on this PLMN. For such a registration, the MS shall ignore the contents of the “forbidden location areas for roaming”, “forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, “5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, “forbidden location areas for regional provision of service”, “forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service”, “5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service”, “forbidden PLMNs for GPRS service” and “forbidden PLMNs” lists. This reads on ignoring contents of the FSNPN list and the FTAI list for the selected SNPN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make when determining that the selected SNPN is present in the FSNPN in Matolia adapt to include ignoring contents of the FSNPN list and the FTAI list for the selected SNPN because this would allow for an efficient and well-known mechanism for connecting to a FPLMN to perform user desired services (see Matolia, paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 2 Matolia teaches wherein the step of performing the SNPN selection mode procedure to camp on the cell of the user selected SNPN comprises: selecting the SNPN through a manual SNPN selection mode procedure (see paragraph [0056] – [0058], The UE receives user input indicating that the user has selected one of the PLMNs and/orSNPNs displayed on the GUI. The user may select any PLMN and/or SNPN displayed on the GUI (see paragraph [0056]). The UE camps on the selected PLMN. This reads on wherein the step of performing the SNPN selection mode procedure to camp on the cell of the user selected SNPN comprises: selecting the SNPN through a manual SNPN selection mode procedure).
Regarding claim 4 Matolia teaches determining that the selected SNPN belongs to a list of temporarily forbidden SNPNs, or permanently forbidden SNPNs, or permanently forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN, or temporarily forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN, or determining that the camped cell of the selected SNPN belongs to 5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming, or 5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service (see paragraphs [0032] – [0033] and Fig. 3, The sixth entry (FPLMN 350, Fig. 3) may represent a set of PLMNs that may include one or more FPLMNs (temporary followed by permanent forbidden). The UE may still able to connect to an FPLMN to perform an emergency call and/or receive access to other types of emergency services. Thus, the inclusion of FPLMNs in the manual network selection list may enable access to emergency services. This reads on determining that the selected SNPN belongs to a list of temporarily forbidden SNPNs, or permanently forbidden SNPNs, or permanently forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN, or temporarily forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN, or determining that the camped cell of the selected SNPN belongs to 5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming, or 5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service).
Regarding claim 5 Kim teaches wherein the step of ignoring the contents of the FTAI list comprises: ignoring the contents of lists of 5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming, and 5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service (see paragraph [0198], Upon selection of a PLMN by the user the MS may initiate registration on this PLMN. For such a registration, the MS shall ignore the contents of the “forbidden location areas for roaming”, “forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, “5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, “forbidden location areas for regional provision of service”, “forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service”, “5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service”, “forbidden PLMNs for GPRS service” and “forbidden PLMNs” lists. This reads on wherein the step of ignoring the contents of the FTAI list comprises: ignoring the contents of lists of 5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming, and 5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service).
Regarding claim 6 Matolia teaches contents of lists of temporarily forbidden SNPNs, permanently forbidden SNPNs, permanently forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN and temporarily forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN (see Matolia, paragraphs [0032] – [0033] and Fig. 3, The UE may be equipped with manual network selection capability. Manual selection refers to a procedure in which the UE attempts to connect to a particular PLMN/SNPN. The GUI 300 includes six entries 305-330. The sixth entry 330 may represent a set of PLMNs that may include one or more FPLMNs (temporary followed by permanent forbidden). The UE may still able to connect to an FPLMN to perform an emergency call and/or receive access to other types of emergency services. Thus, the inclusion of FPLMNs in the manual network selection list may enable access to emergency services. This reads on contents of lists of temporarily forbidden SNPNs, permanently forbidden SNPNs, permanently forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN and temporarily forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in SNPN) and Kim teaches the step of ignoring the contents of the FSNPN list (see paragraph [0198], Upon selection of a PLMN by the user the MS may initiate registration on this PLMN. For such a registration, the MS shall ignore the contents of the “forbidden location areas for roaming”, “forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, “5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, “forbidden location areas for regional provision of service”, “forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service”, “5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service”, “forbidden PLMNs for GPRS service” and “forbidden PLMNs” lists. This reads on ignoring the contents of the FSNPN list).
