Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to the specification and drawings has overcome drawing objections previously set forth in non-final office action dated 02/26/2026, therefore the objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to Claims 3 and 13 has overcome 35 U.S.C. § 112 (b) rejection set forth in non-final office action dated 02/26/2026, therefore the rejection has been withdrawn.
The Applicant originally submitted Claims 1-20 in the application. In the present response, the Applicant amended Claims 1-4, 8, 11-14, 18 and 20, added new Claims 21-22 and cancelled Claims 7 and 17. Accordingly, Claims 1-6, 8-16 and 18-22 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filled 05/21/2026, with respect to rejection of Claims 1, 11 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered, however not persuasive.
Applicant argues that cited US 2015/0369545 to Naritomi does not disclose limitations of Claims 1, 11 and 20 drawn to “a pair of plates adapted to: position a compliant coolant flow channel with respect to the plurality of hardware components; and change of the shape of the thermal dissipation component to direct the thermal dissipation component toward the plurality of hardware components using a level of pressure to conform portions of the compliant coolant flow channel in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components”.
In support of this argument the Applicant reasons that Naritomi [0072] and [0109] teaches molded bodies 4,5 are formed by press-molding a thin aluminum alloy, and press forming projections 15 and 16 to contact electrical components 3. As such Naritomi fails to disclose or suggest above-mentioned limitations of Claims 1, 11 and 20.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, Naritomi strives to fix prior art short coming with respect to flexibility of molded bodies 4 and 5. Naritomi [0019] teaches that in a conventional structures “a thin metal sheet using as a material for the tube has a thickness of 0.4 mm, but although it can be deformed to a certain degree, it is not a material of a thickness such that part of the material is locally bent in response to an internal pressure from a liquid heat medium, such as water, located inside thereof”. Naritomi [0028-0029] teaches that molded bodies 4 and 5 of his invention has a thickness that can be bent and deformed by internal pressure of heat medium 8, furthermore Naritomi [0081] teaches that “The outer surfaces 4 a, 5 a of the recesses are in contact with the electronic components 3, and the thickness of the two molded bodies 4, 5 is so thin that the bodies can be bent easily by the inner pressure of the heat medium 8. As a result, a structure is obtained which can be easily flexurally deformed”.
According, Examiner submits following MPEP 2111, in a broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification Naritomi teaches or suggest above-mentioned limitations of Claims 1, 11 and 20, as per rejection of Claims 1, 11 and 20 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-13 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Heise (US 2025/0324555) in view of Frankeny et al (US 5,006,924) and further in view of Naritomi et al (US 2015/0369545).
Regarding Claim 1, Heise (In Fig 3) disclose a data processing system (2), comprising:
a chassis (10);
a circuit board (14) positioned in the chassis (10), (Fig 3);
a processor (18) positioned with the circuit board (14) and paired with a heatsink (12) to dissipate heat generated by the processor (18), (Fig 3), however Heise does not disclose wherein a plurality of hardware components positioned with the circuit board and paired with a thermal dissipation component; and the thermal dissipation component adapted to: change a shape of the thermal dissipation component to conform to the plurality of hardware components to establish conduction paths between the plurality of hardware components and the thermal dissipation component to dissipate heat generated by all of the plurality of hardware components; the thermal dissipation component comprising: a pair of plates adapted to: position a compliant coolant flow channel with respect to the plurality of hardware components; and change of the shape of the thermal dissipation component to direct the thermal dissipation component toward the plurality of hardware components using a level of pressure to conform portions of the compliant coolant flow channel in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components.
