Election/Restrictions
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/19/2026. Applicant has elected Group II and Species Aii, corresponding to claims 1-10 and 12-13.
Invention Group I and Species Ai, corresponding to claims 11 and 14-20, is withdrawn from further consideration. Applicant elected Species Ai, "OP2 present" (FIGS. 7, 10, 14A, 14B), and stated that claims 1–13 are readable on it. However, the examiner observes that Claim 11 recites an inorganic insulating layer that "covers the metal layer exposed from the aperture of the organic insulating layer". The specification states that in that configuration "the aperture OP2 of the organic [sic; inorganic] insulating layer 5 is not present in the configuration example shown here" ([0131]) and that "as the inorganic insulating layer 5 does not have an aperture, the metal layer MT is not exposed" ([0133]). Thus the examiner concludes that Claim 11 reads only on the non-elected species and is treated as withdrawn from consideration under 37 CFR 1.142(b).
Specification
The specification submitted 4/30/2024 has been accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 4/30/2024 have been accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted up to this point have been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,720,967 in view of Chae (US # 20160105959).
Claim 1 of the '967 patent recites a display device comprising a substrate; an organic insulating layer provided over a display area displaying an image and a surrounding area on an external side relative to the display area above the substrate; a lower electrode provided on the organic insulating layer in the display area; an organic layer provided on the lower electrode and including a light emitting layer; an upper electrode provided on the organic layer; and a plurality of surrounding partitions provided in the surrounding area, each having a first lower portion and a first upper portion located on the first lower portion and protruding from a side surface of the first lower portion, wherein the organic insulating layer has a recess portion in the surrounding area and the surrounding partitions include a first partition which overlaps the recess portion. Claim 3 of the '967 patent recites that the recess portion is a penetration portion in the organic insulating layer (i.e. an aperture through that layer).
Every limitation of the instant claim 1 is therefore found in claims 1 and 3 of the '967 patent except for "a metal layer provided in the surrounding area and overlapping an aperture of the organic insulating layer."
A prior art reference Chae-959 discloses that element. Chae-959 teaches a pad PAD that is electrically connected to a pixel P and is connected to a printed circuit board (PCB), and may be formed on an outer region of the display area DA [0001]), the pad electrode 30 of which may include aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), gold (Au) and other metals [0053]). Chae-959 further teaches that the organic insulating layer 40 is formed on the pad electrode 30. An opening O, which exposes an upper surface of the pad electrode 30, is formed in the organic insulating layer 40 [0048]; FIG. 4). Chae-959 thus discloses a metal layer provided in a region on an outer side of the display area and overlapping an opening of an organic insulating layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the penetration portion recited in claim 3 of the '967 patent over a pad electrode of the kind Chae-959 teaches. The '967 patent's claim 3 recites an opening passing entirely through the organic insulating layer in the surrounding area, and Chae-959 teaches the established reason for such an opening in that region: a display panel must expose its terminals so that a printed circuit board may be connected to them, which requires the organic insulating layer to be opened over those terminals (Chae-959 [0001], [0048]). The combination is the use of a known element for its established function to yield a predictable result. KSR Int'! Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-17 (2007).
Claim 3 adds that the first partition has a plurality of segments formed along a rim of the aperture. Claim 5 of the '967 patent recites plural first partitions overlapping the recess portion and spaced apart from each other. No patentable distinction is present.
Claims 4 and 6 each add that the first partition is formed into a grating shape in plan view. Claim 5 of the '967 patent recites that each of the first partitions is fanned into a grating shape in plan view. No patentable distinction is present.
Claim 5 differs from claim 1 only in that the first partition is provided above the organic insulating layer rather than in the aperture. Claim 2 of the '967 patent recites that the surrounding partitions include a second partition which overlaps the upper surface of the organic insulating layer (i.e. the same placement). Claim 5 is accordingly not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 2 of the '967 patent in view of Chae-959, for the reasons given above.
Claim 7 adds that the first partition is further provided in the aperture, so that the partition occupies both the aperture and the region above the organic insulating layer. Claim l of the '967 patent recites a first partition overlapping the recess portion and claim 2 recites a second partition overlapping the upper surface - the same dual occupancy. No patentable distinction is present.
