DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed on 6/3/2026, Claims 10 and 16-20 have been cancelled, and Claims 1-9, 11-15 and newly added Claims 21-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6592545 Bellhouse et al. (hereinafter Bellhouse).
Regarding claim 21, Bellhouse discloses a medical device (abstract, col. 1 line 15-21) comprising:
a handle (combination of 10, 24, Fig. 1) having a fluid source (col. 7 line 4-7, reservoir 10 is filled with helium gas);
a conduit (tubular body portion 11, Fig. 1) coupled to the handle (as seen in Fig. 1, col. 7 line 7-11, threaded coupling at proximal end of tubular body portion 11 is mated with a threaded coupling of handle); and
a distal portion (combination of 13, 17, 19, 26, Fig. 1) coupled to a distal end of the conduit (as seen in Fig. 1, 3, col. 8 line 66 – col. 9 line 1, threaded coupling at distal end of tubular body portion 11 is mated with a threaded coupling of distal portion), wherein the distal portion comprises:
an outer portion (outer wall portion of 13, 17, 19, 26, Fig. 1) defining a lumen (14, 18); and
an inner portion (21, Fig. 1, 3), wherein the inner portion defines a cavity having a distal opening (as seen in Fig. 1, 3, inner portion forms a concave pocket with a distal opening), and wherein the cavity is configured to contain a material (23, Fig. 3),
wherein, in a first configuration of the distal portion, the material is disposed within the inner portion (as seen in Fig. 1, 3, col. 7 line 33-57),
wherein delivery of a fluid from the fluid source into the lumen of the outer portion transitions the distal portion from the first configuration to a second configuration and causes the inner portion to move distally relative to the outer portion and deliver at least a portion of the material (col. 8 line 66 – col. 9 line 32), and
wherein, in the first configuration and in the second configuration of the distal portion, the inner portion is completely disposed within the outer portion (Fig. 1, 3, col. 9 line 29-31, during eversion of inner portion 21 in the second configuration, spacer 26 ensures the inner portion 21 does not strike the target tissue, and therefore the inner portion 21 is completely disposed within the outer portion in the first configuration and in the second configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5330446 A Weldon et al. (hereinafter Weldon) in view of US 4900303 Lemelson.
Regarding claim 1, Weldon discloses a medical device (abstract, col. 2 line 8 – col. 3 line 19) comprising:
a handle (see annotated Fig. 8 below, col. 7 line 44-47, handle is a syringe) having a fluid source (col. 7 line 41-47, liquid or gas is within the syringe);
a conduit (72, Fig. 8-10) coupled to the handle (as seen in Fig. 8-10); and
a distal portion (56, Fig. 8-10) coupled to a distal end of the conduit (as seen in Fig. 8-10, col. 7 line 47-57), wherein the distal portion comprises:
an outer portion (outer wall portion of 56, Fig. 8-10) defining a lumen (62); and
an inner portion (inverted portion of 64, Fig. 8-9, col. 7 line 22-24), wherein the inner portion defines a cavity having a distal opening (as seen in Fig. 8-9, col. 7 line 19-27, inner portion forms a pocket with a distal opening), and wherein the cavity is configured to contain a material (65, Fig. 8-10) (as seen in Fig. 8-10, col. 7 line 19-27),
wherein, in a first configuration of the distal portion, the material is disposed within the inner portion (as seen in Fig. 8, col. 7 line 19-27) and the inner portion is disposed within the lumen of the outer portion (as seen in Fig. 8), and
wherein delivery of a fluid (col. 7 line 41-47, liquid or gas is within the syringe) from the fluid source into the lumen of the outer portion transitions the distal portion from the first configuration to a second configuration and causes the inner portion to move distally relative to the outer portion and deliver at least a portion of the material (as seen in Fig. 8-10, 11-13, col. 7 line 41 – col. 8 line 19).
Weldon is silent on wherein the outer portion includes a distal valve through which the material is delivered.