Instead, Frankeny (In Figs 3-4) teaches a plurality of hardware components (82) positioned with the circuit board (70) and paired with a thermal dissipation component (12); and
the thermal dissipation component (12) adapted to:
change a shape of the thermal dissipation component (12) to conform to the plurality of hardware components (82) to establish conduction paths between the plurality of hardware components (82) and the thermal dissipation component (12) to dissipate heat generated by all of the plurality of hardware components (82), (Col 3, II. 46-51), (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny with a plurality of hardware components positioned with the circuit board and paired with a thermal dissipation component; and the thermal dissipation component adapted to change a shape of the thermal dissipation component to conform to the plurality of hardware components to establishing conduction paths between the plurality of hardware components and the thermal dissipation component to dissipate heat generated by all of the plurality of hardware components to benefit from improved thermal management technique which permits the effective transfer of heat from integrated circuit device to a heat sink while accommodating relative movement between the integrated circuit device and the heat sink which may be caused by a thermal mismatch (Frankeny Col 1, II. 55-61), however Heise as modified does not discloses wherein the thermal dissipation component comprising: a pair of plates adapted to: position a compliant coolant flow channel with respect to the plurality of hardware components; and change of the shape of the thermal dissipation component to direct the thermal dissipation component toward the plurality of hardware components using a level of pressure to conform portions of the compliant coolant flow channel in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components.
Instead, Naritomi (In Fig 7) teaches wherein the thermal dissipation component comprising (4/5): a pair of plates (4/5) adapted to: position a compliant coolant flow channel (7) with respect to the plurality of hardware components (3); and change of the shape of the thermal dissipation component (3/4) to direct the thermal dissipation component (4/5) toward the plurality of hardware components (3) using a level of pressure to conform portions of the compliant coolant flow channel (7) in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components (3), (¶ 81, II. 5-10), (Fig 7).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny further with Nasr and further with Naritomi with the thermal dissipation component having a pair of plates adapted to: position a compliant coolant flow channel with respect to the plurality of hardware components; and changing of the shape of the thermal dissipation component to direct the thermal dissipation component toward the plurality of hardware components using a level of pressure to conform portions of the compliant coolant flow channel in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components to benefit from enhancing the heat exchange and increasing efficiency of heat exchange by surfaces of electronic component differing in shape and height being brought into intimate contact with outer surfaces of projecting portions (Naritomi ¶ 107, II. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 2, Heise in view of Frankeny and further in view of Naritomi discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the thermal dissipation component comprises: the compliant coolant flow channel adapted to: receive a coolant; establish the level of pressure within the compliant coolant flow channel using the coolant; and change the shape of the thermal dissipation component using the level of the pressure to place portions of the compliant coolant flow channel in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components.
Instead, Frankeny (In Figs 3-4) further teaches wherein the thermal dissipation component (12) comprises: the compliant coolant flow channel (32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) adapted to: receive a coolant (14); establish the level of pressure (pressure, Col 3, II. 46-55) within the compliant coolant flow channel (32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) using the coolant (14); and change the shape of the thermal dissipation component (12) using the level of the pressure (pressure, Col 3, II. 46-55) to place portions of the compliant coolant flow channel (32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components (82), (pressure, Col 3, II. 46-55), (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny with the thermal dissipation component comprising the compliant coolant flow channel adapted to: receive a coolant; establishing the level of pressure within the compliant coolant flow channel using the coolant; and changing the shape of the thermal dissipation component using the level of the pressure to place portions of the compliant coolant flow channel in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components to benefit from improved thermal management technique which permits the effective transfer of heat from integrated circuit device to a heat sink while accommodating relative movement between the integrated circuit device and the heat sink which may be caused by a thermal mismatch (Frankeny Col 1, II. 55-61).
Regarding Claim 3, Heise in view of Frankeny and further in view of Naritomi discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the compliant coolant flow channel comprises: an entrance through which the coolant is received; a flow path that is in fluid communication with the entrance and that traverses to each of the plurality of hardware components while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board; and an exit that is in fluid communication with the flow path and through which the coolant exits the compliant coolant flow channel.