Claim 8 adds an inorganic insulating layer covering the organic insulating layer, with the first partition provided on the inorganic insulating layer. Claim 1 of the '967 patent recites an inorganic insulating layer provided on the organic insulating layer, and recites that the first lower portion of each surrounding partition is located on that inorganic insulating layer. The limitation is present in the patented independent claim itself. No patentable distinction is present.
Claim 9 adds that the inorganic insulating layer is provided in the display area and has an aperture overlapping the lower electrode. Claim I of the '967 patent recites that the inorganic insulating layer covers a peripheral portion of the lower electrode, which necessarily places that layer in the display area and necessarily leaves the central region of the lower electrode uncovered. No patentable distinction is present.
Claim 10 adds a second partition having a conductive second lower portion provided on the inorganic insulating layer and a second upper portion protruding from a side surface thereof, the lower electrode, organic layer and upper electrode being surrounded by the second partition, with the upper electrode in contact with the second lower portion.
Claim 6 of the '967 patent recites a partition having a second lower portion provided on the inorganic insulating layer in the display area and formed of a conductive material, and a second upper po1iion provided on the second lower portion and protruding from a side surface of the second lower portion, wherein the lower electrode, the organic layer and the upper electrode are surrounded by the partition, and the upper electrode is in contact with the second lower portion of the partition. The limitations correspond element for element. No patentable distinction is present.
Claim 12 adds that the organic insulating layer comprises a first layer and a second layer and has a stepwise cross section in which a thickness decreases toward the aperture. Claim 7 of the '967 patent recites that the organic insulating layer has a stepwise cross section in which a thickness decreases toward the recess portion, and claim 8 recites that the organic insulating layer has a first layer and a second layer covering the first layer. No patentable distinction is present.
Claim 13 adds that the organic insulating layer is a single-layer body having that stepwise cross section. Claim 7 of the '967 patent recites the stepwise cross section and claim 10 recites that the organic insulating layer is a single-layer body. No patentable distinction is present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Son-317 (US # 20240324317).
Regarding Claim 1, Son-317 teaches a display device (display apparatus 1 including a display panel DP; [0053, 058]; see Fig. 6) comprising:
a substrate (100);
an organic insulating layer (111+115) provided over a display area (DA) which displays an image and a surrounding area (NDA) located on an external side relative to the display area above the substrate (shown in Fig. 1 and 6);
a lower electrode (210) provided on the organic insulating layer in the display area (shown in Fig. 6 over layer 111 and on the sidewall of feature 115);
an organic layer (220; [0135-136]) provided on the lower electrode and including a light emitting layer (222);
an upper electrode (230) provided on the organic layer;
a first partition (300) provided in the surrounding area and having a first lower portion (310) and a first upper portion (320) which is provided on the first lower portion and protrudes from a side surface of the first lower portion (shown with overhang of sidewalls of opening 310OP); and
a metal layer (16) provided in the surrounding area (NDA; see Fig. 2) and overlapping an aperture ([0115] explicitly describes “pixel definition layer 115 may include an opening portion overlapping the common power supply line 16 and exposing a portion of the upper surface of the common power supply line 16”) of the organic insulating layer, wherein
the first partition is provided in the aperture ([0115] “The first subbank layer 310 of the bank layer 300 may directly contact the common power supply line 16 through the opening portion of the pixel definition layer 115.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Son-317 teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate (display apparatus 1, substrate 100, organic insulating layer 111 + 115, pixel electrode 210, intermediate layer 220 with emission layer 222, opposite electrode 230, bank layer 300 with first subbank layer 310 and second subbank layer 320 having tip PT, common power supply line 16 and the opening portion of the pixel definition layer 115); an organic insulating layer provided over a display area which displays an image and a surrounding area located on an external side relative to the display area above the substrate; a lower electrode provided on the organic insulating layer in the display area; an organic layer provided on the lower electrode and including a light emitting layer; an upper electrode provided on the organic layer; a first partition provided in the surrounding area and having a first lower portion and a first upper portion which is provided on the first lower portion and protrudes from a side surface of the first lower portion; and a metal layer provided in the surrounding area and overlapping an aperture of the organic insulating layer,
wherein the first partition (300) is provided above the organic insulating layer (a portion of 300 is above an upper surface of layer 115).