Regarding claim 11 Matolia teaches an electronic device (UE 110, Fig. 1), comprising a processor (205, Fig. 2), configured to perform a stand-alone non-Public network (SNPN) selection mode procedure to camp on a cell of a user selected SNPN (see paragraph [0056] – [0058], The UE receives user input indicating that the user has selected one of the PLMNs displayed on the GUI. The user may select any PLMN and/or SNPN displayed on the GUI (see paragraph [0056]). The UE camps on the selected PLMN. This reads on performing an SNPN selection mode procedure to camp on a cell of a user selected SNPN); determine that the selected SNPN is present in the FSNPN list or a tracking area identity (TAI) of the camped cell is in the FTAI list (see paragraph [0033] and Fig. 3, The UE may be configured to consider the entry of FPLMNs when manually selecting a PLMN and/or SNPN so that the UE may be able to connect to an FPLMN to perform an emergency service. The inclusion of the FPLMNs in the manual network selection list may enable access to emergency services. This reads on determine that the selected SNPN is present in the FSNPN list or a tracking area identity (TAI) of the camped cell is in the FTAI list); and initiate registration on the selected SNPN using specific access technology (see paragraphs [0057] - [0058], The UE receives user input indicating that the user has selected one of the PLMNs. The UE camps on the selected PLMN. Subsequently, the UE may attempt to initiate a registration procedure with the PLMN. This reads on initiate registration on the selected SNPN using specific access technology), wherein the selected SNPN is present in the FSNPN list or the RTAI list (see paragraph [0034] and Fig. 3, The UE may still be configured to consider FPLMNs when generating the manual network selection list.
The UE may still able to connect to an FPLMN to perform an emergency call and/or receive access to other types of emergency services. Thus, the inclusion of FPLMNs in the manual network selection list may enable access to emergency services. The ability to connect to an FPLMN indicates the UE can select a FPLMN and reads on wherein the selected SNPN is present in the FSNPN list or the RTAI list).
Matolia does not specifically teach ignore contents of the FSNPN list and the FTAI list for the selected SNPN.
Kim teaches teach ignoring contents of the FSNPN list and the FTAI list for the selected SNPN (see paragraph [0198], Upon selection of a PLMN by the user the MS may initiate registration on this PLMN. For such a registration, the MS shall ignore the contents of the “forbidden location areas for roaming”, “forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, “5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, “forbidden location areas for regional provision of service”, “forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service”, “5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service”, “forbidden PLMNs for GPRS service” and “forbidden PLMNs” lists. This reads on ignoring contents of the FSNPN list and the FTAI list for the selected SNPN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make when determining that the selected SNPN is present in the FSNPN in Matolia adapt to include ignoring contents of the FSNPN list and the FTAI list for the selected SNPN because this would allow for an efficient and well-known mechanism for connecting to a FPLMN to perform user desired services (see Matolia, paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 12 Matolia and Kim teach limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 14 Matolia and Kim teach limitations as recited in claim 4 and therefore claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 15 Matolia and Kim teach limitations as recited in claims 5-6 and therefore claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 16 Matolia teaches wherein when the processor supports access to a SNPN providing access for localized services in the SNPN, the processor indicates to a user whether an available SNPNs are present in a list of temporarily forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in the SNPN, or a list of permanently forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in the SNPN associated with each entry of a list of subscriber data or public land mobile network (PLMN) subscription (see paragraphs [0031] – [0033] and Fig. 3, The display device of the UE may be configured to display the GUI during a manual network selection procedure. Generally, when a manual network selection list is displayed at the UE, the user is most likely to select one of the PLMNs and/or SNPNs located towards the top of the GUI. The sixth entry may represent a set of PLMNs and/or SNPNs that may include one or more FPLMNs (temporary followed by permanent forbidden. For example, the UE may still able to connect to an FPLMN to perform an emergency call and/or receive access to other types of emergency services. Thus, the inclusion of FPLMNs in the manual network selection list may enable access to emergency services. This reads on wherein when the processor supports access to a SNPN providing access for localized services in the SNPN, the processor indicates to a user whether an available SNPNs are present in a list of temporarily forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in the SNPN, or a list of permanently forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in the SNPN associated with each entry of a list of subscriber data or public land mobile network (PLMN) subscription).
Regarding claim 17 Matolia teaches wherein the SNPN providing access for localized services in the SNPN belongs to a list of permanently forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in the SNPN, or a list of temporarily forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in the SNPN associated with each entry of the list of subscriber data or PLMN subscription (see paragraphs [0031] – [0033] and Fig. 3, The display device of the UE may be configured to display the GUI during a manual network selection procedure. Generally, when a manual network selection list is displayed at the UE, the user is most likely to select one of the PLMNs and/or SNPNs located towards the top of the GUI. The sixth entry may represent a set of PLMNs and/or SNPNs that may include one or more FPLMNs (temporary followed by permanent forbidden. For example, the UE may still able to connect to an FPLMN to perform an emergency call and/or receive access to other types of emergency services. Thus, the inclusion of FPLMNs in the manual network selection list may enable access to emergency services. This reads on wherein the SNPN providing access for localized services in the SNPN belongs to a list of permanently forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in the SNPN, or a list of temporarily forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in the SNPN associated with each entry of the list of subscriber data or PLMN subscription).
