Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114 After Final Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1:
the phrase, “an opening formed by the proximal edge and positioned on the plane top surface”, is confusing and unclear since the specification only mentioned planar surface 112 with no opening positioned thereon (see [0049]-[0056]).
In claim 10:
the phrase, “an opening formed at the second end of the reservoir by an edge of the reservoir and positioned on a first planar surface”, is confusing and unclear since the specification only mentioned planar surface 112 with no opening positioned thereon (see [0049]-[0056]).
In claims 12 and 14:
“the body” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 23:
“the seed converter” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: there are two claim 24. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone et al. (US 2010/0229801) in view of Snook (US 2795454).
For claim 1, Stone et al. teach a bird feeder comprising:
a proximal end having a proximal edge extending around a central axis of the feeder and defining a planar top surface, the planar top surface is adapted such that, with the feeder inverted, the feeder is supportable in a vertical orientation with the planar top surface arranged on, and coplanar with, a level surface (see Figure 3 below);
a hollow reservoir (12) extending distally from the planar top surface;
an opening (see Figure 3 below) formed by the proximal edge and positioned on the planar top surface.
As described above, Stone et al. disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning a hanger disposed distal to and not intersecting a plane defined by the planer top surface, the hanger having a hanging portion positioned on the central axis.
Snook teaches that it is old and well known in the art to provide a hanger (12) disposed distal to and not intersecting a plane defined by the planer top surface, the hanger having a hanging portion positioned on the central axis (see Figures 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Stone et al. so as to include the use of a hanger, in a similar manner as taught in Snook, so that the hanger assembly can be pivoted into a folded position.
For claim 2, Stone et al. as modified by Snook (emphasis on Stone et al.) teach wherein the proximal edge extends generally circular around the central axis of the feeder (see Figure 3).
For claim 4, Stone et al. as modified by Snook (emphasis on Stone et al.) teach one or more engaging features (threads 44) configured to engage the proximal end of a reservoir.
For claim 5, Stone et al. as modified by Snook (emphasis on Stone et al.) teach the one or more engaging features include at least one of helical threads (44), a lip, a protrusion, or a surface configured for a snap fit.
For claims 6, 8, and 9, Stone et al. as modified by Snook (emphasis on Snook) teach a hanger assembly (12) having a first hook, wherein the first hook is disposed on the outer surface and/or the inner surface and a second hook wherein the hooks are engaged so that the hanger assembly can be pivoted into a folded position (see Figures 1-3).
For claim 16, Stone et al. teach a bird feeder comprising:
a reservoir (12) configured to hold nectar, the reservoir having a mouth (20) disposed opposite a planar top surface, the mouth configured to dispense the nectar from the reservoir into a basin assembly (14), the planar top surface is adapted such that, with the feeder inverted, the feeder is supportable in a vertical orientation with the planar top surface arranged on, and coplanar with, a level surface (see Figure 3 below).
Stone et al. disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning a hanger assembly having a hanger and a reservoir engaging portion configured to engage a connecting portion of the reservoir near the planar surface, such that a first hook engaged to a second hook are disposed distal to the planar surface, the hanger configured to pivot to a folded position with the hanger not protruding past the planar surface.
Snook teaches that it is old and well known in the art to provide a hanger assembly having a hanger (12) and a reservoir engaging portion configured to engage a connecting portion of the reservoir (30) near the planar surface. Furthermore, it is noted that Snook discloses the use of hanger assembly (17a, 15, 17, 16, 18, 14) to attach the hanger (12) onto the reservoir (30), which is considered as a hanger assembly means functional equivalent to a first hook and a second hook as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use either the hanger assembly means as taught in Snook or a first hook and a second hook as claimed, since to do so would merely replace one old and well known hanger assembly means with another art equivalent old and well known hanger assembly means in order to attach a hanger onto the reservoir.
For claim 18, Stone et al. as modified by Snook (emphasis on Snook) teach wherein the connecting portion of the reservoir is a lip (35).
For claim 19, Stone et al. as modified by Snook (emphasis on Stone et al.) teach wherein the reservoir (12) further includes an elongated portion.
For claim 20, Stone et al. as modified by Snook (emphasis Stone et al.) teach wherein the reservoir (12) is contoured.
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone et al. (US 2010/0229801) in view of Fort, II (US 2004/0134437) and Snook (US 2795454).