Instead, Frankeny (In Figs 3-4) further teaches wherein the compliant coolant flow channel (32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) comprises: an entrance (62) through which the coolant (14) is received; a flow path (flow path through 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) that is in fluid communication with the entrance (62) and that traverses to each of the plurality of hardware components (82) while the thermal dissipation component (12) is attached to the circuit board (70); and an exit (64) that is in fluid communication with the flow path (flow path through 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) and through which the coolant (14) exits the compliant coolant flow channel (32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60), (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny with the compliant coolant flow channel comprising an entrance through which the coolant being received; a flow path that is in fluid communication with the entrance and that traverses to each of the plurality of hardware components while the thermal dissipation component being attached to the circuit board; and an exit being in fluid communication with the flow path and through which the coolant exits the compliant coolant flow channel to benefit from improved thermal management technique which permits the effective transfer of heat from integrated circuit device to a heat sink while accommodating relative movement between the integrated circuit device and the heat sink which may be caused by a thermal mismatch (Frankeny Col 1, II. 55-61).
Regarding Claim 10, Heise in view of Frankeny and further in view of Naritomi discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the heatsink and the thermal dissipation component are positioned in a coolant loop, and the heatsink is positioned upstream of the thermal dissipation component.
Instead, Frankeny (In Figs 3-4) further teaches wherein the heatsink (30) and the thermal dissipation component (12) are positioned in a coolant loop (Fig 3), and the heatsink (30) is positioned upstream of the thermal dissipation component (12), (Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny with the heatsink and the thermal dissipation component are positioned in a coolant loop, and the heatsink is positioned upstream of the thermal dissipation component to benefit from improved thermal management technique which permits the effective transfer of heat from integrated circuit device to a heat sink while accommodating relative movement between the integrated circuit device and the heat sink which may be caused by a thermal mismatch (Frankeny Col 1, II. 55-61).
Regarding Claim 11, Heise (In Fig 3) a chassis (10) for a data processing system (2), comprising:
a receptacle (16) for receiving a circuit board (14), (Fig 3), a processor (18) positioned with the circuit board (14) and paired with a heatsink (12) to dissipate heat generated by the processor (18), the receptacle (16) being inside the chassis (10), however Heise does not disclose wherein a plurality of hardware components positioned with the circuit board and paired with a thermal dissipation component; and
the thermal dissipation component adapted to: change a shape of the thermal dissipation component to conform to the plurality of hardware components to establish conduction paths between the plurality of hardware components and the thermal dissipation component to dissipate heat generated by all of the plurality of hardware components; the thermal dissipation component comprising: a pair of plates adapted to: position a compliant coolant flow channel with respect to the plurality of hardware components; and change of the shape of the thermal dissipation component to direct the thermal dissipation component toward the plurality of hardware components using a level of pressure to conform portions of the compliant coolant flow channel in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components.
Instead, Frankeny (In Figs 3-4) teaches wherein a plurality of hardware components (82) positioned with the circuit board (70) and paired with a thermal dissipation component (12); and
the thermal dissipation component (12) adapted to: conform a portion of a shape of the thermal dissipation component (12) to the plurality of hardware components (82) to establish conduction paths between the plurality of hardware components (82) and the thermal dissipation component (12) to dissipate heat generated by all of the plurality of hardware components (82), (Col 3, II. 46-51), (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny with a plurality of hardware components positioned with the circuit board and paired with a thermal dissipation component; and the thermal dissipation component adapted to: change a shape of the thermal dissipation component to conform to the plurality of hardware components establishing conduction paths between the plurality of hardware components and the thermal dissipation component to dissipate heat generated by all of the plurality of hardware components to benefit from improved thermal management technique which permits the effective transfer of heat from integrated circuit device to a heat sink while accommodating relative movement between the integrated circuit device and the heat sink which may be caused by a thermal mismatch (Frankeny Col 1, II. 55-61), however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the thermal dissipation component comprising: a pair of plates adapted to: position a compliant coolant flow channel with respect to the plurality of hardware components; and change of the shape of the thermal dissipation component to direct the thermal dissipation component toward the plurality of hardware components using a level of pressure to conform portions of the compliant coolant flow channel in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components.