Regarding claim 18 Matolia teaches wherein the processor determines that the selected SNPN belongs to a list of temporarily forbidden SNPNs, or permanently forbidden SNPNs, or 5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming, or 5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service, or permanently forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in the SNPN, or temporarily forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in the SNPN (see paragraphs [0033] & [0057] and Fig. 4, The UE may still be configured to consider FPLMNs when generating the manual network selection list. The UE may still able to connect to an FPLMN to perform an emergency call and/or receive access to other types of emergency services. Thus, the inclusion of FPLMNs in the manual network selection list may enable access to emergency services. The UE receives user input indicating that the user has selected one of the PLMNs displayed on the GUI. The user may select any PLMN included in the manual network selection list for any reason. This indicates manual user selection of an PLMN/SNPN from the FPLMN list. This reads on wherein the processor determines that the selected SNPN belongs to a list of temporarily forbidden SNPNs, or permanently forbidden SNPNs, or 5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming, or 5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service, or permanently forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in the SNPN, or temporarily forbidden SNPNs for access for localized services in the SNPN).
Regarding claim 19 Matolia and Kim teach limitations as recited in claims 5-6 and therefore claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
VI. Claims 3, 10, 13, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matolia et al. (US 2022/0312306 A1, including WO 2021/237247 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0135827 A1, including WO 2021/172768 A1), and Sung et al. (US 2022/0360493 A1).
Regarding claim 3 Matolia and Kim teach the method as claimed in claim 1 except for selecting the SNPN through a manual SNPN selection mode procedure for onboarding services.
Sung teaches wherein the step of performing the SNPN selection mode procedure to camp on the cell of the user selected SNPN comprises: selecting the SNPN through a manual SNPN selection mode procedure for onboarding services (see paragraphs [0058] & [0060], When the terminal is about to perform UE onboarding via the SNPN, the terminal may perform ONN selection. The ON-SNPN may be a SNPN that provides access to the terminal for UE onboarding. In an automatic or manual selection, the terminal may select one of the ONNs broadcasting the onboarding enabled indication and attempt to register for the selected ONN. When the user or the terminal of the user selects the ON-SNPN, the terminal may establish a radio resource control (RRC) connection to the NG-RAN node of the ON-SNPN. This reads on selecting the SNPN through a manual SNPN selection mode procedure for onboarding services).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the step of performing the SNPN selection mode procedure to camp on the cell of the user selected SNPN in the Matolia and Kim combination adapt to include selecting the SNPN through a manual SNPN selection mode procedure for onboarding services because manual selection of the onboarding network is well-known as described in Sung above and can be incorporated into Matolia as Matolia describes the manual network selection procedure being performed in a variety of different scenarios (see Matolia, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 10 Matolia teaches the method as claimed in claim 7 including temporarily forbidden SNPNs and permanently forbidden SNPNs (see Matolia, paragraph [0033] and Fig. 3, The UE may be configured to consider the entry of FPLMNs when manually selecting a PLMN and/or SNPN so that the UE may be able to connect to an FPLMN to perform an emergency service. The FPLMN entry may include one or more temporary forbidden PLMN followed by one or more permanently forbidden PLMN. The inclusion of the FPLMNs in the manual network selection list may enable access to emergency services. This reads on temporarily forbidden SNPNs and permanently forbidden SNPNs) and except ignoring the contents of lists of temporarily forbidden SNPNs for onboarding services and permanently forbidden SNPNs for onboarding services.
Kim teaches ignoring the contents of 5GS forbidden PLMN/SNPNs lists (see Kim, paragraph [0198], Upon selection of a PLMN by the user the MS may initiate registration on this PLMN. For such a registration, the MS shall ignore the contents of the “forbidden location areas for roaming”, “forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, “5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, “forbidden location areas for regional provision of service”, “forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service”, “5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service”, “forbidden PLMNs for GPRS service” and “forbidden PLMNs” lists. This reads on ignoring the contents of 5GS forbidden PLMN/SNPNs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make Matolia adapt to include ignoring contents of ignoring the contents of forbidden PLMN/SNPNs lists because this would allow for an efficient and well-known mechanism for connecting to a FPLMN to perform user desired services (see Matolia, paragraph [0033]).