However, Lemelson teaches a medical catheter to dispose materials (abstract, col. 1 line 15-19) having an outer portion (40, Fig. 2) that includes a distal valve (44) through which a material (37) is delivered (col. 4 line 46 – col. 5 line 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weldon with the teaching of Lemelson in order to provide a sealing condition to close off the interior volume as disclosed by Lemelson (col. 4 line 46-53).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Weldon and Lemelson teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Weldon further discloses wherein the fluid is a gas (col. 7 line 41-47).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Weldon and Lemelson teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Weldon further discloses wherein the distal portion is detachable from the conduit (as seen in Fig. 8-10, col. 7 line 44-57).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Weldon and Lemelson teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Weldon further discloses wherein:
in the first configuration, the inner portion has a first length (see annotated Fig. 8 above, inverted portion of 64 has a first length from the base of inverted portion 64 to distal end 60 of distal portion 56);
in the second configuration, the inner portion has a second length (as seen in Fig. 9-10, col. 7 line 41-44, as pressurized gas is introduced into the lumen 62 to inflate 64, the first length of the inverted portion of 64 shrinks as it is everted and fully everted out of the distal end 60 of tube 56); and
the first length is greater than the second length (as seen in annotated Fig. 8 above and Fig. 9-10, the first length of inverted portion 64 is greater than the second length of the inverted portion 64 when pressurized gas is introduced into the lumen 62 to inflate 64, the length of the inverted portion of 64 shrinks as it is everted and fully everted out of the distal end 60 of tube 56).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Weldon and Lemelson teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Weldon further discloses wherein the inner portion is a bladder (col. 7 line 11-24, inner portion 64 is a balloon, which in essence is a bladder).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Weldon and Lemelson teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Lemelson teaches wherein the distal valve is a one-way valve (Fig. 2-3, col. 4 line 46 – col. 5 line 10, after the material 37 is delivered out of the valve 44, the memory of the plastic of the outwardly expanded end 42 collapses to assume the condition as in Fig. 2).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weldon in view of Lemelson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 5042819 A LaFata.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Weldon and Lemelson teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combination is silent on wherein the handle includes a first arm and a second arm, wherein the fluid source is a sac disposed between the first arm and the second arm, wherein, upon movement of the first arm towards the second arm, the sac is compressed.
However, LaFata teaches a bubble generating system (50, Fig. 1) having a handle (51, 55) that includes a first arm (51) and a second arm (55), wherein a fluid source (58) is a sac disposed between the first arm and the second arm (col. 8 line 21-25, fluid source (58) is a bellows), wherein, upon movement of the first arm towards the second arm, the sac is compressed (col. 8 line 21-25, 30-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modification of Weldon with Lemelson with the teachings of LaFata to have wherein the handle includes a first arm and a second arm, wherein the fluid source is a sac disposed between the first arm and the second arm, wherein, upon movement of the first arm towards the second arm, the sac is compressed in order to provide a consistent and even stream of compressed fluid from the fluid source.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Weldon, Lemelson and LaFata teaches the limitations of claim 3, and LaFata further discloses wherein the sac (58) is corrugated (as seen in Fig. 1-2, 9-10, 14-15, 21).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weldon in view of Lemelson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 3721231 A Hubert.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Weldon and Lemelson teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Weldon further discloses wherein the distal portion is rigid or semi-rigid (col. 7 line 5-6, tube 56 is made of plastic material).
The combination is silent on wherein the conduit is flexible.
However, Hubert teaches a medical catheter (Fig. 1) for high pressure applications (abstract, col. 1 line 4-9) having a conduit (52, Fig. 1) that is a well-known flexible LUER-LOK connecting set available from Becton, Dickinson and Co. (col. 4 line 18-22). It is also noted that the conduit (72) of Weldon is a male luer fitting that connects with a female luer connector fitting (74, Fig. 8-10, col. 7 line 44-57 of Weldon).
Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the conduit taught by modified Weldon with Lemelson with the conduit as taught by Hubert since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art; the flexible LUER-LOK connection set of Hubert would be sufficient to provide a secure connection between the handle and the distal portion.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weldon in view of Lemelson as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 20230025333 A1 Patel et al. (hereinafter Patel).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Weldon and Lemelson teaches the limitations of claim 8.
The combination is silent on wherein a color of the bladder indicates a volume of the bladder.
However, Patel teaches a urine collection container (120, Fig. 1c) that displays different colors according to different collected volumes of urine (abstract, paragraph 6) wherein the container comprises a flexible wall (bladder 132a, Fig. 1c, paragraph 69) that forms a first shape when a first volume of urine is disposed within the container and second shape when a second volume of urine is disposed within the container (paragraph 9), the flexible wall (132a) including a hologram film (132, Fig. 1c) that displays a first color when disposed in the first shape and a second color when disposed in the second shape (paragraph 10, 69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modification of Weldon with Lemelson with the teachings of Patel to have wherein a color of the bladder indicates a volume of the bladder in order to provide a user with a visual indicator that provides continuous feedback on a volume of the bladder.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weldon in view of Lemelson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 9028401 B1 Bacich et al. (hereinafter Bacich).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Weldon and Lemelson teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combination is silent on wherein the inner portion and the outer portion form one continuous structure.
However, Bacich teaches an everting balloon system for delivering a material (166, Fig. 10a-c) (abstract, Fig. 10a-c, col. 22 line 4 – col 23 line 11) that comprises an outer portion (outer wall portion of everting balloon 18, Fig. 10a-c) and an inner portion (inner wall portion of everting balloon 18, Fig. 10a-c) that form a continuous structure (seen in Fig. 10a-c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modification of Weldon with Lemelson with the teachings of Bacich to have wherein the inner portion and the outer portion form one continuous structure in order to reduce manufacturing steps and the possibility of leakage.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Weldon, Lemelson and Bacich teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Weldon further discloses wherein, in the first configuration, the inner portion is disposed within the outer portion (inverted portion of 64 is within outer wall portion of 56, Fig. 8-9, col. 7 line 22-24), and wherein, in the second configuration, the inner portion extends distally relative to the outer portion (as seen in Fig. 9-10, 11-13, col. 7 line 41 – col. 8 line 19).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Weldon, Lemelson and Bacich teaches the limitations of claim 13, and Weldon further discloses wherein, in the second configuration, the inner portion is turned inside out to release the material (as seen in Fig. 9-10, 11-13, col. 7 line 41 – col. 8 line 19).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weldon in view Lemelson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20090234380 A1 Gabel et al. (hereinafter Gabel).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Weldon and Lemelson teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combination is silent on wherein the material is a patch.