Instead, Naritomi (In Fig 7) teaches wherein the thermal dissipation component comprising (4/5): a pair of plates (4/5) adapted to: position a compliant coolant flow channel (7) with respect to the plurality of hardware components (3); and change of the shape of the thermal dissipation component (3/4) to direct the thermal dissipation component (4/5) toward the plurality of hardware components (3) using a level of pressure to conform portions of the compliant coolant flow channel (7) in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components (3), (¶ 81, II. 5-10), (Fig 7).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny further with Nasr and further with Naritomi with the thermal dissipation component having a pair of plates adapted to: position a compliant coolant flow channel with respect to the plurality of hardware components; and changing of the shape of the thermal dissipation component to direct the thermal dissipation component toward the plurality of hardware components using a level of pressure to conform portions of the compliant coolant flow channel in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components to benefit from enhancing the heat exchange and increasing efficiency of heat exchange by surfaces of electronic component differing in shape and height being brought into intimate contact with outer surfaces of projecting portions (Naritomi ¶ 107, II. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 12, Heise in view of Frankeny and further in view of Naritomi discloses the limitations of Claim 11, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the thermal dissipation component comprises: a compliant coolant flow channel adapted to: receive a coolant; establish the level of pressure within the compliant coolant flow channel using the coolant; and change the shape of the thermal dissipation component using the level of the pressure to place portions of the compliant coolant flow channel in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components.
Instead, Frankeny (In Figs 3-4) further teaches wherein the thermal dissipation component (12) comprises: a compliant coolant flow channel (32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) adapted to: receive a coolant (14); establish the level of pressure (pressure, Col 3, II. 46-55) within the compliant coolant flow channel (32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) using the coolant (14); and change the shape of the thermal dissipation component (12) using the level of the pressure (pressure, Col 3, II. 46-55) to place portions of the compliant coolant flow channel (32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components (82), (pressure, Col 3, II. 46-55), (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny with the thermal dissipation component comprises: a compliant coolant flow channel adapted to: receive a coolant; establish a level of pressure within the compliant coolant flow channel using the coolant; and change the shape of the thermal dissipation component using the level of the pressure to place portions of the compliant coolant flow channel in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components to benefit from improved thermal management technique which permits the effective transfer of heat from integrated circuit device to a heat sink while accommodating relative movement between the integrated circuit device and the heat sink which may be caused by a thermal mismatch (Frankeny Col 1, II. 55-61).
Regarding Claim 13, Heise in view of Frankeny and further in view of Naritomi discloses the limitations of Claim 12, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the compliant coolant flow channel comprises: an entrance through which the coolant is received; a flow path that is in fluid communication with the entrance and that traverses to each of the plurality of hardware components while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board; and an exit that is in fluid communication with the flow path and through which the coolant exits the compliant coolant flow channel.
Instead, Frankeny (In Figs 3-4) further teaches wherein the compliant coolant flow channel (32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) comprises: an entrance (62) through which the coolant (14) is received; a flow path (flow path through 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) that is in fluid communication with the entrance (62) and that traverses to each of the plurality of hardware components (82) while the thermal dissipation component (12) is attached to the circuit board (70); and an exit (64) that is in fluid communication with the flow path (flow path through 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) and through which the coolant (14) exits the compliant coolant flow channel (32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60), (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny with the compliant coolant flow channel comprising an entrance through which the coolant being received; a flow path that is in fluid communication with the entrance and that traverses to each of the plurality of hardware components while the thermal dissipation component being attached to the circuit board; and an exit being in fluid communication with the flow path and through which the coolant exits the compliant coolant flow channel to benefit from improved thermal management technique which permits the effective transfer of heat from integrated circuit device to a heat sink while accommodating relative movement between the integrated circuit device and the heat sink which may be caused by a thermal mismatch (Frankeny Col 1, II. 55-61).
