Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Guay et al. (US 2008/0251025).
For claim 1, Guay et al. teach a bird feeder comprising: a proximal end having a proximal edge extending around a central axis of the feeder and defining a planar top surface (any area on member (50)); a hollow reservoir (20) extending distally from the planar top surface; an opening (an opening on member (50)) formed by the proximal edge and positioned on the planar top surface; and a hanger (110) disposed distal to and not intersecting a plane defined by the planer top surface, the hanger having a hanging portion (110) positioned on the central axis (see Figure 2).
For claim 2, Guay et al. teach wherein the proximal edge extends generally circular around the central axis of the feeder (see Figure 2).
For claim 4, Guay et al. teach one or more engaging features (threads 20A) configured to engage the proximal end of a reservoir.
For claim 5, Guay et al. teach the one or more engaging features include at least one of helical threads (20A), a lip, a protrusion, or a surface configured for a snap fit.
For claim 21, Guay et al. teach wherein the proximal end of the feeder defining the planar top surface is adapted such that, with the feeder inverted, the feeder is supportable in a vertical orientation on a level surface. It should be noted that a recitation (i.e., “is adapted such that, with the feeder inverted, the feeder is supportable in a vertical orientation on a level surface”) of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Presently, the Guay et al. reference provides the claimed structure (i.e., a feeder), and is therefore, capable of functioning as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guay et al. (US 2008/0251025) in view of Snook (US 2795454).
For claims 6, 8, and 9, as described above, Guay et al. disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein the hanger includes the first hook and the second hook.
Snook teaches that it is old and well known in the art to provide a hanger assembly (12) having a first hook and a second hook wherein the hooks are engaged so that the hanger assembly can be pivoted into a folded position (see Figures 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Guay et al. so as to include the use of a hanger assembly having a first hook and a second hook, in a similar manner as taught in Snook, so that the hanger assembly can be pivoted into a folded position.
For claim 10, Guay et al. teach a bird feeder comprising: a body (20) configured to receive fluid; an opening (an opening on member (50)) formed by an edge of the body and positioned on a first planar surface, the edge configured to meet a flat surface positioned on a second planar surface; and a hanger (110) having a hanging portion.
However, Guay et al. lack to mention wherein the hanger configured to permit the first planar surface to substantially merge with the second plane when the edge meets the flat surface.
Snook teaches that it is old and well known in the art to provide a hanger assembly (12) configured to permit the first planar surface to substantially merge with the second plane when the edge meets the flat surface (see Figures 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Guay et al. so as to include the use of a hanger assembly configured to permit the first planar surface to substantially merge with the second plane when the edge meets the flat surface, in a similar manner as taught in Snook, so that the hanger assembly can be pivoted into a folded position.
For claim 11, Guay et al. as modified by Snook (emphasis on Snook) further teach wherein the hanging portion (12) is positioned relative to an approximate center of the first planar surface (see Figures 1-3).
For claim 12, Guay et al. as modified by Snook (emphasis on Guay et al.) further teach wherein the body includes one or more engaging features (threads 20A) configured to engage a proximal end of a reservoir.
For claim 13, Guay et al. as modified by Snook (emphasis on Snook) further teach wherein the hanger (12) is disposed distal to and not intersecting the first planar surface (see Figures 1-3).
For claim 14, Guay et al. as modified by Snook (emphasis on Snook) further teach the body includes a first hook, and the hanger (12) includes a second hook wherein the hooks are engaged so that the hanger assembly can be pivoted into a folded position (see Figures 1-3).
For claim 15, Guay et al. as modified by Snook (emphasis on Snook) further teach the first hook is disposed on the outer surface of the second hook (see Figures 1-3).
Claims 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curts (US 6659041).
For claim 16, Curts teaches a bird feeder comprising: a reservoir (34) configured to hold nectar, the reservoir having a mouth (28) disposed opposite a planar surface, the mouth configured to dispense the nectar from the reservoir into a basin assembly (12); and a hanger assembly having a hanger (22) and a reservoir engaging portion (area near (16)) configured to engage a connecting portion of the reservoir near the planar surface, the hanger configured to pivot to a folded position with the hanger not protruding past the planar surface (see Figure 11 below).
Curts discloses most of the claimed invention except for mentioning a hanger having a first hook engaged to a second hook are disposed distal to the planar surface.
However, it is noted that Curts discloses the use of loop (22) and support member (80) to attach the hanger assembly (22) onto the reservoir (34), which is considered as an attachment means functional equivalent to a first and a second hooks as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use either an attachment means as taught in Curts or a first and a second hooks as claimed, since to do so would merely replace one old and well known attachment means with another art equivalent old and well known attachment means in order to attach a hanger assembly onto the reservoir.
For claim 18, Curts as modified further teaches wherein the connecting portion of the reservoir is a lip (an area where support member (80) is fitted therein).
For claim 19, Curts as modified further wherein the reservoir further includes an elongated portion (note that any portion along the reservoir can be interpreted as “an elongated portion”).
For claim 20, Curts as modified further teaches wherein the reservoir is contoured (see Figure 11 below).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the reference Curts does not teach claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10-13, and 21. Applicant’s arguments have been acknowledged and considered. However, it is noted that claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 21 were rejected as being anticipated by Guay et al. (US 2008/0251025) and claims 10-13 were rejected as being unpatentable over Guay et al. (US 2008/0251025) in view of Snook (US 2795454) (please see Office Action dated on 9/15/25).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Note, although the examiner recites certain excerpts for the prior art, MPEP 2141.02 VI states “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS”.
/TRINH T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644