Regarding Claim 7, Son-317 teaches the display device of claim 5, wherein
the first partition is further provided in the aperture (the first subbank layer 310 directly contacts the common power supply line 16 through the opening portion of the pixel definition layer 115; [0115]).
Regarding Claim 8, Son-317 teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising an inorganic insulating layer (119) which covers the organic insulating layer, wherein
the first partition (300) is provided on the inorganic insulating layer (shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 9, Son-317 teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein
the inorganic insulating layer is provided in the display area and has an aperture overlapping the lower electrode (opening 119OP of the second pixel protection layer 119).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 3, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son-317 (US # 20240324317) in view of Lee-305 (US # 20240324305).
Regarding Claim 2, although Son-317 discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the display device of claim 1, wherein the first partition is formed into a loop shape along a rim of the aperture in plan view.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Lee-305 is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a display device ([0120]; Fig. 3A), wherein a first partition (conductive bank layers 300a, 300b, 300c) is formed into a loop shape along a rim of the aperture in plan view (Fig. 4A shows apertures / openings OP1, OP2, OP3 and the ring shape/loop shape around the display areas).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the bank layer 300 of Son-317 at its opening over the common power supply line 16 in the non-display area with the island (closed-frame) plan-view fom1 suggested by Lee-305 would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Lee-305 would be to employ the first partition is formed into a loop shape along a rim of the aperture in plan view. The rationale for this obvious modification is that a reduced-area bank in the non-display area enlarges the region of the organic layers not covered by the bank, so that gas emitted by those organic layers is readily discharged and film lifting is reduced, and reduces the bank area, the benefits Lee-305 attributes to reducing the area of its bank layers ([0140, 219]).
Regarding Claim 3, although Son-317 discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the display device of claim 1, wherein the first partition has a plurality of segments formed along a rim of the aperture in plan view.
The prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders that difference obvious, as explained below.
For example, Lee-305, in the same field as stated for claim 2, teaches that the conductive bank layers 300 are formed as a plurality of bank layers spaced apart from each other (first to third conductive bank layers 300a, 300b and 300c spaced apart from each other, Fig. 4A embodiment; [0130]; first to fourth conductive bank layers 300Pa- 300Pd spaced apart from each other by a groove G, Fig. 8 embodiment; [0206, 207]), and that a separate conductive bank layer 300d of the same materials lies on the opening (valley portion VP) of the organic insulating layer in the non-display area ([0179]- [0181]; Fig. 7).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the bank layer 300 of Son-317 in the non-display area with the spaced-apart segmentation suggested by Lee-305 would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Lee-305 would be to employ the first partition has a plurality of segments formed along a rim of the aperture in plan view, that is, to divide the bank layer 300 of Son-317 where it overlies the opening over the common power supply line 16 into a plurality of spaced-apart pieces arranged along the edge of that opening, each contacting line 16. The rationale for this obvious modification is that spacing the bank pieces apart by grooves lets gas from the organic insulating layer be readily discharged and prevents impurities from moving to the light-emitting diodes ([0167, 218]), and that a smaller bank area increases infrared transmittance ([0140, 219]).
Regarding Claim 10, Son-317 teaches the display device of claim 9 as set out above, and further teaches the bank layer 300, the one bank layer that extends from the display area DA to the nondisplay area NDA ([0112, 115]) having a second lower portion (first subbank layer 310; [0112]) which is provided on the inorganic insulating layer (the bank layer 300 is formed over the second pixel protection layer 119; [0112]; Fig. 41) and is formed of a conductive material (the first sub bank layer 310 is a layer including aluminum; [0113]) and a second upper portion (second subbank layer 320; [0112]) which is provided on the second lower portion ([0112]) and protrudes from a side surface of the second lower portion, wherein (tip PT protruding from the point CP where the side surface of 310 and the bottom surface of 320 meet; [0127]; Fig. 4I)
the lower electrode, the organic layer and the upper electrode are surrounded by the second partition, and (the tip PT of the bank layer 300 is formed to surround the pixel electrode 210 when viewed vertically from the substrate 100; [0161, 162]; Fig. 7; the intermediate layer 220 overlaps the pixel electrode 210 through the openings OP1 and OP2; [0140]; Fig. 4I shows the intermediate layer 220 and the opposite electrode 230 within the second opening OP2 of the bank layer 300) the upper electrode is in contact with the second lower portion of the second partition (the opposite electrode 230 directly contacts the side surface of the first sub bank layer 310; [0141]; Fig. 4I).