Regarding Claim 20, Heise (In Fig 3) disclose thermal dissipation component (16) for use with a data processing system (2), however Heise does disclose wherein the thermal dissipation component comprising: a compliant coolant flow channel adapted to: receive a coolant, establish a level of pressure within the compliant coolant flow channel using the coolant, and change a shape of the thermal dissipation component using the level of the pressure to place portions of the compliant coolant flow channel in direct contact with a plurality of hardware components positioned on a circuit board while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board; and a pair of plates adapted to attach the thermal dissipation component to the circuit board.
Instead, Frankeny (In Figs 3-4) teaches wherein the thermal dissipation component (12) comprising: a compliant coolant flow channel (32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) adapted to: receive a coolant (14), establish a level of pressure (pressure, Col 3, II. 46-55) within the compliant coolant flow channel (32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) using the coolant (14), and change a shape of the thermal dissipation component (12) using the level of the pressure (pressure, Col 3, II. 46-55) to place portions of the compliant coolant flow channel (32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) in direct contact with a plurality of hardware components (82) positioned on a circuit board (70) while the thermal dissipation component (12) is attached to the circuit board (70), (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny with the thermal dissipation component comprising a compliant coolant flow channel adapted to receive a coolant, establishing a level of pressure within the compliant coolant flow channel using the coolant, and changing the shape of the thermal dissipation component using the level of the pressure to place portions of the compliant coolant flow channel in direct contact with a plurality of hardware components positioned on a circuit board while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board to benefit from improved thermal management technique which permits the effective transfer of heat from integrated circuit device to a heat sink while accommodating relative movement between the integrated circuit device and the heat sink which may be caused by a thermal mismatch (Frankeny Col 1, II. 55-61), however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein a pair of plates adapted to attach the thermal dissipation component to the circuit board.
Instead, Naritomi (In Fig 7) teaches wherein a pair (4/5) of plates adapted to attach the thermal dissipation component (4/5) to the circuit board (2), (Fig 7), the pair of plates (4/5) adapted to: position the compliant coolant flow channel (7) with respect to the plurality of hardware components (3); and change of the shape of the thermal dissipation component (4/5) to direct the thermal dissipation component toward the plurality of hardware components (3) using the level of pressure to conform portions of the compliant coolant flow channel to be in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components (3), (¶ 81, II. 5-10), (Fig 7).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny and further with Naritomi with a pair of plates adapted to attach the thermal dissipation component to the circuit board and the pair of plates adapted to: position the compliant coolant flow channel with respect to the plurality of hardware components; and change of the shape of the thermal dissipation component to direct the thermal dissipation component toward the plurality of hardware components using the level of pressure to conform portions of the compliant coolant flow channel to be in direct contact with each of the plurality of hardware components to benefit from enhancing the heat exchange and increasing efficiency of heat exchange by surfaces of electronic component differing in shape and height being brought into intimate contact with outer surfaces of projecting portions (Naritomi ¶ 107, II. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 21, Heise in view of Frankeny and further in view of Naritomi discloses the limitations of Claim 20, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the compliant coolant flow channel comprises: an entrance through which the coolant is received; a flow path that is in fluid communication with the entrance and that traverses to each of the plurality of hardware components while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board; and an exit that is in fluid communication with the flow path and through which the coolant exits the compliant coolant flow channel.
Instead, Naritomi (In Fig 6) further teaches wherein the compliant coolant flow channel (7) comprises: an entrance (10) through which the coolant (8) is received; a flow path that is in fluid communication with the entrance (10) and that traverses to each of the plurality of hardware components (3) while the thermal dissipation component (4/5) is attached to the circuit board (2); and an exit (11) that is in fluid communication with the flow path and through which the coolant (8) exits the compliant coolant flow channel (7), (Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny and further with Naritomi with the compliant coolant flow channel comprising: an entrance through which the coolant being received; a flow path that being in fluid communication with the entrance and that traverses to each of the plurality of hardware components while the thermal dissipation component being attached to the circuit board; and an exit that is being in fluid communication with the flow path and through which the coolant exits the compliant coolant flow channel to benefit from enhancing the heat exchange and increasing efficiency of heat exchange by surfaces of electronic component differing in shape and height being brought into intimate contact with outer surfaces of projecting portions (Naritomi ¶ 107, II. 1-9).
