DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-28, 33-34, 38-39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botto (WO 2013/155075 A1) in view of Suenaga (JP 2014-126407 A).
Regarding claim 24, Botto teaches determining a density of at least a portion of a heap by measuring an incidence of atmospheric muons ([0020]), the method comprising:
Associating one or more muon detectors with the heap by placing a muon detector (120) within a trench, borehole, or pipe that is located within a first portion of the heap ([0022]),
Measuring an incidence of atmospheric muons on the one or more muon detectors (measured muon flux, [0027]), and
Determining the density of the at least a portion of the heap by comparing the incidence of atmospheric muons detected by the one or more muon detectors to a known muon attenuation of the materials in the heap and a known muon flux at the surface of the earth (normalizing observed event rate relative to incoming muon rate, [0020]; related to baseline measurement without injection of production agents, [0057]).
Botto does not teach that the method is for monitoring slope stability.
Suenaga teaches a method of slope stability monitoring by measuring a density of a heap (p. 1 paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the density measuring method of Botto in order to monitor the stability of the slope of the heap of Botto, in order to monitor the possibility of collapse and ensure safety as described by Suenaga.
Regarding claim 25, Botto teaches comparing the initial muon attenuation for an initial density from an initial sample of the materials in the heap with the muon attenuation in the heap (comparing measured value with baseline measurements of initial sample before introduction of production agents, [0057]).
Regarding claim 26, Botto teaches that the initial sample of materials in the heap is agglomerated ore (primary ore is agglomerated before leaching, [0018]; initial baseline measurement is therefore agglomerated ore).
Regarding claim 27, Botto teaches that the initial sample of materials in the heap is measured from two or more different locations in the heap (initial baseline measurements implicitly made by multiple detectors 120 to determine density distribution of heap over time, [0057]).
Regarding claim 28, Botto teaches that the measured incidence of atmospheric muons is measured across two or more angles (e.g. tracks 130-131, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 33, Botto teaches determining a fluid content of at least a portion of the heap by measuring, for the portion of the heap that includes unconsolidated material (i.e. the ore that forms the original heap), a change in the apparent bulk density of the unconsolidated material between an initial sample value and a current sample value (monitoring saturation and movement of a fluid in the heap over time by 3D density imaging, [0057]).
Regarding claim 34, Botto teaches a system for determining a density of at least a portion of a heap by measuring an incidence of atmospheric muons ([0020]), the system comprising:
A muon detector (120) within a trench or pipe that is located within a first portion of the heap ([0022]),
Wherein the system measures an incidence of atmospheric muons on the muon detector (measured muon flux, [0027]), and
Wherein the system determines the density of the at least a portion of the heap by comparing the incidence of atmospheric muons detected by the one or more muon detectors to a known muon attenuation of the materials in the heap and a known muon flux at the surface of the earth (normalizing observed event rate relative to incoming muon rate, [0020]; related to baseline measurement without injection of production agents, [0057]).
Botto does not teach that the system is for monitoring slope stability.
Suenaga teaches a method of slope stability monitoring by measuring a density of a heap (p. 1 paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the density measuring method of Botto in order to monitor the stability of the slope of the heap of Botto, in order to monitor the possibility of collapse and ensure safety as described by Suenaga.
Regarding claim 38, Botto teaches determining a fluid content of at least a portion of the heap by measuring, for the portion of the heap that includes unconsolidated material (i.e. the ore that forms the original heap), a change in the apparent bulk density of the unconsolidated material between an initial sample value and a current sample value (monitoring saturation and movement of a fluid in the heap over time by 3D density imaging, [0057]).
Regarding claim 39, Botto teaches determining a density of at least a portion of a heap by measuring an incidence of atmospheric muons ([0020]), the method comprising:
Placing a muon detector (120) within a trench, borehole, tunnel or pipe that is offset from the heap ([0022]),
Measuring an incidence of atmospheric muons on the muon detector (measured muon flux, [0027]), and
Determining the density of the portion of the heap by comparing the incidence of atmospheric muons detected by the muon detector to a muon attenuation of a material in the heap and a known muon flux at the surface of the earth (normalizing observed event rate relative to incoming muon rate, [0020]; related to baseline measurement without injection of production agents, [0057]).
Botto does not teach that the method is for monitoring slope stability.
Suenaga teaches a method of slope stability monitoring by measuring a density of a heap (p. 1 paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the density measuring method of Botto in order to monitor the stability of the slope of the heap of Botto, in order to monitor the possibility of collapse and ensure safety as described by Suenaga.
Regarding claim 41, Botto teaches determining a fluid content of at least a portion of the heap by measuring, for the portion of the heap that includes unconsolidated material (i.e. the ore that forms the original heap), a change in the apparent bulk density of the unconsolidated material between an initial sample value and a current sample value (monitoring saturation and movement of a fluid in the heap over time by 3D density imaging, [0057]).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botto in view of Suenaga and in further view of Bryman (AU 2012203466 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Botto and Suenaga teach all the limitations of claim 24 as described above. Botto and Suenaga do not teach moving at least one muon detector.
Bryman teaches a method of forming a density map including repositioning a density detector ([0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Botto and Suenaga to include moving the muon detector as taught by Bryman, as a known equivalent means of measuring the muon flux at different positions in order to form a 3D density distribution with no unexpected result.
Claims 30, 35 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botto in view of Suenaga and in further view of Ma (CN 208151458 U).
Regarding claims 30, 35 and 42, Botto teaches that the heap is a pile of ore that is being leached ([0002]). Botto does not teach that the heap includes two or more leaching pad area modules.
Ma teaches a heap leaching pad having plural modules (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Botto to have the modular heap leaching pad of Ma, since a leaching pad is a common tool for heap leaching and the modular system of Ma allows production to continue when one region of the pad breaks.
Claims 31-32, 36-37,40 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botto in view of Suenaga and in further view of Nagamine (US 20110001046 A1).
Regarding claims 31, 36 and 43, Botto and Suenaga teach all the limitations of claims 24 and 34 as described above. Botto and Suenaga do not teach that the heap is a dam.
Nagamine teaches a method of using muon detection to determine the density of a dam ([0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the art at the time of the invention to use the system of Botto to measure the structural stability of a dam, in order to monitor the soundness of the dam as taught by Nagamine.
Regarding claims 32 and 40, Botto teaches placing at least one muon detector horizontally offset from the toe of the dam (at the foot of the heap, i.e. the toe of the dam when the heap is a dam, [0022]).
Regarding claim 37, Botto teaches that the one or more muon detectors are placed horizontally offset from the heap outside of the dam (foot of the heap/dam, [0022]).
Conclusion
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881