Sung teaches onboarding services (see paragraphs [0058] & [0060], When the user or the terminal of the user selects the ON-SNPN, the terminal may establish a radio resource control (RRC) connection to the NG-RAN node of the ON-SNPN. This reads on onboarding services).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Matolia and Kim combination adapt to include onboarding services because manual selection of the onboarding network is well-known as described in Sung above and can be incorporated into the Matolia and Kim combination as Matolia describes the manual network selection procedure being performed in a variety of different scenarios (see Matolia, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 13 Matolia, Kim, and Sung teach limitations as recited in claim 3 and therefore claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 20 Matolia and Kim teach the method as claimed in claim 13 including wherein the processor determines that the selected SNPN belongs to a list of temporarily forbidden SNPNs, or permanently forbidden SNPNs (see Matolia, paragraph [0033] and Fig. 3, The UE may be configured to consider the entry of FPLMNs when manually selecting a PLMN and/or SNPN so that the UE may be able to connect to an FPLMN to perform an emergency service. The FPLMN entry may include one or more temporary forbidden PLMN followed by one or more permanently forbidden PLMN. The inclusion of the FPLMNs in the manual network selection list may enable access to emergency services. This reads on determining that the selected SNPN belongs to a list of temporarily forbidden SNPNs, or permanently forbidden SNPNs), 5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming, or 5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service (see Kim, paragraph [0198], Upon selection of a PLMN by the user the MS may initiate registration on this PLMN. For such a registration, the MS shall ignore the contents of the “forbidden location areas for roaming”, “forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, “5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, “forbidden location areas for regional provision of service”, “forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service”, “5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service”, “forbidden PLMNs for GPRS service” and “forbidden PLMNs” lists. This reads on determining that the selected SNPN belongs to a list of 5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming, or 5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service) and except for onboarding services.
Sung teaches selecting the SNPN through a manual SNPN selection mode procedure for onboarding services (see paragraphs [0058] & [0060], When the user or the terminal of the user selects the ON-SNPN, the terminal may establish a radio resource control (RRC) connection to the NG-RAN node of the ON-SNPN. This reads on selecting the SNPN through a manual SNPN selection mode procedure for onboarding services).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Matolia and Kim combination adapt to include selecting the SNPN through a manual SNPN selection mode procedure for onboarding services because manual selection of the onboarding network is well-known as described in Sung above and can be incorporated into Matolia as Matolia describes the manual network selection procedure being performed in a variety of different scenarios (see Matolia, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 20 Matolia and Kim teach the method as claimed in claim 13 including ignoring the contents of 5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming, or 5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service (see Kim, paragraph [0198], Upon selection of a PLMN by the user the MS may initiate registration on this PLMN. For such a registration, the MS shall ignore the contents of the “forbidden location areas for roaming”, “forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, “5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming”, “forbidden location areas for regional provision of service”, “forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service”, “5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service”, “forbidden PLMNs for GPRS service” and “forbidden PLMNs” lists. This reads on determining that the selected SNPN belongs to a list of 5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming, or 5GS forbidden tracking areas for regional provision of service) and temporarily forbidden SNPNs and permanently forbidden SNPNs (see Matolia, paragraph [0033] and Fig. 3, The UE may be configured to consider the entry of FPLMNs when manually selecting a PLMN and/or SNPN so that the UE may be able to connect to an FPLMN to perform an emergency service. The FPLMN entry may include one or more temporary forbidden PLMN followed by one or more permanently forbidden PLMN. The inclusion of the FPLMNs in the manual network selection list may enable access to emergency services. This reads on temporarily forbidden SNPNs and permanently forbidden SNPNs) and except for onboarding services.
Sung teaches selecting the SNPN through a manual SNPN selection mode procedure for onboarding services (see paragraphs [0058] & [0060], When the user or the terminal of the user selects the ON-SNPN, the terminal may establish a radio resource control (RRC) connection to the NG-RAN node of the ON-SNPN. This reads on selecting the SNPN through a manual SNPN selection mode procedure for onboarding services).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Matolia and Kim combination adapt to include selecting the SNPN through a manual SNPN selection mode procedure for onboarding services because manual selection of the onboarding network is well-known as described in Sung above and can be incorporated into Matolia as Matolia describes the manual network selection procedure being performed in a variety of different scenarios (see Matolia, paragraph [0037]).
Conclusion
VII. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vamanan et al. Pub. No.: US 2022/0225214 A1 discloses reducing wireless device service interruptions including cell selection that may temporarily ignore the forbidden PLMN list of the wireless device (see paragraph [00103]).
Ganig et al. Pub. No.: US 2022/0053600 A1 discloses methods and systems for managing SNPN access mode including selecting, by the UE, a SNPN for registration (see abstract).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
July 20, 2026