Claims 4-6, 8, 14-16, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Heise in view of Frankeny further in view of Naritomi and further in view of Nasr et al (US 2024/0314980).
Regarding Claim 4, Heise in view of Frankeny and further in view of Naritomi discloses the limitations of Claim 3, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the flow path comprises: a first portion adapted to make direct contact with a first component of the plurality of hardware components a first distance away from the flow path while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board, and a second portion adapted to make direct contact with a second component of the plurality of hardware components a second distance away from the flow path while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board, wherein the first distance is different from the second distance.
Instead, Frankeny (In Figs 3-4) further teaches wherein the flow path (flow path through 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) comprises: a first portion adapted to make direct contact with a first component (82) of the plurality of hardware components (82) a first distance away from the flow path (flow path through 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) while the thermal dissipation component (12) is attached to the circuit board (70), and a second portion adapted to make direct contact with a second component (82) of the plurality of hardware components (82) a second distance away from the flow path (flow path through 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) while the thermal dissipation component (12) is attached to the circuit board (70).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny with the flow path comprising a first portion adapted to make direct contact with a first component of the plurality of hardware components a first distance away from the flow path while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board, and a second portion adapted to make direct contact with a second component of the plurality of hardware components a second distance away from the flow path while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board to benefit from improved thermal management technique which permits the effective transfer of heat from integrated circuit device to a heat sink while accommodating relative movement between the integrated circuit device and the heat sink which may be caused by a thermal mismatch (Frankeny Col 1, II. 55-61), however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the first distance is different from the second distance.
Instead, Nasr (In Fig 5A) teaches wherein the first distance (distance between 104b and flow of coolant through 204) is different from the second distance (distance between 104d and flow of coolant through 204), (Fig 5A).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny further with Naritomi and further with Nasr with the first distance being different from the second distance to benefit from improving the overall performance of the processing system (Nasr ¶ 3, II. 7-10).
Regarding Claim 5, Heise in view of Frankeny further in view of Naritomi and further in view of Nasr discloses the limitations of Claim 4, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the first portion comprises a thermally conductive wall through which heat from the first component flows to reach the coolant in the first portion.
Instead, Frankeny (In Figs 3-4) further teaches wherein the first portion comprises a thermally conductive wall (18) through which heat from the first component (82) flows to reach the coolant (14) in the first portion (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny with the first portion comprising a thermally conductive wall through which heat from the first component flows to reach the coolant in the first portion to benefit from improved thermal management technique which permits the effective transfer of heat from integrated circuit device to a heat sink while accommodating relative movement between the integrated circuit device and the heat sink which may be caused by a thermal mismatch (Frankeny Col 1, II. 55-61).
Regarding Claim 6, Heise in view of Frankeny further in view of Naritomi and further in view of Nasr discloses the limitations of Claim 5, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the thermally conductive wall is part of a tube through which the coolant flows.
Instead, Naritomi (In Fig 7) teaches wherein the thermally conductive wall (4) is part of a tube (4/5) through which the coolant (8) flows (Fig 7).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny and further with Naritomi with the thermally conductive wall being part of a tube through which the coolant flows to benefit from enhancing the heat exchange and increasing efficiency of heat exchange by surfaces of electronic component differing in shape and height being brought into intimate contact with outer surfaces of projecting portions (Naritomi ¶ 107, II. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 8, Heise in view of Frankeny further in view of Nasr and further in view of Naritomi discloses the limitations of Claim 6, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the tube comprises a portion of a volume between the pair of plates.