Although Son-317 discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the display device of claim 1, a second partition as a structure distinct from the first partition.
For example, Lee-305, in the same field as stated for claim 2, teaches conductive bank layers of the same two metal, undercut construction (lower conductive layer 310a of aluminum, upper conductive layer 320a of titanium with tip portion T; [0118, 120]) in which the bank layers in the display area are island-shaped and spaced apart from each other ([0130]) and are electrically connected to the auxiliary line VSL through contact holes CNT1-CNT3 ([0135, 161]), while a fourth conductive bank layer 300d is disposed in the non-display area and may be spaced apart from the first to third conductive bank layers 300a, 300b, and 300c ([0180]) and is formed of the same materials ([0180, 181]; [0180] adds that the fourth conductive bank layer 300d may be electrically connected to the first to third conductive bank layers, i.e. the spacing is physical, not electrical).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the bank layer 300 of Son-317 with the separation between display-area bank layers and the non-display-area bank layer suggested by Lee-305 would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Lee-305 would be to employ a second partition, that is, to form the portion of the bank layer 300 of Son-317 that surrounds each display element as a bank layer spaced apart from the portion of the bank layer 300 lying in the non-display area over the common power supply line 16 (the first partition), the display-area bank layers receiving the common voltage through an auxiliary line and contact holes as in Lee-305 [0135, 0161]. The rationale for this obvious modification is that spaced-apart bank layers let gas from the organic insulating layer be readily discharged and keep impurities from the light-emitting diodes (Lee-305 [0167, 218]) and that an auxiliary-line contact within the display area shortens the common voltage path and reduces the voltage drop that Son-317 itself identifies, in its auxiliary-electrode embodiment of Fig. 8, as the reason for adding an auxiliary electrode (Son-317 [0165], [0166]; that embodiment, [0164, 186], describes no bank layer 300 and leaves layers 117 and 119 only under the auxiliary electrode 600, [0177]; it is cited for the stated problem only). Lee-305 states that its non-display-area bank layer 300d may be electrically insulated from the common power supply line 180 (Lee-305 [0199]); the modification does not adopt that arrangement, and borrows from Lee-305 only the separation of the display area bank layers from the non-display-area bank layer and the auxiliary-line feed of the former, leaving the first partition of Son-317 in contact with the common power supply line 16 as before. The modification keeps every element of Son-317 relied on for claims 1, 8 and 9 in place and does not change its principle of operation, which is the maskless deposition of the intermediate layer and opposite electrode separated by the tip PT (Son-317 [0142]).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son-317 (US # 20240324317) in view of Kim-916 (US # 20220208916).
Regarding Claims 4 and 6, Son-317 fails to disclose the first partition is formed into a grating shape in plan view.
The prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders that difference obvious, as explained below.
For example, Kim-916 is in the same field, an OLED display device whose bank is the protruding upper layer of an undercut structure over a contact, and it teaches a bank 125 of organic insulating material (acrylic, epoxy, phenolic, polyamide or polyimide resin; [0100]) that "may be disposed in the form of a grid" ([0165]; FIG. 10; and recited in Kim-916's own claim 13 as "a bank disposed in the display area in a grid shape while exposing at least one side of the anode electrode"). The grid is made of bank patterns of that one bank 125 running in two crossing directions: a plurality of second bank patterns BP2 extending in the second direction, connected with a fourth bank pattern BP4 and a fifth bank pattern BP5 extending in the first direction ([0165]; FIG. 10), and, in a further embodiment, "a second bank pattern BP2 in which the bank 125 is extended in the second direction … and a third bank pattern BP3 in which the bank 125 is extended in the first direction" ([0168]; FIG. 11, which shows BP2 and BP3 of the same bank 125 intersecting in plan view). Kim-916's bank is also the overhanging member of an undercut over a contact, as Son-317's is: "The undercut structure UC may be formed as an end of an upper layer provided over a lower layer is more protruded than the end of the lower layer" ([0105]), and "The planarization layer PLN and the passivation layer PAS may correspond to the lower layer of the undercut structure, and may expose at least a portion of the cathode contact portion CCT. The second bank pattern BP2 is an upper layer of an undercut structure, and its end may be more protruded than the planarization layer PLN and the passivation layer PAS to form the undercut structure" ([0177], [0178]), through which the cathode electrode 140 is connected to the cathode contact portion CCT and supplied with power from the common power line ([0179]).
