DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No Information Disclosure Statement has been submitted.
The Examiner would like to remind Applicants about Duty of Disclosure, Candor, and Good Faith (See 37 C.F.R. F56 and MPEP2001).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “bottom surfaces of the plurality of openings have a plurality of recesses” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claims 6-10. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Drawings as filed do not show that bottom surfaces of the plurality of openings have a plurality of recesses.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without information about bottom surfaces of the plurality of openings having a plurality of recesses, which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claims 6-10 . See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976). Drawings as filed do not show that bottom surfaces of the plurality of openings have a plurality of recesses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al., US 202/0335447 (corresponding to US 11,289,346).
In re Claim 1, Huang discloses an electronic package 4 (Fig. 4D), comprising: a carrier member CM (Fig. A) having a first (lower) side and a second (upper) side opposing the first (lower) side, wherein the carrier member CM is formed with a groove G and a plurality of openings (wherein 24 located, marked as (O1, O2) in Fig. A), and the groove G and the plurality of openings (O1, O2) communicate with the first (lower) side and the second (upper) side; a plurality of conductive pillars 24 disposed in the plurality of openings (O1, O2); a first electronic element 20 disposed in the groove G; a plurality of conductive elements CE disposed on the second (upper) side of the carrier member CM and electrically connected to the plurality of conductive pillars 24 and the first electronic element 20; and a circuit structure 31 disposed on the first (lower) side of the carrier member CM and electrically connected to the plurality of conductive pillars 24 and the first electronic element 20 (Figs. 1-4 and A; [0022-0086]).
Fig. A. Huang’s Fig. 4D annotated to show the details cited
In re Claim 4. Huang discloses the electronic package of claim 1, further comprising at least one second electronic element 26 disposed on and electrically connected to the circuit structure CS. (Fig. A).
In re Claim 5, Huang discloses the electronic package of claim 4, further comprising an encapsulation layer 28 covering the at least one second electronic element 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as applied to claim 1 above.
In re Claim 2, Huang discloses all limitations of Claim 2 except for that the carrier member CM is a board body made of a semiconductor material. Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice of one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art to use a board body made of a semiconductor material as carrier member , since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (See MPEP2144.07).
In re Claim 3, Huang discloses all limitations of Claim 3 except for that the first electronic element 20 includes an electronic body of a silicon substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the first electronic element 20 including an electronic body of a silicon substrate since it was known in the art that it is well-known and routine practice to use an electronic element 20 including an electronic body of a silicon substrate. (MPEP2144.I.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In re Claim 11, prior-art fails to disclose a method of manufacturing an electronic package, comprising: “removing part of material of the second side of the carrier member to expose the conductive pillars and the first electronic element.” Therefore, the claimed method differs from prior art methods on this point and there is no evidence it would have been obvious to make this change.
Conclusion
/NIKOLAY K YUSHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893