Instead, Naritomi (In Fig 7) teaches wherein the tube (4/5) comprises a portion of a volume between the pair of plates (4/5), (Fig 7).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny further with Naritomi with the tube comprises a portion of a volume between the pair of plates to benefit from enhancing the heat exchange and increasing efficiency of heat exchange by surfaces of electronic component differing in shape and height being brought into intimate contact with outer surfaces of projecting portions (Naritomi ¶ 107, II. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 14, Heise in view of Frankeny and further in view of Naritomi discloses the limitations of Claim 13, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the flow path comprises: a first portion adapted to make direct contact with a first component of the plurality of hardware components a first distance away from the flow path while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board, and a second portion adapted to make direct contact with a second component of the plurality of hardware components a second distance away from the flow path while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board, wherein the first distance is different from the second distance.
Instead, Frankeny (In Figs 3-4) further teaches wherein the flow path (flow path through 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) comprises: a first portion adapted to make direct contact with a first component (82) of the plurality of hardware components (82) a first distance away from the flow path (flow path through 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) while the thermal dissipation component (12) is attached to the circuit board (70), and a second portion adapted to make direct contact with a second component (82) of the plurality of hardware components (82) a second distance away from the flow path (flow path through 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) while the thermal dissipation component (12) is attached to the circuit board (70).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny with the flow path comprising a first portion adapted to make direct contact with a first component of the plurality of hardware components a first distance away from the flow path while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board, and a second portion adapted to make direct contact with a second component of the plurality of hardware components a second distance away from the flow path while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board to benefit from improved thermal management technique which permits the effective transfer of heat from integrated circuit device to a heat sink while accommodating relative movement between the integrated circuit device and the heat sink which may be caused by a thermal mismatch (Frankeny Col 1, II. 55-61), however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the first distance is different from the second distance.
Instead, Nasr (In Fig 5A) teaches wherein the first distance (distance between 104b and flow of coolant through 204) is different from the second distance (distance between 104d and flow of coolant through 204), (Fig 5A).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny further with Naritomi and further with Nasr with the first distance being different from the second distance to benefit from improving the overall performance of the processing system (Nasr ¶ 3, II. 7-10).
Regarding Claim 15, Heise in view of Frankeny further in view of Naritomi and further in view of Nasr discloses the limitations of Claim 14, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the first portion comprises a thermally conductive wall through which heat from the first component flows to reach the coolant in the first portion.
Instead, Frankeny (In Figs 3-4) further teaches wherein the first portion comprises a thermally conductive wall (18) through which heat from the first component (82) flows to reach the coolant (14) in the first portion (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny with the first portion comprising a thermally conductive wall through which heat from the first component flows to reach the coolant in the first portion to benefit from improved thermal management technique which permits the effective transfer of heat from integrated circuit device to a heat sink while accommodating relative movement between the integrated circuit device and the heat sink which may be caused by a thermal mismatch (Frankeny Col 1, II. 55-61).
Regarding Claim 16, Heise in view of Frankeny further in view of Naritomi and further in view of Nasr discloses the limitations of Claim 15, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the thermally conductive wall is part of a tube through which the coolant flows.
Instead, Naritomi (In Fig 7) teaches wherein the thermally conductive wall (4) is part of a tube (4/5) through which the coolant (8) flows (Fig 7).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny further with Naritomi with the thermally conductive wall being part of a tube through which the coolant flows to benefit from enhancing the heat exchange and increasing efficiency of heat exchange by surfaces of electronic component differing in shape and height being brought into intimate contact with outer surfaces of projecting portions (Naritomi ¶ 107, II. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 18, Heise in view of Frankeny further in view of Naritomi and further in view of Nasr discloses the limitations of Claim 16, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the tube comprises a portion of the pair of plates.