Kim-916 states the reason for extending the bank into crossing line patterns rather than leaving it as isolated islands: with the bank provided as line patterns "the bank 125 may be prevented from being damaged during the manufacturing process", and, compared with a first bank pattern BP1 of an island shape, "a contact area between the bank 125 and the lower layer may be increased, and interfacial adhesion may be improved" ([0167]). Adding the crossing third bank pattern BP3 over a signal line further improves "interfacial adhesion between the bank 125 and the lower layer without reducing an aperture ratio", because the area in which that signal line is provided carries no anode electrode ([0168]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the bank layer 300 of Son-317, where it lies in the opening portion of the pixel definition layer 115 over the common power supply line 16 in the non-display area, with the grid plan-view form taught by Kim-916 would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Kim-916 would be to employ the device comprising the first partition that is formed into a grating shape in plan view. The rationale for this obvious modification is the one Kim-916 states for its own grid: a bank patterned as crossing lines has a greater contact area with the layer beneath it, so interfacial adhesion is improved and the bank is less liable to be damaged during manufacture ([0167], [0168]). That benefit applies directly to Son-317, whose bank layer 300 in the non-display area sits on the pixel definition layer 115 and reaches through it to line 16 (Son-317 [0115]), and whose intermediate layer 220 and opposite electrode 230 are deposited over it without a separate mask (Son-317 [0142]). The modification adds no process step, and it does not change the principle of operation of Son-317 (maskless deposition separated by the tip PT (Son-317 [0142])) or the contact of the first subbank layer 310 to line 16 (Son-317 [0115]).
Claim 6 is rejected on essentially the same ground.
Claim 12-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son-317 (US # 20240324317) in view of Kang-403 (US # 20190115403).
Regarding Claim 12, Son-317 teaches the display device of claim 1 as set out above, and further teaches the organic insulating layer has a first layer (second organic insulating layer 111; [0104]) and a second layer located on the first layer, (pixel definition layer 115 disposed over the second organic insulating layer 111; [0108], [0109]; FIG. 4I)
Son-317 does not teach and further has a stepwise cross section in which a thickness decreases toward the aperture.
The prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders that difference obvious, as explained below.
For example, Kang-403 is in the same field, an OLED display device in which a cathode is connected to an auxiliary cathode through an undercut opening formed in an organic insulating body, and it has the same two-layer organic arrangement as Son-317: an overcoat layer OC of organic material formed on a passivation layer PAS, with the connection terminals CT for connection with the anodes ANO formed on the overcoat layer OC ([0041]), and a bank of organic material formed on the overcoat layer over it ([0078]); the auxiliary cathode ACT is exposed through an undercut opening OH which penetrates the overcoat layer OC and the passivation layer PAS ([0042]), in a non-emission area in which the auxiliary connection lines AC, auxiliary cathodes ACT and connection terminals CT are disposed. Kang-403 teaches forming that organic body so that its thickness decreases in a step toward the opening: the bank is patterned "through a ninth mask process to form a first bank BN1", it is "desirable that the ninth mask process uses a half-tone mask", "the portion of the first bank BN1 which corresponds to a region in which the undercut opening OH will be formed is removed, and the first bank BN1 having a first thickness in the emission area EA and a second thickness greater than the first thickness in the non-emission area is formed", and "it is desirable to form the first bank BN1 such that the first bank BN1 also has the first thickness at one side of the first undercut opening OH1 opposite the connection terminal CT, as indicated by a dotted line circle (FIG. 8A)" ([0078]; FIG. 8A, which shows the first bank BN1 at its greater thickness over the non-emission area and stepping down to the lesser thickness immediately beside the opening, the step being the feature the dotted-line circle marks). Kang-403 states both reasons for the arrangement: "the undercut opening OH is formed using a halftone mask in the mask process for forming the bank BN and thus the number of mask processes can be reduced" ([0084]), and, the thinned organic material at the opening giving a gentler profile, "the transparent conductive material for forming the cathode CAT can be uniformly deposited on the organic emission layer OL without a disconnected portion" so that the cathodes are correctly connected over the substrate and thus un-uniformity of display