However, Gabel teaches a medical device (100, Fig. 1) for delivering a material (210, Fig. 26) disposed at a distal end (104, Fig. 26), wherein the material is a patch (paragraph 19, 25-26, 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modification of Weldon Lemelson with the teachings of Gabel to have wherein the material is a patch in order to stop and/or control bleeding as disclosed by Gabel (paragraph 124).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellhouse in view of Lemelson.
Regarding claim 22, Bellhouse discloses the limitations of claim 21, and further discloses wherein the inner portion is a bladder (col. 2 line 16-23, col. 7 line 66 – col. 8 line 9, col. 8 line 33-46, the flexibility and shape of the inner portion 21 allow it to function essentially as a bladder to hold and contain a material).
Bellhouse is silent on wherein the outer portion includes a distal valve, and wherein a distal portion of the bladder is coupled to the distal valve.
However, Lemelson teaches a medical catheter to dispose materials (abstract, col. 1 line 15-19) having an outer portion (40, Fig. 2) that includes a distal valve (44) (col. 4 line 46 – col. 5 line 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tip (19) and spacer (26) of the outer portion of Weldon with the distal valve construction as taught by Lemelson in order to provide a sealing condition to close off the interior volume as disclosed by Lemelson (col. 4 line 46-53). Furthermore, modifying the tip (19) and spacer (26) of the outer portion of Weldon with the distal valve of Lemelson would cause the distal portion of the bladder 21 of Weldon to be operatively coupled to the distal valve.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weldon in view of LaFata.
Regarding claim 23, Weldon discloses a medical device (abstract, col. 2 line 8 - col. 3 line 19) comprising:
a handle (see annotated Fig. 8 above, col. 7 line 44-47, handle is a syringe) having a fluid source (col. 7 line 41-47, liquid or gas is within the syringe);
a conduit (72, Fig. 8-10) coupled to the handle (as seen in Fig. 8-10); and
a distal portion (56, Fig. 8-10) coupled to a distal end of the conduit (as seen in Fig. 8-10, col. 7 line 47-57), wherein the distal portion comprises:
an outer portion (outer wall portion of 56, Fig. 8-10) defining a lumen (62); and
an inner portion (inverted portion of 64, Fig. 8-9, col. 7 line 22-24), wherein the inner portion defines a cavity having a distal opening (as seen in Fig. 8-9, col. 7 line 19-27, inner
portion forms a pocket with a distal opening), and wherein the cavity contains a material (65, Fig. 8-10) (as seen in Fig. 8-10, col. 7 line 19-27),
wherein the material is disposed within the inner portion (as seen in Fig. 8, col. 7 line 19-27) and the inner portion is disposed within the lumen of the outer portion (as seen in Fig. 8), and
forcing a fluid from the fluid source into the lumen of the outer portion, and thereby causes the inner portion to move distally relative to the outer portion to deliver at least a portion of the material (as seen in Fig. 8-10, 11-13, col. 7 line 41-col. 8 line 19).
Weldon is silent on wherein the handle has a first arm, and a second arm, wherein the fluid source includes a sac disposed between the first arm and the second arm, and wherein movement of the first and second arms compresses the sac to force a fluid from the sac.
However, LaFata teaches a bubble generating system (50, Fig. 1) having a handle (51, 55) that has a first arm (51) and a second arm (55), wherein a fluid source (58) is a sac disposed between the first arm and the second arm (col. 8 line 21-25, fluid source (58) is a bellows), wherein, upon movement of the first arm towards the second arm, the sac is compressed to force a fluid from the fluid source from the sac (col. 8 line 21-25, 30-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weldon with the teachings of LaFata to have wherein the handle has a first arm and a second arm, wherein the fluid source is a sac disposed between the first arm and the second arm, wherein, upon movement of the first arm towards the second arm, the sac is compressed to force fluid from the fluid source in order to provide a consistent and even stream of compressed fluid from the fluid source.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weldon in view of LaFata as applied to claim 23, and further in view of Lemelson.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Weldon and Lafata teaches the limitations of claim 23.
The combination is silent on wherein the outer portion includes a distal valve through which the material is delivered.
However, Lemelson teaches a medical catheter to dispose materials (abstract, col. 1 line 15-19) having an outer portion (40, Fig. 2) that includes a distal valve (44) through which a material (37) is delivered (col. 4 line 46 – col. 5 line 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modification of Weldon with LaFata with the teaching of Lemelson in order to provide a sealing condition to close off the interior volume of the outer portion as disclosed by Lemelson (col. 4 line 46-53).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHOA TAN LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 /MOHAMED G GABR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771