Instead, Naritomi (In Fig 7) teaches wherein the tube (4/5) comprises a portion of the pair of plates (4/5), (Fig 7).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny further with Naritomi with the tube comprises a portion of the pair of plates to benefit from enhancing the heat exchange and increasing efficiency of heat exchange by surfaces of electronic component differing in shape and height being brought into intimate contact with outer surfaces of projecting portions (Naritomi ¶ 107, II. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 22, Heise in view of Frankeny and further in view of Naritomi discloses the limitations of Claim 21, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the flow path comprises: a first portion adapted to make direct contact with a first component of the plurality of hardware components a first distance away from the flow path while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board, and a second portion adapted to make direct contact with a second component of the plurality of hardware components a second distance away from the flow path while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board, wherein the first distance is different from the second distance.
Instead, Frankeny (In Figs 3-4) further teaches wherein the flow path (flow path through 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) comprises: a first portion adapted to make direct contact with a first component (82) of the plurality of hardware components (82) a first distance away from the flow path (flow path through 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) while the thermal dissipation component (12) is attached to the circuit board (70), and a second portion adapted to make direct contact with a second component (82) of the plurality of hardware components (82) a second distance away from the flow path (flow path through 32, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, and 60) while the thermal dissipation component (12) is attached to the circuit board (70).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny with the flow path comprising a first portion adapted to make direct contact with a first component of the plurality of hardware components a first distance away from the flow path while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board, and a second portion adapted to make direct contact with a second component of the plurality of hardware components a second distance away from the flow path while the thermal dissipation component is attached to the circuit board to benefit from improved thermal management technique which permits the effective transfer of heat from integrated circuit device to a heat sink while accommodating relative movement between the integrated circuit device and the heat sink which may be caused by a thermal mismatch (Frankeny Col 1, II. 55-61), however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the first distance is different from the second distance.
Instead, Nasr (In Fig 5A) teaches wherein the first distance (distance between 104b and flow of coolant through 204) is different from the second distance (distance between 104d and flow of coolant through 204), (Fig 5A).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny further with Naritomi and further with Nasr with the first distance being different from the second distance to benefit from improving the overall performance of the processing system (Nasr ¶ 3, II. 7-10).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Heise in view of Frankeny further in view of Naritomi further in view of Nasr and further in view of Sen et al (US 2004/0074630).
Regarding Claim 9, Heise in view of Frankeny further in view of Naritomi and further in view of Nasr discloses the limitations of Claim 8, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the thermal dissipation component further comprises a fin positioned with the portion of the pair of plates to dissipate heat from the coolant into an ambient environment.
Instead, Sen (In Figs 1-2) teaches wherein the thermal dissipation component (20) further comprises a fin (28) positioned with the portion of the pair of plates (24/26) to dissipate heat from the coolant (32) into an ambient environment (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny further with Naritomi further with Nasr and further with Sen with the thermal dissipation component further comprises a fin positioned with the portion of the pair of plates to dissipate heat from the coolant into an ambient environment to benefit from improving conformance between the mating surfaces of a heat sink and an electronic component while facilitating heat transfer from one or more heat-emitting components of the system (Sen ¶ 9, II. 6-9, ¶ 14, II. 6-9).
Regarding Claim 19, Heise in view of Frankeny further in view of Naritomi and further in view of Nasr discloses the limitations of Claim 18, however Heise as modified does not disclose wherein the thermal dissipation component further comprises a fin positioned with the portion of the pair of plates to dissipate heat from the coolant into an ambient environment.
Instead, Sen (In Figs 1-2) teaches wherein the thermal dissipation component (20) further comprises a fin (28) positioned with the portion of the pair of plates (24/26) to dissipate heat from the coolant (32) into an ambient environment (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heise with Frankeny further with Naritomi further with Nasr and further with Sen with the thermal dissipation component further comprises a fin positioned with the portion of the pair of plates to dissipate heat from the coolant into an ambient environment to benefit from improving conformance between the mating surfaces of a heat sink and an electronic component while facilitating heat transfer from one or more heat-emitting components of the system (Sen ¶ 9, II. 6-9, ¶ 14, II. 6-9).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841