does not occur ([0085]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the organic insulating layer of Son-317 at the opening over the common power supply line 16 in the non-display area, with the stepwise cross section taught by Kang-403, would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Kang-403 would be to employ an organic insulating layer that further has a stepwise cross section in which a thickness decreases toward the aperture. The rationale for this obvious modification is the one Kang-403 gives: the half-tone patterning is performed in the bank mask process already required, adding no mask step ([0084]), and the resulting gentler profile at the opening lets the conductive material of the cathode deposit uniformly, without a disconnected portion, over the organic layer beneath it ([0085]). That benefit applies directly to Son-317, which deposits the intermediate layer 220 and the opposite electrode 230 "without using a separate mask" (Son-317 [0142]; in the FIG. 8 embodiment the opposite electrode "may be entirely deposited over the substrate 100", [0165]), and which carries that deposited film over the organic layers into the non-display area, where the opposite electrode must reach the common power supply line 16 (Son-317 [0115]). The modification does not alter the contact of the first subbank layer 310 to line 16 through the opening (Son-317 [0115]) or any other element relied on for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, Son-317 does not teach the organic insulating layer is a single-layer body or has a stepwise cross section in which a thickness decreases toward the aperture. As applied in the rejection of claim 1, the organic insulating layer of Son-317 is a body of two organic sublayers (the second organic insulating layer 111 and the pixel definition layer 115) rather than a single-layer body.
The prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders both differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Kang-403 teaches a single organic insulating layer performing both functions that Son-317 divides between two: its overcoat layer OC is one organic layer formed on the passivation layer PAS, carrying on its upper surface the connection terminals CT for connection with the anodes ANO ([0041]), and penetrated by the undercut opening OH through which the auxiliary cathode ACT is exposed ([0042]). Kang-403 further teaches giving that single organic layer a stepped cross section decreasing toward the opening: "the overcoat layer may include an over-etched stepped portion formed at a portion of the upper part thereof exposed by the bank" ([0011]), and, in the third embodiment, "it is desirable to control the ashing process time such that a portion of the overcoat layer OC is over-etched at the side of the undercut opening OH opposite the connection terminal CT", the over-etched portion having "a gentler inclined portion than the etched side wall of the bank BN" and extending "to the bottom of the overcoat layer OC" ([0080]; FIG. 8C, which shows the overcoat layer OC at its full thickness beneath the bank, stepping down to a lower level beside the opening OH, the removed material being drawn in broken outline and labelled "Over Etched"). The stated benefit is the same one given for the half-tone step: "the transparent conductive material for forming the cathode CAT can be uniformly deposited on the organic emission layer OL without a disconnected portion", so that the cathodes are correctly connected over the substrate and thus un-uniformity of display does not occur ([0085]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying Son-317 so that the organic insulating layer is a single-layer body and has a stepwise cross section in which a thickness decreases toward the aperture would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Kang-403 would be to form the organic insulating layer of Son-317 as one organic layer, as Kang-403's overcoat layer OC is and to over-etch its upper part at the aperture so that its thickness decreases there in a step, as Kang-403 over-etches its overcoat layer OC at the undercut opening ([0011], [0080]; FIG. 8C). The rationale for this obvious modification is that combining the functions of two adjacent organic insulating layers into one layer of the same material is a simplification with a predictable result — Son-317's layers 111 and 115 are each an organic insulating material such as polyimide (Son-317 [0104], [0108], [0109]), and Kang-403 shows one such layer performing both functions ([0041], [0042]) — and that the over-etched step gives the gentler profile at the aperture which Kang-403 states lets the cathode material deposit uniformly, without a disconnected portion ([0085]). That benefit applies directly to Son-317, whose opposite electrode 230 is deposited without a separate mask and must reach the common power supply line 16 in the non-display area (Son-317 [0115], [0142], [0165]).
Conclusion
Pertinent prior art:
US 20240365600
US 20240349577
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899