For claim 10, Stone et al. teach a bird feeder comprising:
a reservoir body (12) configured to receive fluid;
a port (40) removably connected to a first end of the reservoir, the port defining at least one opening (46) sized to dispense seeds of a first size;
an opening formed at a second end of the reservoir by an edge of the reservoir body and positioned on a first planar surface, the edge configured to meet a flat surface positioned on a second planar surface (see Figure 3 above).
Stone et al. disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning: 1) a seed converter movably mounted within the port and including a plurality of teeth selectively covering at least a portion of the at least one opening, a spacing between the plurality of teeth sized to dispense seeds of a second size, less than the first size; and 2) a hanger having a hanging portion, the hanger configured to permit the first planar surface to substantially merge with the second plane when the edge meets the flat surface.
Regarding 1), Fort, II teaches that it is old and well known in the art to provide a seed converter (120) movably mounted within the port and including a plurality of teeth (121) selectively covering at least a portion of the at least one opening, a spacing between the plurality of teeth sized to dispense seeds of a second size, less than the first size.
Fort, II teaches the use of seed converter (120) movably mounted within the port so as to dispense seeds with various sizes, which is considered as a seed converter means functional equivalent to the seed converter as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use either the seed converter means as taught in Fort, II or the seed converter as claimed, since to do so would merely replace one old and well known seed converter means with another art equivalent old and well known seed converter means in order to dispense seeds with various sizes.
Regarding 2), Snook teaches that it is old and well known in the art to provide a hanger (12) disposed distal to and not intersecting a plane defined by the planer top surface, the hanger having a hanging portion positioned on the central axis (see Figures 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Stone et al. so as to include the use of a hanger, in a similar manner as taught in Snook, so that the hanger assembly can be pivoted into a folded position.
For claim 11, Stone et al. as modified by Fort, II and Snook (emphasis on Snook) further teach wherein the hanging portion (12) is positioned relative to an approximate center of the first planar surface (see Figures 1-3).
For claim 12, Stone et al. as modified by Fort, II and Snook (emphasis on Stone et al.) further teach wherein the body includes one or more engaging features (threads 44) configured to engage a proximal end of a reservoir.
For claim 13, Stone et al. as modified by Fort, II and Snook (emphasis on Snook) further teach wherein the hanger (12) is disposed distal to and not intersecting the first planar surface (see Figures 1-3).
For claim 14, Stone et al. as modified by Fort, II and Snook teach most of the claimed invention except for the body includes a first hook, and the hanger includes a second hook wherein the hooks are engaged so that the hanger assembly can be pivoted into a folded position.
However, it is noted that Snook discloses the use of hanger assembly (17a, 15, 17, 16, 18, 14) to attach the hanger (12) onto the reservoir (30), which is considered as a hanger assembly means functional equivalent to a first hook and a second hook as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use either the hanger assembly means as taught in Snook or a first hook and a second hook as claimed, since to do so would merely replace one old and well known hanger assembly means with another art equivalent old and well known hanger assembly means in order to attach a hanger onto the reservoir.
For claim 15, Stone et al. as modified by Fort, II and Snook (emphasis on Snook) further teach the first hook is disposed on the outer surface of the second hook (see Figures 1-3).
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Fort, II (US 2004/0134437).
For claims 22-24, the references as applied to claim 16 above disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning a seed converter movably mounted within the port and including a plurality of teeth selectively covering at least a portion of the at least one opening, a spacing between the plurality of teeth sized to dispense seeds of a second size, less than the first size.
Fort, II teaches that it is old and well known in the art to provide a seed converter (120) movably mounted within the port and including a plurality of teeth (121) selectively covering at least a portion of the at least one opening, a spacing between the plurality of teeth sized to dispense seeds of a second size, less than the first size.
Fort, II teaches the use of seed converter (120) movably mounted within the port so as to dispense seeds with various sizes, which is considered as a seed converter means functional equivalent to the seed converter as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use either the seed converter means as taught in Fort, II or the seed converter as claimed, since to do so would merely replace one old and well known seed converter means with another art equivalent old and well known seed converter means in order to dispense seeds with various sizes.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 10-16, 18-20, and 22-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-20 of U. S. Patent No. 10,609,908 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the "right to exclude" already granted in the patent.
Claims 10-16, 18-20, and 22-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-11 of U. S. Patent No. 11,968,962 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the "right to exclude" already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: “a port”, “reservoir”, “a seed converter”, and “a connecting portion”.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-16, and 18-20, and 22-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the old combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Note, although the examiner recites certain excerpts for the prior art, MPEP 2141.02 VI states “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS”.
/TRINH T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644